The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

poox

hi rokko

i juz had mine there in may this year and i had 45 tables and the place still looks alright....not too squeezy :p

rokko

thanks so much poox! and congrats on your wedding!!!
how was your wedding? did u have a great experience at fullerton?? have been hearing so much about fullerton that it sounds really perfect for a wedding! can share your thoughts?

right now actually torn between fullerton and marriott... for me priority is food and service and i suspect fullerton is better in these aspects (altho' i know marriott has this haagen daz ice-cream dessert thingy that sounds v exciting!)... what do u think??

wedding9999

Juz wanting to find out if any of u hv attended Fullerton wedding show before ? How's was it ? What kind of special perks they offered ? E.g. free flow of beer, more wine, extra nite, special prices, etc ? Care to share ?

Heard that they having a wedding show next mth. Now thinking shld I go or not ?

rokko

hi wedding9999, i was just wondering the same qtn too! was told by the fullerton ppl that there wld be perks, but din't really elaborate on what exactly the perks were....

and hmm.. the fullerton thread has been quite quiet lately.. anyone?

wedding9999

Yap rokko, was wondering if there will be special perks ? Dunno wat are they ? Dunno worth to go or not ?

U going ?

Anyone hv any info ?

jam

Hi rokko and wedding9999,

welcome to the fullerton thread!

i've already booked with Fullerton since quite some time ago. i've just called my coordinator to ask if i should still go to the show in case there're any perks that they are offering. she's quite secretive and said that nothing is finalised yet. and in any case, those who have already confirmed will not be entitled to anything they might be offering

sorry, not much help here.....

jam

wendy76,
not sure if you are still reading this thread since you must be back in singapore now.
just wondering how's your BS shopping been. do keep us informed of your decision yah?

rokko

thanks jam!!
yah lor my coordinator also v secretive leh... hehee i think it's the same person we are talking abt!!!

wedding9999: yes im going! no harm lor, go and see see look look... hee... u going?

wedding9999

Shld be going for the wedding show but hv not register yet.....;p

I hv not signed up with Fullerton yet but shld confirm signing with them. Dunno shld I wait until the wedding show then see how's the perks like ?

rokko

wedding9999, so qiao, me too! not signed up yet but also shld be confirmed
i think if can wait better to see if they offer any perks during the show first... when is your AD??

rokko

wedding9999: mine too, still considering... prob June or Jul next year.... gotta make sure i can secure a date with my church first!

wendy: hi hi... read a few posts in this thread, think you were studying in UK right? welcome back!

poox

hi rokko

i had great fun at my wedding in fullerton! ambience was great, decor was nice, service was good and food was great too! I'm very glad i chose fullerton

i've juz attended a weekday wedding at marriot, but no hagen daz ice-cream leh...:p if u ask me, service and food at fullerton was much better (not trying to be sour grape, juz sincere comments). Unless the price is much better, go for fullerton!

rokko

thanks poox!!!! glad to know ur wedding went well! have u gone for ur honeymoon yet??

poox, cld i ask u one more thing? u had tables of 11 right? how did they charge for tables of 11? is it still by per table basis or do they charge extra for that one pax at the table? a bit blur leh...

btw im also v drawn by what has been said abt the loft suite... altho i haven't seen it (except on their website) but i do believe it looks great!!

u'll be surprised! i think fullerton actually cheaper than marriott leh! becos we're more interested in marriott's higher priced menu (with the haagen daz ice-cream)... but i think at the end most prob go with fullerton, cos i've always liked the whole ambience there!!!

poox

yup! me flew off for honeymoon the morning after the wedding dinner :p

i only had 1 or 2 tables of 11. Yes they charge per head.

loft suite is nice :p ask the coordinator to show u or go for their wedding show!

why dun u go for fullerton then buy hagendaz ice-cream for all your guest!

wedding9999

Hi Poox,

If u hv tables that hv 11 seats instead of 10 seats, Fullerton charge extra ? I thought it's ok to hv 11 seaters since already pay the price for the whole table ? Besides, sometimes the 11 seaters is for maids or children wat, so unfair to pay extra.

