Silverlining Bridal Couture

putise baby

Have discovered a new Bridal designer in town. His studio is called Silver Lining and the designer is Jit. He used to work for Dang (8 yrs experience) and this is his new business (just opened for 3 weeks)

I chanced upon the place as it is very near my workplace. His gowns are very elegant & sexy, with low backs. Yet simple, with clean lines. I personally like it a lot. Style is more like divine (thou workmanship, in my personal opinion is better) and kai.

Also another reason why I'm recommending him is that he is having a promotional package for $3,888 which includes:
MTM Wedding Gown
MTM Evening Gown (Can keep either the WG or EG)
MTM Tea dress (to keep)
2 MTM man suits (one to keep)
Hand bouquets for studio & actual day
Make-up for trial, studio & actual day
Car deco
Photos (by Leonard, wizards of lights)

I think its an excellent package as you get to keep a lot of stuff. Plus his designs are really very nice.

His website is www.silverliningbridal.com

I am planning to sign up with him, but as my wedding date is late 2003, so am taking my time.

If you girls like company to go visit his place, can contact me as I work nearby.

aa

Do you know if silverlining is only tied up with wizards of light only or some more other photographers?

putise baby

Hi AA,

As Silver Lining is still v new, Jit has only tied up with wizards of light. But he said that he is trying to tie up with more photographers like Andrew Tay (The Edge).

Anyway, if you don't like the photographer, can take that out of the package (deduct $1100) so package becomes $2,788.

aa

I'm pretty interested in this package. And we like the photographer too. Just want to know why Silverlining is only tying up with WOL, maybe we've the same taste!

However, I would like to know how much would it be if I take out some of the items and remain only the following.

MTM Wedding Gown
MTM Evening Gown (not keeping WG or EG)
2 MTM man suits (one to keep)
Make-up for trial, studio & actual day
Photos (by Leonard, wizards of lights)

Can I not keep the WG or EG because I dont think I'll be wearing it again. And I dont need a tea dress too.

putise baby

Hi AA,

ok, not sure if I'm 100% correct but if you dun wan to keep WG or EG, deduct $100+, and if dun need tea dress, its $200 less. Do you need flowers??

Actually, if you dun need whole package, can just use him to do the gowns for you separately. I think his WG only $900, EG $600, suit $350 (all ballpark figures)

Do you wan to visit his studio? It's at Liang Court. If you wan to, I can go with you.

mspiggy

Hello putise_baby,

did u use Jit as your designer??? I've actually seen his work and was impression with it. Quite happy with the overall service and package.

do u have any additional comments? like the markup artist etc??

aa

hi, may i know who do i call to make an appointment with silverlining? btw, any idea why jit left dang? was he the main designer in dang?

putise baby

Hi ms piggy & AA,

i've just signed up with Silver Lining 2 weeks ago. Took the package without photos 'coz not decided yet on which photographer to take... its $2488. and a correction on my previous msge, it's only 1 man suit not 2, but it's to keep

if you are interested to meet Jit, can call 63399439 to make appointment.

I think if you like simple, sexy gowns and are looking for value for money packages (i.e. not the bigger brand names like ted wu, tan yoong etc), Silver Lining is prob as good as it gets...

email me at [email protected] if you want to know more or like me to accompany you to see jit

jas72

Does anyone knows how much is the OTR package? Thanks.

jas72

yiyi

Hi putse_baby,

I've actually tried on a few of their gowns the last time they had a promo and I quite like their workmanship. H/ever, I'm quite hesitant as their gowns are all MTM and I'm not very creative. Does Jit give you ideas about the designs that suits you or you already had an idea of what you wanted?

Hi jas72, I believe they do not have OTR package as their MTM package is very competitive. Maybe putise_baby can help to clarify?

jas72

Hi yiyi

Thanks for your reply.

BTW did you go thru their photo albums? You like it?

jas72

bedsheet

I am interested in silver lining too. How should I travel there? How long this shop has set up? DO they have lots of OTR gowns?

