The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

evaho

I am keen to have a wedding lunch at fullerton ballroom. However, I have only 22 tables. Anyone know if there is a minimum and can it be negotiated?

evaho

I am keen to have a wedding lunch at fullerton ballroom. However, I have only 22 tables. Anyone know if there is a minimum and can it be negotiated?

lilstarzpebblez

Eva> fullerton lunch on weekend has a min of 25 tables.. not too sure if that can be negotiated.. but you can try contacting them.

went down to fullerton yesterday but Rendall says that its too early to select deco and invitation card as they are in the midst of coming up new ones..so i guess that will have to wait.. but i am kinda surprised that there isnt themes that we can select! but have to select all individually!(ie. table cloth colour, table floral arrangements etc).. thats abit troublesome i feel.. but oh well.. hope they've got nice colours etc..
the old designs of invitation cards look pretty normal to me.. nothing fancy nothing particularly pretty..abit disappointed..so hope that the new designs will impress!

superfamous

do we get to select table cloth colour? i wasnt told about it... they just sent me floral arrangements and honestly, i quite disappointed... even my FH says it is rather crappy and ugly

and i agree about this year's invites looking vvvvv ordinary and normal
i saw marriot cards, much nicer.

and pretty disappointed with sharon.. she's rather inflexible in meeting us to discuss the wedding. she said they dont usually work on weekends during the 7th month and now that 7th month is over, F1 is coming up. its less than a month to my wedding and we have not met up with her to discuss anything and now my FH is going for reservist, faint! how to meet up to discuss?

and i think they cant have more than 1 food tasting in one day coz there's only 1 table at Jade (where the food tasting is held) for the food tasting. its a special table partitioned from the rest of the resturant, supposedly actual size of table, etc. i had mine last month and not too impressed with the food either. AIYOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHH with all this disappointment, my dream hotel is going down the drain
we should have booked some other hotel where they are more generous/flexible and have better food and decor

alxhan

Oops! Hmm... superfamous, when is your wedding? Did you try to tell Sharon about your FH going for reservist alr. Actually, she sent me the photos of the flower arrangements. Its just pretty normal looking. I think you probable will have to top up for much fanciful arrangements.

As for the table cloth, i think we are allowed to choose and if i am not wrong, heard that they are one of the few hotels that have black table cloth. Actually, i've seen rather pretty photos of the ballroom decor. Perhaps it really depends on your colour theme.

Oh no, you mean the food tasting table is not in a private room... oh no! haiz, i'll be going for my food tasting on the 1st Oct, i requested for private room, wonder if they will give me one. Or rather, do they have one....

superfamous

i wouldnt consider it a private room with doors and all but there is a partition seperately the food tasting table from the rest of the resturant in a corner of the resturant. i would say its quite private though, no worries on that
not sure if they have a private room..

my wedding's early october.. so kinda stressed coz all the htoel stuff are not settled at all. where did you see the nice ballroom pictures? need to look around for some ideas now.

alxhan

Superfamous, you have mail.

Erin, i've fixed my food tasting date alr. And the printer to do our invites had contacted me. Will be going down to discuss soon. They mentioned that we are allowed to do customized cards and just pay the subsidized fee. So kinda flexible in that.

Hi Superfamous,
poor thing! You seriously don't sound happy at all! Does she noe that your husband's going reservist? Actually I knew that I would be kinda busy till my wedding date (need to sit for exams etc!) so I asked to settle my matters early which she obliged. I'm sure if you give her ample notice, she would be able to work out something for you (I think I gave like 1 month notice)? Stay calm ok??
Frankly, you dont have a lot of time seriously so just try to be a happy bride and I'm sure things will fall into place nicely!
If you don't feel too good abt it, maybe you can bring in your own stuff (but you need to act on it fast!), top up for flowers from e florist / look for another hotel if time and your finances allow?

alxhan

Hi Popprincesstrin,
Did you managed to talk to the florist? Did you tell sharon what you want or talked to the florist directly. Did you top up for the decor?

Pardon me for asking so many questions, the decor is really bugging me... =)

kriskris

so far i have seen the floral deco photos sent to me by Sharon and also a actual wedding setup..the floral decos are pretty! Not as bad as what is mentioned here..or have they changed the style??

if u need some of the photos for reference, do email me at [email protected]

Hey ashley,
No prob, we shd help each other out. Frankly, I am only having my AD in Nov and I havent worked out my decor. From my ROM experience with them, Sharon helped me manage the decor and seriously, it looked MUCH better in reality than in the pics (I almost died when I saw the photos -_-''). No, I didnt have to top up cos I stuck to more or less the same one as they will be providing (only minor tweakings). Have you talked to her abt your concerns? Have you seen the real life set up? Better do it fast dear so at least there's more time to play with!

alxhan

Hey popprincesstrin,
I've talked to Sharon, she said i can contact the florist on my own if i have a concern there, but i am not sure if the florist will know which are the ones that the hotel is providing. I've seen photos of the setup but not in real life though. Just abit concern if whatever the hotel is providing pretty enough. keke!

