Woman View On Aging n $$$....><"

yesno333

Over the weekend i was having coffee with this female friend of mine....she keeps on lamenting the fact that she is in her 30s now and she is worried that she will be left on the shelf soon....i cannot help but wondering....does women really get worried as they grow older? Is the need to get married for them so important? Is loneliness for majority of them something that they finds it hard to accept?

She also mentions that as her youth fade away....money is becoming increasing more important to her...i assume security when she says tat....cannot help but wonder....is the reason why women tends to value money as they grow older becoz of the fact that they see their youth fades away? As such, they view money as a form of security for them....

Would be nice if some women would be kind enough to contribute their views on this....><"

The lonely part...i totally agree majority of both men and women have a fear of loneliness...this is quite the norm...

But for a man to worry on the youth issue...i mean let's face it....a man in their 50s has no problem getting a wife in their 20s if they are loaded enough...but for a woman...it is another story...

Let's not forget..men are like wine....the older they are the sweeter they are...while women are like flowers...they have a tendency to wither with age....

No offense to any women out there...just my own point of view...><"

yesno, I am not woman, but in my lifetime I have devoted considerable effort to understanding them. Though someone as intelligent as Stephen Hawking can also raise his hands up and concede that the one mystery he cannot solve is women, I do have something to share which I am confident is close enough to a good answer.

The stark difference, in general, between women and men can be traced to our early roots back in the stone age. What were our roles? Men were hunters, and women were gatherers. Whatever men hunted and found and discovered, they brought it back to their caves and the women would cultivate, cook, clean, provide a good base for the men to come home to and rest, take stock, recuperate and go out again. From this connection, you may also use it to explain rather loosely why men stray and women tend not to. Women will say it is an excuse but if you give it some thought, it can't be too far from the truth.

Next, we may want to assume that all human beings are insecure. But men and women deal with insecurity differently. Whilst men seek to grow indefinitely if possible, women seek to keep and protect. That's why again, in the office, you see the general trend of arguments between the genders as being growth vs consolidation.

Hereafter, u may postulate that security is very important to most women. And then it depends on what they see as security. To most at an earlier age, of course it is in a man, especially as their career is not a considerable factor. That is why you see so many women (of all ages I must say) having so many problems with men whether to stay, to love, to this to that, haha, it all stems from their insecurities. After they have been through their fair share of trials and tribulations with the opposite sex, through broken marriages, through infidelity, physical/verbal abuse, flippant wishy washy men, etc, they start to look elsewhere for security. They may find this in their families, some are very close to parents, siblings, nieces and nephews. They may find it in their careers, perhaps after all these years despite their problems with setting up a family, they have been able to be consistent at work, turning up, doing their dues, carrying out their expected scope of duties, so they move up and and now have something to look back on. They may find it in their girlfriends who mostly have also been through the same experiences. Slowly they find that they don't need a man anymore because they have other things that typify security.

Then the common denominator to facilitate all this, of course, is money lah. U need money to travel with girlfriends, money to enjoy fine dining, bring your nieces and nephews out, etc.

When I was a younger boy (now older boy), I used to detest women I thought were materialistic. If say there was a hot girl in school who went out with a rich guy, I would tell myself, 'ahhh she's that type, she's not worth it'. Over time as I got older I saw more of such types, and they used to disgust me. But opening up and having more 'sisters' helped me see that though you can't deny their materialism, it simply stems from their insecurity. Though they may not specifically hone in on the richest man around, of course, the richer the better right? Perhaps so as to weather the stormiest of weathers in the future. But all are merely components of what comprises security. I found that if, as a man, you are willing to 'work' in other ways, such as simply opening your mouth to say a few nice words of appreciation and affection, or just doing some legwork literally walk to the florist and buy some flowers, or simply offering to wash the dishes, or a backrub/footrub, or just spending half an hour of your time to research on something she mentioned in passing or complete a few of her errands will go a long way to making her think she can be secure with you. Of course, some men are lazy and maybe do it occasionally and then wonder why there are still intermittent bouts of 'craziness' from their SOs. Haha. So the other key is consistency lor.

Ok I'm slowly getting out of point.

But more or less you get the idea lah.

Last bit, disclaim, my postulations are based on sample specimens of normal, well-balanced, sane, level-headed people ah. You can say 'but my friend this or that' to dispute my gender assumptions but now I say first. Haha. Only apply to normal intelligent enough people who have conscience and maturity.

Haha.

