The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

winterhakone

u r most welcome....update us ya sharlene....

piyoling

Sharlene, my ex-colleague attended a wedding dinner at FH not long ago. She mentioned the tofu is very special and the mango pudding is good. I hope u like it during food tasting. Update us on your food tasting!

blue_mist

Hi preciousthoughts,

Glad to see you here
The package prices defer depending on which day of the week you hold it and what menu you choose. Why don't you contact Delia, the wedding coordinator at FH? She's super nice and will definitely be willing to go through all the details with you

As for me, I'm pleased to announce that I'm now officially a future FH bride to be
Can't wait to start planning for the big day!

sharlene

Bluemist,
Welcome! So when's ur big day!

Winterhakone/Piyoling
My food tasting this Fri, shall update u gals

Preciousthoughts,
U can go to the Fullerton website under events. They did have their package price and menu inside.

blue_mist

Sharlene, my big day is in May 06, which is still some time away actually, but i'm getting all excited about it...
When's yours? Should be soon since you're going for food tasting already
Btw, are you topping up with woodsville for more flowers or going with the standard? Have fun at food tasting

sharlene

bluemist,
Ic, mine in 2nd June this yr.
I am not sure about the florist yet as the coordinator will only discuss this with me abt 3 wks prior to me AD.

sharlene

update of my food tasting. The spinach toufu is nice, everyone praises it. The braised fillet of Garoupa with toufu, that piece of toufu is the same of the spinach toufu. The mango pudding is quite dry. To me taste like other mango pudding but there are alot of fruits and the presentation is very colourful and nice. My HB likes it due to special thus we stick back spinach toufu and mango pudding, we only swapped the fish dish.

chamonique

Hi Sharlene,

You can request the Chef to add some sugar syrup to the mango pudding so it wouldnt be so dried. That's what I did and it did taste much better.

count

could i ask a somewhat silly question? did u all sustain huge losses for the wedding banquet in terms of red packets? am seriously considering fullerton but the cost for weekends is bound to be at least $100/person, so I'm wondering if people will at least give $80 per person.

anyone has experiences to share on net profit/loss, after factoring in the cost per table?

sharlene

Charmonique,
The chef will gv each table a bowl of milk on the table so if guest wanna add, can self help themselve from the bowl so that the mango pudding not so dry.

Did u meet the chief chef that time, he was very very young only.

Piyoling,
So far, now busy tying the ribbons for the invites. alot things now yet done. Asked u, issit only 2-3 wks before that the coordinator will contact us about the ballroom deco?

Anyone cater children menu for guest who brought children?

Count,
For my case, we are actually prepared to make some losses from the banquet actually.

chamonique

Hi Sharlene,

I guess they have come up with better idea since most pple comment that the mango pudding is dried. Yeah, the chef is quite young.

piyoling

Hi Sharlene,
Below is what I read from somewhere.. so alot of things not yet done? hope u are not stress at this moment. hmm... Is there anything i can help?

[Finalization of Details (usually done 2-3 wks before actual day)
a) Catering
- Menu
- Special Diets (Vegetarian, Muslins, etc)
- Beverages service (types of beverages to be served)
- Attendance breakdown including special dishes.

b) Room Set-up
- VIP tables
- Reserved tables
- Seating allocation for special diets
- Flower combination colors and arrangement
- Table settings
- Floor Plan
- Baby/High chair
- Wedding Favours

c) Programme
- Intervals for speeches
- Video presentation (equipment required, schedule for testing before AD)
- Band/musicians (microphones, sound system)
- Song for 1st march-in, first course presentation (if any), 2nd March-in and music for the evening

d) Bridal Suite and coordinator's room
- Check-in and Check-out
- Additional requirements
- Breakfast arrangement
- Lover's Dinner/Supper
- Complimentary 1KG cake if it is to be sent up the suite or take away the next day upon check out.

e) Carpark arrangements
- Bridal Car
- Wheelchair access

f) Billing arrangements
- Credit limit extension
- Payment by cash ]

sharlene

Piyoling,
I think I am the one who type and posted the above :p

Chamonique,
Ya maybe
I also told the chef to add more mangos as hardly ate any mangoes in the pudding.

piyoling

Ops, Sharlene... hee hee ;p
Read so many posts in the forum. I saved the file but didn't note who posted it ;p so paiseh

so i guess everything should be ok.

icebubbles

to all ex fullerton brides:
did u all specially choose lower heels and shorter train for wg to walk safely down the stairs?

wanna do a survey cos i m one who doesnt really wear high heels... scared abt the stairs

Hi icebubbles

I hardly wear heels too... in fact, I'm a sneakers person, even to work. But walking down the stairs in the long train and high heels wasn't a problem for me. So it was fine! I'm sure you'll do well too. Perhaps, for your shoes, try not to get stilettos, but something with a slightly broader heeled base for better balance.

Hi Sharlene

Better get 2 barrels, at least for standby. You can get your alcohol coordinator to monitor how fast the beer consumption is going for the first barrel. What my friend did for her wedding was opt to serve beer by the glass after their barrel of beer was fully consumed at the 2nd/3rd last dish.

If the 1st barrel only finishes towards the last few dishes, you can opt not to open the 2nd barrel. The hotel should not charge you for the unopened barrel. You might want to double check with your coordinator if that is more economically viable.

Hi Count

To budget for your wedding dinner, start with a worst case scenario. For eg: Assume your guests will be giving an $80 angpow, and cost is $100. You shld be prepared to spend at least $20 per person. If you have 40 full tables, that will come up to $8,000.

If you also have your guest list ready, you might want to skim through and do an estimate from there. I had a few guests who gave $60 ang pows. But there were a good number who were surprisingly generous and would give $120 - $150 ang pows. Our peers are most likely to give $80 - $100, with good friends giving $100 - $120. Closer relatives will tend to pack more. So sometimes you'll be able to cover from the generous ones.