Confused Bride

aa

you can take train to city hall. catch bus 195 opp. peninsula plaza. it'll first stop at clarke quay. next will be liang court n u shld alight here.

kenny

Hi, any feedback on this bridal boutique, would appreciate past and present brides to feedback on this boutique as we are considering of engagin this boutique. Thanks.

kilo

Me too would like to know more about this bridal boutique...anybody can help??

reno

I signed up with Silverlining last month. Its very new so not much off the rack stuffs but his mtm stuffs are very good.Personally I feel the gowns are as good or even better than Kevin Seah or Ted Wu.And the designer Jit is very friendly and helpful. Service is above average , what my husband like is that hes not pushy like some other bridal salons and very patient with me. I changed my WG design a few times and jit still didnt mind. So for now I give him a thumbs up. Heard hes also a nafa design lecturer.
ps: not a staff or affiliated to silverlining just really like his attitute and service so promote him a bit

kilo

hi reno
Thanx for the info. I would like to sign up with Silverlining too but have not make any appointment yet cos i'm still considering White Link too. So may i know what is included in your package??? If its convienent, would you please email me your package to [email protected]? Thank you.

cutiechar

I sign up with Jit last month and I have given him my designs..
He was a friend of my brother-in-law..he is a real nice guy..not pushy and I have changed my WG number of times and he din even grumble or complain..thumbs up for him..YUP! he is a lecturer at one of the Art school. His design are creative and quite fantasy but no worries..he don insist on his designs and he will be glad to follow your design..

I have in fact went down third time jus to discuss my design before I confirm anything and each session I actually discuss with him for about 2-3 hrs and me and husband feel very good abt his service.

thumbs up!

kilo

hi cutiechair
Do all gowns and suits are to keep? How about photography? Full package available?

rchtym

I am silverlining BTB also. I can say jit is really friendly and helpful. I even recommend my friend and she just placed her deposit with him last night. If you are not sure of what materials suits you, jit will actually go shopping with you and tell you what suits you.

putise baby

hi new Silver Lining BTBs,

i'm the one who started this thread and am happy to see that there are more SL BTBs now...

hi kisser... nice to see you here too

girls, my full lace WG is done and i just went for fitting last week... i'm very happy with my gown, it's exactly like i wanted it to be and the workmanship is v good. hope all those who have signed up with Jit will be satisfied with their gowns too and have fun in your wedding preps!!

cutiechar

Hi kilo

I signed up the package for $3288 which includes:

MTM WG
MTM EG
MTM TEA-DRESS(KEEP)
MTM SUIT AND PANTS(KEEP)
4 MAKE UP
BOUQUET
CAR DECO
PHOTOGRAPHY (select any from which he signed up with, I took photographer Lionel. His photoshots are not "taiwanese" shots which I dont like. He goes for those natural shots and he be using digital camera.guess its more natural..

I have spoke to Jit and find that he is more to the natural and trendy type e.g.(When I mentioned KUA, he freak out and says that he is anti-kua)..
you wont exepct him to tell you that eyelashes he charge how much lar..tat kinda..your invoice will be clear cut..anyway he is the boss..so no problem.he told me that his make up artist must not use wayang make up on the brides before he signed up with them.

bb

can i have a look at his gowns. if you have your pictures taken already can email me plss???

is he a friendly person? as he is a male, i find it embarassing to discuss my faults with him leh.

heard from a frd when you firs go to his shop, there is not gowns to try on. you have to go for 2nd fitting then he will draw your gown out. but isnt it abit risky? by doing that it means we have confirmed him as the designer.

care to share some comments and advise?

pls email me at [email protected] if you have pictures. thanks alot! : )

putise baby

cutiechar...

hmmm... the jit you mention doesn't sound like the jit i know... he has 2 kuas at his studio now... and he can rent it out to you if you wan for your actual day... i have a fren who's using him who will be renting it for hers...

also, can i confirm that your package actually allows you to keep BOTH the tea-dress AND the man suit? 'coz i know some brides who took the $3288 package and they can keep only 1, i.e. either the tea dress OR the man suit...

cutiechar

Hi baby,

yeah! I saw two kuas at his studio oso..he actually tied up wif the "kua shop" at Tanjong Pagar..neh tat one lor..by the name of "house of eqt...(dunno how to pronounce)"..hee..dats wat he says..dunno leh, the moment I say Kua, he say he is anti-kua but mayb becoz I din insist tat I wanted Kua.. ;)

my package cannot keep men suit and I requested...
how abt urs? : )

hi BB

hmm..I was allowed to try when I went to his shop the first time..he let me try 4 pieces but he started sketching after signing up..I find him quite friendly..initially my concern was that during the fitting,he has no assistant to help mi..but then my husband says he will accompany me and so far still ok I would say after meeting him the fourth time for my designs..

