The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

jns

Hmmm...yup...normally they will try to give the best they have. Tats wat sharon told mi too!!! She did help mi alot~~~

cheesecakefan

Tiramisu,

Yes both Straits Room and Ballroom has the piano only different type of piano. For Straits room, they have the upright type whereas ballroom has the grand piano.

cheesecakefan

goodbye kitty> my coordinator is also rendall. in fact was highly recommended by my friend who happened to be under his care too. I went with my friend during the discussion and i must say he was pro.

cheesecakefan

min> rendall told me the same thing too and he assured me whatever he had promised he will honour it and will try to help. so far he has been very helpful as i had also asked him for alot of things which is outside the hotel part and he has been helping. hehe maybe i will either buy him a drink or a big present once my dinner is over.

tiramisu91

liting> thanks hehe my HTB is a pianist...he said uprite better than none....but have to find out d brand lor.

goodbyekitty> hi, y not drop rendall an email to see if he can assist you from there. if it's not advisable to change coordinator, i believe he wil let you know..no harm try rite

cheesecakefan

tiramisu> i have 2 wedding lunch and 1 of which is a buffet lunch which i think is good. End of the day as i don't have the minimum requirements for the room and since rendall had worked out somethng for me, i think i am fine with it. at least i can still go to fullerton to have my wedding. ;P

cheesecakefan

tiramisu> does it matter what is the brand of the piano? Do i have to ask the pianist who is playing for me about this too? sorry for asking as i am not a piano person hehe ;P

tiramisu91

liting>which buffet lunch menu u choose? hehe diferent brand will hav different quality mah..i.e. the sounds etc...but most important is the skills lor..i tink whiever brand also no prob if he is good at it

min0511

<goodbyekitty> its not good to change coordinator leh...i mean it doesnt look nice too....both on urself &amp; rendall...it may makes things difficult for him in future...i think all coordinators are given a set of things of what they can help...so the perks we are getting would be more or less the same lah....unless u havent been assigned one then maybe writing to him directly wld be ok....
no worries ok?

liting, I think it's based on personal preference. A certain K brand pianos never fails to annoy me since young frankly cos the timbre of the sound produced by the piano is very round and mellow which I totally HATE. I prefer bright sounding pianos seriously but of course the K brand has got its own fans. (haha maybe I suck at playing piano lol) It depends on the pieces you want to.. general bubble gum pop is fine on most pianos... Certain classical pieces on pianos of certain brands definitely sound strange. Just imagine, if the melody simulates trickling water etc, you will expect the sound to be brighter, rather than a mellow one rite? hee sorry if I am crapping... but frankly I think the piano shd be fine as long as the pianist is not particular... some cant tell the difference lol

cheesecakefan

popprincesstrin> wow you must be a piano person. haha me know nothing about piano as long as the sound that comes out is pleasant i am fine. hehe

goodbyekitty

michelle> yep. it's louis. no la not seriously wanting to change coordinators. just that hearing all the hype about rendall..

how many tables do you have? if you take the band, still got lots of space right? I'm not so concerned abt the space

jns

If i'm not wrong, louis is actually the senior sale manager. So i guess there shld be no problem wif him being ur coordinator cos maybe he can give u more than other managers offer.

vinnythemarv

I am with louis too actually. Yeah, he is the senior banquet manager. So he tends to be abit more busy, may respond a little slower, But he's a nice guy lah.

I am actually filling up the entire ballroom to the max at the moment, still have to cut people off the list, mainly parents' friends, so abit tight.

min0511

<michelle> huh? u mean the grand ballroom u r filling to the max. already? wow...u got lots of ppl to invite...wld b a tiring nite to entertain all...

min0511

anyone has the actual schedule for the wedding day? especially if u r having luncheon instead of diner...i try to plan backwards and found out that i need to reach groom's house at 7am even thou' i'm not a teochew bride....alamak....tat means MUA need to reach my house around 430am?

vinnythemarv

Min, you are right. The MUA will need to reach your place latest by 5am, esp if you are going to have some time for the "Sabo" gatecrash segment. Make-up will take about 1-1.5hrs.If I am not wrong, some MUAs, PGs and VGs have extra charges for such early hours too. How come you must reach your groom's place so early?

jns

Ya. There will be alot of extra charges incurred...i'm actually a teochew bride but i'm not goin to leave my hse so early.

dinitegrity

I am also very very interested in having my weekday wedding dinner in The Fullerton Ballroom. Rendall has been very nice &amp; efficient in replying promptly.

But I am worry of the attendence on a weekday dinner (we want it to be on our special meaningful date on our anniversary which happens to falls on a wednesday) so we won't consider other days or weekend lunch as many people has wrong perception that a luncheon is cheap but in Fullerton is comparable to other 5* weekdays dinner.

