The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

wedding9999

I heard Delia juz joined less than a yr only....so maybe she not very flexible I think.....;p

Dunno any couples can help me to ask their other coordinator if they can spare 15 white cards ? Thks so much ! If can, maybe I can pick up from the hotel conceige 2day. Thks !

blush

yah, i think she's not that flexible. but refusing 15 cards is ridiculous!!

wedding, as a very last resort, try asking your close friends if they mind not getting a card. i have had someone ask me that before. since it's quite confirmed that they will be there, the card is a formality...if they are good friends, they will understand.

sorry, i can't help. i haven't even sign the contract yet....

wedding9999

Yap, did thought of asking my close friends maybe i will not give/send them the invites. But also a few of my close friends are unmarried yet so they may prefer to hv a card for reference purpose.....;p

Yap, will ration my cards to some of my frds.....;p

odie

Hi wedding... just got a reply from Elizabeth. Glad that she replied really fast. Let me have your email addy... and I will forward you her email so that you can get in touch with her. I need some of your details like your name to fill her in with the particulars.

odie

Hi wedding... sorry I have never access my PM for this forum board... so not sure how it works. But I think with Elizabeth's number you should be able to get it sorted out ;)

wedding9999

Thanks so much Odie !

My husband told me not to approach Elizabeth becos Delia is our coordinator in the 1st place. Wait Elizabeth tell & complain back abt Delia, like not very gd on our side.

odie

Sorry... just realised that I did not activate my PM. So what do you propose to do? Cos Elizabeth has asked for your particulars

wedding9999

My husband told me not to over-ride on Delia. So sorry abt it ! Apologies !

Maybe you can tell Elizabeth that we decided not to get the extra cards becos we decided not to go behide Delia back to do things. We will settle our invite cards issue ourselves & not to give a few of our close friends invite cards then.

So sorry for troubling you becos my husband dun agree that I do things behide Delia back....;p

He scare that Elizabeth will tell Delia then we are in trouble becos Delia will not be happy that we go behide her back to do things.

Thanks so much anyway & so sorry for all the trouble.

blush

seems like all the recent ones got delia as coordinator. hope it turns out ok...

wedding, when's your dinner? tell us how it went, okie?

sierrasg

Sorry to be a bummer but we had a session with Delia and it was just ok, not great.

Friendly and professional but also very corporate. There seems to be a strict line which she has to toe, which is surprising when you are doing sales.

I don't get the feeling that she will go out of her way to help if we do encounter problems in preparations or on the big day.

Almost all requests for usual flexibility (5% more parking, food tasting numbers, a few more wedding cards, change for cheaper rooms on high floors, etc) was met with responses that made us feeling a little guilty for asking Fullerton to adapt or bear the costs.

It was the 1st time we encountered this - other top hotels were much more accommodating and personalised.

The hotel, ambience, food, is great and makes for a superb day. But it is the staff that adds the critical touch on the big day and we are just not sure if she can pull it off.

Any thoughts and comments?

Hi Chipmunk

I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment with your first meet-up. My wedding was almost a year ago and when I first met up with them in Dec 02, we were bowled over by their service and efficiency. In fact, my phone conversation with them was the most pleasing as compared to the other hotels.

I do agree that the sales person makes a lot of difference to whether a customer decides to make his/her buy. In the end, we often make our purchases with our hearts.

I don't know if it is possible for you to request for a change of coordinator, or perhaps have a chat with her/or her boss to explain your position.

Our experience at the Fullerton was an all-rounded fulfilling one with top rated service from the sales manager, the concierge, the banquet captain to the reception. Post-dinner as well. To put it descriptively, they treat you like the king and queen while you're there.