Hey ashley,
if you are concern then I suggest you talk to the florist / go down to see what she has so at least you can be assured
I think the florist would know since the flowers for the arrangements r done by them and wld have to come from them anyway! better put yourself at ease than to get a rude shock on that day!
(Frankly,to be fair, the flowers at my ROM turned out MUCH prettier than I had expected. I trust Fullerton and Sharon

alxhan

Yea, i am not worried that it will turn out ugly, rather just wanna get things done faster. Haha! Coz Sharon told me that she will only arrange to meet me up in Nov. Anyway, thanks for your advice! =)

sleepyskies

Hi ladies, I have just confirmed my AD next yr with Fullerton! Excited..

Just to check - I was reading thru the earlier posts (by Cheryl) which mentioned the signing of the offer letter prior to discussing abt the package perks etc. My coordinator is Rendall and he said he is preparing the agreement for me to sign. But I have asked him if we shld discuss the package first before signing. Being v.nice, Rendall said we cld discuss before he prepares the agreement. Is this the correct procedure? Am worried to sign first coz the perks are all not agreed upon. Any advice? Thanks!

cheesecakefan

Hey sleepyskies - that was what i did too. According to Rendall, he will only prepare the agreement after we agreed on the terms and conditions rather than just preparing a generic agreement. I think it is the right procedure lor. ;P

sleepyskies

Thks Liting!
Coz was reading Cheryl's post and it seems like her coordinator wanted her to sign before discussing the terms & conditions too...so not sure if that is 'standard' though I wld feel better/safer discussing the perks first. haha. I will arrange to discuss the package with Rendall first then.

Btw, when is your AD? I am feeling all excited again now that I am finally confirming the hotel. hehe.

Hi sleepyskies! Congrats on being a fullerton bride! I was just as excited as you are when I first sign and still am!
Hmm... I was just wondering, arent the perks the same?

pandc

hi sleepyskies,
that is the procedure there and is correct, not to worry.

i have mentioned in my previous post that was a misunderstanding.

i think the first thing he wants u to sign is the 'letter of offer' , to confirm your booking. it will then proceed to an actual agreement after u have agreed on the T&C, like what Liting said.

me a bit 'kia su', before i sign the letter of offer, i went down to discuss the package with my coordinator again. Now my agreement is ready to sign. Haven't read yet, think should be ok one lah.

sleepyskies

princess - thanks! hehe..as my AD is still quite some time away, think my excitement wont last that long. haha. when is ur AD?
The perks for each package wld be the same but hoping I can negotiate for more stuff coz I will be taking 2 packages (reception is over 2 days). Just want to try my luck. keke :p

Cheryl - Oh I see...so there are 2 seperate docs to sign. When my coordinator said he is preparing the agreement, I got abit worried coz we havent even discussed the perks yet! Maybe what he meant was the 'letter of offer'. haha. But my coordinator said we cld discuss the package before he prepares the agreement...so I think we will just go down and discuss first. Since we need to discuss it anyway. haha. Thanks for sharing, Cheryl! When's your AD btw?

Hey sleepy! I'm sure ur excitement will be 'revived' again closer to Ad. Mine's 27 Nov. Just met with Sharon to discuss the details yest and I've chosen my favour (will be topping up for it). I'm really busy with work and studies and really excited abt AD now (sort of). But frankly, regardless of whatever's shared here, it's a really gd choice you made (abt Fullerton) cos I had my ROM here last yr too.

sleepyskies

Wow...thats like only a mth away! All the best princess!
My AD is in July 2010 so am sure I will still feel some excitement along the way..just thinking abt it makes me happy. keke.
What favour did you choose? I didnt know we can top up for a better one. Hope they have more variety!
Oh. You had ROM at Fullerton as well?? Do share more! How was it? Tea reception? I've some concerns abt the food coz heard it isnt that great..lukewarm etc. Plus they dont have any themes. I also have frens telling me Fullerton sound so atas....dont know what to make of that. :/ But bf & I do love the Straits Room v.much...and the hotel is simply gorgeous. Not to mention our coordinator who is so professional! So well, we decided to just go for it. hehe.

sleepyskies

Hi Ong, I am having lunch at Fullerton too. Have emailed you their lunch package..but its only for Straits Rm (till Dec 2010). The min. table requirement and cost per pax is different for their ballroom..you may wish to email Fullerton to find out more!

