The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

BugBear,
I spoke to the Director of Catering Sales before I signed the package. I just needed some assurance. She is very professional and helpful and said that if we have any problems, we can approach her directly. I also have the same concern as you. It's not very nice to request for a change of coordinator. Both ladies are afterall colleagues. So far, Diana is just stern, but still alright. Hope she will loosen up a little and we can make friends

Yes, I have signed the package sometime mid-Jan. I have only managed to increase invitation cards and parking coupons. Corkage for wine is $30+++ and hard liquor is $40+++

I read somewhere that a couple negotiated for flat fee of $1000 (i think) for corkages charges, irregardless of the no. of bottles (duty-paid) brought in. I guess you can do that if you expect your guests to drink a lot.

Bugbear/Piyoling,
When I read the postings, I find it funny. Last time when Delia just join Fullerton, those who are assigned under her mostly complained that she was stern compared to Thomas and Garey. But now Diana joined in, same comments for her and the rest favours Delia....What I am trying to say is, not to worry, guess they are trying to do their job to portrait stern image when comes to negotiations. Diana had contacted me previously to update me about some stuff and I find her rather friendly that time though...thus maybe she needs time to warm up. She just joined Fullerton not to long I believe...

Hi Sharlene, thanks for the re-assurance
i also hope Diana will be better the next time i talk to her

Piyo, the biggest headache i have is the corkage...i expect my guest to drink quite a fair bit...i also trying to nego for flat rate on corkage...hope will be successful...

Thanks Sharlene. Feels much more confident
when is ur AD?

BugBear, when is ur AD? I hope u will get a good price for the flat rate. ALl the best and hope u join us as Fullerton brides soon

I, too read thru the threads. and when was assigned to Delia. i told FH i was afraid she will be someone very rigid n stern. false alarm lah!!! Made me worried for nothing. She is such a nice lady.

Piyoling: yes i am intending to have own wedding invite n favours. Delia mentioned that they have nice cards n becoz they are sponsored, she cannot really give me a good exchange. just have to wait n see the cards loh.

my AD is feb2006. do you think its still early to commit w them?

BugBear: you spoke to them 2 months ago? did they book your date for you? they only hold my date for a week - give me short time to think about.

Morning Gals!!

Idy, i did not book a date with them...cos at that time, i haven't got a date yet :p Me going to get a date after CNY. I met up with them then was bcos my gf is meeting them...so kind of like 2 couples at the same time. As such, i also did not nego much with them. Think once i get my date, then i slowly nego with them

Piyo, i still have quite some time to go. Me plannning ard Apr 2006...so i still dilly dallying. I also hope to join all of u as a Fullerton bride. Just hope that the nego goes well.

I might be holding my rom tea reception at Fullerton. I was assigned to Delia too, i meeting her two wks later. Do anyone here hold ROM there before n what i need to look at?

Bugbear,

From what i read from the thread. Dont think can really nego with them much. What i did was my FH n I came up with a list of big expenses like wine, corkage etc that we must have. if they can give to us, then we will sign.

Just asked Delia for a night stay for co-ordinators. but she cannot give. Sad! but its not a must. so we are fine with that.

Idy, yeah, they are really quite strict with their perks. In the end, what did they offer u for wine/corkage? U have to give up the favours for more corkage? If it's not convenient to post here, maybe u can email me: [email protected]

Idy, I don't think it's too early to commit with them. If you are really happy with the package and you like the hotel, why not? Some people might want to wait for the wedding show when they can get more perks, but nobody knows when it is going to be and if your AD is a hot date, you risk it.
However, the price now is already the increased one for yr 2006. So it doesn't really matter if you don't commit with them yet. Most imptly, choose what you like.
btw, i didn't get the night stay for coordinators as well. My poor coordinators.

Dear Sharlene:

Yet to even get my keys from HDB yet! But no rush lo... Thinking of starting reno in June during school hols...

Dear Caratsoup:

Thanks for remembering me! Been super busy with school lo... Reach school 7am, work til chased out of staff room at 630pm, if can tahan, will do some more work til 12midninght, but half the time, will knock out at 8pm then the next day same routine lo...

Busy with preparing lesson materials, marking, marking and more marking, setting papers, admin stuff, committee work, im in a few committees like discipline comm, heritage centre comm and talent development programme comm, then still got CCA, departmental events, etc. Phew!

Any other teachers here?

Dear FH brides-to-be:

It is indeed true that the coordinators are strict with perks. This is their way of being fair to all couples and uphold their 6 star name lo.. Imagine one coordinator gives a better rate or extra perk to one couple, and somehow the word gets out, and one by one couples go to them for the same better treatment. If they also give, very chaotic, if they don't give, there would be unhappy couples.

