The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

majoris

hi cherrylight, email sent!

sheryce

Cherrylight: I'm not too sure about Straits Room but The Ballroom min table is 35 for weekends.
I'm going for The Ballroom.

The price quoted is for the first quarter only, I believe they will adjust the price alittle for the rest of the year 2011.

Majoris: I saw your wedding photos, there are so beautiful. I used the same florist as you for my ROM. Most prob i'll engaged them for actual day again. You wedding gown is gorgeous, which bridal studio is that?

bridebride2010

Anybody engaged a videographer to cover live feed during march in sessions for banquet held at the grand ballroom?

Can share the details? Like whether a 2nd videographer is needed to do it? Any VG recommendations?

hwt

Hi bridebride2010,

I did have a VG that do the live feed for mi during my march-in. One VG will be enough. I personally think tat the live feed is quite impt so tat those guest seated at the corners will also be able to see the bride and groom.

U can PM mi if u wan the contacts for my PG and VG.

Rdgs,
Sharon

cherrylight

I've sent Fullerton an email last Thurs (to ask abt packages), have yet to hear back from them. What's their usual turnaround for replies?

rubbishcow

cherrylight, i heard that for every email sent, the reply should be back within 24 hours... perhaps you want to call and ask them?

bridebride2010, you may want to check with your VG if they did live feed at fullerton before. because i called up my PG and VG and he said that fullerton does not have the facilities for them to do the live feed due to incompatibility of the wires. in this case, i am giving up on the live feed for my banquet..

alxhan

Hi Cow Cow,

I just had my wedding at fullerton ballroom last dec, my VG managed to do a live feed for me. I think they are able to do it if your VG has the cable. My VG mentioned that it was a rather easy thing to do. =) Maybe you want to check on the compatibility of cables, what i heard is that most VG has that, its not some special cables that the only the hotel has it kind. =)

rubbishcow

hi ashley,

ya.. i heard from my VG as well.. not sure is it that they are using HDMI cables which is not compatible to systems. I did not really understand that coz i am not sure about cabling stuff.. anyway its ok for me.. with or without the live feed..

essy

Hi Majoris,
can I have a look at the deco during your wedding too?

My e-mail is [email protected]

I asked about the piano, as i was thinking i want my friend to play for me... it will cost 1.2k+ to move it to the ballroom and tuning and back to the original place and tune again...
gave up this idea

hi goodbye kitty, i managed to talk to my coordinator last week and we sort of settled on most things. i suggest you to send email instead of calling them as they will be busy running all over the place. Based on my past experiences, email are usually answered within 2 days.

After meeting up with them, i really find that they are very busy! every month there are so many weddings, so much so that they cannot find a suitable slot to do a wedding show. After knowing their situation, i felt quite stressful for their job!

hi there
guess what, my coordinator just left me in the last week of my wedding and did not inform me when we met in earlier jan and did not inform me also when we corresponded over email over the past few days.

you cannot imagine a 5 star luxury hotel has this kind of service. We cannot force anyone to stay but at least, there should some level of hand over and follow up, am i right?
and my wedding is this Sunday, i certainly feel that it is not fair to us

goodbyekitty

yea. they have alot of staff turnover and weddings but it's not our problem it's theirs. We paid good money for the wedding to be held there.

don't expect too much from them. beware of the stairs leading up to the stage. Those are only two steps but the steps are poorly constructed and it's easy to have your gown caught there.

