(2003) Brides of year 2003

jan2003

Good Monday morning!

Vin : Dont' be sad, I am like you, moving in with my in-laws. It's ok, you will still have your own little heaven, living room plus room!

SLK: My coordinator is Lynn. No news from her since the day I sign up. I think someone else also got her but our common view is that she is not that flexible. Actually I wonder if she is still there. Not such a big problem for me because I didn't get to bargain for any freebies so... even if it's another coordinator it's still the same i guess. i am sticking to their standard package, cut cost. i tired of bargaining, searching etc etc. i think i need a break, really stress. Your workload better?

slk

Hi Jan,

Lynn? I thought she is ok? So far, I only hear not so good comments abt Georgette.... nothing about Lynn. Anyway, it's ok, as long as everything is written down in black and white, they cannot take away anything from us

My workload is better now... but lots of political stuff to handle here...
sigh! i feel like I come to work everyday handling work, people, stress etc etc

sweets

hi pooh...
wah...u get to work so early hor..7:15 am!!! Monday morning somemore....steady

have you chosen your bridal salon yet ? photographers ? i am still looking around for photograhers...headache man!!

F

fiona koh

Hi sue

Does KC charge extra for separate day weddings? You are paying him extra for going with you to Malaysia right, I wonder if he will charge extra for mine...

Wow, $1200 for 11 rolls is quite a good deal! I think Hilarion only gives you 8 rolls right? Is KC using digital camera? I heard that alot of them use digital nowadays..

cutie

hi Sweets!

Mine is on 22nd June. So yours is at Conrad? Is it true that Conrad's table is for 12 instead of 10?

Hi whitely,

My 1st appointment with my bridal is on 9/9. Was flipping thru bridal mag and website so much that i had an overdose! Even dreamt abt not finding a perfect gown!!! *PUKE*
So now giving myself a break before another week of intensive reasearch!

sweets

hi cutie...

yah..our dinner will be held at Conrad, and yes, Conrad has tables set up for 12 per table. I love that arrangement, cos that means we can have "lesser" tables and can group our frens easier
Why you dream about not getting your dream gown ??? describe what you like leh
dun stress ok, still have a lot more time to go

okie...let me continue the list

15 June - Pooh(Holiday Inn Park View)
22 June - Cutie
28 June - Privileged(Regent); Sweets (Conrad)

Anyone else ???

kiroro

Hi Sweets,
As stated long time before, my wedding is on the 6th June. I am having both church wedding and dinner at Conrad.
My bridal studio is Sil....

Hi Priviledge,
I am also having an catholic church wedding but I sort of made up my mind on the strapless gown... I guess as long as it is not too outrages...it should be all right. Moreover, there will be veil on your head that will flow down you shoulder as well ....

sweets

Hi kiroro,

Sorry, did not "catch" u when I was speed-reading thru the past posts

Nice to know you will be a Conrad BTB as well
Hope we can exchange experiences as the day draws nearer
Who is your coordinator ? Frankly, my FH and I have never seen Conrad before...and we just signed up with them. So praying that everything goes on well. We are also having a church wedding, and my gown is also a strapless one too. I guess if really to play conservative, can always consider a belero for the ceremonial part of the wedding
have yet to speak to our pastor on this issue ...

okie..let me continue the list

6 June - Kiroro(Conrad)
15 June - Pooh (Holiday Inn Park View)
22 June - Cutie
28 June - Priviledged(Regent), Sweets(Conrad)

Y

yi

how come so quiet hah?

wherez everyone?

howz your weekend?

me working throughout the weekend lah! sian!!!!
then yesterday fell sick somemore. Hiaz!!!!

So exciting! I'm so happy for you that you're bringing the wedding forward. Sometimes i think abt it, Oct 03 is really v far away.

Other than hotel, what else have u settled?
tell us tell us! ** excited **

priviledged

Hi all. Wow, this is getting really exciting!

