Suffering for years...pls help !!!

hazybreeze27

I had severe menses cramp every month without fail and the pain will last throughout my menses. Been to many doctors but most of them only prescribe painkiller without solving my problem. The worse thing is that when the menses clear i still feel the cramp. The lesser the blood, the more painful it is. Could anyone pls advice or anyone ever experience the same as me? What should i do and what are the tests i should go for?

hazybreeze27

I had gone to kk to see the gyn and he prescribe birth control pill for me to take for half a year but still it did not help so i stopped going there. My pelvic ultrasound also ok but the pain is still so severe that painkiller might not work sometimes and i had to go for injection.

wiwilian

Hi hazy, sad to hear that. Unfortunately there is no medication to cure mensus cramp at this point of time. However, I heard that this will improve or even disappear after giving birth.

Take care ya.

yup, agreed with wiwilian that it'll get better (thought slightly) after giving birth. I used to have severe pain during menses when I was in school. Frequently had to rest at the sick bay and my classmates had to accompany me to polyclinic for jabs on several occasions. Nowadays, as a mother, the pain is not so severe but i still had to take pill killers (the pink panadol for menses).

Btw, maybe u can try taking evening primrose oil
or female multi-vit. Think regular exercises would also help

wiwilian

I am taking Evening Primrose Oil (EPO) too. It's not only good for mensus relieve but for complexion too. But my friends told me that EPO improve your digestion system and thus u will tend to eat more....

hazybreeze27

Hi Marble do u think i should request to do vaginal ultrasound or laproscopy coz my ultrasound is clear but i think my pain had reached a serious stage. Sure that something is wrong but no idea wat is wrong...

marble

dr sometime dun want to do V ultrasound if you're a virgin. but it sure is worth doing in your case.

my advice is go directly to a pte gynae (KKH ones not consistent lah, good if u get a consultant, not good if u get a MO who is not experienced). My first consultation plus the V scan at GlenE cost $120. Unlike KKH, my pte gynae spoke to me and explain my condition for 45min to 1 hr.

laparoscopy is the last resort as its invasive procedure. do the V scan first and if still cannot detect, then discuss with the gynae if laparoscopy is needed.

Hi hazy

To be sure, it's best to get a vaginal ultrasound done. Like marble said, it can pick up cysts and fibroids better. It's not painful at all. Did you have a pelvic exam done as well? My friend used to get really bad cramps, and she later found out that she had cysts..had to have em removed.

Here's a website with more info on menstrual cramps:

http://womenshealth.about.com/cs/crampsmenstrual/a/dysmenorrheacr.htm

Have you had bad cramps all your life, or has it gotten progressively worse as time passed by..

hazybreeze27

Hi Marble,
i agreed with u, the kk MO really lack of experience and he did not even explain anything to me provided i ask then he just give a few comments. U went to GlenE is private rate right? Who is ur doctor? Thought of going there too....the V ultrasound can be done on the first consultation?

Hi Alhana,
my cramp are like rollar coaster but surely painful when i have my menses only depends on the level of pain...now so afraid of having menses. My pelvic ultrasound is clear, think i will opt for V ultrasound next...

marble

Hi Hazy,

yes my V u/s scan was done on first consultation. And yes, I paid pte rate. I did my V scan on the 2nd day of my menses, which according to dr is good coz it rules out functional cysts..

pls pm me for more info on my gynae if you're interested. it's too early for my to recommend him as I'm due for my laparoscopy next week.

hazybreeze27

Hi Marble...i had juz pm u, forgot to ask u whether u felt any discomfort or pain doing the V-Ultrasound. Did u do pap smear before? If have can tell me how is it like or painful etc. Thanks

Hi hazy

A V ultrasound should not be painful...neither is a pap smear. Perhaps you'll feel a little discomfort, but mine was totally painless. Just relax ...it'd help. I did mine at Gleneagles too...guy's quite pricey tho...$250 for a pap smear, v ultrasound and overall check-up + consultation.

hazybreeze27

Alhana

Wat are ur symtoms? This month menses really terrible...like my vains are pulling my back and even leg. Guess i have bowel problem too, painful during my menses.

