Silverlining Bridal Couture

coco_mybibi

hi tulips02,
u got mail

compassrose

Hi Coco,

I think so.
Yup. will be chiffon, got the idea from sarah jessica parker.. ha ha.. And importantly, I can still wear it again for formal dinner or events.

Hi apple79, the last time i asked. It was about $250 - $300 for change of MUA like Sam Ong, Ponnie Hsu.. It might change by now. Guess it is around that range. But I know Sam Ong is charging $320 for ROM make up. Hope that helps.

Can't wait to see my gowns.. hee..

compassrose

Hi Seline,

U can email Jit, and he will send you the package details. Not to worry, he is very friendly and will not push you to sign up with him.

Do you like dreamy, organza or bareback? If so, you will love SL. Happy shopping!

gelaine

Hi Seline,

Yeap! Jit is very nice...
His gowns are nice too! Oh mine is also in Nov 07, join us in the Nov 07 thread too!

hamsterden

Hi gals...

I'm a newbie here...just logged on to the forum not too long ago and am overwhelmed by all the topics that are avail...a bit gong gong now...

I've also just decided to go with SL and totally love Jit's creations...i can't wait to go for my designing!

Has anyone of you heard of Benny Ang, Terrence Heng (Hurricadia) and Chee Kuang (39 Media)?

Cheers, Dec 06 brdide

apple79

Hi Han Li Ann,

Yah heard of Terence Heng. In fact my fren is having him for both AD and PG.
Think his work is those artistic kind.

hamsterden

Hi Apple79

I went to see Benny Ang last night...he is really friendly and helpful... giving us really good advice...

Terrence is at UK at this moment and so me and hubby will check out his works at the Upper Room first...

When is your wedding day? Which photographer you using?

hamsterden

coco...think only Benny Ang has a tie-up with SL. The other two...Terrence Heng @ Hurricadia...i googled him on the website and loved his pics! http://photo.hurricadia.com/packages.asp
and Kuang @ 39Media...i saw his collage at Silhouette....also fell in love with his AD pics done for a couple at Bintan...

I like photographers who can do nice candid shots... I've seen Benny...his works are nice...

Tulips
Usually during the designing appt itself, the designer will have you try on different gowns to see how different fabric and style and cutting suits you...then after that you can share with him your likes or dislikes...or bring pics you like to show him and then discuss with him how the gown should look like...

First time i brought the mag to show Jit the types of design i like... we were already discussing how he can help me design a similar one... i knew there and then that he is the one i'd go with...

I've tried on gowns at Bridal Veil and Dang Bridal and love their gowns...but i din get to try any at SL...BUT it is just different when i saw Jit's gowns...though i dun have a chance to see how they will look on me...i can almost imagine myself in his gowns...as though the gowns speaks out to me... it sounds crazy...but thats how i knew that SL is the one for me... keke...

hamsterden

ham ham

i got i got!
here you go...
www.pentaservephotography.com

His pics are really nice...
but he a bit bit ex wor...
am considering to get him only to do the shots during certain time of the day e.g. solemnization
Gonna check him out next Mon so...will let you guys know the verdict...
:D

apple79

Hi Li Ann,

My wedding is next year June. I have engaged Desmond Ho for my AD. PS PG still looking
Yah Terence works is nice! But for AD i would prefer more colours and joy.

Actually I like LetthereBelight but they are more ex.

Ham Ham , you are looking for bintan PS? I think any PG can do it as long as u pay for the lodging and transport over?

gelaine

Hey Li Ann,

Can share Benny's package? Also, You know how much Kuang @ 39Media charges? For hours and albums... His pics are nice...

hamsterden

Apple79... yeps Lettherebelight is nice...i esp love the baby photos...

Gelaine...Benny's AD package...here you go...
Basic 2.3k, covers:
-min 8 rolls and max 12 rolls 36 exposures in 4R
-all pics arranged in albums
-all pics returned in CD-rom
-A 20-pages collage consistng of 20pcs 15R or
-$600 additonal for digital montages (85pcs 15R)
-service of not more than 12 hrs from 730am - 1130pm; surcharge of $50 per 1/2hr applies
-surcharge applies if banquet and AD is on a different day or AD falls on public hol or both banquet and AD falls on weekend.

i've checked with my friends... he used to charge 2.1K for the basic and 440 for the 20-pages collage (85pics) in 2004..so his price increase is minimal..