blurbride

I signed up with silverlining too!! so fun found btb that signed up with jit too. hes very friendly and obliging and service is excellent, i think cause hes new and hes eager to please too.
anyway i got to try a few of his gowns before i decided to sign with him. FH said i looked best there as we went to quite a few bridal salons already and we really like him. have yet to decide on which photographer to take though and hows his makeup artists any1 knows? well up to now i find his service excellent and i really like his gowns. will post more updates when i get to try my gown.

kookie

Hi Blurbride

Can share wat's the package you got at Silverlining and which photgrapher he's tied up with?

And must we make an appointment before going down? Wha his opening hours like?

So many qtns, paiseh paiseh.

kilo

Hi all brides
I'm so glad to see this tread alive again! That means i can know more about silverlining.

Hi cutiechar
Thanx for ur info. So i guess there won't be any hidden cost, right? I'm very worried about hidden cost thing. So have you try any of his gowns yet? Is this your 1st visit to the bridal shops? I've not been to any bridal shops to check out yet.

Hi reno
Looks like you are very happy with jit rather than kevin seah or ted wu. So glad to hear that he is not that hard selling type one.

Hi rchtym
I think i've seen your postings at femalebridesonline cos same nick. Are you the same person? Sorry...no offence...i'm just curious.

cutiechar

Hi Kilo!

No problem..I have try on his gown..4 pieces if not wrong..
I have been to silhoutte,golden horse award and milan but tried gowns with sih and milan but husband says silverlining not bad..although can be the same standard as sil but we r more comfortable with Jit..he is friendly and not pressuring...hee..

when is your wedding held? go and try try the gowns at any bridal..and you will know wat you want..e.g. I always tot tat Sih has the best gowns but after trying a few gowns then realise that Jit can produce the same effect..as well...

hey blur

which package you sign with Jit? care to share?

blurbride

hi cutiechar

yeah i tried silhoutte too but i find the off the rack gowns a bit old kind of like used many times leow.
i think i took the same package as yours. except mens suit dont get to keep i think.
hmm thinking a full lace wedding gown,jit says he will go with me buy the lace so pay for lace myself. he says approximately 500-700. cheaper that way i think cause i enquired with kevin seah full lace need to top up like 1500-2000?

errmm kookie yeah for jit needs to make appointment just give him a call lor.

putise baby

hi blur...

my WG is a full lace one loh...
jit went shopping with me for my lace at arab st. i paid $675 for 7m of french corded lace... but still ok compared to other BS which wanted to charge my $3000 just for that 1 full lace WG!!!

actually, i signed up with jit real early last yr so my package is slightly different from all of you... mine is the package w/o photos so is $2488 but can keep either WG or EG AND tea dress AND man suit.

i'm so happy to see so many SL BTBS!!

blurbride

hi putise baby,

hmmm may i know which makeup artiste you took? now i blur leow dunno which to take. wah $675 quite cheap leh. interesting...maybe go make appointment with jit go arab street see see. as for photographer i think i will take lionel as one of my friends took him when she got married and photos turned out pretty good.

kilo

hi cutiechar

I've not confirm the date for my wedding but planning to have it on oct 2004. How about yours?
Yah...gonna go down and have a good talk with Jit. Guess have to wait till after mother's day liao..Hopefully i can get the men suit to keep too.

Hi putise baby

Did Jit design your gown himself? How about your EG?

cutiechar

WOW! glad to see so many SL brides! five!

