Woman View On Aging n $$$....><"

2012 , the end is near. Let's take our differences lightly. Drink more, have sex more, party more. And be independent so you survive alone in the world.

The world we knows is about to end.

Yah... go on... you mentioned you are only back for short while ... time is clicking.. more than a quarter has passed.. how many more months will you go in with that reason before you shoot a new one by next xmas?? Blabbering more crap. How everyone local cannot make it but yet strangely enjoying married lives with family... and btw, a significant number of folks here in sg aren't even local, so what's stopping you to find your ONE all these while? You behave like delusional IMH patient. Your credibility is zero. Only to justify your own term you addressed everyone... MORON except crazier.

Continue getting 'raped' by sweet young ones in SPA and calling that sound advises.

And continue to admire the ONE you love, who is already married, from a distance. And start criticising her marriage being a failure blah blah blah....

Maybe thats the reason of calling others to find 'The One' and then assume every marriage is a failure or some sort. Quite logical now why he does that.

(Sorry, can't help it)

I read one of the posting (yesno333's friend "manage to bring in around 9k each month thru his three jobs....it is not a lot i must say but enough for his small family of three") work 3 jobs earn $9k is little.

Goodness, $9k is a few times more than my previous household income - before I rejoined the workforce.

Topic: Woman View On Aging n $$$....
Well, woman aged, has no partner for life so guess money and house forms her security. Surely you can't count on her parents, friends or siblings to take care of her when she's a senior citizen (if she felt single is better or guys are not worthy to be her life long partner.

the thing is when u r earning 30k annually, u want 100k annually, when u get that, u will strive for 3-5 times more. Our expectation evolves. No matter at what level, we need some form of balance in our lives. The exception are on crisis periods where there are need to go the extra mile to focus all our attention to one aspect. It would be hard to sustain long term this way focusing only on one thing and expecting the rest to fall into place.

I think it depends on whether one will be contented with what they have in their life....maybe some will want more and more...but at least for me...i think anything more dun really make any difference already....financially speaking...i am happy with what i have now...><"

Most impt is self contention i guess...><"

contentment is ambiguous... whilst it may be preached in many ways, my Personal Belief is that it can be both Good or Bad depending on your age, the stage of life u're at, the country u're born in and the dreams u hold... amongst many other factors, so Application of this word goes to the formative ingredients behind the footprints we make in life.

in spore, being contented to the point of suppressing One's own fair ambitions, should not be what young adults or even adults in their 40s should adopt, least u have already done enough to sustain a steady pace to glide thru life fairly comfortable.

in a meritocrous society like ours, contentment can be carried on the lips of the fairly wealthy and successful, but not for those who struggle... becos Contentment is the fine line between Striving, or Giving Up too early, too easily...

if u are easily contented, the question should be self-explored, on whether it is becos u are very comfortable... or becos u have already given up on what u want in a self-defeated mindset.

nope, i definitely can't say i'm contented at this point of my life... am comfortable &amp; happy, but not contented. then again, u dun have to be contented to be happy.

Not all women like to stay at home. Some women enjoy working just like my sis who joined back the workforce this year after resting for nearly 4years. She's not require to work at all, she gets monthly allowance of 20k and 3helpers to assist her in daily chores. She told me she's sick of shopping, resting and she's happier now working than staying at home.

Wah u sure or not....as far as i understand anyone with upwards monthly allowance of 8k and up dun go back to workforce...those that i knows of who dun likes to stay at home as tai tai end up either doing voluntary work or start their own bizness...><"

With monthly 20k allowance and 3 helpers must be super rich la.....I know a few with net worth close to 100m and only give 9 - 12k a month to their wife......anyway poor as i am....i am lucky enough to know quite a few tat appears in singapore tatler magazine...may i know the name of ur sis or the hubby????

At least i can be awestruck....><"

yesno333,
Denise had explained getting 8k allowance &amp; didn't like to stay home type of women. She works really hard last time to her position and left her post for her kids. she's the career minded type that needs power. Commanding only 3 helpers at home is not enough for her. ha.

Chocolate, think there's a difference between 8k allowance and 8k monthly salary? I didn't mean 8k allowance but that I slogged for the 8k and I enjoy the work I'm doing. And eh..I didn't leave my position for any kids- no kids yet. Did you mistake me for someone? lol...anyway I'm career-minded not because I need the power but I'm just devoted to my work and enjoy that sense of job satisfaction. Unless I have kids, I also wouldn't want any helper at home. I don't need any helper cos my hubby and I share the chores. My house is too small to hire a helper anyway.

Denise, we are talking about my sister on the helper and power craving. Separate note: I was quoting your 8k post to explain to yesno333 that there are many women out there who loves to work than to rest at home just like you.