Quite ex hor...i've got other choices ranging from 1.3-1.5k leh..but dun like... :p

You got to meet Benny himself to decide if you like his style...

compassrose

SL tied up with quite a few photographer. Namely, Beetles @ work, the edge. kevin from chris ling etc.. Some of their works are featured in Style Wedding. U can take a look there.

How about the venue? Like some of the BTB, i am considering Bintan, maybe JB... but it will be very tiring.. any recommendations?

coco_mybibi

Wow Li Ann, that's expensive.

My AD photography is cheaper. Digital photography and all raw will be returned in CD. Whatever shoot in the morning, all photo will be printed out and arranged in the album and delivered in the evening. That means we and the guests can get to see all those photo taken in the morning during the cocktail session.
And whatever photo taken in the evening during the banquet will be ready the next day.
That's the service and that's why I find his price reasonable. My AD photographer is also the photographer for my ROM and Pre Wedding as well.

hamsterden

Gelaine...we are not taking any pre-wed...we are only taking AD...cos rather than splitting the budget between pre-wed and AD...we'd rather pool the money to do one good one and after seeing Benny and Kuang..we are confident they can do a good job out of it...and i esp like Kuang...his charges are so flexible that i can actually engage him for one outdoor shoot that costs 650 per 2hrs/location...it fits into our requirement nicely...but i must say such ala carte pricing is going to add up to quite alot....but his works are really really beautiful...and i think it will be money well spent. His final touches to the work are really good...i saw some of the collages..they really look different from all those that i've seen so far...it's between Benny and Kuang for me and my fiance now... coincidentally we met up with Ron Lee, recommended by a friend's friend...he charges 2K for everything but also charges another additional 600 for a collage...so it adds up to 2.6k as well...not cheap if you want that something "extra"...

coco...you're absolutely right that our AD package is ex...thats why we wanted to do away with the studio/outdoor thingy...so that we can pool together the money and do one good one...luckily both Benny and Kuang can do some outdoor shoot on AD itself so we can still have a bit of outdoor pic and AD pic itself... haiz...but having said that...i still pre-empted my fiance that if the gown turned out pretty pretty...i am want to do outdoor...studio.... keke...think he gonna freaked out if he saw this...

coco...can you send me your pics - gowns and makeup?

gelaine

Hey Li Ann,

Hmm... can tell me how much Kuang charges for AD? I'm also a fan of candid shots... and Kuang pictures are marvellous.

hamsterden

coco...thanks for the pic. Love your rom dress...so pretty...love the flowy feel that comes with the dress as you and hubby walked down the aisle... :D

gelaine...glad you like Kuang too...you should really meet him in person...the price list is not with me at the moment...but if i remember correctly...it goes something like that:
1. pre-wedding
-$650/2hrs/location
2. AD
-$1300/4hr
-$2600/8hr
-$3900/12hr
(this is for his service + his assistant)
min 8 rolls and max 12 rolls
-$1500/20-pg album (no limit in no of pics but he suggests 2.5 pics per page)
Surcharges apply if wedding day and dinner is different and if weekend and if time is exceeded.

I would say he is really ex lor...he would be perfect for rom or pre-wedding where you can engage him for short sessions.

If you like Kuang, you'd probably like Terrence Heng from Hurricadia...though i've not seen his works yet ;p i read it in some other thread on Terrence and he received pretty good review on his works and service.

paunic

Hi SL brides

I'm a newbie... actually liked Ted Wu's but after looking at SL's website... find their gowns really nice too..

Anybody can share with me what's SL's package like?

hamsterden

Welcome onboard Shups!

Yes...SL gowns are really nice...you should see them for yourselves...his collection at the boutique is much nicer than those on websites.

Jit has alot of packages to offer...i can only remember those that i've shotrlisted:
1. Package without car & photography (OTR-off the rack) - S$3180
2. Package without car & photography (MTM-made to measure) - S$3880
3. The rest of the package range from 4180 - 5000+ depending on whether you need car or which photographer you choose.

compassrose

U can make a appt with Jit and try on his gowns. It really make a diff.
Let him know in advance and he will be glad to assist. The last time round when i made the appt 2 weeks in advance to try on his gowns, even tho he has a 2 walk in enquries when i was there. He gave me his full attention instead of being distracted and try to bring in sales like some BS at "u know where".

