The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

alxhan

Haha! I didn't want to bother my coordinator that much, as my AD is still a few months away. Thought i will just ask around and see how it goes. Actually i was thinking of going for the wine too, thought most ppl will consume wine these days rather than beer. Thanks for your advice.

My coordinator is Sharon Yeo. haha! Had heard some unpleasant remarks about her. But so far, to be fair, she's quite an efficient coordinator. Just that she is alittle direct at times, hence leading to some others mistakenly take her as been aloof and rude.

So what about you? When is your AD? Who is your coordinator?

cheesecakefan

Hey Ashley,

Been just kaypo a little so asked who is your coordinator. hehe my ad will be in oct this year and looking forward to it but kinda stressed up cos of the invites. oh my coordinator is rendall. basically i rely everything on him except my attendance part as my friend told me to leave everything to him as her friend's wedding was handled by him with no flaws. haha me too lazy maybe.

kriskris

hey ashley..are u taking the straits room or ballroom? i will think most ppl are taking wine now instead of beer. plan to have my plan by consumption as well. My AD still long, Oct next yr..gng sign on the dot soon le..

alxhan

liting > oh! haha! there is another btb on this thread whose AD is the same as mine and handled by rendall. Hers is luncheon whereas mine is dinner. haha! Yea, i agree about the stress caused by the invites. I am still slacking on that part. =x

Kristine > mine is at the ballroom for dinner. Haha! Ya, the wine and beer consumption is kinda headache. As i heard from my friend, its usually the consumption of alcohol that causes some couples to lose a few k. Well... its always good to plan ahead. So when are you going to sign the contract?

adenitey

I just signed my contract. But still have not decide on getting the round or long table because guests list not confirm yet. How long do u all take to confirm the guests list?

sleepyskies

Hey ladies,

I have a slight problem here. I love the Straits Rm, as well as the coordinator (Rendall) at Fullerton.
But my estimated guest size is 150-160 which exceeded Straits Rm's capacity..Rendall suggested I hold the wedding reception over 2days (cost-wise, its ard the same). But the thought of a 2-day reception just seems rather troublesome..

I am thinking of finding another hotel with a ballroom big enough for my quest size...but looking ard, other hotels and ballrooms just dont look as nice. Any advice??

cheesecakefan

hey Ashley how is your planning coming along?

Sleepyskies> i have gone to several hotels before i decided on fullerton and to be frank there are a lot of hotels in singapore however how many are there exactly that provide good service before and after we sign the dotted line? Well have heard a lot of negative feedbacks. I guess this is one of the reason why we signed with fullerton as we gathered from friends and relatives who had their wedding there commenting good svc and food.

Go with your feel and see which venue you are more comfy with lor, guess that is the best thing to do. Well 2 days affair might be tough but then can be fun too if planned well. See what your coordinator has to say then.

kriskris

hi sleepyskies, i have the same problem with you but i finally decided to sign with Fullerton. we absolutely love the Straits Room and also the service from my coordinator. Beri comfortable with her. So to compromise, i will trim my guest list to meet the 12 tables max capacity.

Depends on what is your priority, for us venue is beri important. To me, i must definitely love the place for my wedding else like pointless.

Hi Sleepyskies,
why not do lunch for friends / colleagues and dinner for family and relatives on the same day, then you do not have to split into 2 days affair? Not only it is less troublesome, you do not have to incur extra costs for the makeup artists etc.
I also have the same problem but my guest list is around 110, so i am going to trim a little more because i want the buffet instead of the Chinese Banquet dinner.
Speak to Rendall again and quickly get the date you want.
good luck

pandc

URGENT!!!
I just wonder whether you guys will sign the 'Letter of Offer' first and then will discuss the Perks with the coordinator later?

My coordinator at FH rushing me to sign the 'Letter of Offer' and pay non-refundable deposit. But i said can we discuss about the packages first before i sign the letter, coz i worry when after i signed then there is no more negotiation. But the coordinator said i have to sign the letter first than he can proceed to next step such as agreement and perks. Which way is correct???

Does anybody can answer me please.

cheesecakefan

Hi cheryl,

What i know about the letter of offer which i had signed too was when you have confirmed the room. When someone wish to confirm the room on the day of your tentative booking, it's either you confirm or let go. if confirm you will need to sign the offer letter so that the coordinator can push the other party away. According to my coordinator if you confirm then they push the other party away and what happens half way thru u not confirming then they basically have rejected another party.

hope this helps ;P speak to ur coordinator directly la sis. who is ur coordinator?

pandc

Hi Liting,my coordinator is Rendall. We have same coordinator...yeah

Thanks for your help.
I think i better sign the offer letter now as there is another 2 couples asking the same date as mine.
One more question, so when we will discuss about the package and perks after we signed the offer letter?
XOXO

sleepyskies

Liting - Thanks for the advice, gal.
I do agree that the service provided at Fullerton is top-notch..no doubt abt it. And you are right, the 2-day reception can be just as fun..with proper planning that is. But just afraid that the 'excitement' will be gone on the 2nd day. hehe.