I think my FH and I have decided to be a little more conservative because my church is Reformed Presbyterian. We don't want to offend and stumble the weaker brothers and sisters. We'll probably go with organza over the bustier (or whatever you call it)to make a sleeveless gown. Have some crystal or beading subtly on it, see what the designer comes up with. There were some nice designs in some bridal mags, which I have cut out. But I also cut out some pretty decent sleeveless gown pictures. Will show pastor and ask him what he thinks. We don't have many weddings amongst my church members, so he may not know exactly what I was talking about when I said strapless.

The list so far...
6 June - Kiroro(Conrad)
22 June - Cutie

pooh

Hi Sweets,
no lar i still at hm when i post the msg.

I sign my bridal with Universal Bridal Studio.
Till now have not decide on the gown yet. Will only visit the bridal shop after my hse reno. Cos i wan to settle one thing at a time. Dun wan to tired myself with too many things cos my hubby cant help much. I have to handle the contractor myself my hubby just provide design lor..

Even the banquet i do the redearch myself then summarize for him cos he too busy and have to sail very often.

sweets

priviledged..

very sensitive of both u and your FH
...wad time is your service ? We are still trying to get our slots cofirmed..hoping for the 1:30 one in the afternoon..cos sat mah...cannot have at 11...hmmm...but worried that it may be rushed for the guests and oursleves who have to go get changed and rest before the banquet...how are you handling this ?

pooh ah..what u mean when u say u were in hm when you posted the msg ???? dun get...
...is your hubby a designer ? can provide design to your new home
...wah.....

beibei

Hi me beibei!

my wedding date is 7/6/03!
i already went done to my bridal shop to
MTM my gowns two weeks ago and photo
taking in Nov.

my dinner will be at Marina Mndarin

sweets

hi beibei

nice to "meet" u too

heee...the list is growing!! yay!

so how are your gowns like can share ?

6 June - Kiroro(Conrad)
7 June - Beibei (Marina Mandarin)
22 June - Cutie

sweets

besides hotel, only settle my FH's tux and my WG lor, fitting sometime Oct i think..have to wait for the salon to call
also bought my shoes liao
that's all..heee
trying to get FH focused on photographers...probably when I go over to visit him next month lar

heee...

how about u ? how have u been doing recently? we long time never chat hor

jan2003

Hi SLK,

Yah, agree with you. sometimes i also feel we come to work to politics people create than to work. actually, if they just leave me alone to work, i won't feel so much stress. it's dealing with people that is the tough part. sigh. think of happy thoughts.
when is your first appointment with BV? You got idea for gown design already? I don't know what i want at all. i look at the magazines, they all look nice. no preference. you? Lynn ok? i find her nice but no room for bargaining. that was the previous views from the rest. not flexible that's why i only got standard package. all the things i requested also she said no, no and no. at the end of the day, i just want a wonderful wedding day. so i think i also let go on what freebies i get lah. bargaining i no good at plus it is a taxing task.

priviledged

Wah! Beibei, you're fast.

Sweets, I'm probably having my church ceremony at 2.30 pm (sharp). Reception will be at 3.45. Hope everyone will eat and go by 5.30pm. Then we'll go straight to the hotel and dinner will be at 7.45 (probably).

I'm not expecting to get much rest. But my day will not start so early. Tea ceremony at hubby's place will be at about 11 am. Tea ceremony for my family will be held at the church during the reception. We got one of the sunday school classrooms for this.

cutie

WOW!!! The thread suddenly sssooo active!!!! So exciting!!!

Mine will be held at Oriental Singapore.

Sweets, how come you book without seeing the hotel, ballroom, etc? My friend also commented that although the Conrad is realtively more expensive, after dividing among 12 pax, it is acutally not so. Sigh... if i had known earlier...

My dream gown is a bustier design with crystal beadings, organza or chiffon material. Simple and classic is wat i'm looking for. Sounds quite easy rite, but cant really visualise yet...

