The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

peaberry

Hey ladies, I had my food tasting in late Sept and it went splendidly! Am holding a wedding lunch, but the Chinese courses were really substantial and my MIL was really pleased to see actual chunks of shark's fin in the shark's fin soup. Hahaha, that's elderly folk for you...

The portions were also scrumptiously big, so we're really pleased with the food and hope the quality can be maintained on the AD. Meeting my coordinator to pick out the decor and wedding favours next week, hope all goes well!

pandc

Has anyone hired string quartet at the wedding? Any good recommendation? I need a contact leh.

cheesecakefan

hey anyone going for something different for your settings? i saw one of the settings yesterday and was impressed and might want to have this same settings.

alxhan

Hi Cheryl,
You can try contacting compass entertainment. They do give priority to Fullerton couples as they had been working with Fullerton all the while, even my coordinator recommended them. I am engaging a 4+1 jazz band on my wedding in dec.
If you do quite like compass entertainment, you may also try yours truly or a little dream. Hope this is useful.

Liting, what do you mean by different setting? What did you see? What colours did they use?

cheesecakefan

Hi Ashley,

I saw the shimmering tablecloths which i personally find it nice and different. Even the flower centrepieces was unique and not the usual. Kinda like the whole setups though :p

cheesecakefan

Hi Ming Wei,

I am not sure if it's the new deco but it certainly gives me a good feel. The other day when i came i saw some other couples too commenting it was impressive. I guess i am going to leave it to my coordinator to assist with the settings. ;P

pinkygal13

anyone knows how are vegetarian food being served? individually plated or by table of 10 as i've some frenz, their GF/spouse are vegetarian.. need to know so that easier to plan their seating arrangement..

superfamous

same way as muslim food. you can either have a table of 10 (all vegetarians) that will be charged at the cost of one table. any additional vegetarian or muslim will be cost of table divide by 10. you will still have to pay the cost of a table (ie. 10 pax) even if it's 9 chinese seatings + 1 vegetarian.

if you are able to, try to maximise those tables. say if there are 2 vegetarians, can squeeze 12 (10 chinese seatings + 2 vegetarians) so as not to waste the space. i understand you can squeeze up to 14 to a table (so up to 4 muslims/vegetarians), they will provide a bigger table for such situations. we didnt have 10 vegetarians at our wedding, so we tried to put 11 (10 seating + 1 vegetarian) or 12 (10 seating + 2 vegetarian) to a table for the vegetarians/muslims.

pinkygal13

hi not superfamous, thks thks! so to clarify, i can placed vegetarian/muslim frenz in 1 table with the rest and i only need to pay the per table price? can i say that vegetarian/muslim is free then if i arrange in this manner?

essy

Hi all! I am holding my wedding at Fullerton too! Sep 2010. But I am very worried about the stairs after hearing stories..... is it really scary?? when I go and look at the hotel, i fell in love with the ballroom haha but now.. i am getting paranoid!

granola

Hi, I will be signing the agreement pretty soon. Any last advice before I sign? Can pls advice me at [email protected]? Anyone looking to sign the agreement soon?

Maybe we can share our experience via email and negotiate better terms with 2 or more couples.

granola

Anyone knows when the Fullerton Wedding Show will be for this year? Could be a better idea to wait till then to sign the package.

Hey Granola, I'm not sure what you mean by negotiate better terms but base on my understanding you cant quite expect to get more corkage waiver or some other perks. In my opinion, it's better to sign up asap just in case the date you have in mind is snapped up by then. I signed my contract 1.5yrs b4 the AD (and the date I eventually settled for wasnt even my first choice) and I'm sure many couples here are like that too. Just my 2 cents worth

ivan9127

Hi Granola,

You might want to prepare a list of the peaks you have in mind and try to negotiate for it.No harm trying for it.

I heard last year's wedding show, they offer the car and band.No news of wedding show this year and is already Nov. If you must have the date and is still avaliable, i do agree with Popprincesstrin.

You might also check with your co-ordinator if they have any plans to host any wedding shows .

alxhan

Hi Ivan,

For the live feed, who did you liaise with? Your videographer? Are you being charged on it? I was planning on doing live feed for the stairs too, had talked to Sharon, she said their are not able to do it for us. And i was kinda stucked there.

ivan9127

Hi Ashley,

Yes, with my videographer.I came across a lot of videographer whom can do it. The prices are all quite different.