I agree with u, cannot imagine a 5 star hotel handle their clients in this manner. have to chase them like that. slow reply and slow response for everything, if any. ask 3 questions, most of time only get reply to one or two questions.

same for the hotel room service. just dont expect 5 star treatment

make sure u test out the AV system too, way before the wedding itself. test it again just before the wedding

pompompurin

my coordinator Louis has left last year and i have not heard from fullerton who is taking over my wedding coordination. So i called the hotel today and realised both sharon and randell have also left! The person taking over now is Jaya. Have anyone of you used him before and how is he? is there no other coordinator besides him? not trying to be racist, but i thought a chinese might probably understand the flow and the dos and don'ts of a chinese wedding banquet? oh dear... i dun have confidence in fullerton...

rubbishcow

iLuvPurin, don't worry.. Jaya's wife is a chinese (Nonya i think) so he went through the banquet before. he is my coordinator and so far i am quite happy with his service. He had always been the one following up with me most of the time..

majoris

Hi ttooroo, goodbyekitty, ariel, essy,

Sory gals, it has been a while since i drop by tis forum....paiseh. You may view my wedding @ straits room in 'bobbyleong' website under Major + Joris.

alxhan

Hi iLuvPurin,

Even though my wedding was early dec last yr, i met Jaya during my last meeting with Sharon. Jaya was "Under Sharon's care" then. Heard that he used to be an experienced Banquet Manager there. So, no worries about him not knowing the flow of everything. In fact, for my case, i only see Sharon before the start of my banquet and before my first march - in. The last time i interacted with her for the night was when she helped me with my gown before the door open for the first march - in. In fact the person whom you will liaise with most will be the banquet manager in charge of your dinner that night. For my case, its this young guy called Weilun. Very helpful and understanding. =)

Have fun with your wedding preparations.

pandc

haizzz, don't say already lah!!
i just signed the agreement on last week... and Rendall never informed me that he is leaving!

no wonder last week he suddenly so efficient to meet us to discuss about the agreement that we had questioned him long time ago since last Oct'09.

ouioui

Sharon is still around, she spoke to me on the phone yesterday to inform me that she or one of her subordinates will be taking over from Rendall.

Whether someone can provide service or not also depend on how do you manage him/her. If you treat them well, they will reciprocate too. It's all about basic respect and interpersonal skills. So ladies and gentlemen, just enjoy your wedding day!

cheesecakefan

HI all,

Me just returned from my long overseas assignment. I heard rendall leaving some time in Jan when i sent him an email but he mentioned he doesn't know when is his last day and according to him, he is planning to call couples to inform about his soon to be departure.

He mentioned he only managed to get some couples' numbers as it was very last minute that the company had early released him which leaves him no time at all to contact all the couples. i called the office on tues but the line was answered by a lady and she just said rendall is no longer with the hotel with immediate effect. gosh that was the answer i got. I'm going to ask my friend for his number to call him as her wedding was handled by him some time last year

hi, yes, it's Rendall
personally i think it's not fair not to inform the clients, unless the wedding is like 3 months or 6 months or 1 year down the road. But my wedding is in the same week and he didn't inform me despite our various correspondences and meet up in January. To me, this is really unprofessional and the hotel should not let this happen.

Jaya is taking over and i have to brief him and go through all the details with him again tomorrow and my wedding is like 3 days later? CAn you imagine the stress and there are still so many other things and errands that we have to do in additional to that?

If the hotel already know he has resigned or leaving and despite not knowing when is his exact departure, he should still inform us accordingly, so that we have more time to liasie with whoever taking over.

<cheesecakefan>, yes, the same time happened to me. Call him on tuesday and answered by a girl who said he has left on Monday. If i didn't make that call, i wonder when are they going to call me since my wedding is on this Sunday. I really think this is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.

pompompurin

i called yday and it was also answered by a girl. when she told me my case has been assigned by Jaya, i immediately told her that i want to change to randell or sharon. but she told me that it is not possible cos BOTH OF THEM HAD LEFT. now i see Flaps' post, apparently sharon is still with the hotel, so why did she have to lie? Just be frank that my case has already been assigned. i'm not happy that they are not being honest.

Liting / purple > My cooridinator, Louis left last year but he had the courtesy to inform me early even though my wedding was still one year down the road. i think randell should inform all his couples or at least the more urgent ones. it is not like he was terminated with immediate effect. i'm sure he could send out a mass email just to inform.

cheesecakefan

Hi sis iLuvPurin,

Hope i am right to call you a sis lol.. well according to him, he was told by the hotel early release only on Monday itself and thereafter he has no access to emails therefore was unable to send out any mails. I called him earlier and found out what happened. haiz..

guess now the whole world is blaming him from the way you talk to him you will know.

