The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

majoris

Hi Kristine,

I did replied earlier but removed by moderator. Sorie, i din engaged A little dream on my wedding. u must be mistakenly me as other couple

kriskris

hmm..did u hire bobby leong as your PG? i think i mixed up the website where i saw your pics..shld be at 1 of the PG site..

goodbyekitty

hi, may I check with Fullerton brides who you engaged as a makeup artist? Just thought it's good to check here since I think maybe Fullerton brides are more fussy in terms of taste..hehe

kriskris

goodbye kitty, my MUA is included wif my BS package...i think Fullerton brides have more discerning taste instead of fussy??

majoris

hi kristine, yup~!! haha.. i like d ligting effects and soft colour of my wedding pics..glad to hav him as my PG ^^

goodbye kitty, my MUA - www.lir*nn*o.com (replace * wif E). U may chk out my pics in bobby's blog as mentioned by kristine.

starnite000

Has anyone hold their solemnization at the foyer outside the ballroom before the banquet starts?

Is the foyer alright for solemnization? cos it looks abit squeezy to me and it feels like it is in a corner.

my coordinator says mic and portable sound system is chargable at $350++. Is the sound system necessary? I'm afraid without it my guests sitting at the back cant hear what's going on.

miketalk

Hi Majoris, i saw your pics, u look very pretty!

Actually i like the long table style in the Straits room. Do you still remember the maximum capacity (persons) for the long table style in the Straits room?

Can i know the solemnizer in your ROM? Is he friendly?

april_sweetpea

Did anyone know whether we have to pay extra for the seat covers and flower decoration for this? Also did anyone know that the room max capacity of 12 tables means we can't have a march in carpet in the middle of the room?
I really really intend to have my wedding there next year :)

Many Thanks!

majoris

hi jane, i saw solemn arrangement in d foyer and quite like d idea wif a bit of floral decos but not sure abt sound system. i just rember there's a piano outside d ballroom. how abt solemn in a private function room?

hi mike, did u received my reply email? hmm based on my experience, i tink a long table wif 20pax per row is perfect. so max u can go is 80pax. i fell in love wif straits room immediately, no way i will held my wedding in other hotel. so to achieve that we have decided not to extend invitation to colleagues, otherwise it will defly more than 80pax..rather cut down guest num then changing venue..haha

thanks kristine!! *paiseh* haha..wens ur wedding? r u fullerton bride-to-be or still searching?

april_sweetpea

hi majoris,

I'm a new member in this forum. I saw your beautiful wedding picture in bobbyleong.net ... I kinda think that it is you after seeing this forum, since it was written "major + joris" in bobby leong's page? And it is right after seeing your pictures there that I want it so badly to hold my small wedding reception in straits ballroom...
If it's possible I'd like to know whether you actually need to pay or top up for the floral decoration... I've just contacted the catering sales manager and waiting for him scheduling my appointment there.

majoris

hi sweetpea, yes..i did top up for flower arrangements wif a very pro florist. they covered reception decos and hand bouquets for myself and jiemeis. i can give u d contact for quotation

no extra cost for banquet seat covers. if not mistaken, no red carpet in the strais room as well.

kriskris

majoris..i an a fullerton BTB..holding my lunch in Straits Room but still some time away in Oct 10...i also happen to see the site of the florist you used, its a stall in bedok area, rite? but i lost the web addy..relli very pretty flowers!!

hellogirl177

Majoris, congratulations to your wedding. Your photos very nice and inspiring. Can you email me your florist website? [email protected].

I just went to see The Straits Room. Really gorgeous but its really small... long tables setting at 80pax already quite tight. I had more guests than that. Majoris, may i know how many guests you had?

tracie81_sg

Hi there, I was trying to go through the archives but couldn't find much reviews on Fullerton's specific food (Chinese banquet). My sis-in-law is having her wedding in feb 2010 and we are trying to decide on what dishes to choose for the food tasting.

Are there any signature dishes that are a must for the banquet? And any we should avoid? Thanks very much in advance!!

superfamous

first dish can be mixed and matched (does not mean you have to choose one and stick to it). we didnt know till after the food tasting. the roasted duck breast with red fermented beancurd sauce is vvv good. we didnt like the sauteed porkball with lemongrass kung pa sauce so we stayed away from all the pork balls. crispy coriander fish cake with sweet and sour sauce was a surprise - looked so-so but quite tasty. i also liked the cuttlefish from that set but everyone thought it was too common.

for soup, we choose the typical crabmeat sharks fin coz the chicken didnt really go with the sharksfin. was expecting shredded chicken but we got chicken chunks. the good thing is that they serve a seperate bowl of sharks fin, which they will mix with the bigger bowl so you can be assured of a very generous portion of sharks fin..