The key word is Loaded enough, which means pretty well to do then. What abt those that are not and earning power is no better than us?
These men are left on shelf as well and sadly many men in sg 40s) don't wk out, don't take care of their look, they dont appear to be wine as well

Interesting...personally i view women who are in pursuit of money as smart women...those who believes in love...A fool in their own rights....

A men seek infidelity to grow his sense of security...hahaha...i doubt so on this....

A man who are capable enough never need to seek affirmation on his level of security..unless in the very first place he is not even consider loaded enough...

As for men whose earning power are close to their women counterparts or far off from them..they are better off seeking a bride from vietnam, china or one of the 3rd world countries.....or just staying alone for the rest of their life....

I do agree that many men in their 40s dun really take care of themselves...those are better off rotting off in the shelves....

A useless man will always be a useless man..nothing they do will mask their incapability....

no lah not seek infidelity to be secure, at least not directly.

for cavemen, like most male animals, to sow wild oats to have many offspring is to increase chances of survival of his species. Somehow, that gene is still inherent in today's times, though not so politically correct.

Dun even know why u want to talk abt increasing one's own offspring..this is really way out of the topic....

I also have a friend who is in her 30s and worrying about not getting married yet because she told me that her priorities in life have changed as she grew older from being more career driven to being more family focus and thus wanting to set up a family. Reason being is she finds that she has reached a stage where she more or less knows that she will not progress very far in her career from where she is already now even if she puts in extra effort thus instead of putting total focus on career she might as well give high priority to setting up a family for attaining family bliss and happiness.

She told me that she is beginning to worry because she thinks that she is not young anymore which will make her less attractive as a potential marriage partner to guys as compared to ladies in their 20s. Also, she is worried as her biological clock is ticking for having a child.

All these she realised and talked about it only when she reach 30. Thus she ends up increasingly worrying about her situation and talking about it very often as she believes time is essence for a lady who have reached her 30s and not married.

Another woman point of view ... hmm interesting...i forgot to mention that friend of mine her career is not stable...maybe a woman tend to be more family focus if they have a stable career...very interesting point of view indeed...

Bedokboy, what is catch22 ?

In a way yes, sometimes she ends up screwing up opportunities because she keeps thinking time is essence thus sometimes she will be on a few relationships or go for dates with other people even when she is already in a relationship because she feels that time is essence as she feels that to get to know a person better and to get to know if the relationship will lead to marriage takes time of at least a year or so and she feels that she does not have many 1 yr to waste thus she tries optimizing her time by going in parallel relationships. But sometimes this method back fires as her bf might discover and think that she is two timing or is less trustworthy for a wife material but if u look at it from another perspective she is just a lady thinking that she is running short of time and trying to find her lifelong partner , afterall her bf did not promise her anything for the future too

Hmm..interesting that many would associate $$$ with age and insecurities.

Whether men/women, single/married, desperate/happy to be single, I think I wouldn't associate $ with insecurities. Well, at least that's not how I perceive $.

I'm brought up in a traditional family with parents who have this old thinking that men should always be the sole breadwinners and earn enough for the family while the wives must cook, do household chores and take care of kids. Hence when I started dating, even though I'm not materialistic (generally happy enough to dine at kopitiams and receive perlini silver as jewellery), I have this wrong concept that a man must pay for everything or at least have the ability to do so.

This concept stays with me until I entered the society to work and realised my own ability to earn my own $. I like the sense of financial independence and freedom. With more $ and given the stress from work, I splurge more on myself to make myself feel comfortable and happy. Does this mean I'm materialistic? Perhaps in a way yes because I do try to improve my material life. Did I want to earn more $ and spend lavishly on myself because of insecurities? Definitely no link here. I earn more $ because I'm generally ambitious in my career and have the ability to advance further. I spend more $ because I simply have the financial ability now as compared to the past and just want to make myself feel comfortable. You worked so hard so you definitely want to enjoy yourself too right.

Prior to getting married, I wasn't afraid at all to be marrying late or not meeting the right one. I dated a lot because I enjoyed it instead of aiming to get married before 30.

As shared previously in another thread, I have a fair share of friends/colleagues who are happy to be single though they are past 35 years of age (equal number of males and females btw) and also a couple or so who hope to get hitched soon.

Anyway, though I personally don't belong to the type of women who are materialistic due to insecurities, I do agree that if one (regardless of gender here) doesn't have love, he/she will certainly try to improve other aspects of his/her life and these usually include $, career and personal indulgence in leisure activities etc.

