WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

linditt

Hi ekardo,

The discount voucher is given by HN when u purchase the 1087. Can be offset immediately. Hence the discount price of 999.

ekardo

how about king size quilt or mattress cover?

I reckon a 7.5??

is 1087 good??? offered $1020 at HL....might go to HN or Best or courts to see if they can offer better pricing..

ssang

I jus bought brandt 1277 front load from Goh A* B** @ $1100.
They are having promotion for this model nw, promo will end when they receive notice from dealers.
I find it a gd buy as it can go up to 1200 RPM.

ekardo

how many KG is this 1277 ??
seems like a good buy?

I got my 1087 from HN...$1019 after adding delivery..$1 cheaper than Hong Liang, and can pay by installment..

any good website that teaches how to use Front Load??

ridhwan82

1this 1277 is a 7kg brandt washer that have variable temperature, variable spin speed up to 1200rpm.

in has the program for opti45 a Fuyll load in about 45 mins at 40 degrees. this is their selling point plys it has the surfliss which is easy iron option.

but i would still porefer to wash using the main wash cotton of synthetic and not the optiA 45.

like i said to most. brandt usually five value for money in terms of features.

oh i see you gotr the 1087.

how come never opted for a slifghtly bigger drum the 1090.

ekardo

1090 specs looks old as compared to 1080 (or 1087)...

and a bit more expensive...

Do you guys think HN Extended warranty at 5 years for $145 is worth buying ??

ridhwan82

it depends on how you look at it.

cos if say in the second year * touch wood* something happens to your machine and needs repair. just for them to come down is already 52.50 or sorts excluding parts.

and shoudl you need for them to come down like say change the door. usually its the door catch due to some mishap happens teh door itself would cost around 100 so yeah

i would rather be safe than sorry. yuo can never know what is wrong with the production. and wahts worse is that you cannot choose to extend your warranty after you bought it. only at point of purchase you can get it.

so i would go for it. nonetheless.

ekardo

but looking at my mum's national top load washer...no problem for 10 over years running.....

nowadays no more such product??

ridhwan82

well its hard to say depends on luck.

my first thomson nothing went wrong for years until i decided its time to retire and the energy consumption (one of the first continental washer wash hot water the electricity almost killed me)

then the second one also trouble free except for the fact that i made it work for me like crazy so the thermostat died on me.

then the third machine i retired it early cos the spin speed just not high enough.

though no problems but the door due to high usage in my house and many hands (7 ppl in my household) the door spoils and each time uit has to be flown in from france so it costs about 150 odd to be replaced and luckily that this machine i got the safety 5 warranty cos i got to change the door 2 times in its lifetime.

and henve i already recovered back what i paid for the warranty with just one time calling. but i called in for like i think 3 times. so worth it.

and there is another side of the story with this i can pm you if you want. when i retired this set of thomson hehehe..

ekardo

ridz...tell me about it..

I might go down to HN later to get the extended warranty..but wanna hear about the down side...

snoopie

hi ridz,

Yes, i'm looking at the asian top load then.

i'm considering the toshiba AW-9760SS 8.5kg OR 9kg panasonic MA-F90X. Is Toshiba or Panasonic better in their topload w/m?

any advice?

ekardo

forgot to mentioned...

all the salesman (courts or HN) nowadays keep promoting LG direct drive front load...at $899 for 8kg with 10 years warranty..

they getting more commission ??

paperball

I'm using Toshiba AWD-950SSW (white) 8.5kg which I got $585. This is a direct drive w/m of shaft driven motor (most w/m is on belting). Very quiet and I dun realise the w/m is doing a spin dry as it is so quiet.

snoopie

hi paperball,

where did you get it from? Do we need to buy those extended warranty from HN, courts, denki etc? usually default only have 1yr warranty if we buy from Hongliang, rite?

raindrop

hi paperball,

I'm also planning to get Toshiba AWD-950SSW.
Do u noe if there's any promotion for Toshiba w/m now?

Can share ur feedback(eg water/electricity consumption, etc) on the above model? :p

Thks!

paperball

To Snoopie: I got it from an electrical appliance shop in Toa Payoh central. I did not request for any extended warranty.

