Silverlining Bridal Couture

• Thread starter Thread starter putise baby
  • Start date Start date

Hi Compassrose,

I have 3 or 4 changes of hairstyle... makeup only one, just touch up when change to another gown....
Ya, she will touch up for u before u go out for your outdoor shooting.

Hi All SL BTB,

Congrats, im one myself. just need some advice, anyone use Jerlyn as MUA.

Yongee86, i saw ur message tat Jerlyn was nice to work with, mind sharing with ur PS photos of her make up skills

love to hear from u

Hi all..I'm considering Siliverlining as for my gown..wondering if there's any package just for the gown? Anyone can share? Any BTB or ex-brides of silverlining wanna share your gown photos? Thanks!

Hi Rinnie...congrats!
I took up the package with just the WG (OTR), EG (OTR) and groom suit (MTM) without car and photography, with 3 MU and hairdo. This is $3188. But if later you change your mind...you can still opt for MTM for WG or EG and top up $300.

All SL brides who chose OTR gowns...

Need your advice here... how did you guys had your first designing session with Jit? Did Jit let you try any gowns or did he choose to let you wear gowns that he thinks are suitable for you or did you look through the selection and then you decide what you want to try?

How should we carry out the whole process to ensure you try on the gowns that really suit you? Because sometimes certain gowns may look pretty but doesnt look good on you and likewise some gowns that look "plain" may look good on you...

Hi Li Ann,

U mean MTM? OTR, there is no design session. For OTR, we just can't add on more designs to the gown but we have the options to remove the straps, ribbons etc if we dun like it.

U are so right. I always love laces, however after trying a full lace gown i realised it doesn't suit me at all. For my case, i tried on his different style of WG at the begining when i was enquring of his packages. During gown designing, i roughly told him what kind of style i like and show him pics of WG/EG that i like. And he will recommend the colours and cut of the gown to conceal my flaws.

For OTR, Jit will suggest that you choose them closer to PS or AD.

Rinnie, yes, u can choose either both gown to be MTM or OTR. Alternatively, a popluar choice will be MTM EG and OTR EG.

karyn, yup, jerlyn was my MUA. she was great. during trial makeup, i actually didn't like her work but still decide to give it a try for photoshoot. during ps, i told her what i didn't like for the trial and told her my preference. my ps pics turn out great. can't see much makeup on my photos (which is what i want) as mine is all outdoor shoots.

as for AD, morning and night makeup is different. for dinner, i thot it was quite heavy but when i look at the photos for AD, i looked great. all my guests commented i look stunning at night.

so basically, i'm happy with the makeup that jerlyn has done for me.

Hi Compassrose...thanks

So which style did you choose?
What different style of gowns did you try on during enquiry with Jit? I know that barebacks are his signature...but not sure if there are other styles that are nice too...that i din get to try...

Thanks Li Ann..I'm thinking of going ala-carte cos dun wish to be stuck in one bridal..:P Tink i'll pop by and have a look when my bf's free..

Hi Li Ann,

Mine is MTM, I went for his signature style. It will be a see through low back WG with some laces details on it. I still can't give up lace totally.

The first one that i tried on my friend's gown who had her wedding last year. It's his signature style (the super low bareback) it's very nice. The rest of the gowns that i tried on are mainly bareback (similar to the gowns features on his website) just different degree of "bareness" Ha ha..

He has classic designs as well but he might not allow us to try on cuz most of his gowns are MTM, and the brides has not wear them yet.

In fact, u can try on gowns that u like at other BS so you know whether it suits you and asked them what cut and fabric is that. And check with Jit if he has something similar. That's what i did....

What did u try on? Jit normally will guide u thru the different style of gowns that might suit u. Of cuz, importantly, u must like it.

I am an SL bride to be too! It's the only BS that I really like after seeing quite a few at you-know-where too. I have made up my mind almost a year ago during my ROM days to engage him. I think his classic elegance and natural style is what I like. I will be meeting him soon to sign up and see some designs he would be modify from what I showed him. I guess he has the nack of knowing what each person likes.

I hope I can get to try on some gowns then. Did he allow anyone here to do so? Do we have to ask before hand?

