The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

poox

er...i hope it was not after my wedding that they stop the throwing of rose petals :p well nope, i didn't check with them on the bubbles....but it should be alright....i suggest to do it near the stairs....your guest wouldn't want the bubbles on their plates or wine :p

i actually bought a box of party poppers but i forgot all abt it....still stiing in my bedroom.

chamonique

Hi Oldie,

May I know who is your co-odinator? Before I had signed up with Fullerton, I did ask my co-ordinator whether it is ok to throw rose petals and she told me is ok leh.

here's a long shot. how about fake rose petals? Nobody will really know if it's real or fake. I guess you can get them from the floral shops in Concourse?

odie

Hi Cham... my co-ordinator was Elizabeth.

I agree with poox on the bubbles.. gotta becareful otherwise the soapy water will end up at the wrong places.

Fong... I know what you meant. The comment I had was that I was completely without expression when I came down the stairs :p

Tania... if I am not wrong... the waterboat house has an italian restaurant or some wine bar. Not sure if they do wedding.

sharlene

Postpet,
I think Delia only temporary handle only, from my letter from Nicole, the new manager will take over from Delia once he starts work. Ya, me took have good rapport from Garey and love his service....sigh!

rokko

huh???? sigh... realised that there's a v high turnover rate in this business hor?? my fren who got married in marriott said that in the space of her 1 yr planning, she went thru 3 wedding coordinators!!!

sharlene

Rokko
Ya lor...., very sian to change coordinator, sometimes, those things we discussed with previous coordinator dunno will still be valid or not.

rokko

sharlene, but u signed with them oredi? i think so long as u have signed with them, the terms are there, should be valid right?

sharlene

Rokko,
Ya signed with them already. But coz we intend to exchange the wedding favour with a barrel of beer, Garey never change the contract, he says when nearer then can inform them, now he left, dunno the new one will oblige or not.

chamonique

Hi Oldie,

Mine is Eliz too. I asked her before, she said Ok leh. I even asked her whether I can request the hotel to provide the petals or I have to buy it myself and she said the florist can provide as it doesnt cost much.

By the way, when do you gals contact your co-ordinators with regards to the floral selection and collection of wedding cards? Is it 3 months before the wedding? Too early or too late?

hi chamonique

i only did my floral selection 3 weeks before the wedding. As for collection of wedding cards, 3 months sounds quite alright.

Sharlene, not to worry, as long as the value is about right, I don't think it's going to be a big problem for them to do a one-for-one exchange.

talking_bra

Thanks Odie (odie) ... I was wondering bec I saw a function held there just a while back and it was lovely!! I drove by and nearly got into an accident admiring the place !!!

kero

HI gals!

I went to the Bridal show yesterday. Juz to update those of you who missed the show, Fullerton has brought in more range of invite cards and wedding favours including teddy bears, keychains etc!

They have also made some slight changes to the menu...

Juz for your info...

sharlene

Kero,
Are the old range of invites still available? How u find their new setting and new invitation card? I like the teddy bears as favours....

kero

Sorry but I din take notice of the old invites...too overwhelmed by the new range of wedding favours..

For the setting, personally i prefer the western style, in black and white but I think my family and relatives would definitely give a "no-no" shake...as for the Chinese Style, I think it's so-so...hopefully, they will improve further.

The new invites seemed a little more fanciful than the old ones but of cos, I believe there will be more to come.

FYI, the supplier which they are using for the wedding favours are the same as Regent, Hilton, Corpthone etc....

kero

Btw, the supplier for wedding favour is Impact. U can check out their website at www.impactsvs.com. However, it's currently under construction. Probably can find out more when the website is ready.

sharlene

Kero,
Black and White??? Sounds very different from past setup!! Have u seen the past setup before? U think nicer?

Actually I like their old invites though never seen the new one before.

kero

Nope..haven't seen the old setup. In fact, I think it's very interesting...

I also visited the Loft suite for the 1st time...can't wait to stay there.

basilyong

I am new here. am thinking of fullerton for 2005 wedding but miss the wedding show on 1 aug.
can anyone tell me wat are the prices like and perks if any?

charlene79

Hi all! i've been to the wedding show on 1st Aug and i have always wanted to have my wedding at Fullerton!

Would like to book my banquet by this sat so as to enjoy their 5% discount! Can all experienced brides tell me more on how to go about negotiating for more perks and values? and also, the 10% svc charge, and gst and cess +++, are we able to negotiate for them to be waived? these +++ really add up a lot to the costs...