To Raindrop: When I bought this w/m, Toshiba was not having any promotion. I can't really tell you the data pertaining to consumption. When I first land my eyes on it, I already decided I want this model.

Btw, HN, Best, Courts are selling this model at $679. They are offering some vouchers for the purchase of this model

ridhwan82

thomson are great, whirlpool so so.. brandt not too bad.

what are you looking for.

oh yeah to all that day i was at this best J8 and it funny cos i saw this sales lady talking nonsense and trying hard to convince 2 couples on washing machines and dryer.

i was just standing by and watching them. i really think that its a lot of mis information or information mismanagement that is causing a lot of confusion among the users

snoopie

hi ridz / paperball,

the panasonic w/m comes with the aquabeat feature, 2 stores salesman recommend this as this is cleaner. anyone uses this?
it's also cheaper than toshiba model.

homeangel120

Hi,the saleslady i met only trying to sell whirlpool to me? But seems that the forum here recommend tat whirlpool is so so only, so i might think twice now. But, she also mentions tat whirlpool is actuallyunder Fisher & Paykel? isit true? Any whirlpool user here?

yanee

Thanks Ridz n Myk...
u both have been a great help... 1 for info, the other for recommendation of sales person

Initially, i made up my mind on EF Washer + Dryer combo which is priced at $980 for both... But after going thru your conversation, i went around to have a look at Electrolux.. Wasn't so keen on the Made In Thai.. But after some sales talk by the sales man and remembering Ridz's comments on Electrolux, i bought Electrolux 1087 + 429!!! VERY WAY OFF RITE... *hehehe*

Is $1570 a good bargain for this two machines? Hope it will serve me well for weekly wash for 2 person....

edwinloh

is there anyone using Panasonic "Tilted-Drum" NA-V60A1WPQ front loader? I kind of regret did read this forum earlier.. everyone seems to be going for continental brand.

any1 has experience using the panasonic model? i dun have much washing to do as it is just myself and my wife and maybe my mum in the future. My only concern if i can wash bedsheet on 6kg washing machine...

highlow

i am using NA-V80GDWPQ and it ultra silent and i love it. The only thing is that the cycle time i think it a bit too long...

ekardo

Front load cycle time is normally longer..

not getting the Pana since it's not really saving water !

Yanee..welcome to the 1087 club !!

yanee

Yeah yeah!! just couldnt resist it.. haiz... i am waiting eagerly to use it in August once my house is ready...

ekardo

that's what I thought too....

go see their specs on the water consumption....6kg required 100over litre.

continental brand, 8.5kg, only max 60l..

ridhwan82

hi edwin loh,

yeah if you have been following most of my postings.. this is one of the reasons why i do not really prefer panasonic tilted drum.

because of the fact that its efficiency cannot match that of continental and worse priced at a higher price than a similar specs continental washer.

the only positive factor would be that the drum is ergonomically designed for easy loading and unloading.

Seems like japanese are following that trend as ive seen toshiba alos rolling similar styled machine.. where the efficiency of consumption is lower than standard asian washer but not as efficient as continental ones.

its a give and take

mnm

Ridz, i am considering Thomson & Brandt. But i see that these are not popular in this forum... Likely to get top load as it is easier to load clothes and no leakin problem.

We are juz young couple and our bed sheet is queen size. Considering that we may have kids in future, do we need to get 6.5 kg or 5kg is enough?

Mm.. Which brand should i get and which model? Can u pls help ... thks.

ridhwan82

hmm are you sure these are not popular in this forum???

well i did set up a thread on THOMSON WASHER/ DRYER.. you might want to look it up.. not sure still there or closed. but i think still active.

anyhow yeah what can i do to help?q

mnm

Ridz, yeah but there is not much archived threads on Thomson. Anyway .. I am keen in getting Thomson but quite ex. Perhaps Brandt will be the alternative.

We went to Best today. My mom (a former user of Thomson, currently Brandt user) looked at the Thomson stainless steel drum (is that called drum?) and commented it is small - difficult to stuff the bedsheets and quilt in. Another 5kg load WM as well (perhaps its Brandt) has a bigger drum space. She recommended me to get this instead.