Many here have this prejudice against stay at home mums which I don't understand. Perhaps it has to do with people here deriving much of their sense of self worth from what they do. Stay at home mums are not interesting? If you are only interesting because you are gainfully employed then you must not be very interesting to begin with. Most local women I know work and the few who are "interesting" became that way in spite of their job. If you r a full time lawyer or a banker or a teacher or an accountant, you won't have much time to develop aspects about you that might be of interest to people around you. Not everyone is a christiane amanpour; certainly not the many aunties here.

Actually i do agrees that a lot of women out there would not mind working...but that is on the basis in the very first place...they r in quite a comfortable position in their company and drawing a nice salary...let's face it...if a woman is only earning 1-2k a month as a eg.cosmetic salesgirl....

Now that she marry someone well to do...why would she still be sticking to tat 1-2k a month job...with that 8k a month the hubby will provide she is better off starting her own bizenss or just put some of her time to doing voluntary/charity works..

When we tok abt 8k...8k is merely for her to keep...does not incl buying of groceries or paying of bills watever....and if a woman who stays home this way...she has much to benefit from in the event of divorce one day esp when it comes to claiming of alimony...for if i am not wrong...according to woman charter...after the divorce the man has to provide the same lifestyle the woman leads before the divorce....

why u keep mentioning 8k? why not 6k or 10k or 25k? seems a magic number for u. lolz

Realistically speaking, not too many Singaporeans are in the service industry doing junior positions. These jobs are mostly filled by foreigners. Amongst my circle of friends, mostly have progressed in their careers. 1-2k salary is very difficult to get by with the average context of most singaporeans.

To me 10k is no different from 8k.....Beside i think 8k allowance is the minimum before a woman should consider staying home...

As for 25k a month...let's face it not much ppl can give tat kind of money....last year there were two very high profile divorce case in the paper....and i happens to know one of them....from wat i know the guy involved in it only give 9k a month to the wife....n we r toking abt net worth in the hundred million bracket...

Ur grp of friends most of them are likely arm with a diploma n upwards....i look at my staff some of them blue collar workers...some getting 1.8k a month....some 2.4k....most of them 'O' levels n less....n i am toking abt ppl in their late 20s and 30s><"

Not every single singaporeans are earning a good income....

In the context of someone with that much net worth.it is not about can or not. they can surely afford.

About blue collar jobs. Even in NS, we do come across some struggling with odd jobs, but its really the minority. It isn't simply about education. Most would have strived and established themselves in their line of business.

think it really depends on both individuals' earning power (opportunity cost), stage of career, family requirements (crucial need? children/aged parents), as well as their stage in life (buying a home, just bought, already paid-up).... amongst other matters.

for myself, i am pretty much against unnecessary StayAtHome individuals... given the higher costs of living, future medicals and other currently unseen costs... IF we can work today for Tomoro's expenditures - we Should.

just becos we can afford something today, should not stop us from giving due consideration to the future. it is Not uncommon to see some families need money at a later stage for the aged/medically-inflicted parents... and be torn between going back out to work, or staying home to look after. The burden then falls Heavily on ONE individual to bring in the daily bread. (or children needing overseas education for that matter)

i Do Not wish to be THAT individual. working a good 30-40yrs and then when i can come to semi-retire, i have to work harder All Over again with no clear idea When i can actually retire. i will end up looking back at Why, during the healthier years... my wife have to quit her job unnecessarily... when the extra 500k she Could-Have-Made - could have been compounded and grown to maybe an extra 1 million?

this would be my real fear and something i KNOW i would regret. basically for myself... my belief is that no-one should quit for the sake of it Unless there is a Higher Purpose.

whilst i can support my family comfortably... i also have Other Purpose for my money that serves a greater good... and having my wife quit - would directly impact how much i can give to serve this higher purpose...

so it's not as simple... and very much varies with different individuals. just wanna present my case for an example.

I agree tat wat u say is correct....he can definitely give his wife 20k or even 30k a month if he wants...the problem is he wun do tat....anyone who started out from nothing to build up their fortune....is not likely to do tat.......becoz they know that money is not easily earned....

And if u tok abt those who are from wealthy family....most of their money are control by their well-to-do parents....

Tat's why i am skeptical when choc say her sis is given 20k allowance after marriage n 3 helpers...I am sure such ppl exists but they are RARE......and if they exist...they are most likely someone really powerful in sg small bizness circle....so if possible would like to know who tat is...so i can be at least awestruck...><"

What do u expect them to establish, no education and equip with blue collar skills.....there r so many ard earning 2k++ a month in their 30s and 40s....maybe not in they city i dunno...but a lot working in the west side of sg sure are earning such keep......

Sometimes a person can reach a stage of life whereby the money is at a lvl where anything more dun really make such a big difference....