Gals, pls keep all the posting coming in!

jojok

I m also getting married in year 2003, somewhere in Sep. We have yet to confirm the date (except for mth), shall depend on the hotel of our choice. Since we r catholic, we not 'pang tan' about auspicious date.

sweets

hi privileged....
yah...tot a bit rushed bet church and banquet as well ...
we are trying to check into the suite before the wedding as well, and I will probably change into my WG there....so we have to start the day really early.

cutie...hehe...cos my FH and I are both outstationed lor..so never see the hotel before...hheee...just booked the place, mainly cos parents preferred Conrad over Fullerton.Actually we are having a different menu from the set one, so the cost also not cheap..
nevermind lar..once in a lifetime to share such a joyous occassion

Sounds like your dream gown is really romantic
....take your time lar
i think we have loads

heeee

6 June - Kiroro(Conrad)
7 June - Beibei (Marina Mandarin)
22 June - Cutie (Oriental)

slk

Hi Jan,

Ya lor, dealing with people is much much tougher than dealing with the job itself.

I'm not sure when my first appt is... haven't booked yet. I don't have detailed gown design ideas but I think I would want a bustier for the WG and a halter for the EG. It also depends on how much weight i put on or lose in the end..... I seem to be putting on weight everyday!!

beibei

Dear all!

my WG is bustier with long train and
I will have CAN CAN !!!quite lucky cos
my designer told me only brides whose hubby
quite tall can wear can can!!my gown is
white(after thinking about two hours as
I can't choose between white or ivory!)
My material is Organza and I really like
it though it is only ready by early Nov.My
evening gown is low back purplish blue!

can't wait for nov to come!!

vin

How's your weekend?

Hi Jan2003,
So you gv up bargaining with GH? Emm... hv you sign up? If not then you should try to bargain. I headr from one of the hotel co-ordinator, the list the listed on the paper that they are going to charge us, actually is the list for us to bargain with them. They claim that they can't anyhow show this or that is free or under discounted rate, this shown that their hotel very cheapskate. So you and ur FH must bargain with them laa. Can save some $$ if you able to get hte freebies..
Anthony fm GH is very flexible.

I Don't mind to stay with PIL, just don't know what will happen after married maa... used to stay alone for so long, then right now need to stay with family.. the feeling is a bit weird lor. And worried that I will hv conflict with them..."xiang jian hao, tong zhu nan"..

Hi Fiona,
You got church wedding?? Dream to hv one but too bad both me and my bf are not christian. So will you ask ur designer to design a long train WG for you? It looks nice..

Hi Sue,
B4 you told me, already suspected that you are from Segamat. Your bf working in Australia? So are you follow him to there aft married?
Is KC used both digital camera and normal camera? Nowaday lotz of ppl using digital Camera. You asked him to go back Segamat with you?? Your bf got invite lotz of ppl there??
Which restaurant you used in Segamat??

F

fiona koh

Hi vin

Yup, I am having a church wedding
I haven't signed up with any bridal boutique yet but most probably going with BV. Yeah, I'd like a train too
I tried on 2 gowns the last time I was at BV and they look nice....hehe. Most probably going for duchess satin too. I like the texture..

Sorry, but I probably didn't read the earlier messages...where are you having your banquet? Seems like most of you here are having it at GH huh? I haven't confirmed my hotel yet
still has things to "negotiate/confirm" before I sign on the dotted line....I don't want to regret!!! So scary...

jan2003

SLK: Agree, i seem to do so too. put and put but never shed. in fact, not even mooncake festival yet but i already ate 2 big mooncakes. cut into quarters to reduce intake but in the end total still 2 big ones. hahaha!
think i must try harder. Got to start excercising.