1) Why does the drums of the same 5kg load are different in size? Does it mean the bigger drum the better (other than ease of putting the bedsheets/quilt in/out)?

2) Currently we only have 2 pax in the household. If we increase our family size to 5 pax, can the same 5kg machine manage the load?

TX938
• Variable Spin Speed: 100 rpm [no Spin] - 1100 rpm
• Variable Temperature Control on Programmer: Cold - 90°C
• S.E.N.S.0
• Multi-Programmes: Cotton, Colours and Synthetics.
• Delicate, Wool, Silk / Stretch
• Expert Care System: Prewash, DarK Colours, Opti-Rinse and Intensive Buttons
• Flash 30'
• Delay Start 1-24hrs
• No Spin (100 rpm) Selection
• LCD Display with Current Time, Delay Start Time and Remaining Time Display
• Rinse Hold Selection
• Start / Pause Button
• Selection Indicators
• 230 V / 50 Hz
• Energy Consumption: (Cotton 5 kg at 60°C): 0.95 kwh / 48L /130 mins
• Class AA

TX928 - $1098 free delivery and installation with 1 yr warranty.
• Variable Spin Speed: 100 rpm - 900 rpm
• Variable Temperature Control Selection: Cold - 90°C
• Multl-Programmes: Prewash, Cotton, Synthetics, Delicates, Wool and Silk
• OptlA 45 min
• Flash 30'
• Delay Start 1 - 24 hrs and Remaining Time on LCD Screen
• Rinse Hold Selection (On Spin Speed Selector)
• Intensive Button
• Extra Rinse Button
• Sleekare Button
• Start / Pause Button
• 230 V / 50 Hz
• Energy Consumption: (Cotton 5 kg at 60°C): 0.95kwh / 48L / 130 mins
• Class AA

Fyi - TX918 @ $998

3) Reference to the above spec,
* what is the 'No Spin (100 rpm) Selection' for?
* why do we need to do cold wash?
* what is S.E.N.S.0, Flash 30, Rinse Hold Selection, and Class AA?
* will the LCD display spoilt easily?

4) I suppose both models does not comes with dryer righT?

5) Is it advisable to get the extended warranty since its original warranty period is only 1 year?

6) If we are getting Thomson, which model should we get? Else if going for Brandt, which model is suit our needs?

7) How do we check the energy efficiency level (number of ticks) like we do for aircon and fridge?

8) What are the washing powder, detergent, bleach, and softener we should be using for Thomson / Brandt WM? (Pardon me if this is a stupid question as I have rarely use/operate the WM - maybe 5 times in my life so far).

9) Do we need to wash it? If yes, how often? My intended usage of the WM will be once a or twice a week.

10) Do we need to buy the small balls to throw in the WM to wash together with clothes? How many small balls do we need? Can they withstand the hot wash? What about the net for delicate washing (ie: bra)? Can bra be washed together with the normal clothes?

Sorry for asking so many questions.

Thanks for your kind advice..

ridhwan82

hi MnM,

Wos those are really a lot of questions that you have. okie i try ti answer you as best as i can okie?

1) Why are the drum size different. if you are comparing both Thomson and Brandt 5kg COntinental Top LOAd then they are exact same except for the technology of washing and programming that is different between thomson and brandt with more features in thomson as compared to brandt.

2)it depends on the load that you are talking about is like how? LIke for me i have a family of 7 and cos of our busy and hectic schedule we have a lot of clothes and we wash 3 times daily at least everyday 365 days a year. and of course becuase we have a dryer.

whats more important is what is the single biggest piece of item that you would be washing like will you be washing quilt? what size? and also because continental machines are expensive and the bigger it gets the more expensive it is so is it more worth it to wash those big items at laundromat?> instead of paying that much more for a bigger capacity washer?

let me know your constraints yeah.

