Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

nee

Hi Jonic, apologise for the delay... here are the dishes i've tried last Fri. Its gg to be the same as AD but i am changing away dish no 6 to Pi Pa duck cos we dunno how to appreciate this particular dish despite the good comments :p

1. Deluxe Traditional Hors d’ Oeuvre
2. Shark’s Fin Soup with Shredded Chicken and crabmeat
3. Sliced Abalone with Sea Cucumber and Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetableseat
4. Steamed Star Garoupa “Hong Kong†Style
5. Sautéed Prawns with Walnut, Celery and Capsicum in X.O. Sauce
Deep-fried Spring Rolls stuffed with Diced Prawns and Yam
6. Marinated Chicken smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaves
7. Stewed Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetables with Yunnan Ham
8. Stewed Ee-Fu Noodles with Baby Boston Lobster
9. Sweetened Sago Cream with Mango

PP, I've told my coord my concern long b4 i signed up and she says she will talk to the florist and see wat can they come up with. The hotel have not even start to speak to the florist yet or vice versa...guess the new arrangment wont be finalise so soon...I am prepared to engage my sis to doll up the place myself.

lub17

PP - Huh have to wait till so long... coz all other hotels are having it so i wander if they are having theirs then i can consider ... sob sob

littlepanda81

Hi Nee, well, I am really surprised that they have not yet engage the florist since its already first quarter of the year. Mmm.. hope they really engage a good one with creative ideas. I think Sheraton will look great with eleborate flowers deco with the grand lightings.
Its a pity that we need to ask external help (engaging other florist which means extra cost) since other hotels already coming up with a lot of deco themes. Guess this is the part that Sheraton is lacking.

Bear - Ya, that is what she told me. I am also waiting for it. Talk to them first and see what they are offering so that you know if this is the hotel for you... their perks are not bad...

lub17

PP - Thanks for yr advice will do so soon
but still hoping that they have a wedding show soon to get better perks...

sassy_girl

Bear,

I'm also in the same situation as you, waiting for the wedding show to get better perks.

Btw, Sun Sun is really very efficient, I emailed her late nite yday for their 2008 packages and got her reply this morning!

Looks like this is already a good start.

I was thinking of going down to Sheraton during one of the Sat when they are preparing the ballroom for wedding to take a look...

nee

PP, i was very disappointed too cos i had pinned quite high hope to get the new arrangement, maybe not the same as the wedding show one...but when my coord broke the news to me last fri, my heart sunk to the rock bottom...tho most guests will not notice the decor, but i just couldnt say yes to the decor... me and HB rather leave the staircase bare then.

antistalker, can share more of ur pix or not

preci0usm0ments

hey nee, let me go home dig and see if there's more
dun be too disappointed. you can speak to the florist & see what they can do abt it.. for the stairs, i do agree i'd rather leave it bare than do with that ribbon
actually stairways is not really tat impt lar.. jus concentrate on the reception area & hall where guests will spend more time there

vonndav

hi bear..when your AD? Coz i noe Sheraton is really hot...so if yours is early 2008 i suggest u dun wait for the show especially if you wan weekends..

lub17

Mine will be on weekday so i guess i will need to go down one of the weekend to discuss with one of the coordinator.

Hi all - Any good coordinator to reccomend?

nee

sure antistalker, waiting for more of ur pix

Bear, my coord is Sun Sun and she is realli realli good..thumbs up for her... very very efficient lady

littlepanda81

Hi Nee, Yes, agree. Sun Sun is one of the best coordinators I met so far.
When is your AD? Did Sun Sun tell you when they will finalise the flowers? Maybe in April, so it still meet your timeline perhaps?

Bear, guess Sun Sun is the only co-ordinator I heard so far. You can just give a call to meet her.

nee

Hi PP, my AD in early May and she didnt mention when the new arrangment will be finalised cos i think she herself oso dunno when ... 1st quater over liao havent revise the theme... haiz...

jonic

Hi nee, maybe you can ask Sun Sun for other stuffs or offset some stuffs if you are going to get your own decor.

nee

ya i asked her b4, if i bring in my own florist, she will exchange wine for me... but i m not asking my sis to do up the entire area, more like touching up or get the appointed florist to concentrate on 1 area, then my sis do other area... but flower theme still the same lor.

littlepanda81

Nee, dun worry too much. I am sure it turns out fine. Me now preparing for my ROM. Are you going to solemize at their waterfall? Or you have done separately?

nee

thx PP, ya hopefully everything turns out nice

I've ROMed last Dec liao, supposed to be at the waterfall but was drizzling that morning, so i did it in a function room and proceed to lunch at The Dining Room after the solemnization

hippoeeyore

like to find out the basic floral arrangement @ sheraton? does they provide floral stands along the aisle? roughly how big is per centre piece for guest tables?