Hi blur

Yeah..I mentioned that I wanted full beaded dress and he actually says that he can select and we pay the materials but anyway I drop the idea..hee..(too lazy..just leave it to him)

Hi Baby

I am using Lionel oso coz he is my brother-in-law's somebody(hehe..cannot say to protect identity)and he be doing my actual day photoshots as well...keke...saw the pics Lionel taken at Jit's shop..quite ok..
when is your photoshot?mine is on Sept.. mayb we can exchange info..heee..: )

Hi Kilo,

my wedding date at Dec 27..yeah..good luck to you..hope you can keep the men suit as well! cheers!

cutiechar

haha..paiseh make a mistake in the photoshots..haha..baby din mentioned abt Lionel..its blurbride..keke..sorri.. :p

kilo

hi cutiechar
How many pics are you allowed to take back? Do they supply other outfits for the photo shooting?Are gowns designed by Jit all low back? The gown advertise in her world bride mag is beautiful. Love at first sight...hehee..
Paiseh...so many questions at one time.

putise baby

Blur,

i'm going to use Eric Tan for MU.
and i took a separate photography deal with Leonard.

kilo... you still got a lot of time to prepare for your wedding, so take your time
my WG is a design i took from Richard Glasgow and pass to Jit to "copy". EG is a design by Jenny Lee
in fact Jit din design any gowns for me... i basically know what type of gowns i wanted, Jit is more like a tailor of gowns for me :p i chose him 'coz i saw the workmanship on his gowns are very good
but i heard from my fren that his man suit tailor's workmanship not so good... i dun noe 'coz my FH has not made his yet.

cutie,
my PS in late Aug, and my wedding on 22 Nov-03 so 1 mth before yours

blurbride

wah wow the thread like overnight explosion.

i think all wedding designers are liek dat lah more like tailors cause when mtm most of the time the brides already have a rough idea on wat they want.

putise baby :
oh cause ur package doesnt come with photography.

cutiechar

Hi Kilo

I am allowed to take back my tea dress. I don have other outfits for PS other than my WG, EG and TD..mayb wear my ROM dress for PS..hehehe...

hmm.. his designs are more of low-back and he recommended alot of netting on the dress..my three dress all got netting behind but just that the designs will be different...something like divine couture..more on bare back..but then don worry coz his package got MTM so you still can decided wat u want at the end of day..no need low back oso nice..

hey suggest u go down and see Jit, then try his gowns and see if you look good or not..sometimes wat u see on display and putting on is different.. go and have the "feeling" and see how!! kekeke

: )

kilo

hi cutiechar
I love bare back gowns...hehee...Will probably go down after mom's day. Feel so excited now...

hi putise baby
Guess i gonna gather some ideas what i want for my gowns now...Hopefully jit will give some advise too...

jan

hi gals!

May i know for Jit's MTM package, which photographer does he tie up with? And how much is his package pls? Thanks!

rchtym

Hi kilo,
Yupe! You are right i am always at Femalebrides chatting. Hardly come in here, only once in a while drop by to visit this thread.

cutiechar

Hi Jan

I took the 3288 package.
He has email me his package list under promotion which ends in Feb 2003 but I am not so sure if the price is still valid..pls check with him on the price again..

Give me your email address if you interested ..hee...

Hi Kilo,

Yar bareback is nice I would say..but really have to spend time sourcing for designs and materials..I could not make up my mind I went down to Jit's place the fourth time yesterday just to confirm the designs.hehe..

hope u find his designs good after u seen him!

leo29

Hello gals, me also one of the SilverLining bride. Very happy to see we have our very own thread. Well done Putise_Baby!

Putise_Baby,

Hi, never expect to see you here! Busy women!

Rchtym,

Hi! I know you are from FBO. Very happening there also. Me so sad, don't know what happen to my account, cannot post in the forum. Try so many time until I gave up already. Sometimes when i'm free i will go there and read all yours posting.

jan

Hi cutiechar!

Thanks, i got ur mail!!

Yeah, his package is very comprehensive but since now he doesn't have promotion, guess it's more ex...

rchtym

Hi leo29,
You cab try to log in with different nick mah. I quite used to femalebrides and most of my friends are there too..

Hi cutiechar,
You can try to bargain with jit and see how? He may get softhearted and give you disc.

cutiechar

Hi Jan

go and try to call him and ask him abt tis..tell him tat u are rather interested in his promotion that is over but see if he is willing to give u the same price or not..

hee..hope u got an favourable reply from him.

Hi RCHTYM!

I think u are referring to Jan rite? hehe

jan

Hi cutiechar & RCHTYM,

Okie thanks ladies for ur advise, will prob visit him and see how is it..