(2003) Brides of year 2003

slk

good morning gals!

I signed up with Bridal Veil last week. Their crystal gowns are fantastic! my hubby love their suits too. and we have to say we were very impressed by their good customer service. No hard-selling and they were very patient with us.

finally settled everything. am now waiting for my flat to be ready end of this year or early next year. then the reno headache will roll in :p

so May, how was the XZen show? signed up anything?

mei

hi cherubies
mine no long train la... veri diff to walk... u shld hv a long train cos church wedding ma... must let everyone admire your gown....

I think to tone up your arm must carry a little bit of weight... for me, i'll try to go swimming. It helps..

Me can't meet u gals on tues cos got lessons at nite...

hi kk
a pity cant wave to u yesterday... i waited for a while but didn't c u...
saw something red in ur living room, wat's tt?

welcome to all who r new! It's good to pop into the forum once in a while... helps release stress from work... everyone so frenly n helpful...

flowee

yi

yah we sure had enjoyed our trip 2 the nite safari...
in 2 wks time we will b visitin the jurong bird park n the zoo...

kinda off settled with the banquet onli 2 get a confirmed date soon 2 book the venue...
things r followin up as time passes by...

understand u r buz with class...
able 2 make it 2molo???

may

Hi SLK,

how much was your package with Bridal Veil? The xzen show was a little disappointing - no fault of xzen but the venue. Lighting was really bad. I couldnt see the gowns well nor the model faces. Too dark...i kept complaining.

In the end, i didnt sign up coz i didnt feel that the offer they have for this show was attractive.
Also, we still cldnt decide...

The only good thing about the show was i won something at the lucky draw. a S$ 150 food voucher for use at Tong Le restaurants and a S$ 350 videocd from Academy... that was the best of the whole show...

slk

Hi May,

WOW! you are so lucky!

It's ok you didn't enjoy the show, no loss but gain

My package with BV is $4980. Sounds expensive but actually not so. Cos it's very comprehensive.

MAKE-TO-MEASURE
- Wedding Gown
- Evening Gown (to keep)
- Groom Suit (to keep)
- Wedding Shoes (to keep)

OFF-THE-RACK
- Cocktail dress or Kua
- Additional Groom Suit
- Swarovski Jewelleries sets

MAKE-UP & HAIR-DO
- Trial, Studio, Wedding Day, Wedding Night

FRESH FLOWERS
- hand bouquet for studio and wedding day
- head flowers for studio and wedding day
- groom corsages for studio, wedding day and wedding night, parents corsages for wedding night, wedding car deco, bridesmaid cars ribbons.

Their designer, Michelle HuiMin, specializes in clean, grand gowns, as well as exclusive fabric, delicate workmanship, and the exquisite use of crystals and lace to enhance all her gowns.

PHOTOGRAPHY (select 1 of 3)
- Chris Ling / Studio D'Fia by Kim
20 8x10" pics
Digital Camera
return all negatives and free CD-ROM

- Utopia by Travis
20 12x15" pics
Conventional camera
return selected negatives

but for Kim, this month there is a promotion to upgrade to 12x15" free!

If you are interested, let me know, I don't mind going down with you

Actually my hubby and myself have gone down to so many bridal shops until we are so tired already. XZen's packages are quite good too but the gowns are not my type... too trendy.

cherry

Jan 11 bride - aiyo your nick's so long to type...;p ic ic....i'm not having church wedding just the usual tea ceremony and dinner, booked already so nothing's to be done except to go for fittings and buy shoes and hubby's accessories..

vin - when's your exact date?? are you having church/dinner?? if yes, you better book fast 'cos it's only 4 months to go...if you're taking MTM gowns, it's very rush already....if you are taking OTR, then the timing's just rite. which bridal shop are you taking?

elaine

My ROM video is out
It features some outdoor shoots & the whole solemnisation portion.

It's at <FONT COLOR="ff6000">www.wed-tv.com</FONT> or you can go to SB's directory &amp; look for WeddingTV.

So 2molo gathering confirm?

Happy viewing,
Elaine

vin

Hi Cherry,

My Exact date is on 12/01/2003, unless me want to postpone to somewhere in June.

I'd choose Julia.

How abt yours?

lynnie

May

Congulations! So lucky! I heard that normally near to your big day, you will be getting luckier! Maybe can try buy 4D! :p

SLK
YOur package is REALLY cool, so many things leh! It's good to have such comprehensive package cos you need not worry about anything for your big day. Me still sourcing around.