Hi Hazy

I don't have any symptoms / problems..was just there for a general check-up coz we're planning to get pregnant soon. And also to do a pap smear since I had been procrastinating for too long...shld get a pap smear done once every 3 yrs, esp if you're sexually active.

marble

Hi hazy,

did u get my email?

my personal experience is that resticting diet esp before and during menses helps alleviate the pain. i'm a firm believer in TCM so i stay away from cooling foods, no cold drinks and no raw foods.

hazybreeze27

Hi Marble

I did not receive any email from u....i am trying very hard to control my diet now. Dun dare to take any cold drinks already.Can't wait to arrange for a pap smear when my menses come.

marble

Hi hazy,

no email? strange. i'll repeat wat i wrote in the email here.

i had painful period since teenage. back then it was only on the 1st day of menses. but it got progressively worse over the years and now the pain is on from 1st to 4th day of period. i also have abnormal mid cycle bleeding which is not due to ovulation. on bad months, i can have diarrhoea, vomiting, indigestion. backache before and during period is also common every month.

pap smear cannot tell u what's wrong. its for cervical cancer. u need a laparoscopy to confirm endometriosis. in my case, the V scan revealed a endometriotic cyst, so confirm got endo liao.

hazybreeze27

oic...did not get ur mail.My next plan is to go for pap smear and V-Ultrasound but when i read from the internet the process, abit frightened me. I am quite timid!!! hee...

Hi Hazy,

no, u cant go for a pap smear during your menses. If not wrong, got to be a week after or before. Do check with the clinic

hazybreeze27

ok...thanks hello, i will check with the nurse. Maybe i just book an appointment,

By the way, anyone heard or done the Ultrasound Abdomen? Wat is it for?

hazybreeze27

Any idea what is Tumour markers for Liver,Colon, Pancreas,Ovarian and Breast.

Just browse through some health screening staff and came across these but not sure wat is it.

marble

Hi hazy, think ultrasound abdomen is wat u got at kkh lor...ie they scan from outside the abdomen.

tumor markers are chemicals produced in the body when tumor is present. if the test shows presence of any specific markers then chances of having the respective cancer is high.

evil_dolly

Hi Marble.

My doctor suspected that I have endometriosis. I am on a 3 month course of birth control pills. If my condition does not improve, he will recommend me to a good gynae. Do you have any contacts for good gynae?

Hi Hazy,

Did you experience any side effects when you are taking birth control pills? My doctor assured me that the 2nd generation pills he prescibed me have little side effects. But when I took it, I feel like vomitting and my fever is on/off. Plus, I had my menses 2 weeks ago and I am experiencing breakthrough bleeding now. Haizzz

hazybreeze27

Hi Chelsa

When i took the birth control pills there is no side effect, i dun experience fever etc. It's juz tat my cramp does not improve so i gave up the pills.The slight effect is juz slight gain in weight. That's all. Wat are ur conditions? pain every month also?

evil_dolly

Hi Hazy,

I experienced back aches when the time of the month comes. Sometimes I cannot stand up properly. Its my second week into taking the pills now. The side effects still persist.

evil_dolly

Hi Hazy,

I experienced back aches when the time of the month comes. Sometimes I cannot stand up properly. Its my second week into taking the pills now. The side effects still persist.

hazybreeze27

Hi Chelsa

I also experience terrible backache but it is due to my menses pain not the side effect of the pills. maybe u should dicuss it wif ur doctor.

marble

Hi Chelsa, why wait 3 mths. U should go consult a gynae asap. The only way to confirm endo is not to take BC pills and look for improvement, but to do a key hole surgery (laparoscopy).

evil_dolly

Hi Marble,

I have consulted a gynae. The specialist gynae said that the cramps are normal. He asked me alot of questions such as do the pains persist after the menses come etc etc. I gave many negative answers. He said that my sypmtons are just normal menstrual ones. Just that my back aches are more severe than others. Besides, he mentioned I am too young to have endo as I am only 25.