Vin: I cannot bargain already lah.
i signed up already. Anyway, the lady did not share with me such stuff as the list. i did try to ask for some stuff but all she said was their package already very comprehensive and so alot of things already included. so end up the stuff i ask for also cannot. Good to hear that you got a flexible coodinator. you sign up with them? SLK and myself are GH brides.

kiroro

Hi Sweets,
Where are you now then ? (you said that u are outstationed). I am also outstationed in HK now. Can't wait to go back to SG for a couple of day mid of this month to confirm my wedding gown design. Who is your bridal salon then ?
Bei Bei, I am so having a bustier with long train, however mine will be duchness satin instead
... Yeah, everyone told me that I am lucky that my FH is very tall ( so that I can wear a big can can gown.

flowee

gd afternn

yi

i was buz doin up the drawings 4 tender juz nw...
sorie hv 2 go so soon...
juz get done with the drawings...
n had taken my lunch mins back...

sprainkled my ankle last wk @ the church where i go 4 the natural family plannin...
been walkin ard with my ankle bandaged...

jojok

welcome 2 the threat...
sept is a 'hot' mth...
u gonna settle ur date soon...

cutie

Hi Sweets,

Agreed wif you it's once a lifetime... Must make the best out of it!

Wah! beibei! U so fast got your designs out???

How tall are you? I'm only 1.5m and my FH is almost 1.8m. Can I wear can can? But I tink wearing can can makes me look unproportionate leh! Head & upper body so small, bottom so huge...

They say ivory is more suitable for pple wif tan skin. R u fair or tanned?

U even have your EG design ready??? OTR or MTM? Wat's the design like?

slk

Hi Vin,

you also signed up with GH? are you sure about the discounted rate? from what I know, only staff of GH gets discounted rate. I haven't heard of anyone who got discounted rate from GH. they can give you freebies, but not discounted rate. perhaps I am wrong?? ya, i heard Anthony is not bad too. I am not sure who my new coordinator is, but hope she is as flexible as Georgette.

Hi Jan,

I have been telling myself to exercise too... but getting lazier by the day. Work has been so tiring, I look forward to weekends to SLEEP! :p

oh wow! shoes already??? that's fast !
no no, i haven't done any more prep since the last time i told u. sometime dis year will prob go tailor shirts and suit for husband.

fitting in oct this year? so fast ?
so u decided to make your wedding gown in US after all eh? how abt your evening gown and the rest?

i've been v preoccupied with the house
everyday go there after work
spend the entire weekend there from 9am to 1am (yes! its not a typo error!)

the hse is shift in condition now, most of the major furniture has arrived. only short of some electrical appliances and i'm done.
V tiring u know; i've been cleaning up so much i got blisters all over my hands, including the sensitive finger tips. Needless to say, there's no nail polish / manicure even!

Woke up with a stiff neck today.
was soooooo tired after 2 whole days of cleaning, i fell asleep instantly when i crawled into bed last night. Didn't adjust the pillow properly to support the neck, so the stiffness is the end result. ** suffering **

u flying over to china to meet your FH next month?
wow, all this jet setting must be expensive and tiring. my bank account has diminshed greatly due to the reno, so i'm going cold turkey (no holidays for the next 13 months). Sigh ...

its a gloomy monday, plus the weather isn't holding up too well with rain and dark clouds. Both stuffy and wet at the same time. Plus the stiff neck .... I WANT TO GO HOME !!!

mei

poor flowee
take care and dun walk too much..

yi
u oso take care.. i know how sianz it is to work dur wkends...

seems really quiet..

kk mei,
glad to have wave to u last wk! keke...

me not working today cos teacher's day ma... centre's closed. but now in office doing assignment!! sigh...

flowee

mei jie

tks 4 ur concern...
still @ work with a bandage ankle... :p

nt bad u gers finali get 2 wave @ each other...

may

Hi everybody:

I am so busy today that i only got time to log in ....sigh...hate mondays...

Did anyone do for the designer gown sale...it was so pathetic..i so angry...

They suppose to start at 11 am as stated but at 11 am i see people going in to the ballroom to setup. Terrible organisation. I think they only allowed people to go in after 11.30 am. Waste my time, plus PARKING was SO X. $3 for first hour...it was not a deigner gown sale more of a weddinng exhibition that suntec always have.

I AM VERY ANGRY AND UPSET. at the end of the day, i wasted my time, forgo my beauty sleep time on sat, wasted $5 for parking and they wasnt anything nice at all. Except...there was a photographer called Everafter ...not too bad...
but he uses digital

pooh

Hi Sweets,
i mean i visit the thread before i went to work so very early lor.

