The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

charlene79

Hi all lovely brides-to-be and ex-brides!

rokko: haha yah...sometimes he has many ideas..but shall not praise him...if not guys ego can really get inflated! :p

wah...really one waiter to each table...cant imagine...if i have a total of 40 tables, i will actually see 40 waiters/waitresses on that day?? geez...

hi blush blush: welcome! looks like we are all "fishes" of fullerton after this wedding show eh..hehe it all goes to show how successful the show is..same as u, we are also signing the contract some time this week..

just curious: which is the couple whose wedding date is 11th Dec 05? coz at first we wanted this date but it was taken up first by this couple who also made their booking last sat...wondering if it is actually blush blush..hehe

rokko

wow! im so happy to see more fullerton brides!!! welcome blush blush!!!

blush blush: me too leh, they wont budge wif the perks... but nebermind lor i think the perks already not bad lah... hehee

hey ladies, just wondering - delia asked u ladies to go down and sign contract ah? how come she told me she wld mail mine to me ah?? hmmm... strange hor...

btw, u ladies want to compile a table of our AD date, BS, photographer, etc? i can put up a table here ;p

blush

charlene - nope, i wasnt the one who chope your date. mine is on 19th nov. i thot i am starting very early already, but seems like everyone is planning this very far in advance hor?

rokko: i wanted either more table wine or more waiver or corkage. sure not enuf, cos friends will drink. and also more parking coupons. but delia said that tat's the best they can offer. i even tried to exchange certain items for these (i said i dun need the supper/dinner for bridal couple - cos i fully intend to eat wat i paid for!), but no use. but yah lah, as it is, it's not bad. especially with 5% discount.

she said she wld mail to me, but we offered to bring it back to her in person, to ensure she received it. i also need to pay the balance of my deposit. i only paid $3K so far.

blush

oops! gabra....my dinner is on 21st nov. :p my AD is the one on 19th. need to do dinner on a weekday, cos we having very few tables. weekday minimum requirement is less!

rokko

blush: hehee i also wanted more waiver for wine - we're catering for wine also lor... but nicole was quite firm on not waivering corkage lor... for us we even suggested no need champagne pouring, bridal cake etc (cos we dun intend to cut cake, pour champagne) but they said these are v small value items so cannot exchange for much also... hehee... in the end just take lor... ;p

orr i see.. so no wonder u going to meet her to also pass her deposit ah... hehee we paid up there liao, so can save a trip down again to pay...

so u ladies confirm BS oredi? or still looking?

fong2

Hi Rokko

So, u hv checked with Delia regarding exchanging the bridal cake for some other perks? and it can't b done? i'm thinking of doing that cos both of us can't finish the whole cake, kinda wasted hor. Unless cut and distribute the cake for 2 VIP tables. :p

kero

Hi Rokko,fong2 and charlene,

May I know which option did you all choose for the new package?

18 bottles complimentary of wine or 24 bottles waiver of corkage?

Do they allow more waiver of corkage on top of these options?

rokko

hi fong2... ermmm cant really remember exactly but think delia did mention that the bridal cake is of v little cost value cos cannot really exchange for much.... so we were thinking since they are delivering to our suite later, can share it wif our helpers/family... sure can finish one!

kero: FH and I opted for 18 bottles complimentary wine leh... becos most likely we're going to take their in-house wine... but nicole was v strict on not giving more waiver of corkage on top of the options even tho' we asked... dunno whether they were v strict on perks during the wedding show becos of 5% disc oredi, or our poor negotiation skills... haiz... ;p

odie

Hi Ladies... actually Fullerton is usually not too prepared to budge... so nothing to do with your negotiation skills. In fact I think the package that they are offering now is much better than what I had :p

As for the complimentary packing coupons... don't worry. Initially I thought that we might not have enough but ended up that we had a stack left over after the dinner. The reason being that majority of your guests will be coming with a partner or family members... so you need to take into account that for such cases it will be 2 or 4 pax to a car. There will also be guests who won't be driving. I think it will be fine ;)