Btw, my email is:

Pls feel free to email me!

rokko

hi ladies! im now a fullerton bride! me just signed up wif fullerton during their wedding show! yay!!!! can i join in??? heheee

poox: yah i think they actually lowered their sat prices to $868+++ but with the requirement of at least 40 tables (2 more than the previous pkg)... i think so leh, but cant really remember cos mine is a sun pkg, no change to price... haiz... hehee

hi charlene! actually i dun think they can waive the +++ leh... err, unless anyone has done this before??
but other things u can try negotiating for are the usual stuff like more invites, more parking, more waiver of corkage (if u are having wine/liquor)....

kero

I've also booked my package during the show. I've tried negotiating on the +++ before but not successful.

wedding9999

Yes, think they decrease their Sat (wkend) price from $898+++ to $868+++ but must hv at least 40 tables....;p....but think those couples who are having their wedding end of this yr may hv to pay $898+++.....;p

Btw, heard that u hv to settle the bill on the day / nite of the wedding. Is that true ? Plse advise ?

I thought can settle the next day or when u check-out ? Thought other hotels also allow settlement when u check-out ?

Imagine if the groom is drunk on wedding nite, how to settle bill ?

jam

they have reduced the price?! oh no, now i feel a bit cheated..... sigh, now i just hope we can at least negotiate for them to change the dish or throw in something to justify the $30+++ extra =(

wedding 9999 - not sure when u hv to settle the bill, but think can always use credit card. just have to ask the bank to increase the credit card limit before that =)

odie

Hi ladies... triple plus cannot be reduced.

Payment can be settled upon checkout... but I do recall the captain going through with my hubby the items like corkage after the wedding dinner. Well of course he was sober after the dinner lah :p

Jam... you might want to check with your co-ordinator on the changing of dishes... but the change must be something of similar value.

Other things which you ladies can negotiate for and so far none has mentioned in the latest posts is to get a day use room for your helpers free of charge.... however this is subject to availibiity on that day. But no harm just informing your co-ordinator now and when the date draws nearer... remind him or her again to confirm.

rokko

jam: yah mebbe can try to see if u can push them for better perks... actually for me it was more boh-hua cos they took out the complimentary one bottle of wine per table and in place of that, a choice of either: 1 extra barrel of beer, 18 bottles of wine or waiver of 24 bottles of wine/liquor.... so more boh-hua for me cos we are catering for wine and the 1 complimentary bottle of wine per table would have definitely have helped defray the cost of wine a bit... haiz...

rokko

hey odie, the new package now got day use room included from 2-8pm liao... heehee... mebbe becos all of us wld definitely kar-chiao them for it, they prob got tired and decided to just throw it in now! hehee ;p

odie

Hi rokko.... that's good to hear. I think the packages are getting better. In fact we didn't have the option of the "one wine per table".

rokko

eh odie really ah? wahh then they must have revised the package by then... good to know that fullerton is always trying to improve... heheee... ;p

rokko

hi chillipadi... yeah confirm not more complimentary wine per table... but u still get the complimentary 30L barrel of beer and a choice betw 18 complimentary bottles of wine, waiver of 24 bottles of wine or another complimentary 30L barrel of beer.... if i remember correcctly ;p

chillipadi

Hi Fullerton brides
Any comments on Delia for those who is having her as coordinator?Easy to talk to or not?meeting her tomorrow evening?

With the new package, did anybody manage to exchange any perks?

fong2

Hi ChilliPadi

Delia is also our coordinator and we hv met up with her before. But we hv not try negotiating with her on exchanging of perks. On the whole, she's quite a pleasant and friendly person. But it's quite difficult to get her as she's not at her desk most of the time. Maybe she's also bz with all ex-Oriental couple converts. U meeting her tml evening? to sign contract? we r told to meet up with them to sign the contract next wk.

charlene79

Hi all ladies!

my finance and i have just made our booking at Fullerton this afternoon
So far we have been liaising with the catering director, Nicole. She's been rather helpful so far.