Kristine - Venue is very impt to me too..which is why after looking ard at other hotels, my heart is still with Fulerton. hehe. But am afraid I cant trim my guest list any further..
Oh well..We will be going to view other hotels this Sunday..I hope to be able to make up my mind soon!

Purplejenn - I did thought of having lunch for colleague & frens and dinner for family. But if my ROM and tea ceremony is on the same day..in the morning at the hotel, then that leaves my extended family with their afternoon wasted (coz they have to stay for the dinner). Also, it seems weird that the reception for colleagues & frens is first..this is a minor issue though. Haha. The more impt one is how to keep the extended family occupied after the ROM & tea ceremony at the hotel in the morning.

I am looking at wedding luncheons for both receptions so having 1 lunch and 1 dinner will also increase the cost.
Rendall has been nice to tentatively book 2 consecutive Sat & Sun for me..just that I hope to be able to confirm soon. Abit tiring to keep scouting ard.

cheesecakefan

Hi Cheryl,

Nice to knw you here. Well you can be rest assured he will assist you with all he can. I met him twice with even my parents like him when i brought them down. hehe Sounds like meeting the parents session hor.

you haven't discuss anything with him yet? Have you met him in the first place?

cheesecakefan

Hey sleepyskies,

i guess it depends on how we plan it but agree that it can tiring. I scouted around for more than 4 hotels and shld say fell in love with fullerton the moment i stepped in and after my discussion as i can feel the difference. you know having a sincere coordinator is important as they will help you thru. i went to some other hotels and they only tell me if confirm then you call me for appt else pointless to meet now. I almost fainted when i heard this. can you imagine. i told the person off so if you are buying a car can you say buy first then when you take the car then test? he said that is different but to me hey it's almost the same esp when i have to pay deposit to secure the place.

pandc

Hi Liting, i met him twice. But the first time we met was only introduction and some basic idea of the wedding but very little about the package in our conversation. Second time we only view the Roof Garden as we want to feel the noon time ambience there, same day in the evening we replied him we would like to confirm the place. He then sent me the 'Letter of Offer' and need to sign within these few days plus the deposit.
So i think better to discuss about the package first, if not i might losing my negotiation power if the thing has signed.
But then he said i have to sign the offer letter first.
I'm very confuse now.
My impression of him was favorable, i dont want to loose this feeling.

cheesecakefan

HI Sis Cheryl,

What i gathered from him or what i know is when letter of offer is signed means we are confirmed taking the venue. He ever shared with me that couples confirmed verbally then he pushed someone away and in the end the couple played him out so that day space is empty with no event.

You can speak to him freely de cos he is veri understanding one.

alxhan

Hi Cheryl,

Find what i understand here. I think its more like your coordinator wants you to secure the venue first hence he is asking you to sign the letter and pay a deposit first.

When i was booking my venue, what happens is there was another couple who tentatively booked the place before us. And when we told our coordinator that we want to make a confirmed booking, and they informed the couple and gave them 3 days to think about it. Eventually they gave up the place.

What i am trying to say is, once there are other couples enquiring about the venue that you want, the coordinators will have to ask you to make a confirmed booking, so that they are able to tell the other couple that its no longer available. Just like what Liting mentioned.

Or you can asked your coordinator about the letter that he is asking you to sign any different from the contract that they draft out usually. Because they will usually email you a copy before meeting up with you to sign the contract.

Just my 2cents worth, hope it helps. =)

kriskris

hi cheryl, for my case, we agreed on the package, perks etc before i confirm my booking. then your coordinator will send you the contract. tats usually the case isn't it?

sleepyskies, i scouted abt 10-15 hotels and FH is among the first few i viewed. After FH, not sure why but all other hotels just don't appeal to us anymore, even RH pales in comparison to us..i guess FH is just the perfect place with the right ambience we are looking for...

pandc

Hi Liting& Ashley & Kristine, thanks for the concern and patient.
My coordinator has finally not rushing me to sign the offer letter now. I think he is also 'bo bian' because im so 'kia su'. I will meet him again next week to settle the package and deposit. Thought we can settle this matter ASAP, because the date i want is an auspicious date, after me there are more than 5 couple asking the same date as mine.
A bit worried if he gives the date to another couple because i did not return the offer letter to them.

cheesecakefan

Hey Cheryl,

I think as long as you have communicated and confirm with them the space then i dun think they will give up the space la. sometimes can't blame them too as they are also pushed by other couple unless there's no couple enquiring then it will be a different story.

sleepyskies

Thanks for all the advices and suggestions. After viewing 4 other hotels (Four Seasons, Regent, Marina Mandarin & Mandarin Oriental) on Sunday, bf and I are still in love with Fullerton. hehe.
We should be confirming with Fullerton for our 2-day wedding reception. Just want to bring my parents down to look at the Straits Room before we confirm anything.

pandc

Hi Liting& Ashley & Kristine,
I have just sign my confirmation with FH yesterday. It was me misunderstood of the whole procedure... here to say sorry... sorry to everybody if my above post have mislead you... Actually i wanted to delete it but think it might useful for someone who are blur blur like me... oppps! Maybe is because i'm too tired after work and never listen or read properly the message from my coordinator. Lucky my coordinator still ok to me. It was another very nice discussion with him yesterday.