The gynae also said that since the BC pills are causing me more discomfort then I can stop taking the pills. But I must complete the present cycle of BC pills first.

vi_vi

Hazy,

Why dun you go for TCM?? I had cramps in during my teenage years and my mum took me to a acupunturist. after 3 treatments, it cured me for life.

My cramps is the result of a "misplaced" womb and due to the position of the womb, i get terrible back aches too.

the dr sort of "adjusted" the position of the womb and voile cramps no more back pain no more.

oriental_b

Chelsa,

I was 25 when i was diagnoised with endometrisis n by then, according to my gynae, was stage 3 of 4 or 5. can't rem. I had the adominal ultrascan,V ultrascan n laparoscopy done.

U may wanna check out this website
http://www.alife.org.sg/en_endometriosis.php

But then of cos if u had many -ve replies to ur gynae questions, chances r high u r safe =)
but jus bear in mind, there's never a safe age from anything. its always better to be safe than sorry rite.

vi_vi

the dr i go to is in JB, recommanded by a family fren.

will send u the contact by e-mail.

maybe you want to see a dr in singapore. some of the ma guang drs are quite good.

vi_vi

the dr i go to is in JB, recommanded by a family fren.

will send u the contact by e-mail.

maybe you want to see a dr in singapore. some of the ma guang drs are quite good.

pearlyshell

Happen to saw this thread. I am also a serious sufferer of menstrual cramps. It had been torturing since my sec. days...and sometimes I can't even walk cos it is so pain. Have to lie in the bed in the end. As hv been to GP and they always tell me its normal and prescribe me with painkillers whick I hv been surviving thru all these yrs. Infact as I read abt cysts & endo. stuff...actually kinda of worried...

evil_dolly

Hi Oriental,

You are only 25 when you are diagnosed with Endo? Oh mine..looks like its better to be safe than sorry.

Hi Pearly,

I dont mean to scare u. But your painful menstrual cramps doesnt sound normal to me. Anyway, I took it as a lesson learnt that GP may not be able to provide u with an accurate disgnosis of your condition. I was super KS. I went to a GP near my place. After he suspected that it may be endo, I went to my family GP who treated me when I was a kiddo. I requested for a scan immediately. Scan turned out to be negative. Some months later, my cramps came back again. This time, I went to a specialist. Paid $80 for a 10 minute consultation. He told me that I can do a laproscopy if I want to but my hb and I decide against it. But the next time, I experienced cramps which result in me not being able to stand properly, I guess I will proceed to do the evasive surgury.

mayaray

Hi, for those who have confirmed endo, any difficulties getting pregnant?? I am planning to get married, so worried I can't get pregnant. Doc says only get the lap done if you can't get pregnant, otherwise, no need.

tyra

Hi, just to share, I used to have very painful mens, eg, cold sweats, extremely weak, stomach upsets and so on, and I realised some of these may help:
1.) Evening primrose oil + fish oil (cold water fish) mixture. Tested on myself and found that mixture of both works better then just EPO alone.
2.) Have breakfast.

happielee

Hi Hazy..

Have u seen the dr for checks?

I used to have bad cramps too..til my sec school principal has to drive me home from school.Then my mum made me eat those bai fong yuan,it works but are so yucky i decided to stop it.Same for evenin primrose..i m not disciplined to eat it.

So i took ponstan n it wks wonders so i was super reliant on it..then my mum upon her colleague's recommendation bought me some royal jelly thing,being very sceptical of such stuff,i did not wan to take it but sunce she bought it,i eat lor.

Then guess wat?It is the first time in my life tat the menstrual cramp was reduced by 80% so it was bearable tat i stop taking ponstan.

I researched on the ingredients n dun understand how it works but it does.

noscon

i know ihad endo since 21 or 22 so it's never too young... it varies from person to person.

the older u get(and still single) the higher the chance of endo....