The cake is not that big so no worries. Besides it is fruit cake (the kind you normally buy during christmas... not the fresh fruit cake) so you can keep it in your freezer for one year... in fact it will taste better after a year. We kept ours... going to bring it our on our anniversary to celebrate =)

blush

the cake can request to change to another type. i dont like fruitcake, so delia offered either chocolate or cheesecake.
but for fruitcake, the guy at the show (cant remember his name) told us that the practice is to keep it one year, and eat it on anniversary. but i told him my fridge got no space to keep one big cake for one year! :p

kero, i havent decided on which wine option to take, cos my dinner is still very far away. as long as its in the contract, i can still keep it open until nearer the actual day. if u dun mind their house wine, then i think the 18 bottles more worth it. if you want better quality, or if you expect to finish more than 18 bottles , then maybe take the waiver. otherwise halfway thru change wine, or some pple have different wine, not very good.

fong2, me also tried to exchange the perks like rokko. but they will remove at cost price, and add at selling price. so anything that you are willing to give up will not get you much more.

odie, for my case, i am hoping that since it is a weekday, people will come from work, and many may not drive. most of my tables are friends, if weekend, sure not enuf parking coupons.

rokko

odie: hehee so nice to see u still around in the threads offering advice to other brides!!!
do stay around and 'chat' ok... hehee... eh but just a qtn - fruit cake can keep so long one ah??? hahaaa... but quite meaningful also hor, to eat the cake that was at ur own wedding one year ago!!! so when is ur anniversary? tell us how the fruit cake tastes after one year of freezing it... im q interested to know!!!

blush: oh can change to another cake ah??? alamak i never discuss this wif delia leh... hehee i guess can settle details at a later date... chocolate/cheese cake sounds yums... i think i may just stick to that... oh urs is a weekday ah? yah lor i think u prob wont need so much parking coupons... good thing also that fullerton is in the CBD area and so near the MRT!! mine is a sunday leh, i think parking might be a problem lor... nebermind lah we r prepared to top up per piece for guests if overshoot the complimentary ones lor.. err... but hopefully not too many! hehee

odie

Hi Blush... yup I agree with you on the wine. I guess it depends on the estimated number of bottles that will be consumed. If you feel that 18 is more or less enough and most of your guests do not drink... then just take the wine from Fullerton. But if you expect it will be more then I think it is better to buy your own wine and get the corkage waiver. We bought 80 bottles and had 25 left after the dinner... so you can imagine the consumption rate and the corkage we paid -.-""

Ladies... do look out for those big wine sales that Carrefour organises now and then. You can order in bulk from them and when the date draws nearer they can send it to the hotel direct. Save you the trouble of having to store the bottles and transporting to the venue later.

Hi Rokko... yup you can. Actually I didn't know but my dad told me that we can. He is a pastry chef so he knows better ;) Alcohol is added in fruit cakes... he said that's why it will taste even better after a year. My wedding was on 8 Feb. Ok will let you know if I still remember (getting old liao) :p My cake for the Guo Da Li is also fruit cake... we kept one of that as well. Now we have 2 cakes sitting in the freezer :p

charlene79

kero: re the wine thingy...i still havent decide too, coz still got some time..but i feel that 18 bottles is definitely not enough..so most likely will go for the first 24 bottles corkage waiver..actually, quite a few other hotels give full corkage waiver leh...duno why fullerton so strict on this..one of the negative points of fullerton loh..

Oh my goodness, never know that a cake can keep for a year?!??!?...haha another precious lesson learnt here...

Btw, for those who went to the wedding show, anyone interested to go Perth and have wedding photos taken by Russell Barton? those pics he took with those beautiful flowers are so nice... but he is costly...taking wedding photos overseas is such a nice thing to do...my finance and i are contemplating, just worried abt the cost..anyone also thinkin of doing overseas photoshoot, or already done it? care to share?

kero

Juz to share with you all on the options...my FH and I did an analysis of the new package and base on some assumptions like the corkage and cost of listed wines, we tot that the 18 complimentary bottles would be more worthwhile..have you all signed the contract yet? You mean can keep the options open?