Coco and Yongyee88,
Mind sharing your pics with me too? My email is: [email protected]

Hi compassrose...thanks

mm... i guess i was fickle-minded... i like simple and elegant style...something like VeraWang and Bridal Veil gowns...duchess satin... but when i saw Jit's bareback gowns...i like them too...and i was impressed by Jit...i merely told him the style that i like...and he whipped out from his collections gowns that are a combination of the three things that i like - elegant look, bareback and using duchess satin... that really impressed me alot...so much so that i decided there and then to sign up with him even if i did not get to try any of his gowns

But during my first session with him, i did not get to try on any other gowns apart from the three that i saw initially...i sort of like hinted but he did not offer to let me try other gowns... but since you mentioned that he is quite ok in letting you try on gowns...i think i will ask him properly when i'm trying the EG in Aug...

But all in all, Jit is a nice and friendly person to work with...

oh all SL brides...regarding the MUA...which MUA did you work with? Any idea how Ivy Lee from Bridal Veil is like? Seems like Alicia from Bridal Veil is a popular choice for all brides at Bridal Veil

Hi coco

Yeap me got it. Thanks! Wow, this is one of the more special ROM dress designs I have seen. Surely is worth the while to choose SL!

Hi Coco and Compassrose,

I have fixed a design session with Jit next week. So excited about it
Hope he allows me to bring back the sketch.

Hi Coco,

I went for mine last month. It was a fun session, spend close to 3 hrs, 2.5 hrs for mine and 0.5 for my FH. For guys, it is so simple... ha ha.. Still early. No pictures yet...

Hi Huiz,

That's great! U have fun then. Remember to bring pix of gowns that u like to show Jit. The cut out from mag usually helps. He will need the sketch as he will note down your measurements on it.

Hi Compassrose,

Heh, I had actually done my homework long ago. I met him once on 18 June and passed him the pics then. So he's now working on improving the designs to something more suitable for me.

But wah, 3.5hrs ah! I am meeting him at 7.30pm on a weekday night leh.... wah, so I think I can stay behind and close shop for him liao.... hehe

Btw, to all SL brides here.... which photog are u gonna choose? I am very keen on Andrew from The Edge. Met him once and he was really chatty and friendly. I also like his natural photography style.

I know SL signature is on the back detailings which i love but i also like train. Does their gown have fabulous train as well?? I have seen the gowns he show me and they dun seems to have much train

I think his specialty lies in super bare back. I don't like that but judging from the initial sketch he showed me, I believe his back detailing is really good.

apple79, if u have a pic of the train u would like to have, show him. He should be able to work something out for u

I guess we kinda of got carried away, plus i brought lot of pics to show him. Just 3 hrs in total. Pretty normal rite? Mine session was in the afternoon so luckly he did not chase me out.

Oh I only showed him 3 WG and 3 EG (all rather similar ones) during the first meeting coz I have pretty much made up my mind what I want. Can share the rough design of what u like? My email [email protected]

yeps...i love Jit's signature bareback and back detailing too...

I can't wait till Aug to try some of the EG he has chosen for me...

Meanwhile need to work out and tone my back le...

Apple 79...
Jit has a flair for understanding your likes and preference (thru chit chat and the pics you show him) and then coming out with designs that have you nodding and beaming away

If you like back detailing, Divine Coulture is also good at that...but i tend to think that DC gowns are more girly, demure and sweet...whereas SL's gown is more sensuous and sexy

Oh yes, I agree two hands up that Jit is good at understanding what you like in just a short while. I only showed him 3 WG pics and he gave me a rough sketch of something which already gained my initial nod and beam

Hi Huiz,

Most of the pics is from Her world brides and Female mag. My WG will be similar to his signature style, and i opt for a 2 piece EG.

U? What do u have in mind?

Me ah, I surfed the net (mostly The Wedding Channel) till my eyes nearly popped out @@ before I settled on what I like. My ideal WG is basically a bustier with ripples of organza behind. And since I am a sucker for flowers and ribbons ;-P, Jit has suggested adorning the back with these as well.

As for the EG, I don't really have anything specific in mind and is open to Jit's suggestions. But I am quite keen on something along the line of a bodice (hope I have gotten the name right) where the back is held together by a criss cross of ribbons. Hah, ribbons again! :-P

Hi Li Ann,

Hee.... I can't make do without flowers and ribbons. I have sample pics of what I like. Can show u if interested.

How about yours?

Hi Huiz,
can share with me your sample pics and the website which you surf? I have flipped thru mag but I can't find anything that I really like.