Hi rokko, I thought marriot cheaper than Fullerton becos theirs is nett price while Fullerton is +++ ? My research shows Marriot is cheaper......;p

rokko

poox: so where did u go for your honeymoon?? i think im so looking forward to the honeymoon!!! more becos i forsee myself being v busy a few mths before the wedding (planning the wedding, working and becos im studying part-time too), it wld be so nice to just get away on a romantic honeymoon!!! hehee

hmm yah hor mebbe we cld still serve haagen daz for dessert at fullerton... but dunno whether they have the freezer storage to keep all the haagen daz first... hmm gotta ask... ;p im just such an ice-cream person, wld love to serve ice-cream for dessert!!!

wedding9999: hehee we both did research! marriott is nett but we wld go for the higher menu (with yummy haagen daz) while fullerton's sunday menu (with the +++) is slightly lower. Plus we're going to top up for extras such as wine and chair sashes (on every alternate chair) for both marriott and fullerton, and so after comparing both, fullerton still comes up cheaper (actually slightly only lah)... hee

odie

Hi wedding 9999... the price quoted for each table is base on 10 pax. If you have an additional 1 or 2 pax for that table... they will prepare additional portion of food and hence charge on a per head basis for the 11th and 12th person. Note that Fullerton serves individual portion to each guest rather than one big plate for everyone to share.

I would suggest that you make it clear to guests not to bring maids or young children (if you prefer)... otherwise just arrange seats but no food served to maids/young children... just let the co-ordinator know beforehand.

Got to know that dry ice is not provided for the march in for Fullerton hotel rite, so how did you girls create your entrance?

Can share share experience?

sharlene

Wedding 9999,
I belive odie had explained to you, Fullerton is different from other hotels, they provide VIP service. Your food will be serve at one side, then the waiter will divide out individual portions for each guest. Like prawn dish, they only prepare 10 prawns, if you've got 11 guest, 1 guest will go without food, thus need pay extra.

Rokko,
If I remember correctly, my coordinator did inform us we are not allowed to bring outside food into Fullerton for banquet. Whatever things we intend to get, must go through them but of course paying the price much higher to them instead of we getting directly outside. I read the T and C its also stated there. U may wish to check with your coordinator again.

rokko

sharlene: hehee.. thanks for ur advice... yah just a fancy idea of mine.. hvnt checked with them yet... i think i'll check with them the possibility of serving ice-cream instead of the standard dessert and see what they say... and also must see what's the top-up!!! sekali too much then better just stick to the std menu!!!

postpet2: no dry ice? hmm... on hindsight mebbe better cos need to look where we are going since walking down the stairs!!! im a bit chor lor so need to make sure i practice walking down steps properly, if im confirmed booking with fullerton! hehee... but yah hor then how to create entrance? must think... ;p

hi Poox

Congratulations! I know that you were preparing for your wedding for quite a while... even before I started!

wedding9999, the chef tends to make sure that they provide a bigger portion of food (eg. bigger fish) if you have an 11th or 12th at the table.

postpet & rokko, personally i'm not in favour of dry ice. It becomes more like a magic show, instead of a wedding. heh. A nice simple walk-in with a nice musical piece is glam enough.

odie

I remember an exbride here saying that the soursop was good. So Rokko you might want to consider that.

I agree with Matka on the walk-in. Dry ice will make it difficult when you make your way down the steps in the ballroom. I had a simple walk-in as well... nothing fancy but the musical piece we chose was something meaningful to us and that was more than enough. Besides the steps will make your entrance glam... with the train of your gown slowly trailing down the steps ;)

wedding9999

So bad wan ? So to say that the maid or children got no food to eat ? Well, sometimes they wat to bring their children & maid along so that the maid can take care of children while they eat.

I can't tell my relatives not to bring my cousins (children) there wat ?

Can we ask them not to serve individually for certain tables ?

So, without the dry ice effect, how Fullerton create 1st-march-in scene / atmosphere ?

odie

Hi wedding... so what you can do is allocate seat but no food serving.

I think it is not really possible for them to serve in one big plate instead of indivudal servings because each table is decorated with a centre piece. In any event for dishes like beancurd, prawns they will prepare one for each pax... so even if they leave it in one big plate... someone might not get his/her share.

rainbow

Hi wedding9999,

Actually, you can let your guests know your constraints. I'm sure they will understand. But if they still choose to bring their children or maid, I personally feel you would just have to allocate them a seat + food, else it wun be too nice. Afterall, it is a goodwill gesture from their end to provide hong paos and not something we should take for granted.