My hubby not a designer, he is a Navy Officer.
We engage contractor for our hse reno instead of ID firm. We design our own hse and the details design normally provide by my hubby and our contractor also give us some ideas lor.

Me abt 1.6m and my hubby only 1.67m so i can wear can can.

Do u think is too late if i go to visit the bridal shop in Nov and taking photo in Feb or Mar?

looking at the hotel i think u gals are quite rich. May i ask how old are u gals?

priviledged

Pooh, I'm 30+. My MIL said if we wanted a dinner, to do it well. My parents want a dinner, so we chose Regent cos MIL likes the ambience and food there.

Sweets,
Sounds like a good idea to check into the hotel beforehand. Hmmmm... maybe I should enquire about early check-in. Then get my make-up etc done at the hotel before setting off for the day.

Seems like quite a few of us are not exactly in Singapore. I'm here, but my FH is doing his post-grad in the US. That's why my photoshoot is only in May.

kiroro

Hi Pooh,
I am not rich either...working hard everyday though to earn a decent living. I am actually 28 year this years. Like what Piviledge said...if i want a dinner i want it to be grand and memorable loh. Where have you book you package ? I have book mine with Silhoutte (same as Piviledge)

cutie

Hi Pooh,

I'm 25 & my FH is 37. Not rich lah! Just that Oriental was hvg a promo at that time.

Well all boutiques told me that if I'm hvg MTM gowns, then need to give them at least 8 mths to prepare. But I tink Nov still all rite.

Hi Privliedged, u hvg your photoshoot in May??? Isn't it abit too late???? Tot need at least 2 mths to do up the albums? Will the albums be in time for the wedding????

shook

Hihi May
Thanks for your advice. Most likely I will settle down with Hotel New Otani. However it seems like our table are between 32-35 after listing the guest names in paper. The minimum no. of table required for weekend is 35 for Hotel New Otani. Gotta think again

Where is Fernavale Link? Near to which MRT station?

Hihi Jan
Yep yep agree. Different people have different taste and different views. Just go according to your liking. However, u really gotta try the gowns before taking up any package. I believe u could find gowns of your size. I remember one bridal shop told me that they made gowns of size S,M,L to cater for brides of different sizes. Even staff from White Link also told me that those gowns I saw in their rack are of different sizes.
In my humble opinion, sign up with the bridal shop which you like their gowns and they have gowns of your size. So that you have more choices for your studio photo shots and something to fall back in case the made-to-measure gown does not turn out to be what you like (touch wood).

Hihi Vin
There are always two faces of everything. There are advantages and disadvantages of staying with in-laws. You dun have to envy us in total, we sure loose out some advantages that u enjoy. Just think on the positive side.

Hihi Smiley
If you are using the small ballroom for your wedding banquet at Concord hotel, then it is not that bad because it is facing the lift. So, your guests will not miss it. If you are using the big ballroom, then u gotta take this into consideration. Having said about the down sides of Concord hotel, let me share with u the up sides of Concord hotel. There are two toilets in the bridal suite; the price is affordable $628net for weekend; the hotel entrance is very beautiful and grand; there are good comments on the food; there are toilets within the ballroom; most important of all, the banquet manager was a wedding consultant before, she is very helpful (kpo according to herself), so she can provide advices and let u know what u need to do as time comes,she can also provides contacts of suppliers with good rates. It is worthwhile to go there and take a look at the hotel and talk to the banquet manager yourself. Her name is Jandy.

shook

Hihi May
I went to the bridal sales on sat at 15:00+. I can't agree more. Nothing much to see and parking very x. One thing I notice, those bridal boutiques participating in the sales (White Link, Graceful Image, J&M, Wedding News) are the designer ones which dun participate in Suntec fair. Ever talk to White Link and J&M, both said that they dun take part in bridal fair. They only take part in hotel road shows. So, it is good only for couples who have not signed up bridal package.
This sales was reported in the news and papers. Seems like quite a number of couples find that they gain something from it. Me have the same view as you. Well well, one man's meat is another's poison

lynnie

Hi Yi

Last weekend went to visit Comex at Suntec. Currently looking for a CPU, won a LCD screen monitor not long ago hope to save some $$.