Thumbs up for his service and designs.

compassrose

Forget to check if there is and good and affordable VG for AD that is recommeded?
Kindly pass me their contacts or website.

Many Thanks!

faith_white

dear SL brides,

i badly need some advice....

my sister is also SL bride and had just gone for her 1st fitting today...

she don like the front design of the evening gown as she don feel the 'wow' feeling...

do you think we can ask Jit to change the design?...or do you think we can exchange for OTR without having the topup...

compassrose

Hi Li Ann,

I am putting aside $300 - $400 for the VG. Of cuz, what i need is just the basic, like recording the AD events. The thing is that we do not know of anyone who owns a Vcam. And didn'want to buy one for a 1 day affair.
What's the market price?

Hi Faith,

Did she highlight her concern to Jit?
From what i know, Jit is very open to ideas and quite flexi on things he can help.
Maybe try talking to Jit first and see if he can add on some more design to make 'wow'feeling.

faith_white

Hi Compassrose,
thanks for ur advice...

will ask my sister to check out with Jit 1st but its gonna be tough as i know Jit's design is gd, and dint want him to feel that we don appreciate his work...ohoh

compassrose

Hi Faith,

Hope that your sister can get the issue resolved with a happy ending. Dun think Jit will think that way..
All of us want to look the best on that day.

compassrose

For those who has went for their PS, how many change of makeup and hair style are we entitled to? Think i asked Jit that question before but i forgot about it.. ha ha.. blur me.

Can anyone help before i go trouble him again.

teddiebear

Hi Faith,

Just ask your sis to let Jit know about her concern. He is a very nice guy... During my fitting, I didn't like my tea dress that he did for me even after altering it again and again. In the end, I told I din want the tea dress and want to exchange for the kua instead. I felt very bad about it when I told him I want to change it. But he was so nice, he didn't say anything and let me change to a kua instead.
And my evening gown, I also ask him for additional beading on the detachable train to make it more grand (previouly, there were no beadings).... and he also did it for me....
A lot of people told me my evening gown was very beautiful.

so no worries, Jit will not be pissed if ur sis want to change the front design. :eek:)

hamsterden

hi fellow SL-ers..

Good to hear that Jit is such an approachable person...i'm going for the designing this Fri..can't wait!!!

Faith...hopefully everything turned out fine for your friend..

Compassrose...think most basic VG also charges about $1000... you can try Stefine Wedding..think their basic package starts from $800 and they are having promo...two couples sign up and get discounts..check out their website at www.stefine.com

compassrose

Hi Li Ann

Wow, didn't know VG is so expensive. Let me source around if I can enage a cheaprt one. If not, might have to go w/o one. Thanks for your reply.

Great. U will enjoyed the design session with Jit. He is fun and full of ideas. Remember to bring along pages of magazine and samples to show him. Good Luck! Share with us on experience when u are back..

Hi Teddiebear, My EG will have a detachable train as well.. Read it somewhere that it will make the EG more glam. For me, i like the long flowing feeling as i walk. My design is not ready till 4 - 5 months later. Can I take a look at at your gowns? (if u dun mind)

hamsterden

compassrose...actually hor...those that i've shortlisted may be the pricey ones...you can start by asking your friends...they can recommend you good ones...

teddiebear

Hi Compassrose,

I do not have any soft copy of the pic in the pc.... the files pretty big, all are in a cd...

Maybe the next time round, when u go to silverlinning, u just ask Jit to show u.
The colour of the EG is fuschia pink, halter neck bare back..... there are beadings on the train one.... my wedding was on 1st Jan 2006....

compassrose

Thanks ladies!

Teddiebear, maybe you can advise on the no. of hairstyle and change of makeup that we are entitled to during PS? Cuz from what i know is that we are given 1 for PS, AD (day) & AD (nite) plus 1 trial make up session. Normally, MUA will touch up the make up before we proceed to outside. m i rite?