Hey sleepy, yes it's like only a month away! I went for the M*lton Brown shower gel set. I tot my food was great. Had a buffet lunch
Well, previously I heard bad reviews abt the food (even recently, a colleague came to me and told me right in e face tt the food at fullerton sucks and is v ex *whatever*) but it was great really
Had my food tasting last month too. was better than expected. Attended weddings at fullerton last yr too, nothing to complain!

sleepyskies

A shower gel set sounds great for a wedding favour! Hope you didnt have to top up alot for that. :p Glad to hear that we dont have to worry abt the food. I dont expect it to be fantastic but shld be decent at least. hehe.

Aiyo..how come your colleague like that? Sometimes I wonder if ppl make those negative remarks abt Fullerton juz coz its an 'atas' hotel?? :/
Curious abt your buffet lunch - were the portions enough? Was it refilled fast enough? Coz I am having 2 receptions consecutively over 2 days so am thinking of having lunch buffet for 1 and sit-down Chi lunch for the other. But concerns abt buffet are the portions....and also the angbaos. Though the buffet & Chi sit-down lunch cost the same, but ppl always perceive buffets to be much cheaper.
While I am prepared to make a certain amt of 'loss', I dont wish to make it worse with a buffet... Any advice?

Hey Sleepy, I had buffet for approx. 30 odd people. Frankly, there was little need to refill cos' there was way too much food and I felt a lil' bad cos whatever's prepared (as refill) was wasted (although the guests ate for 2 hrs..) maybe you can let your guests now b4 hand how much ur buffet costs? Since mine was ROM, most didnt give red packet so my husband and I paid almost the full amt on our own.

sleepyskies

That was what my coordinator assured me - that the portions for buffet are v.generous! hehe.
Hmmm...I am not sure how to go abt telling guests how much my buffet cost...it might come across as rude. But one other thing I like abt buffet is the seating arrangement - long table style...you dont have to wreck your brains over seat assignment and filling each table with exactly 10 ppl. Plus the setting is so unique!

I guess I just have to spend more time thinking abt the buffet vs sit-down lunch thingy...gosh. Lucky I dont have to decide now. lol. Thanks for ur suggestions thou dear!

pandc

Hi Sleepyskies, sorry for my late reply.
My AD is May 15, 2010. We really have many similarities leh. I like the long table style too, i had told my coordinator and he said the max capacity is abt 84 pax for the long table setting in the Straits Room. I already have the idea of the floral arrangements and decorations, but will still looking for new idea. :D I'll will be topping up for the wedding favour to Molton Brown. My solemnization will be held at the rooftop garden on the same day, simple, easy and a more meaningful day.

alxhan

Any idea other than Molton Brown stuffs, what other favours do they have? And if we were to top up, how much do we have to top up? =)

kriskris

may i know if the wedding favors and invitation cards for 2010 are already available? understand they may change the designs every yr?

pandc

Hi Popprincesstrin, i'm sure it's $3 per set leh. maybe u can check or discuss with your coordinator again... (because we have different coordinator).

superfamous

hi all, i'm back from my wedding!!! vvv happy with the service, i heard the banquet staff were good and of course, the banquet operations manager was a great big help and very efficient too. he definitely helped make everything run smoothly.

was worried about the food initially coz we didnt find it that great during food tasting but most of the feedback from our guests were that it's quite good so no worries there
i didnt get to eat at all, sobs!

only drawback was that it was rather difficult to see the projector screen (i could hardly see the video montage) and not everyone could see us when we walked down the stairs coz of the ballroom layout.

a huge thank you to all the staff though, made our day truly memorable and the loft suite was amazing, very happy with it and the service rendered by the staff

superfamous

ashley you can try emailing sharon to ask for pictures of the favours
they definitely change the invites and favours yearly (maybe more often?). i thought last years selection was much nicer, this year not fantastic at all.

w3ngal

i like the straits room coz it gives a cosy feel.

btw do u all have to fork out alot after the banquet in fullerton?

Hey Cheryl,
yes, my coordinator called me and confirmed that it's $3. Apparently there has been a decrease in price since the last time I spoke to her at the beginning of the month

hey superfamous, I'm so happy for you! looks like everything went well eventually isnt it?
Gosh! it's my turn to fret over things now!!

pinkygal13

Hi all, I'm a fullerton bride too :p can i check with u all when do i go for food tasting? My AD is 28 Feb 2010, and has anyone seen the invitation cards n wedding favors for 2010 oredi??

superfamous

food tasting is usually about 1-2 months before the AD, can check with your coordinator and arrange with them

can only have it on mon-thur, excluding public holidays

lilaiai

Do u all know if Fullerton can take less tables like 28 or 30 for weekends? Cz my FH and me really like fullerton but seems like they are rather strict on the minimum tables. We squeezed as much people as possible already to have max 30.. hahhahhaha

pinkygal13

Hi Ming Wei,

U mean Mar 2010 ah.. Like that i've to take the 2009 one oredi lor..

not superfamous! (superfamous)> Checked with My coordinator Rendall n he told me 2 mths prior to AD, will probably hav the fd tasting in dec which he said is fine too
Thks for telliing me!!