Btw, do you know what's the corkage price that they are charging now for wine and liquor?

rokko

morning everyone!

initially we thought we wld go for 18 bottles wine... but now mebbe we'll re-consider and try to work out our costs to see which is better... will share wif u all once we do our analysis... hehee... btw kero, i think the corkage is at $30+++ (if i dun remember wrongly)

odie: thks so much for ur advice abt the carrefour wine! i think that really helps... must make a mental note of this... hehee... do u remember what type/brand of wine u got frm carrefour and was it good? im totally ignorant abt wines!! hehee... oh btw this means u had 55 bottles consumed altogether - how many tables did u have? am trying to estimate the consumption of wine at the dinner... xie xie ni!!

blush

if you want to bring in your own wine, you can also consider contacting a wine shop directly and negotiate with them. normally if you buy in bulk, they will give you a discount. and also allow you to take some on consignment. so any unfinished wine, you dont need to pay for it.

rokko, choc/cheese cake sounds good yah? i wanted chocolate. but my mom was saying that wedding use a black black cake (ie. chocolate cake) like not very auspicious/nice....

kero, i havent signed the actual contract yet. but we have the standard list of perks, which delia signed off on when we paid the deposit. and that gives the various wine options. and delia told me that i just need to agree to this list, and pick the exact option later.

btw, has anyone received their contract yet? i'm wondering why i haven't heard from delia since the day we paid the deposit.

odie

Hi rokko... we got Wolfblass Cab Sav, red label. Its aussie wine. Personally I like Wolfblass cos I find it easier to drink. I would feel that aussie wine goes down easier as compared to french... and it is usually cheaper as well. So you might want to consider aussie wine. If I remember correctly, Wolfblass won some award in aussie for their wine.

Feedback from guests was that the wine was good.

I had 42 tables but not all tables would consume wine esp family and relatives. So my estimate would be 55 bottles for 25 to 30 tables. I was even told that my guests finished close to 20 bottles at the cocktail reception -.-""

Odie, haha. My fruitcake is almost coming to a year old - currently 10 months old now and it's still sitting in the fridge. Well, at least a third of it
Divided the other 2 thirds to our families.

We brought in 84 bottles of wine and my guests consumed about 60 bottles of wine on a Sunday night. Something which I didn't expect because we only started serving wine during dinner. We had 2 crates left over. The thing about Fullerton is that it's a very conducive place for wine consumption. Also, it largely depends on the guests you invite.

sharlene

Blush,
The cake will still have icing on it, thus will not be appear black black even if u choose choc cake. Dun wory. I received the contract about 2 weeks time. They emailed me first followed by mail.

Rokko,
Actually my HB and I think that the 5% discount is a lot, everything works out definitely better than the old perks.

Thus dun think that its ur poor negotiation skill, we actually prefer the 5% discount, the cost save on the 5% discount is more than
Enough to buy wines already.

Odie/ ladies
U can actually opt for the flavour of the cake, but must specific to your coordinator when nearer ur AD.

I did request for mine to be chocolate cake instead of the usual fruit cake. I don't think I can keep for a year to eat, hehehe
I love cake, might finished it there!! J Can the chocolate cake be kept for a year too?

Charlene
I think for the old package, they are more willing to add in perks. But since the current promo package comes with 5% discount,

Don't think they are willing to budge for more perks. Actually Fullerton are same class with Ritz Carlton, Shangrila, Four seasons and Raffles Hotel. Their package pricing very similar and also not willing to throw in perks, even Cockage waiver. They got to maintain their standard reputation. I did a comparison before I book Fullerton. In fact, of all, Fullerton one is most comprehensive, thus "cheaper" in a sense.

Kero,
The cockage charge is $20+++. We think that directly getting the wine from Fullerton will be cheaper than buy from outside then they charge cockage charge.

kero

Hi Sharlene,

Thanks! With the corkage at 20+++, it would definitely help to reduce some cost...they had previously quoted $30+++ for wine...no matter how we calculate, it doesn't seem to be cheaper...how abt the wine corkage? Is it still at $40+++?