Similarly if I hold weekday in Fullerton, it is also comparable to other 5* weekend dinner but I am afraid that people has wrong concept that we want it cheaper so put in weekday (which in fact is due to the date we want &amp; the minimum requirement no. of tables).

May I know how much do you all intend to side aside to lose for Angpows $?

Rendall is really a highly recommanded coordinator! He is a very very nice person. I will be meeting him on Monday to view the ballroom. But I don't know if I should wait for the bridal show to sign my package as I know Fullerton only hold their bridal show once a year &amp; this year has just past.

I know that for my dates is too early to sign now as Fullerton has not open the dates yet. But I just wanna see the ballroom (I kinda 98% confirm want Fullerton already). So after viewing the ballroom, I will either wait for the next bridal show or wait for their open dates

My wedding will be held next next year 2010 Nov. But if next year bridal show is also same like this year show which held so late in Nov, I scare I can't book on the date I want.

jns

Hi diane,

I think it is not adviseable to wait till the next show to sign ur package cos by that time most of the dates are already taken up. Hmm...i guess u can actually tell ur guest the reason y u wanted a lunch instead of dinner. For my case, all my guest are asking me hw much is for per table and most of them comment that they will try their best not to make mi suffer too much of the loss in the angpows collected. But after all, it is better to have a reserve set aside to cover the loss.

And to add on, fullerton dates are running beri fast so u got to book ur date early if u already have a date in mind.

min0511

<diane> i'm holding wkend luncheon and most ppl think it is cheaper than diner and they wld think diner costs around $1000/table so they wld give ang bao for luncheon like $60-$80/pax then i wld suffer alot...but we cannot avoid this kind of loss...my friend ask me to cater for 5k just in case...i expect most of my relatives cant make it on wkend lunch but i cant bother too much liao...too many things to bother makes one think too much and eventually become sad...

<michelle> i need to reach groom's hse early coz i need to start the lunch at 1pm and working backwards i got the "7am" lor...

cheesecakefan

Diane> Personally i think it is not advisable to wait till the next wedding show as most of the time besides Fullerton, dates run out fast. At this point of time, i am sure the date is not out for 2010 as my cousin had enquired about 2010 however the dates are not open yet except Jan - March 2010.

Glad you had rendall to help you as i believe he can offer you solutions.

vinnythemarv

Hey Min,
One Solution to make things more lax and give yourself more time for beauty sleep would be to collapses the tea ceremony for both sides at the lunch itself. I am not sure if you have a lot of relatives. It will be good to consider whether most of the relatives would be willing to report at such a early time such as 7am for tea ceremony? After all, they will all be at the lunch right?=)

min0511

<michelle> ohh...for my side, my mum had told me no need tea ceremony for uncles and aunts at home...if they want then do it during banquet....at home only parents and grandparents...for HTB side i duno....90% is they want...

Diane, I agree with the other ladies. Dun wait till the wedding show cos it's NOT worth it... I'll be having my AD in Nov next yr but I signed up 1.5yrs before that date. Personally, for my hubs and I, we're kinda not expecting angpows (although guests will def. turn up with one... angpows are bonuses!) so whatever we're paying for the AD (ard 37 tables) is what we're prepared to lose.

dinitegrity

Thanks for your kind replies. Yes, I will listen to you all de, shall book once the date is open for booking. I also see four season today, quite nice but still had Fullerton as my 1st choice. Just hope if Rendall can help me with my minimum requirement no of tables or not lo...

How much do you all set aside to lose for wedding dinner?
Hope experience Fullerton Brides or Fullerton BTB to give me an estimated amount.

We will be having on Weekday (wednesday) dinner banquet. Really afraid people especially those bu zhi dong or those family bring kids along can die. Cos they'll tink 'Children don eat much, gif half will do (when even if children don eat much but they do take up seats)'. Their full amount is $75, half is $30. Den sure die liao.

So I really need your help on how much you all intend to set aside to lose?
Of course I don intend to earn (definitely not) but I don wanna lose too much either (cos my Honeymoon depends alot on it lei).

Like if I lose den don need go honeymoon le.
If lose a little like 2-3k can still go.
But if lose like 10-15k, can forget about honeymoon le.
I very kiasu, I count if everyone give AT LEAST 50% of what we pay, eg 1 pax = $110, 50% = $55.
Then we'll lose $10K++...