3)
* what is the 'No Spin (100 rpm) Selection' for?
this selection is for those clothes that are not suitable for spinning like some wool are too delicate to be spun hence what the machine does is at the end of the cycle it will pump out the water and turn the drum a little faster to 100revolutions per minute (RPM) to assist is removing as much moisture as possible without damaging the clothes

* why do we need to do cold wash?
some clothes are not suited to warm wash especially those that are colour fast (mneaning the colour runs) or materials like lycra --best is refer to the fabric care label on each shirt to see whats the recommended wash temperature or max wash temperature

* what is S.E.N.S.0 -- this is a sensor installed only in the highest end model of thomson washer only. this sensor will detect what type of detergent and also the laundy load type and then will automically set things like the washing action (rough, not so rough, gentler) optimum duration of wash and also water control.
Flash 30-- this is a quick wash program designed for very slighlty soiled clothes (HALF LOAD 2.5kg) to be washed and at 40 degrees in about 30 mins.

Rinse Hold Selection-- this is selected when say you wanna wash the clothes but will not be present to remove the clothes immediately after the cycle end. because clothes after being spun and not removed will crease a lot after it has settled in the drum. so to prevent that during the last rinse, the machine will just leave a level of water inside the machine to sorta let the clothes float so as to minimize the creasing. then when you reach home you can deselect the rinse hold to continue spinning.

this option can also be used if let say you want to remove some clothes before you allow the clothes for the final spin. say you washa mixture of clothes and some can be spun some cannot. so you rinse hold and then when it stops you could turn and open the drum to revmoe the clothes then deselect the option to continuie the cycle.

if i am not wrong this is the one.. i willk double check and get back to you about rinsehold

and Class AA?
this means its A class for the Washing Efficiency and A class for consumpption (e.g. water and electricity)
and this rating is standard used in european countries to denote the efficiency of the machine. in miele machine it can achieve AAA class A for washing efficiency A for consumption and A for spinning efficiency (higher spin speed lah) but its super costly

* will the LCD display spoilt easily?
This i dunno i am currenly owning the 938 only for about half a year so i am not too sure. in fact this is the first time that they are using lcd but i thinki i9ts fine.

4) yes these are ONLY WASHERs not dryers. and not the 2-in-1. they have a matching dryer 5kg its air vented TD88.

5)for me i would say it would be good to have extended warranty thats for sure.you never know what can happen. like for me its the door. i replaced the door i think like 2 times cos many hands in the house.. haha and each door had to be flown in from france (for thomson) and costs about 150 each. so yeah worth it my extended warranty paid for those and this exclude service charges aka labour okie. which is about 55 i think.

6)thomson depends on washing needs of course. cos the SENSO and the stretch is only available on 938 but it does not have the OPTI A 45 mins which is a cycle for lightly soiled clothes FULL LOAD 5kg to be washed at 40 degrees in about 45 mins.

usualy washing time for synthetic is around 1h15mins while cotton is around 1h30 to about 2hour s plus depends on cycle and temperatuer.

7) i mentioned to you already earlier about the classes AAA they do not have the green ticks.

8) THomson/ brandt well best is Persil. Thomson now tying in with Persil.. while Brandt is Dixan but i still prefer persil. though you can also use any other brands with the sign LOW SUDS the 2 other brands i know that has LOW SUDS are Fab (in 5kg Box) and this SPin i think

BLEACH - once you use continental washer you will realise that actually bleach is not necessary.

Softener - i personaly recommend vernel though its a bit on the pricey side but its good. its wax free .. great for sensitive skins.

9) yes you need to wash. to maintain hygiene. you can do that like maybe once in half a year. put half measurement like in the case of persil in the box it will come with one cup its half of that cup and then you can out the machin to cotton 60 degrees and its empty and wash it full cycle if you want to save a bit electicity but best is 90 degrees cotton (the higher the temperature the higher the cost to operate it yeaqh)

and you can perform like daily maintenance like after you fininsh washing you should open the drum and the door for several hours to really dry the interiors yeah. this will preven moulding and if you really care for it.,. wipe along the rubber bettween the door and the drum it will last you really long.

10) not necessary to use the balls lah just suggested only. personally never tried using tennis balls before. dun see a need to.

as for net for delictae washing DUN NEED TO. its very gently enough to fabirc but yet tough on stains.

YES bra can be washed with normal clothes. its just a matter of preference. though i would recommend that you wash just your undergarments and the bra by itself so that the bra will last longer. you just put all the delicates and as the name implies wash it using delicate cycle.

well for me i would still stikc to thomson no matter what. haha unless im taking MIELE then i would change else its thomson for me

mnm

1) Drum Size btw Thomson & Brandt (5kg load)
But there is an obvious difference in the drum size.