Hi Coco,

Okie, I will go home and email the pics to u. As for the site, u can try www.weddingchannel.com (my favourite) or www.theknot.com

I like these sites as their designs are really special.... ehhh, something that we don't really see in the local shops lor. U'll love them! And there's such a long long list to browse through. Heh, need to drink some chix essence to perk up first.... coz eyes can really go gaga man ;-P

Hi Huiz,

It's a good thing that you already know what sort of designs you want and work along there. I was so lost when I first started sourcing for a BS. It's only when I tried on different type of gown then i realised what sort of gown suit me..

I am a sucker for lace, my EG is quite similar to yr's.. 2 piece, top will be corset w/o ribbon binding them together just the usual zipped up. but I requested for some lace details.

Can't wait to see the final product.... hopefully time passed by fast..

Hi Compassrose,

I didn't really go to a lot of BS. Perhaps only less than 5. After all the hunting, I thought SL still suits me best. So after 1 year of first meeting Jit, I went back to him again. But the $$$ a bit steep. Haha, but since my hubby agree to foot the bill, of course I am fine with it (though I have to take charge of footing the $$ for the cheongsam and extra pics).

When's your AD? U went for the 1st/2nd fitting already? Which photog did u choose? I like Andrew from The Edge

Hi Huiz,

Thanks and the pics are indeed nice. For photography, I opt it out from the package as I already have someone in mind

Hi Compassrose,
Wow, you spent 3 hours there? That's long. I am meeting Jit soon too and up till now, I have no design in mind.

huiz...thanks for the websites...i love the designs from the Wedding Channel...much nicer than what we often see from the local mags...

and agree that i was also very lost in the gown selection.... i didn't even know what different types of designs and silouette there are...like compassrose...i also become more aware of what kind of gowns look nice on me after i try them on... i like lace and embroidered bodice but realise that they don't look good on me...makes me look "messy"...then i realise that i need to keep the upper front clean and simple... thats when i decided i should have the details either at the bottom of the gown or back of the gown. Then come the shape....think they call it silouette.... A-line, empire or ball gown...etc...i tried on the flowy and organza type and realise i just cannot carry off the look cos i basically have a figure that makes me look heavy... cannot have the dreamy and princessy look
so bo bian..have to try on the heavy fabric like duchess satin and take the ball gown or A-line... and i really look much nicer..not so heavy..hee...

hence, trying different gowns are really important cos what we may think we like may not look good on you ultimately...

oh ya...and try gowns of different colors...i also reaslise it later when i tried on two almost similar gowns but different color - white and off-white....that i look better in off-white....it has the "wow" effect after i put on the off-white gown

so basically...three things to look out for:
1. must try at least 5 different types of gown to see your best silouette
2. pay attention to some details to make your gown stand out
3. easy to move in and still look nice in shape no matter standing still, or walking or sitting down (must try walking to see if your gown flow nicely around you when you walking)

sorry ah...i very cheong hei...wish all SL BTB a happy gown designing session with Jit!

Okie no prob.... send u when I m home tonight la. And glad tt u like The Wedding Channel. I think the designs there are classier...

Btw, Jit also recommended me off white. He said something like white isn't too suitable for Asian skin, unless u r really v v fair. Pure white could make us stand out too much. Like a starking flash of lightning? Hee....

Hi Huiz/Coco/LiAnn,

U gals are so wonderful! Thanks for sharing so many useful tips, great ideas & pics. Guess many BTB (including myself) benefit from this thread.

My AD is next year, ROMing this year. Haven't go for fitting yet.. Went for my designing last month... Just like coco, i am getting a external photographer who do not tied up with SL. Hence it's more expensive.. actively looking for a VG for AD dinner. Do let me know if you have any cheap deals. ha ha..

How about u Huiz? And Li Ann?

When i saw SL's price range, tot it's kinda on the high side. (As compared to BS at u know where)After going thru forum (all good feedbacks),viewing his works & trying on his gowns, realised it's value for $$$. Don't u guys agreed?

Coco, not to worry. If u trust Jit to make you a pretty bride. U can leave the designing part to him. Think many BTB do that... Just highlight to him your wedding theme, venue or preference and he will stretch a few designs to show u and u pick from there.

Huiz, u have lotsa fun with Jit on your gown designing.