May I know bridal show got what extra perks ar?
Cos I tink like nothing more to add to the current package already. But I really tink i'll like loft suite. But if I having on weekdays only 2 days in esplanade rooms

tiramisu91

hi diane, how many tables u have for dinner? i heard a fren mentioned tat even some people will give less on angpows for weekday dinner.

personally, i feel tat its very hard to set an amount. for me, wen i plan to spend on wedding banquet, i have no intention to receive it back from guest's angpow. so tat it wont effect my honeymoon, house reno etc. i would say i plan a wedding according to my budget capability.

u shdnt wait for bridal fair to enjoy extra perks IF you have decided on a venue and a date. coz as a bride myself, i know it will be a big disappointment if i cant get my desired venue..and by tat time even if u have a big budget on banquet, it cant change the facts that the venue is no longer available. so, secure the venue now if u sure tis is wat u want!! just my two cents worth

tiramisu91

wow popprincesstrina, u r a pianist!! i dun even know wat is K brand pianos...hahaha.

liting>ya, as long it sounds soothing and u comfy wit it, i tink it shd be alrite

dinitegrity

tiramisu91,

Do u mean if ur banquet cost $30k, u set aside $30k to lose? Then it wont affect ur honeymoon etc?

LOL, i tot i very gd liao with e worst thinking of receiving back at least avg 50%/pax. You better sia, meaning ur plan is invite those guest to come for free dinner? That is a very good back up plan but my budget don allows me to have that huge amount.

We've decided to use $30k for entire wedding.

(My Dream Wedding)
$8888 HK wedding photo shoot
PS: don include air tix &amp; accomodation

(Dreamzcoffee)
$2300 AD 1/2 day videography &amp; animation + express highlights

HK Trip
$2000 (Accomodation &amp; Flight)

Wedding Bands
$2000

Banquet + Honeymoon
Leftover

Thus is a matter of if lose = no honeymoon
If lose a little or never lose = got honeymoon

Yes, I have decided that once my date in 2010 is open for booking in Fullerton, I'll book immediately (wouldn't wait for bridal show le).

tiramisu91

Hi diane,

just wan to check...my fren also engaged my dream wedding as her pre-wedding shoot in hk next year march, the package cost $3288 exclude accom and air tix. how come urs one so exp?? must b premium package huh

i tink it depends on individual bah...for me the point of hvg a banquet is to celebrate our love and the joining of two families. its my honour to have my invited guest to come, witness and celebrate wit us...so i do not expect them to pay a single cent. i will treat it as a bonus for wat i receive as in angpow

tiramisu91

gals, i have signed up fullerton for my solemnization!!! yahoooo... !! But yet to decide on buffet style or sit down dinner...

min> wats ur emaill address...i have sample AD plans for wedding lunch...i got it fr other thread

dinitegrity

tiramisu91

Ya mine is the best package already. The next lower one is $5688,

anything less than that is not overseas shooting already.

I dono ur friend de isit only photoshoot. My includes actual day de VIP dress, make up, bouquet, bridal car deco etc.
Got MV, many VIP collection.

hey Diane,
haha think our choices were the same. Mine was also either Four seasons or Fullerton but I tot Four seasons is quite small and there's another smaller ballroom next to it which is not v gd. We're prepared to lose abt 50 odd thousand for the AD (yes I agree with tiramisu abt the ang pows being a bonus) and honey moon is another cost (shdn't lump them together cos it's like ur honeymoon's gonna be dependent on AD
. Frankly, if you are worried, why dun you let out some word on how much the banquet will cost you so tt the guest gets a gd estimate on how much to give? As a guest I wld prefer the host to let me know so that I can give money to cover my portion and a bit more for them to buy whatever they want.

Tiramisu, I had buffet style. It worked out pretty fine.

dinitegrity

popprincesstrin,

Ya, FourSeasons is good but is abit pricey &amp; the package don include beer... Must pay alot after I calculate everything. I also wanna let out words as my character same as you prefer to have people telling e their cost/pax than I ownself guess. But my HTB everything don1. So angry with him. Like I really don like the ideas of having kids in my wedding (nothing to do with the angpows they gif lesser or what but they very noisy, run here &amp; there, can die) Summore to add on that, parents also buey zhi dong give very little APs despite children/kids do take up seats.
When I suggest something SG BTBs suggested like in our wedding cards we put 3 pics, 1st pics is present, 2nd pics is jewelry, 3rd pic is vouchers, 4th pic is $, all mark cross except 4th $ put a tick. He also don1. He say very rude etc. Who wanna play the bad guys? I also don1. Summore I very confirm my side de Angpows cfm not a problem. It is his side. Summore his side invitees more than mine.

As I mention above that we do not have the much budget to set aside. The most if lose all, don go for honeymoon lo. My HTB is the only person working. I am saving from my pocket $ only as am still studying. We just started saving only so everything starts from scratch. We can make it in time for our wedding in Nov 2010.

Reason being we wanna marry, commit or settle down early is because we love each other, wanna live together, have a place of our own asap. We do not wanna lump everything together in future in imagine if I 30yo den marry, den aft marriage like must rush to have babies if not dangerous to gif birth or hard to get pregnant as grow older. So I rather we marry soon, enjoy all er ren shi jie for a couple of years between 5 to 9 years then tink of babies after that.