Mine only charge me SGD 80 for someone to do the cable.

Which Videographer or photographer you are using ?

superfamous

hey vivian, nono, unless you put 10 vegetarians/muslims to a table, you will definitely have to top up for the additional vegetarian/muslim. so its better to maximise the table by having 10 chinese seating + additional muslim/vegetarian guests on that table.

for example, cost of 1 table is $1000/table. so cost of 1 guest is $100.

if you have 10 vegetarians/muslims: $1000/table

if you have 8 chinese seatings + 2 vegetarians: $1000/table (coz you pay the cost of 1 table regardless of whether there are 10 or less to a table) + $200 (for the vegetarians)

so it makes more sense to have 10 chinese seatings + 2 vegetarians to maximise the table coz you still pay the same price.

hope you understand what i'm trying to say?

essy, dont worry about the stairs! the coordinator will teach you how to walk down, so no worries. i did check if any of their brides have tripped or fallen down the stairs and they said no :p initially i was worried about the stairs but i found it quite easy to walk down during the march in, gown and all

occty

hey hey!

i'm starting to plan my AD and very very keen to hold it at Fullerton...

Can anyone share with me the actual package booked with them on their luncheon?

I'm a newbie...can you gals advise me what can i negotiate? Can i move down the prices?

essy

Hi Ivan,

I heard bride trip and fall? =(

Live feed means guests can see when you are walking down the stairs??

ivan9127

Hi Ashley,

Heard this guy is quite gd. Is it expensive ?

Hi Essy,

Yes, it will be on the screen so every guest can see.

Hi OCCTY,

You can send a e-mail to them or call them up for package. I think you cannot bring the price down , but can try to ask for more peaks.

I been to all the wedding shows in Singapore, i would say for the same class of Hotel, Fullerton price and peaks is the best and most worth it.

alxhan

Hi Ivan,
Hmm... to be honest, i think his service is kinda pricey in comparison to others. His prices went up alot since 2005 when we last engaged him for our ROM previously, but then again, we liked his style and so engaged him for a second time.
What about you? Who are you with?

essy

Hi Ivan,
oh.. the screen in the hotel is only for montage and all right?
how much does it cost to have the live feed?

ivan9127

Hi Essy,

I pay additional SGD 80/-for cabling only.

Hi Ashley,

I am using the same studio with my friend.It is call Shutterbugs. PG & VG with live feed during march cost less than 2K.The work is gd , i feel, more or less the same others i view.

prisie

I am now comparing the Conrad & Fullerton ballroom to held my wedding lunch next year. Could anyone here give me some advise about the 2 hotel? and what are the additional perks we can ask for?

hwt

I'm a pervious fullerton bride in 2008. Juz would like to comment on the stairs thread.

I'm actually trip when walk down the stairs and i also do have my video live feed. But luckily, my hb manage to get hold of mi firmly so i juz kind of "squat down abit" and did not fall. I guess i'm just tooo "kan jiong".

If u were to walk down slowly than i guess everything shld be fine!

Dun worry too much and enjoy this wonderful day~ :D

superfamous

oooh Sharon, your coordinator never teach you how to walk? mine asked my hubby to walk down in front of me, hold his hand up for me to take it, and i will walk 1 step behind so that he will not step on my gown. on my own, i will hold up the skirt slightly to ensure i do not fall and hold onto his hand (really really tightly :p)...

Prisie, i also considered both hotels but in the end went with fullerton. we went down to see both ballrooms and we preferred the ambience much more. both hotels are quite strict with perks, i think the easiest to get perks from either hotel is to sign up during their wedding shows
i think conrad charges for their projectors? fullerton does not. and of course, we both love the loft suite that fullerton offered.

prisie

Hi Sharon & (superfamous),
Thanks for your comment. In fact i find walking down frm the stair for match in is nice & special
Yeah, conrad do not provide free projector. how many projector is provided by fullerton as i find some hotel give 2. and also who is your wedding coordinator? any good one to recomend? We have check out the lunch package, but the complimentary room stay is Esplanade room instead of loft suite leh...

superfamous

actually i found the stairs pretty scary at first but strangely on that day, too busy to get scared, haha.

fullerton provided 2, one on each side of the stage. sharon was my coordinator. randall is quite popular too

oooh, mine was the dinner banquet at the ballroom, so maybe that's why they offered the loft suite to us

alxhan

not superfamous,
I agree that the loft suite is indeed attractive. one of the reasons, my htb and i choose Fullerton over other hotels coz of the loft suite too. keke!I'll be meeting Sharon next Tuesday to finalise my details. Can't wait to choose the decor designs.

ivan9127

Superfamous,

The Loft suite is for weekend dinner only.Weekday is another type of suite.