Anyhows, whatever it is, you shouldn't feel guilty about asking them for a little more. Afterall, you're not about to pay them peanuts

sharlene

CHipmunk,
I had pretty good experience with Fullerton, one of the best service so far. The coordinator also very professional and well trained. Even my HB who is very particular abt service also praise them. In fact, I find their service much better than Ritz Carlton, Raffles Hotel, Four Seasons and Conrad. These hotels are not willing to give much perks too.

The new package have alot of new stuff added, thus they are more stricter in the perks that pple bargain as compared to before. Delia is quite new but I do also heard about good comments about her earlier in the postings. I believe we are in good hands with Fullerton

kero

Hi Chipmunk,

Although my wedding is still far ahead next year, so far I am quite happy with Fullerton's service. I share the same experience that Delia is rather corporate during the first mtg and many things such as the perks which u mentioned are not as flexible as other hotels. However, after mtg up with her a few times, she's actually very nice and helpful..probably it's just that they need to live up to the corporate image during the 1st mtg and she's the only wedding coordinator currently. Hence, she may be too tired that time. Do give her some time to warm up...

Dun worry abt the coordinator too much. Most impt u must like the place, food and what is in ur contract. The coordinators can resign anytime and even if u can click very well now, there can be a last min change of coordinators too..

Juz my 2 cents worth of tots..

charlene79

Hi all, esp Chipmunk,
so sorry to hear abt your not-so-good experience with Fullerton. I really dun know much abt Delia, though i think most ladies here hv her as their coordinator. Mine's Nicole, who is the Catering Director. I had the same experience, as in tried negotiating for more perks and also not successful in it. But so far Nicole has been fairly friendly to me n my finance. Still not much encounters yet as so far only paid the deposit and signed the contract.

Other than this, my finance and i recently also spent a night at Fullerton and i would say the service we recieved from the hotel has been great. Very top-notch service.

Well, i do hope u can meet up with someone else from Fullerton who can give u a better feeling about the hotel eh?

wendy76

Hi Chipmunk,

Juz to add in some of my experience with Delia... called her up before the fullerton bridal show, she was very frank and told me not to waste my money and sign up for the show since my wedding is end of the year hence deco is different fm the ones shown at the show. I do find her helpful and patient in providing information. I do agree that hotel staff does add critical touches on the actual wedding night, with all those good comments fm our ex-fullerton brides... maybe you should give yourself some time to get to know her better.. hope everything will get better by then...

rainbow

Hi Chipmunk,

My coordinator's also Delia. I have yet to meet up with her, as I had signed up with another coordinator who has since left. However, i have been calling her & emailing her to enquire abt stuff and she has been most helpful all these while. Professional and friendly.

My previous coordinator was also v corporate at the first meeting and we were also rather afraid that he wun agree to changes to the package. However, it turned out that he was quite ok and helpful in the process!

Yes, like what the rest said, give yourself some time to get to know her better!

winterhakone

hi hi....been holding my wedding yr end wif fullerton as well..wendy..u were saying tt our deco will be as of the old ones and not the new deco ?....

wendy76

Hi Winterhakone,

My wedding is on the 27th Dec 04 therefore the deco used is the existing one instead of the ones shown in the bridal show... when is your AD? How's your prep??

Hi Matka,
Nice to see u in the forum... how's life? any good news for us??

winterhakone

hi wendy....mine AD is 2 dec....hmm, thought they will use the new floral setup since they hv showed the new setup during the bridal show.was @ the bridal show......hee hee...little has been done 4 my preps....have decided on the designs 4 my WG but not EG...how abt u?....saw from other thread u were interested to sign up wif BV...r u wif them?

blush

hi chipmunk

i guess the amount that they are willing to negotiate on the perks is controlled by someone higher up...as they know that they already are exclusive, and so have the advantage. so maybe it's not really delia's fault. my experience with her has so far also been pretty corporate...but it's still too early to say. have only met up with her once. maybe after a while, she will warm up?

my only complain is that they are a bit slow. they took 2 weeks to send me my contract. and after i called to ask her to amend a sentence, it's been one week, and i haven't received the new contract...

sierrasg

Many thanks for your comments. I guess they do have a reputation, track record + great experiences from ex-fullerton brides.