BTW anybody try Hotel Intercon's banquet b4?

flowee

elaine

how 2 view ur rom video???
advise pls...

as 4 2molo outing, u ok with onli 4 of us???
cherubies, yi, u n mi???

cherry

Hi vin,

why you choose Julia?? I thght there's a lot of bad comments abt them?? I went to see them b4 i decide on Flamingo as well. Though their pics are good, the prob is with their attitude,they were very agressive with their sales tactic and they were very pushy to with me as well, they were very sarcastic when they know that i'm not signing up on the spot. Do check up with a few others b4 you confirm.

Mine's on 17/01/2003.

ling

oh yah,

i went for the divine bridal show and will be going to sign up by early september...

cheers!!!

elaine,

I remember you have la pi xiao xing moving around icon right. how do i get it ??? i'm helping a friend to find it but i am too lousy wiht yahoo and did not know how to search for it.

could you please help me.......... thanxs...

see ya tomororow....

btw, i couldn't see your video cos' i'm not on broadband...
could you please bring your laptop i bring mine......

thnaksx......

flowee,

you not on mc ah. you know hoh , last friday only 5 girls attneded. the other 5 and you + 1 college did not go. the other 5 girls are on overtime....

anywy, the coming 2 lessons will be postpone until 13 sept 02 and will be at 33 mohd sultan road...

Sarah got works again... itis on the latest herworld brides magazines..

see ya...

may

Hi SLK and Lynnie:

Thanks. I very greedy wanted the bigger prize.. like the top 3 will be good. The food voucher very attarctive. Mine was the minimum, the other prizes got $500 and even S$ 1000. aiya..i terrible hor...ok..better keep my mouth shut.

SLK: the package with Bridal Veil very comprehensive..good for you...unfortunately a little too expensive for me...i try to not spend so much...saving for reno and furniture...sigh...

flowee

ling

back @ work oredi...
headache over my stupid project...
jenni din mentioned abt onli 5 of u gers last fri onli...
tat's gd hv more attention from sarah...
understd from jenni will b hvin classes @ mohd sultan road from 13th sept onwards...
tats location super nt convenience 4 us who dun drive ard...
take train n bus will take us 1hr 2 get there...

gers

2molo dinner will b on as schedule...
sure hope 2 c more familiar faces ard 2molo nite...
venue : bugis junction @ 7pm

F

fiona koh

Hi SLK, you signed up with BV I heard! I was there for the first time on Saturday and I tried on 2 gowns. They look beautiful huh??!!

Anyway, I just wanna ask you whether you went to other bridal boutiques before you decided on BV...? I intend to go to Kai sometime this week too, before I commit on anything.

flowee

btw i signed up 4 an open date n open venue with tunglok restaurant yesterdaz durin the bridal show @ imperium...
paid a deposit oredi...
will ask in-laws 2 get a date as soon as the 7th mth is over...
lookin @ noble hse, paramount n imperium...
any comments???

slk

Hi Lynnie,

Have fun sourcing.... we went througha hard time too :p

I have not been to Hotel Interconn, but heard it's not bad.

Hi May,

It sounds expensive but that is about it you know. If you take other packages, they will ask you to top up money for this and that... for BV, besides photographs, you don't really need to top up money. e.g. more crystals on the gowns (unless it's the whole gown lah) etc.

Hi Fiona,

Ya, the gowns are nice
I went to Julia, X-Zen, Jazreel Low etc. My friend took Kai, heard it's not bad but the men's suits not fantastic, so her hubby went to MTM his suits from Kingsmen in the end. The reason why I took BV is because they not only take care of the gowns, but the Men's Suits as well.

Take your time, it's not a small commitment, so must commit on something you like and feel comfortable with

F

fiona koh

Thanks SLK. I like the BV gowns I tried, but I prefer more crystals on it. Does Michelle use pearls too? I don't mind topping up if its not too expensive...anyone knows how much BV charge for crystals on whole gown? Thanks.

elaine

Ling Jie Jie,

Ni shi bu shi yao gen wo yue huay?

8250.gif

==========================================
just right click &amp; save into your computer.

sue

Hi SLK, we same same.