Hi Purin
If i am not wrong, Sharon is leaving soon. because yesterday when i called, i asked if my case can be assigned to Sharon, she blurted out saying that Sharon is leaving soon as well but later , she said, she will let the Director to assign the case.

If Sharon is leaving, then it's better that you change to someone else

yomeishu

hi Purin,

my friend will be having her wedding at fullerton and her coordinator is Jaya, base on her comment abt Jaya is very nice and accommodating. But my friend also never ask for any perks.

Hi all, i was deciding between fullerton and shangri la, we met rendall few months ago and he has told us that he will be leaving.

pinkygal13

My coordinator was Rendall too and My wedding is in a mth's time.. Like all of you I was shocked when I realised that he had left with immediate effect as I was with liasing him on some menu thingy and suddenly my email was replied by the catering manager.. My gdness.. Rendall's last email to me was like 2 days before and then when i replied back I was informed that he left? Gosh.. I wondered how come they can just leave without informing as like purplejenn (purplejenn) commented, we had been liasing with Rendall for so long and now we have to redo the process? I actually signed up my wedding package with Fullerton cos i feel that Rendall will make a very gd coordinator and we can safely leave the details in his hands.. now, i seriously duno who's gng to take over as i'm still waiting for them to assign someone..

pompompurin

hi liting... call me sis.. now i feel old lol.. i'm sure he knows we are talking abt him. they check this forum.

purplejenn.. no choice i have no choice but to stick to jaya. i'm glad to hear positive feedback abt him. anyway, all the best for your big day.

qwerty.. thanks.. glad to know that jaya has positive feedback.. i'm more assured..

vivian... if your wedding's happening in a month's time, they have to get back to you fast who is assigned to you. otherwise chase them for it.

i hope this is just a temporary teething problem that fullerton is facing now due to lack of manpower which i can understand perfectly.

cheesecakefan

Hi iLuvPurin,

Better not call you sis anymore else someone's going to feel old again. hehe Oops did i mentioned the word "oxx" sorry.

Well i met rendall yesterday and found out the entire story. THere are many speculations in the forum which i can understand what he is going through. He even mentioned someone distort the facts. sigh... he mentioned he called couples on monday for those tentative bookings and quite a number of them decide to either kiv their booking or cancel their tentative booking. He read the forum the last few days and had wanted to post however due to political reasons, he is unable to. Poor guy.. Well well life goes on though i told him.

pinkygal13

Hi Liting,

I agreed with what u feel rgd Rendall cos after liasing with him for so long, I feel that he's a responsible n efficient coordinator, just upset that I was not informed..

Can I check with u all when do i need to check out on the theme available, wedding favors, florist etc? I havent decided on all this yet..

cheesecakefan

Hey Vivian,

What i know is all these will be done during finalization which is about 2 - 3 weeks before AD.

He asked me to help him post and apologise to all couples as he has no access to the net. He wasn't able to inform anyone as it was a last minute notice from the hotel to early release him thus he was unable to access the net and inform anyone. He read all the postings when he was in the internet cafe however unable to post due to some constraints and political reasons according to him.

pinkygal13

Hi Liting,

Thanks for the info! My AD is on the 28 Feb, 15th of CNY, guess I've to contact Jaya n fix an appt quickly.. Thanks again!

hi all, i have returned from my wedding yesterday and there was no major hiccups and most things fell right in place.

hi purin, Jaya is quite senior, he knows what can be done and what cannot be done and very experienced. Met him 3 days before my wedding and went through every detail and he emailed me the revised copy etc within same day and prompt in his reply. However, after this entire incident, i am already disappointed with the hotel, all i can say is no matter what, you still need to keep an eye on everything and make sure all your coordinators, helpers etc all know what's going on and know the wedding itinerary well. Something might just slip through their eyes because they did not handle your case right from the beginning.