Basically, the stuff in the standard package are the max that they can give i think..(or maybe i am simply a lousy bargainer haha). For those corkage fee and wine stuff, Nicole said those are the best offer that they can give already...

hi rokko! i am now the same status as u..hehe also booked the package after the wedding show... u mean u managed to negotiate for more parking, invites and corkage waiver?? geez...then i must be really lousy at it...

chamonique

Do your package include the seat covers? I am thinking whether I should exchange the seat covers for an extra barrel of beer. Any comment?

rokko

hi charlene... yay!!! so happy got more fullerton brides now!! hehee... so when's ur AD?? ;p

no lah u not lousy bargainer... actually i didn't manage to negotiate for more parking, invites and corkage waiver... these are the usual things ppl negotiate on... so i thought mebbe i can just list it out and someone can try negotiating even tho' i failed... hehee...

actually in generally we found fullerton v sticky in their perks leh, not v willing to negotiate the perks... we also went to marriott and raffles the plaza to talk about their package and they were v willing to throw in more invites and waive corkage, etc... haiz... but boh bian lor we like fullerton so much, in the end still go with fullerton.... heheee

chamonique: yep the package includes seat covers... personally i think seat covers are nice cos they add ambience to the room... btw im not sure whether u can do the exchange cos delia mentioned about certain items having no or little cost value to them (i.e. they already have it, so throwing in is of little cost to them) and these items cannot be exchanged for cost items.... suspect seat covers falls into that category... but still can ask lah... in fact better to ask, at least u make sure u cover everything before u finally sign the dotted line... hehee ;p

sharlene

Rokko / Charlene

How many invites, parking and corkage waiver did they give? For mine, these items are thrown in easily by my coordinator, I only requested for more invites only. But mine was the old package with the complimentary bottle of wine one before they increase their "price" for the package recently. Suprisingly they are very accomodating that time when we negotiate. My coordinator somemore threw in the seat covers after much "pleading" from us, if not hv to pay $2 per seat covers. heheh

rokko

sharlene: actually we didn't really negotiate much... mebbe becos we were both v tired that day during the wedding show... hahaa.. so just paid the $5k deposit lor...

so ours are the same things on the package lor... 60% invitation cards (cant remember what is in the package but i think it's 60%), 25 or 30% parking (uh, cant remember also) and no extra corkage waiver... we tried to push for more corkage waiver and they refused... mebbe becos during the wedding show they oredi gave 5% disc off the package so they quite strict on perks lor... haiz... i think our negotiations really poor hor... what abt u girls??

oh but seat covers oredi included leh... no need to ask liao... heheee

actually we hvnt signed the contract apart from paying the deposit... can still negotiate or not ah??? does anyone know?? i think the only thing i want to negotiate is mebbe more invites... 60% like not enuf hor??

sharlene

Rokko,
Ur package is very good already mainly becoz of the 5% discount, work out much better then even have complimentray wine per table. But why ur deposit need is $5k, thought its $3.8k?

So Delia handling ur account?

Charmonquie,
I may consider to exchange the wedding favor for another barrel of beer, not c/f yet.

charlene79

Hi sharlene (hey, same pronounciation as my name! hehe), yah, rokko is right. 60% invites, 25% parking, no extra corkage waived..i agree with rokko...i think it's coz they already giving 5% off, so they not that flexible to throw in more perks loh..cant have the best of both worlds i guess..

yah, somehow the deposit is $5k this time round..i think becoz of the 5% discount, they changed quite some things..for eg. min tables for sat and public hols is 40 tables instead of the usual 38..but per table, the price has dropped plus the 5% off..

i just spent a magical weekend at fullerton hotel.. my fiance booked a room at fullerton on sun (8th) to surprise me so that we can watch the fireworks..it's really nice!

Btw, did i read someone saying that at fullerton wedding banquet, it is one waiter to each table?? i thought i saw it mentioned in someone's message earlier...if this is true, it's really spectacular! haha

rokko

morning ladies!!!

sharlene: yah delia handling my account altho we have also spoken to nicole before as well... initially tried my hardest to get hold of gary (before he left) cos i heard he's v nice but he was quite hard to contact! so in the end started liaising with delia instead...

charlene: wahhh ur FH so sweet leh, such a nice surprise!!!! is he the type that likes to surprise you??? u lucky girl!!! ;p

and yep fullerton service is one waiter to each table, and they will serve the dish individually to each guest... some frens have told me they prefer to have the dish in front of them and they take the food themselves but i personally prefer to have the waiter serve my food for me... so much better hor? hehee ;p

blush

hi ladies!
i just confirmed my dinner at fullerton too! after attending the show. also delia handling my account. we placed the deposit, and should be signing the contract sometime this week....
they really refuse to budge on any of the perks lor, we tried quite hard.