I also took the same package as you. Went to BV twice &amp; signed up on the 3rd time. Simply love their gowns &amp; my FH likes their gowns &amp; suits. He is someone who likes it clean &amp; simple therefore he likes the gowns &amp; suits at BV. I've picked Chris Ling, how abt u? When I signed up, there's no promo for Kim. Anyway, my FH &amp; me went to meet Kim &amp; we don't really like his attitude. I think our appt should be somewhere in Sept, looking fwd to it &amp; hope to see you there. So happy that u also took BV!

Hi Fiona,
I've asked Michelle that qns before but she can't really advise because it depends on how many crystals u want to add on yr gowns. In fact, according to Collin, it's not the crystals that matter but it is the workmanship &amp; hours that they have to put in to sew the crystals on. When I was there the last time, they showed me some new crystals &amp; they look like diamonds. They make the gowns look very class &amp; elegant.

peng

Hi yi,

My weekend ok loh...nothing special.
Me MC yeterday.
Actually wanted to visit ur love nest last friday night, but hubby said you are busy with your projects &amp; study and need to attend class during weekend, should have a good rest. He asked me not to don't disturb both of u first. Let's you finish your project first.

How abt u? Really siah both weeekend have to attend class.
just kpo, any new update on your wedding preparation? Very fast 5 more months to go for ur big day!

slk

Hi Fiona,

I'm not too sure about crystals on the whole gown, can check this out for you.

Hi Sue,

My wedding is 29 May. yours on 3 May? I'm also very happy to know you took BV. At least I know I have someone to seek advice from

I haven't confirmed my photographer with Colin. Am quite interested in Kim though. But I did hear he is quite a quiet person.... wonder how to communicate leh... hmmm.... still thinking :p

Hi Jan,

Found out from my BIL that the GH show is on 20 Oct. You going?

F

fiona koh

I met Kim before. My good friend engaged him for her journalistic wedding day photos. Ya, I agree he's abit quiet, in fact, I had no idea who he was at all, until after the wedding....My first impression of him was that he's not too friendly too, and I feel that he's only nice to the bride.
But then again, I shouldn't "complain" coz the bride is the star of the day, so he should be nice to her!!! :)

Hi SLK, where are you holding your banquet?

cherubies

hi mei,
hmm, carry weight to tone...will try...but i think i mus lose more weight first!

never mind, sure can see u one ya... study hard!

hi sweetie,
it's at bugis junction @ 7pm!

see u gals tonite!

putise baby

flowee told me you are meeting tonite. unfortunately, i have to go to the gymn, so cannot meet you all.... next time...

flowee, tell you a bit more abt the interior designers/contractors i met over the weekend. Kevin from Essential Elements has pretty good designs. more practical, a lot of storage space, which my FH likes. but he does not give full perspective like Jenna/Pierre. also he charges $4000 for design fees, a bit ex loh... but overall his quote (exclude his design fees) same as Living Elements. oh and kevin uses more wood, so cosier feeling.

as for Kawai, their designs v "old fashion" and both of us dun like... my FH even said why we waste time to see them... their quote at first glance is v good, only $27k, but they exclude quite a few things...

oh and on Sun, i sneaked up to my flat to take a look... flat is oredi completed but my block not released for keys yet. place look smaller, i guess it 'coz we look at the floor plan so often, we forgot there are walls....
but i like the facing v much...

flowee, good to hear that u booked your banquet oredi. i also > or < decided on Sheraton.

F

fiona koh

Hi SLK, how many tables you have? I went to see Hisbisbus Room before but havent committed yet coz I dont have 25 tables. Am also looking at Mandarin (Belvedere) but there are 4 pillars there and I am abit concerned...

slk

Hi Fiona,

I have 45 tables, so took the Grand ballroom.

How many tables do you have now? If it's 20+, why not round up to 25?

flowee

sweetie

u can email mi @ [email protected]
will leave u my contact number thru email

cherubies, elaine, ling, sweetie

so i c u gers @ bugis junction 7pm lor???
might b a little late coz hv 2 collect my contact lens...
where shd we wait 4 each other????

F

fiona koh

Hi SLK

I have 22 tables now, if my FH's relatives are coming to S'pore, we'll have 23. But the problem is, I am afraid that some people might not turn up for the wedding, so even if I round up to 25, I might end up having less...?

Any advice?

kk

yi jie,

me also feeling very tired... so much homework..although no need to hand up, but i need to motivate myself to do the homework, else will lag behind.

mei jie,

red??? dun scare me leh.. kekekee.. the only red i can remember is the hong cai that we hang at the main door :p

we try waving again this weekend lor :p

vin

Hi Cherry,

Which co-ordinator served you when you went down?? Aft I signed, I read bad comments from Sb as well, that's why me worried.