Prisie,

Have you view the esplanade room, heard it is higher up in level and the view is nice.

My vote goes for Sharon, however, i believe all the co-ordinators in fullerton will be able to help and advise you with any questions you might have. Had not seen any threads on bad remarks about the banquet so far.

alxhan

Hi Ivan,
Ya, i think the loft suite is for weekend dinners only, but i've heard about ppl exchanging and topping up to get the loft suite too. =)

Hi Prisie,
My vote goes to Sharon as well. She's my coordinator and we liked her so far. =)But she can be quite rigid when it comes to negoitating perks. =)

superfamous

ivan, ic, thanks for clarifying
that makes sense since they require more min no of tables and the menu is more expensive on weekends too. i think if you exceed their min no of tables for lunches/weekday dinners by quite abit or if you are going for the more expensive menus, you will have more bargaining power to get them to throw in the loft suite or top up less. if i am not wrong, the loft suite costs a few grand a night?

on the whole, i think fullerton is quite strict with their perks, applies to all the coordinators :p

ivan9127

Ya i be one of them, i will top up to get the loft suite.The palladian suite had no dressing table. Mine is on a weekday.

for the normal menu part, i believe there are two menus only. The price difference is either a weekday, sat or fri-sun.The special one will be the individual plated and the premium menu.I am thinking of using two tables to get the better menu as i might not meet the min requirement.Need to wait till nearer the date then i will know.

for the perks part, i would say they already throw in all the needed perks which is why they seem to be more strict.

hwt

Hi not superfamous,

They have teach my hb hw to walk down the stairs but we have 3 march-in in the total. And it was all my fault tat i did not hold my skirt up firmly so i cant really see the steps in front of mi and i jus base on my feelings to walk down the stairs so i kind of miss a step. But eventually everything went well and all my guests are happy.

prisie

Thanks for your advise
It seems that everyone here hav good comment abt Fullerton. My HTB is arranging to meet with either Sharon/ Rendall soon. Really looking forward to see the ballroom

prisie

Hi Liting,

oh..I will meet only one of them whoever is available...We have contacted Rendall,however he seems to be very busy and hard to make an appoinment with him..Does any one here has Sharon's contact? mind to email me @ [email protected]? Thanks!

cheesecakefan

hey Prisie,

What i gathered from him was a lot of couples sent him email asking for appointments so he is very swamped. Well i can understand why too as the weddings he handle is a little on the different side. Perhaps its true good things are hard to come by.

GIve him some time as he will usually reply you when he is able to. When i first met him, he was alright but guess the number of couples he have grew more each day so he is trying to juggle to ;P i am sure those brides and groom under his care agrees with me right?

alxhan

Hey Prisie,

Had sent you an email. Do check it out.
Erms, think at the moment, both of the coordinators are very tied up. When i met Sharon last week, she told me that they had 30 over weddings in the month of Dec. =)
So do give them sometime to get back. I'm sure they will do so. =)

pandc

hi ashley,
Thanks for the contact.
i managed to contact compass entertainment, but i have no idea of the charges in the market or what is the reasonable price. don't mind to share with me the details that the have quoted to u?
my email: [email protected]

alxhan

Hi Cheryl,
Hmm... You can actually try to ask for quotations for a few bands to compare the prices, but the prices that compass entertainment is around there as well.

Anyway, had send you an email.

pandc

Hi Ashley, thank you so much... i saw the mail.
they price is about the same.
like u said, I'll try to ask for a few quotations.

majoris

Just realized my prev post been removed ;@

Please PM me shd u need more info wit regards to my ROM held in Straits Room last August.

kriskris

hi majoris..i tink i saw your wedding pics on A Little Dream website...u engaged them rite? I love the long table setting you had but i cun do that for mine..wat a pity..i thot the min is 80 pax for straits room but you just had 50 guests?

am prolly looking to engage a band too..wats your review for A Little Dream ?