I was actually a Marina Mandarin bride and cos of a reno saga changed to Fullerton... I thought i might have a better bargaining power cos of my 'pitiful' state, but end up also dun have lo.. haha.. Believe me i tried to bargain for everything you can think of cos Marina Mandarin was super flexible with the perks, everything you can think of i also have, even free food and beverages voucher, free 30plus bottles of wine, no corkage, free flow beer starting from reception, etc.

I think we all consider Fullerton not becos of perks anyway, it's for the ambience, the history of the hotel, the service, the food, the ultimate wedding experience! Of cos we still hope for better bargains, but with Fullerton, they really do not offer special perks to certain couples. Their prices, corkage, wine prices are all standard.

So it's TRUE that you can ONLY ask for a little more carpark coupons, a little more invites, a small ROM solemnization venue that can seat 30 pax prior to your cocktail reception, late check-out (depends on availability), take photo shoot in the suite and hotel (exclusive to FH brides).

So no extra nite for coords, no reduced corkage rate (can ask for flat fee if you buying in a lot, ie 80 bottles min), no food tasting for 10, no free flow of beer. But their package is very comprehensive liao, for a 6star hotel, so no worries, ya?

Come join us and be Fullerton brides! :p

And do email me if you want the Fullerton Wedding Info File that I've compiled using all the useful advice that brides have posted since Jan 2003.

MERRY LUNAR NEW YEAR!!!

Hi everyone!! New here =) Haven't signed anything with Fullerton yet but I'm considering it as a venue. But haven't even decided on AD yet cept it'll be sometime in mid-2006. And of course I haven't even started thinking about otehr stuff like dress, house etc.

Sashamama: Thanks for the wedding file it's so comprehensive!

Happy New year ladies. Its been a while since i enter this site.

Bugbear: I will email you as soon as i can. right now busy with work. N flying off to Ozz with my FH.

talk to you again.

Hi Sashamama,
Wow, you are a teacher. I had previously applied to be one but I turned the offer down cos I wasn't too sure if I wanna be tied down by a bond. Anyway, I was supposed to teach Mathematics and Geography. Hehe
My AD is just about 11 days away and I am getting real nervoooous...

hi gals..Happy New Year.....

wow caratsoup..yr AD juz 11 days away..COngrats!!!...i m sure u will b well taken care by the staff of Fullerton!!...they r marvelous..God, how i miss my AD.....cherish while u can....take loads of pics!!!....

Hi Winterhakone and Sharlene,
Thanks for your advice and good wishes
I will definitely share my wonderful experience with all ex-FH brides and FH BTBs.

Hey CaratSoup, so ur AD is on 27Feb, which is next sunday? Tt's great! Wish both of u a great time that night and a blissful marriage everafter

Ooohhhh.... how nice that ur AD is sooo near

EX-brides,
Can I check with you will the coordinator contact us to choose the invites cards prior to card collection? Or we need to contact them?

Also will they gv cards for the reserve table? What if I still cannot finalise the total number of tables now, how will they give us the number of invites?

hi sharlene,

i understand tt the co-ordinator will call u up 2 choose the cards n the flower arrangements ....

for the allocation of cards...its a certain percentage...60% i tink of the no. excluding the reserve....i suggested u better email / call yr co-ordinator 2 check wif them again...

i m sorry cos we did our own wedding cards n such so i cant really be of help for this...sorry sharlene

Hi everyone!! I'm new here =) Considering to hold my '06 wedding at Fullerton too. Went there to see the ballroom last saturday but was disappointed coz we won't be able to use it since ours will be a rather small wedding, abt 15 tables. Has anyone hold such wedding at Fullerton before?

Hi Beary, i think Fullerton has a smaller room catering for smaller weddings right? Have u checked out that one? I saw from magazine, that room seems pretty nice.

Hi Beary,

The Straits Room is beautiful but if i'm not wrong, it can only cater to 100 people. But I could very well be wrong. Best to give them a call. I think some of the girls here have used the room as well, so they might be able to provide some valuable insight!

The ballroom might seem a tad empty with only 15 tables... and unless you're prepared to pay sky high for the ballroom... Still, if you're really keen on it, you could ask them how much it would cost to book the ballroom by itself (without catering) and add the cost of 15 tables for dinner. I'm not sure how that would ultimately affect the whole package though.

Hi all..
Delia told me about the Straits room but she did say its quite small. can accomodate about 12 tables i think...