Rendall called me on Wednesday and apologised. But he told me he haven't found a job, so i am not sure should i believe him or should i believe the version here as he seems to tell everyone he is leaving and he told some where he is going to. So whose version is correct? Anyway, this is not important to me anymore unless I am going to do another wedding (which of course i don't wish to happen..haha). I will still recommend Straits Room to my friends if they are interested as the room is indeed lovely. Other than that, I think the hotel should know that such incidents will affect the reputation of the establishment. Jaya did mention that he is sorry but he didn't say the HOTEL is sorry, so i guess, the hotel doesn't think they are at fault.

Qwerty, according to Rendall, he doesn't have all the numbers of all the couples, he said he had a hard time getting my number and had to call me like 2 days later. He also said about not able to access internet and unable to inform anyone. Frankly, don't ask me if i do believe him because I find it very hard to believe as i always hear different versions. But i guess I will never know the truth. Most important thing now is to focus on the wedding and do not patronage their hotel anymore in future.

sminny

Hi purplejenn, glad that your wedding turned out great! Like you said, what happened before, doesnt matter anymore.

As we are preparing for our wedding, the more frustrated as we would compared the difference between shangri-la (htb bro held his wedding there last year) and fullerton.

We are surprised with the following differences though both are 5-6* hotels:

1) Florist - Sing See Soon for Shang did a great job with the flowers, took charge of the arrangement, colour co-ordination and they came out wonderful. Ours, we met 2 weeks ago, till now, we have not receive the proposal that was supposed to come and when we asked for opinion. Everything colour, combi was nice?!

2) Wedding cards - We had to pay for the printing of the card inserts and tie our own ribbons for the card?!!!! It's crazy to tie ribbons for 200+ cards. Printng of inserts cost abt $100- $200+

3) Showroom for table setting - They do not have a showroom or display area for all their table setting stuff (e.g table cloths, plates etc). If you want to see the actual table cloth, you have to follow them to some place and they pull out the cloth from the store room?! Unlike Shang, they have a proper recept to facilitate the choosing of the stuff.

4) Sound system/ Piano - You have to get your own sound system if you are getting a band (due to some stupid policy, you can use their sound system for the band and this is extra cost!!) and pay for tuning for the piano as it needs to be brought down to the ballroom (the piano is at the reception area, so once you move the piano, you have to pay $150)!

We always thought that Fullerton would be better than Shangri-La as they claim that they are a 6* hotel. It's through the preparation that we really realise the difference :s

Those who are thinking about booking at Fullerton, you better think twice!

yomeishu

Hi purple, congrats and glad to hear that your wedding was going smoothly.

I'm going to attend my friend's wedding soon at Fullerton and they told me that Jaya is very professional and very prompt on replying emails and calls even though he is handling many couples' wedding =)

Fyi, a friend of mine just told me the same thing as what Rendall has told us. Based on my friend that Rendall did resign few months ago and he did tell my friend that a hotel is offering him so he is considering to go there and his couples do give up deposit that already placed for Fullerton just to follow him to the new place. It's what exactly he told us, it really sounds boasting to me...

Anyway, it doesn't really matter he is being asked to leave or he tendered. Whichever way there must be a reason behind, if he has tendered, he should inform his couples, if he is being asked to leave with immediate effects, the hotel should initiate to call the couples. A 5 star hotel won't become a 4 star hotel just because of a coordinator leaving =) And, I wonder why he didn't keep his couples' contacts when the couples already signed contract with him...

Hi Sminny
I have to totally agree with you on all the points!

1) Florist. I took the initiative to liaise with the florist as i cannot wait anymore. My wedding is on end Jan and till Dec, i haven't know what kind of flowers I will be using. Call me 'hua chi' or whatever, to me, flowers play a huge part of the wedding. If i cannot get the colours right, how can I coordinate the rest of the stuff? They will send you a lot of pictures to let you chose the flowers, but in the end, it's still quite last minute kind.