I'm greedy. I want all - love, $, career, family, good health. - sounds like new year wishes again...

A woman issue is still best answer by another woman...i must say...but in a way...at least it provides a insight as to how women view rs at different stage of life....

being career minded don't mean that such ladies cannot have a few toy boys to play around with.
like men, as long as they are willing to pay, they too can get the company they desired.

but when it comes to family planning, they really need to get it right the first time or else it will not only be a waste of their time and some aspects of their remaining youth.

Towards the end of this thread i have to say this...camomile friend...who date 2 or 3 person at one go...actually is not at fault...from a woman point of view..it make perfect sense especially u have no idea the guy u are dating is really serious on marriage or not...this point was actually mention to me by some of my female pals years back...now that it is being brought again...can't help feeling tat it make perfect sense from a woman point of view..

I must say...not long ago i read from a forum about how to weed out men who are serious abt marriage and those that just want to play around...is simply to avoid sex until marriage...if a man truly loves a woman and want to marry her...i am sure he can wait..this will definitely helps those players out there to beat a hasty retreat if they are out for sex only...

As for denise...i do agree that a woman who wants the best of life and spend lavishly on themselves should never be classify as someone who is materialistic...i mean who dun want to pamper on themselves...

Just as women have a tendency to spend on nice clothes n branded bags....men have to admit they have the tendency to spend on cars too....><

I must say...not long ago i read from a forum about how to weed out men who are serious abt marriage and those that just want to play around...is simply to avoid sex until marriage...if a man truly loves a woman and want to marry her...i am sure he can wait..this will definitely helps those players out there to beat a hasty retreat if they are out for sex only...

-------------------------------------------
Actually, I kind of disagree with the above view. I think sexual compatibility is very important and imagine this is something you wouldn't know till you're married. Of course, no comments for women with religion that frown upon premarital sex. I'm so glad I'm a freethinker.

haha yes, the man next to me loves to spend on cars...

Maybe postpone sex until the later part of the rs or just lie to the guy in the start of the rs that sex wun be involve until the day they get married...if not the gal would have a problem knowing whether the guy is really genuinely looking at marriage...at least can help in letting those players beat a hasty retreat...

I mean after all a lot of guys out there would just lie to bed the girl...a girl got to protect themselves....Not every guy would upfront tell a girl he is not into marriage....other then me LOL

Ah evolution psychology. When my college psy prof talked about the need to perpetuate our genes I asked him so why is it when most guys are sowing their wild oats, getting the women pregnant is the last thing on their minds?

Tat's becoz a lot of guys out there are only interesting in bedding the girl...last thing of coz in their mind is to get the girl pregnant...all they care is sex...so a girl got to protect themselves mah....though i never understand why a lot of guys out there their mind is always swirling with sex...Zzzz

To put it bluntly, it's an exchange of goods and services. The man provides resources (i.e. money, food, shelter etc) and the woman provides services (i.e. cooking, cleaning the house, taking care of baby etc) However, in the modern world, few men provide 100% resources cos women are capable of earning their own keep. Or rather, standard of living is so high that you need both to work. Hence, men are expected to share the 'servicing' responsibilities too.

Hmmm..to be fair, men are also now sharing household chores with women at home etc so are women sharing the financial burden of the family. Times have changed.

Hmm..a close friend of mine actually took on 3 jobs to ensure that the wife stays at home to be a housewife...he got a day job in the morning...and another one at night and one more during weekend.....manage to bring in around 9k each month thru his three jobs....it is not a lot i must say but enough for his small family of three i guess....

He did mention tat he still prefer the traditional roles of men and women....maybe a lot of men out there are plain lazy taking on just one job....end up having to get their wives to work....><"

If a man is not capable enough to earn big bucks...at least be hard working and take on extra jobs to earn extra keep for the family....><"

camomile: Catch22 is like chicken or egg. Meaning, it is a situation where an individual cannot avoid a problem because all the factors are intertwined. Like she has no men so she is insecure about her future, but through her insecurities, eg maybe too anxious, she also frightens away the guys.

toma: I would say the answer is timing? Though we are genetically inclined to 'sow our oats' almost as soon as we hit puberty, societal pressures dictate that getting someone pregnant means having to be responsible for it and perhaps we could be in a state of denial about it?