I suppose they dun give additional waiver of corkage now since we have to opt from the 3 choices....hopefully, the cost of getting the additional wines doesn't exceed the discount :p

chamonique

Hi Sharlene,

Is yours the old package in which they throw in 1 bot of wine per table? Mine too but my corkage for wine is $30+++. Hai, think I got a lousy deal from Fullerton...no seat covers and has to pay more for corkage.

sharlene

Kero,
The wine and liqour cockage is the same. My contract stated that cockage at $20+++. If I buy wine from Fullerton, will not be charge cockage. Thus we work out that buying wine from Fullerton cost cheaper than we buy from outside.
That's why I say ur package better, the additional cost for wine still do not exceed the 5% discount given.

Chamonique,
I sign my contract in May. Complimentary wine per table. Cockage at $20+++, waiver for 12 bottles. We managed to bargain for complimentary seat covers as well.

kero

Hi Sharlene,

I think u have definitely gotten a good deal...actually the 5% is only if we sign up before 7 Aug, otherwise, the package would be more ex...

Charmonique,
I rather puzzled why your package doesn't include the seat cover as it seemed to be included in the package...not possible to negotiate again?

sharlene

Kero,
What is the new package pricing after 7 aug. Ya, my coordinator did told me they are going to increase price during apr time. That time, my quotation was already the increased price one. Now they increase again but also decrease some too.

kero

Sharlene,

The price remains the same. However, I meant that without the 5% discount during the bridal show, the overall package would be more ex cos there's no complimentary wine for each table and yet, the price remain unchanged..

Btw, who is your coordinator?

charlene79

blush: yah, i also havent received my contract since i paid my $3k deposit 1 week ago. Nicole said the contract will be mailed to me within a week leh..hmm..

btw, nicole told us that corkage is $30+++ per bottle of wine leh...i think $20+++ was the old price...i also think subsequently buying fullerton's house wine is cheaper...nicole said their house wine is $38 per bottle...so i think i will be going for the first 24 bottles corkage waived, and subsequently buy fullerton's house wine at $38 (no corkage then, since $30+++ corkage is so ex).so i agree with sharlene that buying from fullerton is cheaper than buying outside n paying corkage at fullerton..

i'm actually quite surprised to see that the price per table on a sat was $898 per table in the past. all along, when i went to their website to check, it has always been $838 per table..duno whatz with the $898 and during the wedding show, $868...hmm..

chamonique

Hi KeRo,

Seat covers r not included in my package. I did try to negotiate b4 I signed the contract but couldn't get that for free. I have to pay $2 each for the cover so in the end I exchanged my wedding favours for that.

Does your contract indicate the pricing for house wine?

sharlene

Kero,
My coordinator was Garey, a very nice guy, but he had resigned recently. Delia will take over temporarily till the new staff joins them.

Chamonique,
Its really not easy to get the complimentary seat covers actually. We intend to exchange the wedding favor for another extra barrel of 30L beer. The contract never state the price for the house wine, but Garey did mentioned before its $38 per bottle.

Charlene,
The contract actually took longer than the timeline they quoted will arrive. For yours, I think many pple sign up thus many need longer time to process.

The $838+++ was 2004 old pricing, when I ask for quotation in April, the 2005 first half yr price already $898+++ per table for sat. Is ur package sat? Is the couple spa package still inside the new package?

blush

yah, its definitely cheaper to buy the wine directly from fullerton, as compared to buying outside and paying corkage. but just keep in mind that the wine they sell you is house wine, which is not very good lor. so if youre not so particular, then its a better deal.

as for the corkage, i was quoted $30 also leh...

sharlene: choc cake covered with icing? oh...then maybe not so bad. the cake that we cut is this real layer or a fake layer (ie. just a slot to put the knife in?) i feel a bit stupid just placing the kife into a slot....

i guess fullerton is selling exclusivity...so they know they can hold out on the price and perks, and people will still come. i know i was so set on fullerton that i would have gone with them even without the discount... :p

sierrasg

How's the food at Fullerton? Our parents are really particular about food and we are not sure how does Fullerton stand out compared to Chinois or Sheraton Towers, for example.

But what a lovely place!

Can anyone help comment? Many thanks!!!

sharlene

Blush,
Not sure abt whether are we cutting the real cake, But i shld think so, but think only top layer is real. Ya, the choc cake are covered with icing.

hahaha, Like U, I simply love Fullerton, thus I never really go site visit in other hotel except conrad, but when I was at Conrad, more like entertaining the coordinator as I had already decided Fullerton already. Fullerton is 6 star hotel, thus they are very strict with perks and pricing.