I went down for twice b4 me signed up with them. But weird, no one push me at all ler...maybe my bf quite good in ignoring or bargain and think twice b4 sign. And we just told them our budget and keep emphosized that we want to keep it as low cost as we can...

I meet their in-house designer, good lady and very helpful. The rest me not sure. As long as they don't step on my tail.. then ok.

Where is your dinner banquet?? Already decide?

cherry

Hi vin,

maybe you met the right coordinator but be careful and firm when you deal with them lor.

My venue will be at Orient Ocean Restaurant. Booked last month. So now waiting for photoshoot in Nov. When's your photoshoot?

slk

hi fiona,

do you have many friends and colleagues?

if so, then can invite those you initially left out if you have extra tables.

F

fiona koh

Sigh, my company is quite small in spore so not many colleagues to add already

Aiyah, I am really not very fated to have dinner at Hyatt it seems...

slk

Hi Fiona,

Don't worry, there are many choices besides Hyatt. Take your time and slowly find one. Don't be too stressed over this, wedding is supposed to be a happy event

What is your budget? Weekday? Weekend? Perhaps all of us here can help cotiribute ideas?

jan2003

Hello to all,

SLk, GH's show in Oct, i might go. you confirm going? what's the price of tickets. Any idea which bridal shop they are tying up with? Your package with BV looks good. Agree with you. Looks like you only need to top up for photos and if need be a car. if not, all items are in. Too expensive for me though. I like May, need to save up for reno and funiture and honeymoon. Just noticed, your wedding on thurs?

May, you lucky girl. The prize is meant for you lah! At least you won something, be happy. too bad i didn't get to go to show. From your reviews, the show don't look too good. Another forum mentioned the response was poor too. Too bad for X-zen. Getting nearer and nearer, think we have to book soon. forgot already. when is your wedding? Mine's on 10th and SLK's on 29th.

Fiona, I agree with SLK, round up easier, just get more friends to attend. When you come nearer to the day, you will usually have more people you want to invite, more tables gives more space to fit in the new people we meet whom we want to invite. when's your wedding? If it's in may 03, it's better to sign up soon.

Lynnie, I tried Hotel intercon. In fact, they only have one ballroom. no pillars. the food was good too. by the cantonese restaurant. one point to note is the reception area. quite small. the last time we went there, very packed and the decor for the wedding very pinkish. maybe it was the wedding couple's choice but all of us felt that too pinkish and red. If i am not wrong, the carpet is red too. also, the area for the couple to wait for their march in faces the current construction site with no-aircon. the groom who was my friend was complaining to us!
hot lah, singapore weather and he was in his suit. poor guy.

F

fiona koh

Thanks girls..

My church wedding is on 24 May and dinner on 25 May. We are not looking at auspicious dates and the reason we wanna separate the church wedding and the dinner is becoz we wanna take things slowly and don't need to rush. Don't need to wake up early too!

Actually I intended to have my wedding end of 2003....but as fate has it, we got our flat recently and thus need to ROM within 3 months. I called up HDB to ask for extension coz we told them we are Christians and would like to do everything together but 3 months is too rushed to book a hotel and tailor a gown! Luckily the officer I spoke to was very understanding, so now I am getting married in May 2003!

Y

yi

hi kk mei,

ya lor, real vexed up over work and studies liao! SIANZ!!!!!

hi gers,

real sad i can't meet up with you all tonight coz of my project dateline and haven't complete yet!

really hope to see you all leh!

well, guess tatz the sadness of studying! not much personal time! hubby want me to accompany him to buy things also not free.

Y

yi

hi peng,

hope you are feeling better liao.

me sian to have lessons on weekends too but po pian. so mike stayed at love nest alone lor and does all the housework.

me oso long time never cook for him liao, poor hubby!

itz ok lah! feel free to contact mike if you all wanna come over lor! we sleep late anyway!

if you wait until i finish my projects, it wld be oct liao lor!

ya hor, 5 months to my wedding hor! lost track of time coz of studies! hehehe

nothing much actually, bought my shoes liao, saw my gowns liao, mike oso buy his shoes liao then wat?

o, we gog for trial makeup and choosing of fotoshoot gowns next thursday. shld be like that for now.

flowee

yi

dun sound so dn lah
its ur final yr n u shd work hard since its ur final oredi
can meet up anytime again mah
jia you yo...