Also, most hotels now do away with the red carpet and dry ice effect! The magical moment of you walking down the aisle with your hubby will not be lost! Dun worry!

rokko

odie: yeah! i remember a post here also about the soursop being good!
also, at least two of my frens who've been to fullerton for wedding dinners have also said that the mango dessert was so good, they asked for extra helpings! so actually i dun mind either the soursop or mango dessert!

matka: actually im q chin-chai one, i dun mind whether got dry ice or not... my FH is the one who has certain ideas - he doesnt want dry ice, no cutting of cake, and no champagne pouring! so q headache lor, dunno what to do for entertainment... at least cut-cake and champagne pouring will keep guests occupied when they look at us mah... ;p

jam

I remember my ex-coordinator at Fullerton telling me, for kids below 6 years old, they won't count them as extra persons for the dinner. But above 6 will be counted. And I'm certain maids will definitely be counted. So not really up to us to say

since we are on this dry-ice thing, i noticed from friends' wedding that some of them are not very nice... cos' they have waiters squatting along the aisle to fan the dry-ice or some giant machines blowing the thing out! can look quite funny as the couple walks down actually.....

LOL. I believe i was the one who said the Soursop pudding was nice. Hee.

For us because we already had space constraints, we did ask for our relatives that the seats be reserved for the adults or teenagers (ie. encourage them to make other arrangements for someone else to look after their kids).

I like it when banquet staff serve us our individual portions, because I'm personally a very lazy wedding guest. Also, sometimes can get a bit paiseh to go for a second serving. So having the banquet staff apportion it out saves me the problem. Might be a different story if I were a guy who tends to eat more. ;)

wedding9999, it is possible if you want to request for some tables not to be served individually. You just have to let your coordinator know. But that means that they'll be taking away the centerpiece from your table during the dinner. One of my distant relatives actually commented that the floral centerpiece adds to the atmosphere.

Rokko, haha.. actually our initial idea was also no cake cutting and champagne pouring. But we figured that it wasn't any harm so we just went with convention. Ya, you're right abt.. walking all the way there and having nothing to do. We did away with the first dish fanfare though. Didn't think it was necessary.

sharlene

Poox!!
Congratulations!!! U must be very happy for your wedding ya

Wedding999,
The banquet manager will go around taking the head counts, thus even u addin a maid, still need to pay for the extra head coz extra food will be prepared, unless u specify to the banquet manager that not to add on another 1 pax food which like not so nice leh.

Rokko,
So u going for the show? How much need to pay ah? Update me if they can change the dessert to ice cream ya

poox

wow...the thread is so busy today :p

thank u for all the well wishes

one of the reason why i chose fullerton was bec i like the way they serve by portion and they do it very professionally at the side of the table and the flower arrangement on the table can remain there throughout the dinner :p oso they have 1 waiter to serve a table

i actually checked with the relatives and friends who are bringing their kids (below 6) and maids if they would like me to cater food for them....all of them said "no"
so i juz told the hotel to give them seats but no food....cos most of the time these kids are running around having their own fun and the maids....chasing after them :eek:

i oso think it is not a good idea to have the dry ice effect for the walk-in at fullerton....anyway, that's too common now :p
my church choir sang for first my walk-in and i requested for rose petals for guests sitting along the aisle to throw them as confetti....that was really fun. for my second walk-in my husband and i came in from different side and met in the middle...that was fun too.

everytime we drive pass fullerton, it just brings back so much nice memories

yomi

I am very interested to attend the wedding show but was wondering, is it only during the wedding show then you can have good and good bargining?

rokko

poox: thanks for your feedback! and really great that you have such lovely memories of your wedding!!!
makes me even more excited to have my wedding at fullerton now! you're right abt the service... i much prefer to have a 1 to 1 ratio of waiters to tables... definitely more personalised service! but i suspect the 'dua-chiek' men may feel that they dun have enuf to eat if they're only given one portion each! *lol*

matka: hahaa so u're the one who said abt the soursop! hehee... so qiao... mine's the sunday menu who includes the soursop as dessert, so im glad u found it good!!
hey but can i ask abt the first dish fanfare? does fullerton do a std first dish fanfare or smtg? how is it like? i hope it's not one of those drama-mama things where lights flash all over the place and the waiters march in and all... hee

sharlene: hehee okie i'll ask the coordinator... but since matka says the soursop is gd, i might just stick to that! which menu is yours btw? mine's the sunday menu... are you swopping dishes or sticking to your menu?

yomi: i'll be going for the show... why dun u sign up for the show first and then see if they offer any gd perks? my coordinator says there are perks but q secretive lor, didn't say anything much!! ;p

hi Rokko

You can try the soursop pudding during the food tasting to see if it's to your liking. It won't be too late to change it if you don't like it then.