2) Wedding cards - Tell me about tying ribbons. I am completely stupid to hand tied all the ribbons all by myself. I do not mind printing the inserts because I know some hotels do not cover that, but tying the ribbons??!! In that case, might as well give us all the non ribbons cards, wouldn't it be easier? And you know what, i have to travel all the way to Barnyard's location to collect all the invites. And yes, as usual, I did all these myself in Dec'09 without my coordinator's help because everyone is asking me, where is your invite and similarly, it wasn't done like much earlier as it should be.

3) Showroom - Where? I never even see anything! Everything is from computer! I just point and chose but i didn't see or feel or touch anything.

4) Sound system - Straits Room sound system is just so so. Strict about even providing microphone for the band and pianist

Fullerton is nice because it has a nice facade, good location and rich historic background. Although service is better than most hotels, I basically think that since Shangrila is priced higher than Fullerton, there must be a reason. Although we received quite good service from the banquet staff and hotel staff, but trust me, i have been to the wedding show in Shangrila and Four Seasons, I truly find that these 2 are definitely notches above Fullerton. If you ask me, i feel that anything to be finalised 2 to 3 weeks before your wedding is insane!

Hi qwerty, I think if Rendall won't keep our contacts because we won't be his potential customers anymore once we already signed up with Fullerton, so he rather focus his energy on other potential customers whom haven't sign up yet or waiting to pay their deposit. I mean, these are the customers he can bring to the new hotel. Imagine if that happens, what will Fullerton do? I am not surprised if he did that, Fullerton will give him the ultimatium and ask him to leave immediately. As for his resignation, I think there might be some internal problems, if not, why are so many coordinators all leaving at the same time?

yomeishu

remember marina sand is on the way? So many coordinators leaving it's not a surprise but is it really so many coordinators leaving from the hotel? So far l only heard rendall, and sharon is still there. even leave, at least not at the same time..but if Rendall is being asked to leave... then he must have done something to the hotel. And it's very reputation to him.

kriskris

my wedding is in Oct and Sharon is the co-ordinator..she did call me to inform of her leaving. I think in the hospitality industry, its common to have ppl cme and go..moreover with the 2 IRs coming up, its not surprising..Not only Fullerton, i tink other hotels also facing the same problem of staff turnover...Being a 5* hotel, i agree the hotel mgmt shld have a proper procedure for the handover i/o such sudden dismissals..

as long as my wedding goes on smoothly wif no disruption and gd svc rendered, i can live with the change of coordinator...after all, we chose Fullerton not just cos of the coordinator, isn't it..

granola

Yeah it's shocking to hear that both coordinators quitted on Fullerton.

Im a Fullerton dec 2010 BTB and I'm sourcing for videographers, any good recommendation? Can PM/send to me? And also if live feed is a good idea?

alxhan

I do agree with Kristine. Actually, if i am not wrong, hospitality industry, their turnover is rather high. Actually, Sharon is with Fullerton for the longest time, i think. Haha!

A few years back when i had my ROM with Goodwood Park Hotel, i signed with them in March and my coordinators changed 3 times even though my ROM is in Oct which is only a few months away. And we were not being informed as well, till we called to ask and they had to take another few weeks to get back to us as to who is taking over, which is worse. So, i honestly think its not the hotel's or the coordinator's fault when things like this happen. Some hotels do not expect their coordinators to contact the couples of their leaving, as one of their policies.

In my honest opinion, wedding invites,tying of ribbons, florist coordination and colour themes, its not exactly the hotel coordinators job esp if you are very particular about it and expects to get it done fast. I think it would perhaps be the job of a wedding planner if you engaged one, not the hotel coordinator. Let's be a little fair to them too. Sharon was my coordinator for my wedding last dec, i must say, i am quite satisfied with things.