Hi flowee

Please take care.

Hi jojok

Welcome! Have you check out the banquet yet?

I've got an email informing me of a promotion at Orchard Hotel using Citibank credit card. 1 table of 10 persons free leh, not bad. Maybe you can check it out!

elaine

How's everybody? Seems like everyone is quite busy lately...did anyone went to the designer's sales last weekend besides Ling?

Flowee, Cherubies & Ling, got see my video clip or not?

F

fiona koh

Hi May!

I was at the sale too, the moment I stepped in, I was disappointed and so was my FH. The only highlight was that I met my friend who happened to be there too

I am looking at everafter's postcard now
. Yeah, looks not bad. I found out that nowadays most photographers use digital cameras for actual day photoshoot leh, am I right...? Seems like so far the photographers that I spoke to are all using digital!

lynnie

Hi Smiley

Quite busy too and didn't check out this forum for sometime. Ya I was promised an invitation for the Le Galleria's show but don't know whether would she remember to send to me or not :-(

Hi Jan and SLK

I am interested to visit Hyatt also, could you please give me their contacts? I've tried to email but seems like the address is wrong. Please don't be too stress out, maybe both of you can take a break and rest for the weekend.

pooh

Hi Cutie,
i have work part-time in Oriental before. Thats y i didnt even consider having my dinner there. I am 26 this yr and my hubby is 25 this yr.We have very tight budget and during the research Hoilday inn having a promo package and i love the crystal ballroom and heard the food not bad thats y i choose there.

Hi Kiroro,
i book my bridal package with Universal Bridal Studio. Actually did do any research before sign up so a bit regret. But overall still ok.

sue

Hi everybody, hope u all have a gd weekend. I usually 'come here' @ night when I'm home because always very busy @ work. Tot of going for the bridal gowns sale but went for Sharkaton @ Sentosa instead. My company was one of them supporting the event.

Hi SLK, when I spoke to Colin today, he said that our 1st appt shld be in mid or end Oct. Mian will let us know. As for the actual day photography, I think KC is the most value for money one already & he can go back to M'sia with me so that I can capture the series of events. For the rest of the photographers, they r charging extremely expensive.

Hi Vin, KC is charging me $150 more for going back to Segamat with me. It's better if he can follow the bridal car, otherwise, I'll have to pay for the petrol if he uses his own car. But if he were to follow the bridal car, I'll have to arrange for transport to take him out. I'm not sure which restaurant to use yet. I'll leave that to my FH's parents. I'll take care of the S'pore wedding & they will take care of the M'sia one.

kk

flowee jie,

yooo.. take care ok? I have sprained my ankle before, think 10 yrs back while playing badminton in school. It was indeed a painful experience and i still remember me crying

Mei jie,

did not see u properly leh. ekkekee... too far away liao.. hmmm, prove something. The flats are not too close to each other... hahahaa.. still got privacy :p

me also busy rushing term paper and case study.

yi jie,

now busy with study already. Work almost come to a standstill since i will be leaving next wednesday.

So how's life recently? We are all busy pple. I just came back from tuition class. Today reach my student's place late, so have to make up those 15 minutes. Very tired now

sweets

Hi all...wahh...u all talk to so much w/o me..
seems like I may be the youngest one around here..
heee..my FH also very much taller, I am 1.65 and FH is 1.8 plus.
FH stationed in China and I am in the States, so yah, we never saw the hotels before comitting, its ok, we will work things out later

Kiroro, u in HK ? when u intend to go back for good ? I got my WG from states, cos me big sized bride lar...scared home no one can outfit me..heee...

priviledged,
...yah, maybe can check with ur banquet coordinator and see can early check in not lar...maybe can even do tea ceremony there

Beibei...u "move" very fast....put us to shame man...i still thinking about EGs too ...hmmm