** Thank you to all the senior here **

beaglemsn

Have seen some photos taken @ The Straits Room and it seems that the ballroom is totally white.

Anyone care to share her wedding experience or photos @ The Straits Room Fullerton?

Or any photographer has taken actual day photos @ The Straits Room? Care to share? Am concern how the photos will turn out to be since the room is entirely white, white table/chairs linen, white wedding gown etc ... Will it look very "colourless" or "dull"?

Need some advise... Thanks!

kriskris

On my last visit to the Straits Room, i saw a actual wedding lunch setup with pink and champagne roses..it looks beri cosy and pretty! jus the kind we looking for.in fact, we love the white settings instead of the normal warm-toned ballrooms...think of white as a canvas..can play ard with colors better?

emma_watson

Hello, I'm also going for fullerton next year. Already told my coordinator my decision via email and will be meeting up to discuss more end of sep when I'm free. I'd just like to ask if any of you know whether I should sign first then discuss or discuss first then sign?

I'm using Straits rm for lunch, I'm kinda lazy and only looked at Raffles and Sentosa Resort other than Fullerton and I just decided that we are most satisfied with Fullerton. Anyone here using Straits Rm as well? I know the cocktail area is upstairs at the roof terrace area, but any of you skipped having cocktail there? I really don't want my guests to walk here and there, rather them just go straight to the Straits Rm... What do you guys think?

peaberry

Hamlet > Um are you having a traditional or more casual, laid back wedding? There's a long list of things to take care of for any wedding - wedding rings, flowers, outfits and roles for the bridal party (bridesmaids and groomsmen), actual day schedule, music, actual day photography, betrothal gifts, guest list, etc.

Also, have you done your solemnisation? If you've not, you'll also have to confirm the solemnisation venue (could be at the hotel itself just before your banquet), get an officiant, file your marriage with ROM and get the necessary documents required.

This forum is super helpful and almost every area is covered in the various sections, so do surf around!

peaberry

hermione > If you're anxious about securing your date, I suggest to sign first because Fullerton gets booked up very quickly!

Your coordinator will prepare a pretty thorough wedding agreement for you to sign, and it'll cover your package including any amendments or negotiations, as well as your proposed schedule.

Minor details such as food tasting, cards, selection of favours, etc won't be entertained until at least 2 months from your wedding date so as long as you're comfy with the terms stated in the agreement, you should sign!

kriskris

hermione, i'm using Straits Room for lunch as well and roof top terrace for soleminsation + cocktail..ok with the idea cos the lift is rather exclusive jus for the guests during the wedding

nwatson

Oh gosh peaberry! I have only done the wedding rings and I am going to buy my own solemnization wedding dress and the others will be from the bridal package that eventually I will find! I am planning to have my solemnization done just before my wedding! My wedding is in early 2011, so does that mean I am right with my timing now?
It's stressful as I am overseas planning for these and will only be back only twice a year. WHen should I get an officiant if I plan for a 2011 ROM?

Sorry to keep asking so much question but I am so lost with it!

THanks

peaberry

Hey Hamlet, don't worry! If you're planning for 2011, I think you have more than sufficient time.

ROM only lets you file your notice of marriage 3 months in advance, and they'll assign you an officiant if you're planning to solemnise your marriage within ROM itself. If you're holding your solemnisation outside, you can start looking for an officiant 6 - 9 months before your date? I had to ask my pastor early because my wedding's in Nov and it's a pretty hot month.

Don't worry though, I think you have plenty of time ahead of you!
Enjoy the planning process!

peaberry

ashley > I think you have to bug your coordinator! My wedding is end of Nov and I didn't hear from them myself, so had to drop them an email before they reverted with the banquet kit and follow-up steps.

ivan9127

I make a second attempt with Fullerton and met up with Sharon Yeo.

I feel that i it will only to fair that i post this up.

I do agree that she is friendly and helpful with useful advices althought her character is frank and direct.

Meeting her up in person is much better than making contact with her over the phone.

alxhan

Hi Ming Wei,
Glad that you had a better experience after meeting sharon up.Haha! Ya, she's rather frank and direct. When i called her up to ask about the hotel's florist, she kept insisting that its still early for me to think about anything now... When my wedding is in early dec. =)

lilstarzpebblez

Ashley> i'm a Dec 5th bride, am meeting Rendall to confirm the wedding deco and invitation cards today.. i've yet to confirm with him the food tasting date.. i think better hurry as he said that alot of date are already taken up. Am not too sure why they cant have more food tasting in 1 day.. Hmm..