sauteed scallops with cuttlefish and celery in XO sauce wasnt fantastic, we swapped that for wasabi prawns (very good, i will definitely recommend that coz i love it!). plus scallops servings were very small, each only got 1!

as for poultry, we initially got poached fragrant ginger duck. DO NOT GET THIS DISH. it didnt look good or even tasted good. hardly anyone touched this (and SO's family is not the sort to waste food). we wanted to switch for roasted chicken but went with the duck in hua diao jiu on sharon's recc. i did get to taste the duck and was quite happy with it. tender and quite tasted good. quite a risk we took coz not everyone might like duck.

for vegs, we went with braised abalone with green vegetables in XO sauce. pretty normal... only thing is 1 of my guest did comment that there was only 1 slice of abalone.. :\

we went with the fried rice with foie gras. so far, i have not heard complains, most were quite happy with it
the servings quite big too, so plenty left over.. but rice might be too much for some people though it wasn't the typical 'ee fu' mee you get at the end of chinese dinners

for desert, it was either mango pudding or the strawberry. i am vvv glad we went with strawberry. the presentation definitely needs to be improved on but the pudding itself was vvvv nice! kinda sweet with a tinge of sour to end the night. we got pretty good feedback for the deserts too

(gosh i just realised how bad for the environment our dinner was - sharks fin, foie gras... :p)

tracie81_sg

Hi Superfamous! Many thanks for your very detailed comments. They are certainly very helpful.

We were also thinking along the lines of getting the fried rice with foie gras cos it sounds quite exotic.. he heh..

As for the poultry, not sure whether to get the 10 spice roast chicken or the hua dia duck yet..The list no longer has the fragrant ginger duck.. I think the reviews have been really bad hahaha..

I guess for sharks' fins, it's a no choice thingy.. it's either kill the environment or get killed by parents.. wahahha..

alxhan

Hi ,
i do agree with the fried rice with foie gras. Had very good comments on it. The guests at my wedding all love it.

As for the poultry, i went with the roast chicken. Guests commented that its not bad. I guess, its pretty common, hence no1 mentioned that its fantastic.

For the fish, we had cod fish which was really good, except that some parents may not like it as it doesn't come with the " head & tail".

Dessert wise, i managed to change it to yam paste which was really fantastic as well. Its has loads of golden pumpkin paste on top of the yam paste and its not too sweet. Yum!

superfamous

we had cod fish for the fish too
i guess it's more ang moh or fusion style with the foie gras fried rice, cod fish, wasbai prawns etc

maybe you can choose either the hua diao jiu duck or roast chicken during the food tasting and see if you like how it turns out. if you liked it, can stick with it, otherwise, can change. that's what we did for most of the dishes though there was a risk that whatever we changed wouldn't be nice coz we wouldn't get to taste it again.

roast chicken has a risk of being dry but the presentation of the duck (all brown and yucky :p) didn't look good though it was quite tasty

hi fullerton brides, may i ask usually how advance does your coordinator liaise with you on the wedding details and arrangement? Our wedding is end of jan and till now, my coordinator has not contacted me. I had to liaise with the printer and florist to print the invites and discuss about the floral arrangment. Now the florist is asking me to confirm the details over email. Is that normal at your side? I am thinking probably mine is lunch, thus, not much emphasize is given to us or that's just the norm.

goodbyekitty

huh you too? my wedding also in jan, coordinator also not contacted me - mia liao. I haven;t even spoken to anyone about flowers at all. who is the florist?

superfamous

actually i find the coordinators pretty slow to get in touch for meetings to discuss the preps, but once they start, they are quite on (or maybe coz we started very late, so they have no choice :p). our coordinator contacted us quite late to start discussions and it so happens that when she did, we had alot of schedule conflicts, either she was not available or we were not.

we finally met up to discuss 2 weeks before my AD but got most of the stuff (flowers, number of guests, breakdown of vegetarians, muslims, etc) settled by then.

my hubby was a little unhappy that she said it was very hard to get us down to discuss when she didnt take the initiative to contact us earlier and it wasn't solely our fault. she wasn't available alot of days we were.

my advice is to contact them earlier on your own, dont wait for them to contact you. at least you can get it settled and out of the way without worrying over it closer to the date.

superfamous

ttoorroo, i did consider conrad but after viewing both ballrooms with my hubby and mum, we choose fullerton.

conrad's ballroom is not so impressive plus i didnt like the fact that i had to rent the projector. i heard they were pretty strict with perks too. and we preferred fullerton's bridal suite.

all in all, i think the ambience at fullerton's better

ttoorroo

Hi superfamous, can I just check with you what additional perks u got besides those listed on the package?

I went down to conrad and I had to rent the projector! like machan no choice one..