In your overall costs, you will also have to take note of extra expenditure (eg: wine, extra beer, etc).

For my wedding, we also pooled the ang pow from our church ceremony and tea ceremony. And so we managed to cover from there. In fact, i think in the end, we actually had some leftover cash as pocket money for our honeymoon!

So if you actually set aside some money to spend, you might find yourselves having a little 'bonus' in the end : )

sharlene

matka,
The thing now is my package had a free barrel of beer. Both my Hb and I are thinking of trading the wedding favours to another barrel but not sure whether is consumption rate that high?

Hi Sharlene

Decisions, decisions. Heheh. My package was probably different from yours (if i understand, the updated packages have more things packed into it, whereas I paid slightly less). For us, we gave up the wedding favours + invites and traded in for 50% off 2nd barrel of beer + free use of projectors.

Our wedding was on a Sunday night and our alcohol consumption was 60 bottles of wine and over 1 1/2 barrels of beer by the end of the night. We did not serve alcohol during reception and only started when dinner commenced. We had about 380 guests so hopefully that gives you an indication.

My friend's wedding at the Four Seasons on a Saturday had abt 300 guests. They served wine (i do not know how many bottles) and exceeded 2 barrels of beer. Subsequently they started serving by the glass towards the end of dinner.

30litres of beer will probably give you 90 glasses. So maybe you can do an estimate from your guest list. If your wedding is on Friday or Saturday, you might want to get the 2nd barrel as a backup.

ltam

Hi Fullerton Brides,

Just wanna know did you gals managed to get extra perks from Fullerton? Can advise any of the perks that are "negotiable"? Any other advise to give? Need to know before I confirm my booking....thanks so much ladies

count

thanks matka for the advice. we are now keeping our fingers crossed that our parents will chip in to help. still torn btw fullerton and shang... =)

blue_mist

Hi Lynda,

The perks from Fullerton are actually one of the most comprehensive i've seen amongst all the hotels. Becos of that, they're pretty stringent on what you can negotiate for. But not to worry, they can be quite flexible in trading item for item using these perks. Congrats on joining us all as a FH bride
kao_welcome2.gif

Matka,
My AD's on a Sunday too and guest number should be around yours. Your alcohol consumption sounds like a good guide
Hmm... so if your guests consumed one and a half barrels of beer, that means that you had to pay for the whole second barrel too right? (although you traded some stuff and got it at half price) So if we have to pay for the whole barrel, it might actually be more economical for us to go by glass?

Hi Blue Mist

I do not know how much it costs per glass at the Fullerton as opposed to per barrel. Best to check with your coordinator and do the sums from there. Yup, because we got ours at 50% and after the dinner, we just couldn't be bothered with the remaining beer. LOL. The other option is if you want to have an after-dinner party, then you can get your friends to finish up the alcohol! heh heh

blue_mist

Matka,
LOL... free beer party?! Sounds happening although i'll probably get everyone chased out of FH for drunken conduct and be banned from FH after that

icebubbles,
Dun worry, you can still interchage the perks after you sign... they're quite flexible on that. =)

Hi blue mist, awwwww.. must remind them (Fullerton) not to be a spoilsport. Although, it's quite likely that you and your hubby wld be beat by the end of dinner. heh heh.

hi icebubbles, don't know how many people will already be going for your food tasting, but you can probably get them to squeeze in another 2 more persons if it's not over 10 yet!

Also, you can check with them on the Day Room for your helpers (if necessary) on the AD. And ask them if you can have your photoshoot done in the suite and hotel. All arrangements can be done later, but best to get them to note down your requests first.
Have fun from there!

sharlene

Ex-brides,

Had anyone tried taking photos at the presidentail suite before? previously I was told that can be arranged but not my coordinator says can't?

piyoling

Sharlene,
My coordinator told me that photo taking is allowed in The Loft, the bridal suite, provided it is vacant on the day of your photo-shoot. I am not sure about presidential suite though. Or.. are you referring to the same one?

Hi Sharlene, I think most brides here have their photoshoots at the Loft Suite because that's the one for the wedding. If you really would like it, erm.. and if your budget permits, then maybe you could book the room for one night? And you and your FH could pamper yourselves after the Photoshoot! It's gonna be a really tiring day

Hi icebubbles,
CONGRATS! So exciting!

elenne

icebubbles: congrats!! i am sure your fullerton wedding will be wonderful!

in my opinion, good bridal studios: ted wu/bridal veil/kai. i chose bridal veil as i like the simple classic look. i think the most important thing is that the shop must be reliable, otherwise can really panic last minute if gown is not ready/not good!!

paner

Hi, I'm a newbie here and would appreciate help.

Can anyone show me some fotos taken in FH on the actual day? my email is [email protected]. For those who has already gotton a package, can I noe how is it like? I'm just starting to plan for my wedding now.
Preciousthoughts: do you mind sharing what u've got from the gals here?

chenchen

If anyone has either attended a wedding or already held a wedding at The Fullerton, could you let me know how the food was? I've got some pretty picky relatives and am a bit worried about what the quality of the food is like on AD.

Thanks tonnes.

winterhakone

hi sharlene...received it!...many thanks...u look gorgeous!!!..the pics are very well taken!!...how many pics are u choosing out from there?...

juz came back from europe...will b leaving soon 4 taiwan in jun....

pls keep me posted of yr preps ya...so excited 4 u....

sharlene

Winterhakone,
Total I get back 229 proofs and CD for all pics. Selected 54 photos.
How's Europe? I will be going there on 6th June
Got pics? Any advise on the weather? Are there many things to buy?

U going Taiwan for tour? How nice...