If I wanna have the ballroom for dinner, I must meet the minimum spending. After calculating, if I only have 15 tables, the price per table is more than 1.7k!! totally not worth it rite...

Hi Beary...if u really like Fullerton and willing to take Straits room, would you consider not doing those sit down 8-course dinner? Maybe buffet style with long tables or something? Maybe can accomodate more ppl if it's done the long table kind? The pic i saw is setup with long tables...quite nice.

Bugbear/Beary
With long tables, the max to accomodate is still 120 pax only. With 120 Pax is already very packed. Last time they only allow 8 tables.

I dun think its a good idea to pay $1.7k per table, definitely lose money and the ballroom will be too empty, not that nice though.

Have u consider Four Seasons before? They are of the same standard n grade and can accomodate small table requirements like yours

Ooh, so the Straits room with long tables only accomodate 120? Hhmm...

Yeah, don't think you should take up the whole ballroom. Too empty, then it will feel very cold.

Beary, like what Sharlene suggested, have u considered 4S? Their ballroom is quite nice. What about Raffles hotel? Goodwood park?

Back from my wedding. Must say that the service in FH is excellent. We really enjoyed ourselves during our stay there. However, the guests did comment that the food portion was not filling and wasn't very delicious. But everyone gave a thumbs up for the ambience and service.

Hi Bugbear & Sharlene,
I'm actually considering FS other than FH since FS can accomodate smaller weddings like mine. but overall feeling in FH is definitely different and more grand than FS...I like the fact that the food in FH served individually, as in it'll b portioned on the side.not sure if FS can do that..

not considering raffles htl since my FH dun really like the ambience there...

Hi Sashamama,

Do you mind sending my your Fullerton info to me? [email protected]. I'm looking for a place of having 10 tables. I considered Marriott before but if I get 10 tables, I'll be out at the Atrium. But I don't feel right 'coz it's too open?!?!?! How have to do find another place... =)

Beary 1622,
Back to last time when I was shortlisting the hotels, I remembered that Four Season also serve theor food in individual portion too. U may check with their coordinator or ask the brides in the Four Season thread?

Hi sharlene,

yup, i've checked and FS also serve the food in individual portions =) now i'm confuse which hotel 2choose between FH and FS...

Hi BEary,
I guess the important factor now to decide between the 2 hotels are the number of tables. Coz FS max only accept 28 tables n they take in small wedding. Wherelse FH requires bigger min table requirement for the ballroom. If u insist on FH, u hv to either decrease the number of table to meet the Straits room requirement or u hv to really expand ur guestlist to 30 tables to meet the min requirement for weekday wedding.

Hope that helps....

Hi Beary,

Sharlene is right. I think most impt is to fix your guest list. After that you can simply eliminate those hotels that either don't meet your requirements or you don't meet their requriements. This will help you in your hotel search.

Hi Bugbear and Sharlene,

Thanx for ur advice. guess it looks like i'll have to eliminate FH..Dun really like the Straits room and the ballroom is too expensive if i only have 20 tables unless i'm willing to settle for a lunch affair..so disappointed.. will try FS then..thanx u guys...

Dear gals!

Hope everything's fine with all of ya!
How are preps?
Congrats esp to CaratSoup for a memorable wedding at FH!
Hehe...

Dear Karen:

Have sent u the Fullerton wedding file i compiled. Hope there's some use!

Hi Sashamama,
Wow, really had a GOOD TIME at FH. So grateful to the staff, particularly to Delia, Umar and Sam. So not to worry, all FH brides are in good hands. We enjoyed our stay at the Fullerton Hotel and are spoilt silly by the staff there. I really missed it. Will be back there on our first year anniversary

Bugbear,
I will send you e-mail right after this

Hi CaratSoup. Congrats to u that u enjoyed ur AD and everything went smoothly.
Is there anything we should look out for? Not that my AD is near (in oct'05), but i can't wait for things to happen.
May I ask what wedding favours u chose? or what is a commonly well-received wedding favour among guests?

Hi Piyoling,
The only disapoointment is the food portion. The food portion during the food tasting is distinctly bigger cos we had a hard time finishing the food even though portion was for 8 person. The fish particularly was huge and it was promised that the fish will be bigger on AD as it had to be for 10 pax. But on AD, everyone says that they only had a pathetic small piece of fish and the whole fish looks quite small. The shark fins also seems alot lesser on the AD. I dun know what can be done to make them ensure the quality to be the same on the AD cos they verbally promised me too.

My wedding favour was a pair of chopsticks cos I think people will keep to use it as compared to test tube and keychains. More practical I feel.

Gimme your email addy.