How many people have actually reach a stage in life whereby buying the things they want in their dream is not a problem anymore....The day u reach tat..then u tell me whether tat extra million make a difference...

But for those who wanted more n more for gods know wat reason...it is another story....maybe get urself listed in forbes....><"

It takes all sorts to make a world. I concur Power's view, each individual who's fit to work should not be a social parasite.

superman's wife is a stay at home individual at an early age of 26.

To be honest, sometimes i dun even know what to do what the money i have. i basically have no monetary ambitions right now.

but u're probably financially savvy at a younger age given your profile... if u can manage it, why not?

i'm financially-dumb... so i just go by the simple rules of earning more than i can spend... to stay out of trouble.

I hope you didn't equate stay at home mums to social parasites. If not, the only parasites are those residing in the nebulous region thats your brain.

Powder my wife is a full time mum and, much as I love my children, nobody can pay me enough to do what she does. I'm sure that she'd want to work when the kids are older... unless I can convince her otherwise. I've very little regard for salaried employment; I'd much rather she starts a business of her own.

well if can build a passive stream that takes care of itself, it'll definitely help. else in spore, the typical/initial is just to push thru with the career in the meantime.

the opportunity costs involved... of cos we have to find a balance within each family nucleus... if all are able-bodied and dun need special attention... think i'd opt for dual-income over single. whether wife builds a career, temps, ot part-times... doesn't really matter... but if potentials can be met, why not? companies n bosses are more tolerant and understanding which can allow for flexi-hours as well...

it's up to us to find the right mix.

best to avoid the "what could have been"... of cos it's highly subjective.

U r moron if u think that I'm referring to the stay home mom.he was talking about unnecessary stayhome individuals and I agree on that

In the grand scheme of things we like having my wife as the caregiver for our kids. Not saying every family has to do the same because our circumstances are unique. However the disdain for stay at home mum here is just incredulous. Especially when many of the so called career women aren't exactly titans of their industries. Most have unfulfilling jobs earning unenviable incomes. They just don't want to stay home and be mum; no that would be beneath them.

You dont read in context do you? The "individual" referred to one half of a couple. Maybe to you it's unnecessary for a woman to care for her children when she can be out there answering phone calls and preparing her boss' expense claims? Think woman! The only folks who stay home "unnecessarily" are those who can afford to do so.

So Kate Middleton is a parasite? What about a dotcom millionaire who retired early? Or what about the tatler socialites who contributed more in gst than you can hope to earn? They are all parasites? You must have made great contributions to humanity for you to pass such a judgment. Or perhaps you just have a narrow pitiful outlook of life?

Parasites in this instance refer to women that laze around and expect to be fed like a queen by virtue of her martial status. It doesn't at all mean every housewife and home maker are parasites.

My wife's colleague ask her what have she requested for the reward of having her baby. It was WTF to me. Starting a family is not some biz transaction. There isn't a need to reward. Appreciation, I show her all the time... not just with gifts. This reward thing is totally insulting to the marriage and the personal entirely.

milo, it does happen.

I've heard of husbands who 'reward' their wives with bags, watches, houses, cars, depending on their financial abilities.

I agree with you that it is wtf. It's a rather feudalistic way of thinking where because the wife has endured 9 months of discomfort and the labour of intense pain that it is 'expected' she be rewarded somewhat. Yet again another Chinese show of wealth to make the wife feel better lah.

but it still happens!

Maybe the term social parasite threw me off course. I got the feeling that people validate their existence because they happen to have a job and pay taxes. Well the laziest women I know "work" but that's all they do. Housework is for the maid while schools and grandparents care for the children. If one is lazy and vain, staying home and caring for the family would be a no no. Tough job, no pay, not glamorous, little peer interaction, way too much patience needed.

There is NOTHING so called social parasite merely because you are not working.

Social parasites are people such as Jack Neo, Durai, Ming Yi... these are social parasites.

They suck huge money from the society and give back shits. This is parasite.

If you are not working, you are just not working. There is nothing necessarily about being lazy.

You think an MP is very hardworking compare to a lesser paid toilet cleaner? Who is lazier?

It's only about opportunity and luck. Get the definition right.

I don't mind being labelled by morons...

In the environment of insanity, the sane is usually the insane.

Morons~

Milo / Bedokman, I will be very happy if "The One" (Scope's words) buys me a bouquet of flowers after my delivery. And also lots of tonics because that's what I will need to nourish my health. If not how to work, take care of baby, chores and maybe prepare for the next baby right? 我åªå¸Œæœ›ä»–心里有我。

Miyako, that reminds me of the delivery of our 1st born... wife was in labor for 13 hours, our boy was born at 1pm, both wife and myself were so hungry right after delivery. I rushed down to get a Delifrance tuna croissant sandwich. It was the most delicious sandwich we shared right in the delivery room.