One more thing for the ex-fullerton brides - did any of you had problems with the steps to the ballroom for the elderly (eg. those on wheelchairs or walking aids and need to visit restroom, etc)?

It was something that caught my attention. But the stairs itself is a great idea. People have to look up to the bride as she makes her way into the ballroom - very refreshing!

hi Blush, Delia seems to be absolutely busy which probably explains the delay. There is another lady by the name of Vivian Tan who seems to be assisting Delia.

You might be able to approach her without being seen to override or supercede Delia.

wendy76

Hi Winterhakone,
I have not choose my deco but was told that the new deco is for 2005...yup was interested in BV, like their material and simple design, did went to try out their gown but not that suitable for me... hence choose Divine... wat abt u? which bridal are u with? when should we start to print out invit cards and are u taking fullerton's wedding flavours? l

winterhakone

hi wendy, yes i m wif BV....
...hmm...will ask whether we can use the new deco instead. i will be doing my own invites as well as sourcing 4 my own wedding favour...i m in the midst of coming up wif my invites...

rainbow

Hi Wendy and Winterhakone,

The last time i spoke to Delia, she said that we can use the use deco, invites, favours provided the contract with the new guys is finalised and signed abt 1 mth before the AD. She couldn't really commit and told me to wait. If the contract is not ready by then, we'd use the old deco, invites, favours etc! Lets hope they finalise it early!

winterhakone

hi rainbow...good 2 hear tt..its exactly 3 mths 2 my AD...hope everything will be finailised within these 2 mths....thanks 4 the update!!!!...how's preps?

hey wendy

Yup, they do have it but you need to let your coordinator know roughly how many tables you have and it'll be given according to your requirements.

rainbow

Hi Winterhakone,

No probs! Yeah, hope they'd finalise the details of the new contract soon.
WIll drop Delia a call now and then and share with u gals if there's good news!

I haven't exactly done much for the wedding. Just starting to make my gown only! My wedding's in Mar next yr, so i still have q a bit of time. Busy with work these days! :p

Hi Wendy,

No probs! Hey, u r back in Singapore! Learnt that u have chosen Divine! Have u started to make ur gown? I met up with Helen b4 and find her real nice! Was actually deciding between BV and Divine for quite a while before i made a decision.

rainbow

Hi Winterhakone!

Im with BV! Was deciding between BV and Divine but chose BV in the end! Am happy with my choice cos BV's service has been excellent so far and they've got gowns to die for!
Have just started my first consultation with BV and am getting all excited abt the wedding again!
You are also with BV rite? Howz preps?

wedding9999

Juz to find out if u can interchange a few dishes in the menu ? Can we change to something in another menu which is more expensive ?

Has any tried this dessert - Cream of mango with Pomelo & Sago ? Any comments ?

Heard that the soursop pudding is gd ? How abt mango or strawberry pudding ? Was thinking of changing my dessert.

wendy76

thanks Matka...

Hi rainbow,
Yup... i choose Divine but do like BV service very friendly staff... when is your AD?

Winterhakone, same here i am very slack too..

rokko

hi hi wedding9999 - just to say, my fren has been to fullerton for wedding and she LOVED the mango with pomelo and sago - she went for 3 helpings!!!! hehehee.... and i think one bride gave her feedback here at the soursop dessert is very good too!!! ;p

wedding9999

Thks rokko !

Mmmm....think I will take soursop pudding then becos quite unique.....not so common.....;p

Btw, how come yr frd can hv 3 helpings for the mango with pomela & sago ? I thought each only served 1 serving ?

rokko

errm i think there were extras - either some ppl left early or some ppl didnt want their dessert so she requested lor... hahaa... that's why i think it must have been REALLY good for her to buay paiseh ask for more... heh ;p