Well ok let's say we live in a world where we don't take up responsibility for our children, would that make us want to sow more wild oats? or say if a guy can't have children, would it make him less likely to want to sleep with as many as possible? Also if we are genetically programmed to want to hve as many mates as possible, the implication is we wouldnt be too choosy whom we do it with. I don't know about you but I'd like to think I've a bottomline in that department.

My point is, evolution psychology is just some people trying to fit a theory to what they observe. And often they stretch that theory to ridiculous extent in order to have it better fit what's going on. How about we just leave it at - guys do that because it feels good?

if I may expand, the post-sex feeling dam anti-climatic though. Haha.

You can so look forward to it if you think the object of your desire fits the bill in every way, eg the way she walks, the way the wind blows her hair across her face, the way... ok gonna get a bit more graphic liao... haha.

But it seems like after the deed is done, you just want to join your buddies for a beer, turn on the telly to find a game, or just be alone and surf the net, of course staying away from the porn pages...

Aiyo~ I am 36 this year, BUT I am not a woman.

I think it's not about youth... Yesno's fren maybe is not pretty. Else would have hooked up Yesno for money. LOL~!!!

According to Chocolatte, men after 40 or about my age confirm no women want liaoz...

Nabei... ... LOL~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yesno's friend is a plain example of working hard but not smart. Anyway, the role of a father is not just to provide financially. He is putting on a hat that is bigger than he can fit.
Yes, it is hard work no doubt. But, is that what his family really need him for? Or it is his pride that is above logic and realism. Resources is limited, make the most out of it. It is better of him bringing home 6K but having time for his family bonding and quality time with his wife. If he seek to increase his income, doing more jobs should only be a short term solution to generate more capital.

If most of his earnings is already spent, then he is just short sighted. what happens when he is no longer able work like this? Does it mean the entire family will have nothing to live on?

I disagree. Working 3 jobs (well 2.2 really) is an ok compromise because it frees the mum to be the primary caregiver. It's better than both parents work and the domestic help taking up the role.

no hard and fast lah. Depends on the caregiver herself.

some might question, then who care for the caregiver? Some wives may start to get fidgety and wonder what the point is. The role of the sole breadwinner is certainly not easy but it can also be very tiring and frustrating taking care of kids, not to mention juggling household chores and running errands. I'm not for dual income too if it can be helped but the husband needs to come home and 'sayang' the wife also lah...

i'm the type who will work the 3 jobs for money, in the event that i am unable to do so with 1 or even 2. of cos, it would be wiser to get more wisdom thru reading and seeking to achieve a higher single-stream of income, with several passive ones, so as to free up time for the fatherly role... But i believe most of us will go thru a period/phase of non-stop hardwork and time-sacrifice to during the journey.

"Tat's becoz a lot of guys out there are only interesting in bedding the girl...last thing of coz in their mind is to get the girl pregnant...all they care is sex...so a girl got to protect themselves mah....though i never understand why a lot of guys out there their mind is always swirling with sex...Zzzz"

- this is highly subjective though... and it varies with different guys of different age, maturity, goals, motivation etc. There are many pple who enjoy fishing for the process, not the catch... they dun bring home the fish, but release the fish back into the waters. likewise, some guys enjoy the hunting process without seeking for sexual gratification.

In any case, the reasons for the women on ageing &amp; money thing is much more complex if u look at the typical modern INTELLIGENT women...

so again, it's subjective. sadly, most women who Dun fall into this category, might think they do.

so it really depends on the target women u're looking at... u can have intelligent women whose Emotions supersedes their intelligence, u have less well-read unexposed women who think more highly of themselves than their Quality of Living proves, etc etc...

a generic thread like this can't really provide the answers. being a woman will not provide the answers either.

it's rather impossible for one Not to find security in having a bigger bank account... especially for ladies who, Unfortunately, have a higher expense for self-upkeep. starting from the day their menses begin, to their 1st makeover, and the media's influence for them to retain youthfulness for a large part of their lives, handbags/shoes, higher hairstyling prices etc - they are already financially disadvantaged. So i see no wrong with seeking to amass better finances in view of what lies ahead.

for the ladies who are 'left on the shelf', i think alot has to do with SELF, at least 80% in there... pls dun quote me extreme cases of physical flaws for argument. there are fat/ugly individuals with Absolutely Charming Personalities... so it comes back to Self.

yesno333, it's not about the men earning enough so that the wife can stay at home. It's very funny here. What makes you think the wife is happy to stay at home and not work? I know many women who prefer working to staying at home and be a housewife.