Diane, yah i agree and i understand your agony! i hate the kids part! For my ROM at fullerton, I BANNED kids (except for 2 who are extremely well behaved). I can literally go MAD and give them a good piece of my mind if they run ard and behave like WILD monkeys in the zoo!

How's ur parents in law like? Tell them abt how the banquet is priced? Alternatively you can phrase it very nicely in your invites that monetary help for the couple to cope with wedding expenses is greatly appreciated? something like tt? I can empathise with you cos I'm marrying young too... it must be really crazy to pay for the banquet on your own and rely solely on ur HTB's pay.

If all else fails, would you consider scaling down the banquet?

As a gal, I wldnt want to scrimp on my honeymoon. I'll be dead angry. I'd rather not marry.

dinitegrity

popprincesstrin!!

U are so UNDERSTANDING!! I really APPRECIATE your words. Cannot talk to anyone sia. None understand. I am only 21yo in 2 years time when I marry my htb. Although I am very young but he isn't (older den me by 5 years!). But we click very well as he always give in to me etc. All my friends, relatives even PARENTS especially my mom object to me marrying so early &amp; young. My dad is ok but both my parents likes him &amp; i also know i'll eventually be married to him even after 10years. I know they think that I am too rush in making decision etc but i really wont regret de.

Bad part, no proposal. When i told families &amp; friends that I am getting married in 2 years time, they asked 'huh, why so sudden? How this idea came abt? He proposed?' I wish man. But is just wishful thinking of me. We just wanna be tgt er ren shi jie as I am staying the same room with my younger sis, there are many constraints &amp; inconvenience caused. Like if we quarrel or a simple kiss on the lips must restrain.. Sianz la.

Due to my number of tables &amp; price range + i want a reasonable hotel, Fullerton is the best le.
I want a pretty good or decent wedding in Orchard Road or marina area. Orchard Road only Four Season is up to my standard &amp; can fit my minimum requirement. But is too pricey.

Tomorrow going to Fullerton meeting Rendall. Hope he can work a way for me.

How is the payment method in Fullerton like? I don think we can fork the $5k deposit as we still needa pay for photoshoot etc.

hey diane, nvm abt the proposal, I think what is most impt is that u are certain he will treat you well in future. Frankly, there are other hotels you can consider too. I tot Four seasons wedding will be cheaper than Fullerton hee hee.

Deposit is 5k followed by the remaining to be paid fully after the dinner itself. A word of caution: u need to set more than the cost of the tables cos there are other things u need to pay for e.g. drinks which can come up to be quite a lot esp after taxes. Seriously, 30k may nt be enough for the entire wedding cos the dinner will set one back by at least 50k not includ. beverages so you'll nd to do ur sums v carefully. Dun bang too much on the red packets just in case they dun come in *touch wood*. WOuld you consider Marriott?

If u really want Fullerton, why dun u put down the 5k first cos payment for photoshoot etc can come later cos u nd not put down full payment for them yet isn't it?

dinitegrity

popprincesstrin,

But we pay photoshoot by installments so still got commitment every now &amp; then. If Fullerton Payment scheme is only $5K deposit &amp; e rest pay after dinner then I no problem can fork out. What I scare is the some other hotels policy of 50% 1 month advance payment before actual day which I cant fork out.

Eg: Assume my banquet cost $30k;
$5k deposit upon confirmation
Oct 2010 must pay 50% of the leftover de $25k, which is $17.5k
Nov 2010 AD, After the dinner than pay the rest $17.5k

I can't put deposit for Fullerton now as they have not open the dates for Nov 2010.

For me don need $50k la. I Only have 20 tables, somemore is weekday prices. No matter how I count even if lose all not receiving a single APs also lose $22k nia.
Fullerton package includes 2 barrel beer &amp; free refreshment le so no need scare needa pay extra except for the printing of cards.

If lose got backup.. My mummy &amp; daddy say don needa care lose or not. They say loud loud give me confidence sia. Machiam they'll gif alot APs or if really lose they'll help out. Summore honeymoon not scare cos dad confirm sponsor flight tix to europe, just dono accomdation will they sponsor not. LOL!!

Marriott not enough tables to hit sia. That's why I left with only four season or fullerton as I want a up scale hotel.

Hey diane,
If i am not wrong, a weekday wedding at Fullerton requires a min of 25 tables. Yes, you can choose the option of 2 barrels of beer but not everyone consumes beer so you'll need to pay for wine too. On top of that you need to include tax too.

Since your parents would be helping you out with the dinner then I dun think there'll be any cause for concern seriously. Whatever it is, dun bang on the red packets.

jns

Yup. I agree wif popprincesstrin. There is alot of hidden cost u need to prepare for ur wedding. Bear in mind we do have to pay for the 17% of gst and service charges and the wine will also cos alot. Btw, y do u need to pay 50% before the dinner? Is it a new rules?