I dispensed with the first dish fanfare so I really don't know how that'll turn out if you have one. Hopefully not one of those disco lights thingy! heh heh.

sharlene

Rokko,
I was told by my coordinator that for dessert, we can switch around, no problem, we may also request some dessert, if its within their means, they may take our request. Mine is the weekday package for the date is our anniversary day

The first fan fare according to them, can do with or without, according to our wishes. But they dun seem to encourage.

poox

ha...i overlooked the first dish fan fare during my planning and at the last min, they ask my husband so he juz anyhow chose the techno theme
i was shocked when i heard the music and my friends were all laughing cos they know it's so not us
well....looking back that was quite funny :eek: hahahaha......i suggest to go without

fong2

Does the hotel recommend printers for their wedding cards? Wat's the name of the printer? And how much does the printer charge per card?

hahaha poox, it must have been pretty funny. But memorable nonetheless :D

I remember attending a wedding and the couple marched into *gasp* ... you've had it, a techno track. It was so strange... But I guess as long as the couple are happy, who cares? <grin>

rokko

sharlene: thanks! which means the dessert for the weekday package is the chilled mango thingy rite? heard v v comments abt it!!!
i think for food tasting i'll see how the soursop goes, then decide if i want to swop around!

poox: hahaaa!!! agree it must have been funny, but memorable!!! betcha looking back u must have had good laughs about it!!! ;p

fong2: gee... i dunno abt printers, all i know is that their cards are frm american wedding treasures, never got around asking abt printers yet! ;p

Ladies, you girls got me convinced about the dry ice thingy...
may wanna think about what sort of confettis will the guests at the aisle be throwing instead...
mm...think think...

rokko

poox, blowing bubbles is a great idea! but does fullerton have any restrictions on wat we can throw/blow or not?

other ideas will be throw rose petals, pop confettis, or one of those gun type thingy that will spray confetti out... hmm dunno how to describe but q fun ;p

odie

Rokko... my co-ordinator told me that they do not allow rose petals to be thrown as the petals will stain the carpet.

Oh if you are thinking of using spray can confetti... do not go with sparklers... cos my brother attended a friend's wedding and the bride's hair caught fire when the sparks came into contact with the spray -.-""

rokko

oh thanks odie! i guessed as much that they will restrict us on something... hehee... but rose petals will stain meh? sigh.... otherwise it wld be so romantic...

oh dear oh dear the bride's hair caught fire ah? opps!!! that must have been so drama and unfortunate!!! cannot imagine!!!! ;o

poox, have you asked fullerton if they allow blowing of bubbles?

aiyo, even using petals also cannot meh...very restricted leh...

i've attended a fren's wedding that uses pop confettis, it sounded quite good...cos quite loud..so made quite a grand entrance...but if you want to choose a piece of music that is low sounding, then may not want to have this...
sigh...

odie

Hi Rokko... ya I would suppose so after the petals are being stepped on repeatedly by the guests walking around. I guess that the sap of the petals will be squeezed out when squashed.

Ya... it must have been very traumatic for her. My brother told me that some guests helped to pat down the fire and she continued with the walk-in. But she tripped when going up the stage (I guess she was already in a state of shock by then). Ended up crying on the stage... haiz

fong2

Even rose petals cannot use ah?

I'm planning to let both my nephew and niece be my pageboy (or flower boy) &amp; flower girl. Thinking of letting them throw rose petals when they march in front of us. Seems like now gotta think of something else to let them throw.

Any good suggestions?

fong2

Hi Odie

That's very unfortunate for the bride. We have to be careful of the stairs when we march into the ballroom. Especially me, very lun jun one.