Assumption that people work only for survival. Women too have career aspirations and goals. Something already highlighted several times in a separate earlier discussion.

I dun means every single women out there la....i mean those who prefer to stay at home one....><"

Anyway sometimes i feel some men cannot let their wife stay at home also becoz they cannot afford the price to let them stay at home....i got a friend wife who demand 8k to stay home...coz that is her current salary...and expect increment each year.....><"

Maybe all this boils down to the need for security woh....

if wife is on 8k, no reason to stay home. can hire nanny + maid with 3k and still be able to bring home 3k/mth, 36k/yr, 360k in 10yrs (assuming no pay increments). that's 1 suburban 4rm HDB if u include the cpf contributions.

for 1 spouse not working, the other spouse has to work More Than doubly hard...

and a spouse who has lost touch with the working world, tends to be less interesting to speak with. your daily conversations probably revolve more around household &amp; the mundane. there's gonna be more silly conflicts at home, with MIL or maid or watever... it's in the genes.

I think this depends u know....so far i have never met a single woman that told me that they enjoy working..maybe different circle of people i dunno....

Those tat i know of usually state how they love to stay at home and how much they need per month to survive the perils of the house.....ZzZZzz

So wat can i say....diff ppl diff needs...><"

"so far i have never met a single woman that told me that they enjoy working"...

I have met even working aunties beyond retirement age staying employed because it boring at home and caring for grandchildren. They enjoy their jobs and find them meaningful. These are aunties from yesterday generation, what more the modern woman. I really wonder the circle of people you mingle with.

Maybe you should network with our MPs spouses, do you think they work for survival as the MP pay is too low? Somehow... it is the selective filter you put on to fit your view or is it really the case you haven't came across a single woman. That's a big claim frankly.

All of us might stay in the same country...but it is a totally different environment we are in....whether to believe is up to the individual...><"

Sometimes i cannot help but feels tat it must be great to have ur partner willing to build a future with u together...

Instead of throwing everything to u eh....hahaha

hehe okay, yesno333, now here's a woman telling u...I ENJOY working and while I am on 8k, I'm not so crazy to demand for 8k fr my hubby even if I'm not working. I think that's ridiculous. And we shouldn't assume that women who work are with lousy husbands who can't afford their lifestyles. In fact I have a choice to do less work and earn a typical salary of 3/4k per month but that's not what enthuses me - at least not the job scope.

yes, its great, that's why I want a life with her. We are a great team together, pride doesn't come between us. It only motivates us for a future together. Even if I can earn so much some day, I will not house her against her will. She can work for fun in a relaxing work environment that enables her financial independence and stay relevant with the world. What powder mentions about losing touch is indeed a very serious concern. Modern home makers have to make the conscious effort to stay updated. Its hard to remain on the same page if she becomes completely absorbed in her household chores, she becomes more a mother and domestic helper, no more a partner and soul mate that I can relate with.

Couples in Singapore... going by your thinking... is dry as sands, and boring like hays. Is this even man-woman relationship?

No wonder so many divorces around. You people are really morons?

I'm happily married with the one for 7 years and looking forward to more years together... not like some moron that speak of theories and castles in the air. go on, talk is cheap. walk the talk. Singaporeans is this and that... you behave completely local, blaming others but seeing yourself so perfectly. Good luck to find your one. Moron.

some life is special some is not. not every life is unique.

in today world here the system,

born, work and die. nothing else. I can guarantee you all of the people in here, you have the job just because of no choices not because of your own will. you STUCK in the system.if you get out you die. thanks to ECONOMIST, the invention of SUPPLY and DEMAND so that everything have value now even though you can have all of them for FREE.

you are born to work, but not to earn.

From a typical woman's point of view, a woman is not really a nice woman to be with if she's a full-time homemaker. Firstly, she's boring because her conversations revolve around tv drama, babies, household chores. Secondly, she doesn't see a point to dress up so she's not that physically attractive. Thirdly, she may be feeling bored at home that she becomes more sensitive towards what you say to her and how you behave towards her when you finally return home at night.

Miloice,

You are 7 years of happily married and yet you can't even produce sound advice. Are you sure when it is your turn to be tested, you will fare any better? LOL~

Don't be a moron and shoot anyohow with your 7 years of useless records. That doesn't mean anything. You are just plain lucky, and you have no right to talk nosense.

Fair?

I have been reading you guys talking nosense, and when it comes to application... messed up after messed up. To be honest, any of you here when kena the test will not fare any better.

Because you are morons.