2)Which load?
I foresee that will wash once (or at most twice) a week for 2 of us. Perhaps up to 3 or 4 times when we have kids.

The biggest wash item will be queen size bedsheet / quilt, or even curtain.

Which model should we get? 928 or 938 or ??

3) Pending confirmation on the rinsehold and Class AA.

4) If I were to get dryer, which model should I get?

5) the warranty excludes the labour and transport cost?

Ridz, u r full of knowledge. What's more, u r so helpful to share your knowledge and advise us to get the right appliances.

Other than washing machine and aircon, will u b able to advise on other appliances (ie: LCD, ceiling fan, fridge, etc ..)?

Thanks a lot for your help!

snowiee

hi, i am a newbie in washing machines and would be needing to get 1 for my new house.

first time buying a washing machine and need some help here

i was thinking of buying continental brands but a salesman told me that continental brands dont last long in sg due to the high humidity... is it true?

my preference is a top loader. anyone can help in recomending a top loader that has hot water (for killing bacteria)

thanks a lot !

mingwen

Hey guys & gals out there!

I need some advice on washing machines...should we buy a top load or front load washer? Which one is better?

Also, for the brands, is F&P washers good as compared to Electrolux?

haruko

Hi Wen & Liat, front load saves water. I once went to New Water factory and they have a fun quiz to see how much water u use per week. I need to answer qns like "How many times do I wash a week? Full load/ Half load? Am I using top load or front load etc." I did the quiz twice, all answers remaining the same except that I chose front load for first quiz & top load for 2nd quiz. Result was that a front load machine uses half the water that top load uses. So, I bought a front load Electrolux! It's good. Expensive, but I think it's worth it cos in the longrun, it helps me save water. :) I have never used a front load in my entire life. This is the first time. It's user friendly & very sturdy. So far no problem. So I would recommend Electrolux.

ekardo

ahhaa..
no need to go thru experiment to know how much water is used.

just look at the specification of the washing machine..look at the Water Capacity then you know already.

I am also an Electrolux owner..but it's only coming on Aug11..

haruko

Is it? No such specifications on mine leh. Anyway, I think New Water factory is more accurate. :p They are not trying to sell any product. :)

haruko

I bought mine, 7kg at only $640. Supposed to get the 6.5kg one at $620. But after ordering, they called back to say 6.5kg is out of stock. They asked me to just top up $20 to get the 7kg one. It's quite worth it. So I topped up lor. The spinning is 800rpm.

cutie_gal

Thxs for ur info.

Electrolux is fr which country? Is LG gd? Any comments? What abt Bosch? Brandt?
Sorry for the many questions, cos I reali kn nuts abt WM and what to look out for.
Thxs

ekardo

LG is aggressive in their marketing, providing 10years warranty for some of the models...but I think, in terms of front load WM, still better to get continental brands..

as for Electrolux or Bosch or Brandt, go to Harvey Norman, then Best, then courts to ask them. Each of them will tell you each brand is good....u know why? because they get diff commission for particular brands..

but just take down their advise and plot in a table....to compare....

then stick to some "must have" features, (like 7kg, need LCD screen?, need easy to use features etc) and aim for a model...then go bargaining for price at all the neighbourhood stall (HL, GAB, etc..)

not only LG is aggressive, sumsung is aggressive as well.
but still, I dare not take risk...in the end still buy continential brand. not sure if you heard of E&F?

snowiee

hi not sure if anyone saw my posting

but anyone knows of this?

--->

was thinking of buying continental brands but a salesman told me that continental brands dont last long in sg due to the high humidity... is it true?

my preference is a top loader. anyone can help in recomending a top loader that has hot water (for killing bacteria)

ridhwan82

snowiee...

well you can get continental washer but opejning is top so its a continental top load. the only one in the market and happen to be the best is thomson. which is what i am using.

well if you are looking for a slightly cheaper one then brandt.

but its only 5kg the biggest is 6kg washer. this is the only limitation i could think of.

let me know yeah.

prices for thomson starts in the region oif 900 and above.