Then again, i have to admit that Fullerton is rather strict with some of their policies like the sound system usage, their piano, no free perks. But i think they are not the only hotel being so "fussy" I did engaged a band too, and got the band's own sound system and piano instead of the hotel's. I think its better for everyone too. The band will probably feel more comfortable using their own system, without having to worry about "bursting" the hotel's system....

alxhan

Granola,

You can try substance films for videographers. And for me, i did live feed. It is better in my opinion, as the guests at the sides are not able to see the march in on the stairs.

sminny

hi ashley, just to clarify, we are not expecting the co-ordinators to co-ordinate for us. For Shangri-La, the cards came from the printer all tied nicely, the florist themselves took charge and helped to match the flowers to the colour theme (even went to the extend to help to change the table cloth so that everything matches).

What i was trying to highlight was that the difference in the difference the hotel rendered though Fullerton perceived to be a better hotel than Shangri-La...

But we made the choice, so we have to stick to it. Just wanted other couples to know what to expect when they go with Fullerton instead of finding out much later.

We engaged Substance Film to cover our wedding too!! However, they do come with a hefty price tag so you gotta do your sums and budgeting right.

Hi Sminny
yap, agreed that Fullerton is not really in that same league of Shangri-la.

My husband (who doesn't know much about wedding stuff) asked me how come i need to tie all the ribbons myself, don't the printer took charge of everything? I told him, 'I don't know because it's my first time getting married!' Throughout the entire process, i did everything myself!

Speaking of what to expect from Fullerton, I think couples also need to be mentally prepared when they chose buffet over Chinese food. I believe most couples here will not have this problem except for me, but just in case for future couples.

As we were concerned about the food and presentation since there is no food tasting for buffet, we specifically went down to one wedding (which also serves buffet and has exactly the same menu as us) to take a look. Although we cannot taste the food but we were pleased that the food presentation looked good. So many times we were assured by our wedding coordinator (who has left us the same week of our wedding) that we do not have to worry about the food. But in the end, it was not the coordinator that went missing disappoint us but it was the food.

I will not go into the details of what's different and what's not. In short, we had all the same menu but the food turned out differently. E.g. Shrimps in light sesame oil. During the viewing, we saw big and fresh prawns glistening in light sesame oil and were all stacked up nicely and looks so delicious. What did we get on our wedding day? -
Soggy tiny shrimps with soya sauce which are all totally mashed together.

One of the highlights of the dessert buffet is the miniature tiramisu. It is supposed to be served in a transparent mini cup. Looks so class and presentable, right? What did we get? Some tiny mini tarts like chocolate, even smaller than miniature. ( i still have the pictures).

Frankly, i have all these questions in my head on my wedding day as i saw this but we were so busy entertaining guests, so we didn't have time to ask. I was so upset and yet so embarrassed to ask my friends, even my close friends because i do not want them to see me unhappy and upset over the food. I do not dare to even mention this because i was so afraid that they will ask me, 'Eh, what happened to the food? This is so embarassing because some of my friends really gave generously for our wedding. This is not what a 5 star hotel will serve. I kept all this in my heart and really want to confront the hotel. But every time my husband stopped me as he said we cannot argue as there is no evidence to show that they will present the food in that manner and even if we complained to them after the wedding, what can they do?

There is nothing i can do as my coordinator has left and all he has shown me or promised me did not materialised. Whatever the catering department presented or the chef prepared is a total disgrace to the hotel's reputation. After i get the photos from my photographers, i hope to post a few and let the pictures speak for themselves.

kriskris

hi purplejenn, maybe u shld hve feedback/highlight to the hotel after the banquet ended? If its realli tat bad then there shld be some discounts given else it realli does not justify the price paid...

i am having 8 course and cross my finger such things wun happen to me..anyway my bf went for a fullerton dinner and the feedback was food nice, svc good. hopefully by my wedding, all the gd reviews will still be there...

my new coordinator has yet to contact me. shld i make the 1st move or ?