I totally agree with you regarding the bridal suite at fullerton.. nice

superfamous

haha actually nothing much. just got some additional free parking, additional pax for food tasting and corkage waiver of a few bottles of alcohol. i dont think there was anything else?

oh must qualify that i got the impression that fullerton was quite strict on perks too so we didnt bother to negotiate for more at all. i'm not sure how flexible they are if you ask for it

soapy29

hihi, am going to meet a co-ordinator soon to dicuss package for 2011. They have decided to raise their prices again!! What sort of perks did u BTB/GTB manage to get out from teh co-ordinators especially in terms of liqour?

ttoorroo

soapy29, can i check who is ur coordinator? mine is diana lee, wondering if she is good.

I heard good comments about linda yee.

I am currently trying to arrange a date to go down too.. maybe we can share the info here after we get the finalised package

alxhan

Actually, from the last time i talked to the coordinator before my wedding which is like in early dec, heard that they had revised the contract terms, they are getting more strict on the liquor terms. In terms of negotiating the perks, i think eventually its still all the same,they are very strict with it.

For my case, i was lucky enough to get upgraded to their governor's suite instead of their usual loft suite, due to some guests checking out late and all. Other than that, its pretty much the same as what not superfamous had mentioned, Additional free parking, additional pax for food tasting and corkage waiver for a few bottles of alcohol.

Maybe that's coz we both got the same coordinator. As for the meeting up, for my case, we met up pretty early, like a month before my AD. Settled all the things on that day. Met the florist on the same day as well. If you gals are pretty concerned about the deco, you can get your coordinator to email some pics to you. She can even give you the florist's contacts and you can liaise with her directly. =)

hi superfamous, we did contact them reguarly so that to get things going, e.g. printing the invites, touch base with the florist and looking at the wedding favours (via email) etc.
i seriously think this is too slow. How can we finalise so many things within 2 to 3 weeks from the actual wedding? So we took the initiative and get on things bit by bit.
My husband is not happy either because we have to keep sending emails and when we called,it's so hard to get hold of them.

<goodbyekitty>, the florist is Woodsville Florist, the coordinator gave me her contact so that we can discuss about the flowers. As i have intention to top up additional floral, so it's better to discuss such issues earlier.

superfamous

oh i didnt even get to meet the florist! just choose from the photos my coordinator emailed me and colour theme.

i guess i could have started later coz i didnt have favours or invites to worry over. purplejenn, how about dropping them an email asking them to meet up to look at the favours in real life, settle other matters, etc if you can't get them on the phone? i prefer to email my coordinator coz it wasn't very convenient talking in the office for me and i found her response prompt enough. i guess everyone's busy with the staff changing &amp; dec is pretty much peak period for them so need to push abit more if you want to get things done..

superfamous

i'm not surprised with the price increase at all. quite a number of hotels have raised their prices up to $120-130++ per head for 2011. they will have to raise their pricing too otherwise it will be too similar..?

i totally agree with you. in fact, we called them midst dec and my coordinator said that we will meet up after xmas to discuss the details. So we sent them email and tried calling after xmas as well and still couldn't get hold of them. I also understand Dec is a busy period but i was hoping to get as much things done in Dec so that we can reduce taking leave in Jan and possibly reduce the tons of things to settle nearer to our AD in Jan'10.
In fact, i didnt' see any flowers pictures or colour themes.
Now i am just hoping that my email will be answered soonest and hopefully that things can start rolling in Jan.

majoris

purplejenn, wen's ur wedding? I dun mind fwd u d flower deco pics etc if u leave email add here. Hotel package floral arrangement is pretty standard. U may engage own florist to doll up d wedding venue as i did

hi majoris, my email is [email protected]. My wedding is end jan but we haven't finalized on anything. How early did you meet up with your coordinator?
thanks for your help! Saw your pictures on bobby leong's website, everything is so nice!

cherrylight

majoris: you're super pretty! and everything about your wedding - layout, flowers, etc, was gorgeous! Congrats on having such a lovely wedding
can share the contact of your florist? Also, which boutique did you go to for your gown? I'm looking for an elegant lace gown as well..

thanks in advance!

Also, can anyone share the prices of their 2011 packages? Looking at Straits Room.. thanks

sheryce

Hi cherrylight, The prices for first quarter 2011 is out. Its $40++ increase from 2010 price. Which mean Sat dinner is $1208++. The same price increase applies for weekdays and sundays.

The package details are still exactly the same as 2010. There are open for booking till end Mar 2011.

I'll be meeting one of their coordinators soon. May I know what are the additional perks I can ask for?

cherrylight

Thanks Sheryce, can I know what's the min. number of tables? As I've just started my wedding prep (or decided on any date, just that it's going to be in 2011), I do not know what the package details are like for 2010.

Good luck with your meeting, are you considering the Straits Room as well?