Alvin,
Fullerton food are prepared by Jade, under Tung Luk, thus food shld be not bad too. I went to Sheraton before this yr, only like the cod fish dish, the reat of the food I find normal only leh.

odie

Hi Alvin... had my wedding there and had really great feedback from guests about the food. Even my muslim guests told me they enjoyed their food. As pointed out by sharlene... the food is prepared by Jade (under Tung Lok). If you are keen you might want to go to Jade and try the food out yourself.

Never tried Sheraton so no comments. Been to Club Chinois before for a corporate dinner... the food is good as well but because it is fusion food... it doesn't do down well with everyone especially the elderly. Again, no comments about the wedding dinner because I'm not too sure whether they serve the normal Chinese food or fusion food... but I assume it should be modern Chinese since that is what they are supposedly famous for.

sierrasg

Hi Sharlene & Odie,

Thanks for your notes - it is very reassuring.

Which wedding menu did you pick: Harmony, Bliss or Eternity?

odie

Hi Chamonique... I had only 2 Muslim guests and my hubby only had 1.

Each table can accomodate up to 12 pax... so what we did was to put our muslim guests with the rest of the guests. For eg, 10 chinese guests plus 2 muslim guests at one table. Fullerton will charge the muslim food base on per pax basis.

Same applies for vegetarian guests.

The charge for per pax basis depends on your package. For instance if your package is for $798 per table of 10 persons... then they will charge $79.80 per pax.

Alvin... my menu is under the old package... so it is different from what you have now. But it is almost similar to Harmony menu though... except that I remember having the home made spinach tofu which is not included in the Harmony menu

sharlene

Alvin,
Eh....actually no need to decide the menu now till nearer to the wedding. But u can actually swop around the same categories of dishes around.

hi alvin

maybe I'm biased, but i definitely do prefer the food by Jade as compared to Li Bai (Sheraton Towers) or Shangri La. :p Perhaps the Sheraton menu was too eclectic for my liking.

blush

alvin, the other nice thing about fullerton is that they serve you individually. (for all tables, not just the VIP table). they will show you the dish, then bring it to the side to divide it into individual portions, and serve each plate to a person.

wedding9999

Hi all Fullerton couples,

Juz finding out if any Fullerton couples hv any spare invite cards (the white ones with silver ribbon wan) ?

I need some extra cards but Delia refused to give me more....;(

Thks so much !

rokko

hi wedding9999 - your AD is soon issit? sorrie i wont be able to offer anything to u at the moment, we hvnt even inked the contract yet!!!
but perhaps for 15 cards more, you could top up by paying per piece? or at least mebbe u cld negotiate wif delia to give u discounted rates for the top-up?? hope things will turn out ok for u!

blush

otherwise, you could try exchanging something for the cards? maybe parking vouchers or someting...it hardly costs them anything to print extra 15 cards of the same design. i think it's quite unreasonable if they refuse this.

rokko

blush: hear hear... yah i think honestly 15 cards is really little leh... wedding9999, mebbe try talking to delia again??

pheb

hi wedding9999

serious? delia refused? think you can try purchasing from them...if not i think i may have two sample cards but no envelopes

or mebbe they running out of those cards cos they're having new ones rite?

odie

Hmmm... I have asked for extra cards before (about 50) and Elizabeth gave it to me with no questions asked. In fact she gave me more than what I had asked for. Sorry wedding... I can't help cos mine is a different design from yours.

wedding9999

Is it Odie ? Elizabeth gave it to u extra 50 cards ? Dunno can u ask Elizabeth to spare 15 pcs of the white cards ? Thks !

I dun feel like purchasing from them becos only 15pcs only wat....;p

ladies, is Delia really a sticky person ah?

from the comments above, i would be quite angry if the hotel is not able to provide just a couple more cards...

i've not met her yet to settle the details but from the phone calls that i had, kinda think she's not that flexible...do you think we can ask to change a co-ordinator ah?