I may be engaging other florist to do up the whole place....

nee

Hi joey, i hv around 13 guests including myself and HB... total is around $700+ including rental for waterfall and lunch at Dining Room.

hippoeeyore, yes they do provide floral stand but i've yet to c the stand... u may ask ur coord to show u the pix.

hippoeeyore

hi nee, thanks.....a bit disappointed wf the centre piece. now getting quotation from the florist see how much the charges if i were to do up the whole ballroom n in-exchange wf other things wf sheraton.

nee

then i probably wont hv the chance to use the new theme liao if its in May...haiz... tot i still hv a chance b4 i signed up, now its realli at their mercy unless i top up which is the last thing i want to do.

nee

yup i agreed, but fear nt Sun Sun told me they are reviewing 1st week of april... hope in time for me to use the new arrangement

shann1978

Hi all ST BTBs,

Can anyone tell me what is the mon no. of tables required by Sheraton? Have shortlisted them but am only having 20 tables..would it be too few?

littlepanda81

Hi Shann,

It will be 25 tables for weekday and 30 tables for weekend. Hope it helps. Do email to Sun Sun. She will be able to ans all yr queries.

Hi Nee, pray hard for u that the new arrangement will be out asap.

jonic

Just wanna check with you all regarding the invitation cards.
ST only provide 70% of the cards and the inserts we have to pay ourselves right?
So where did you gals print your inserts?
Are you all using the printer recommended by ST?
Does ST provide us with the template for the inserts?

janyen

hi guys
i'm planning to hold my wedding at ST as well (tentative)
i'm meeting eileen on weds/thurs to do a site visit...

what are some of the things you guys managed to wrangle out from them after nego?

xuanxuan

Hi jonic

I printed my inserts from focal-ad. http://www.focal-ad.com

They are really very efficent ! Took them only 1 day for the printing of 300 inserts after confirmation of the template. The printer will let you view some samples of the template and you can choose from there. It costs $80 for 1st 200 inserts, subsequent @ $0.20 each.

Oh yes, please do go down to The Wedding Treasures to select your cards earlier. Coz I find they are rather slow, it took 3 weeks for the cards to be delivered to their store. And if you need extra cards or envelopes, it will take another few days to at least 1 wk or so to collect.

jonic

Hi little ant,

Thanks alot for the info! You mean the printer will have the template as in template with ST's name & address?

nee

agreed with little ant, i had a tiff back then with a staff at AWT.

I ordered my cards in Jan and was told to wait for 3 weeks for shipment, 2 weeks past and i called up and check, was told they need to check the shipment...they never get back... 3 weeks past, i called up again, they replied me the same thing, they need to check...but each time i called, they never call me back regarding the status... so i have to call them up again, but was advised that in charge will call me the very next day.

When i managed to speak to her, i was told that my cards will only be ready on 12 March???!!!! I was so pissed off cos she told me 'your wedding in May, so not urgent'... i blew my top back then, who is she to advise and tell me my wedding is in May hence my card is nt urgent?? I was told that 3 weeks sure i will get my cards, but i have to wait for 2 months cos the printer is closed for CNY...cos my card's design is locally embossed... so why in the first place i hv to wait for shipment since the card is locally done?? wasted my time then.

I called my coord up and think she is realli in great help, i got my cards few days before CNY...which means the AWT gets the printer to expedite for me, else i will be waiting for 2 motnhs just to collect my cards.

xuanxuan

Hi Jonic, you can request for a sample of sheraton's template from AWT. They gave me 2 samples, so I copied some of the words used. It will contain the address of Sheraton as well.

As for the chinese template, focal-ad did it for me. They just took some of my details and did up the template with Sheraton's address. They will let you view the artwork before they send for printing.

Hi Nee, ya its very annoying hor...I also feedback to Sun Sun regarding their service. I practically had to call them everyday to ask when will my cards arrive. And they do not deliver what they had promised, my cards were also dragged week after week. Are your cards the gold and silver one ? With embossing ? Longish card ? Hee, think we may have chosen the same leh .....

I had finally sent out the last batch of invites today. Everyone commented that the cards are very nice !!! Looks expensive and grand kekeke.

jonic

Hi nee and little ant,

Really thanks alot for the info! Think I better make my appt with AWT soon. So do we have to confirm our number of guests before we order our cards?

little ant, so when is your AD?

anlinna

Hi all. My HTB and i will be rom on 7july07 and actual dinner will be jan'08. I am interested in ST. Could any ex ST brides or to-be ST brides give me some advice? WE will arrange to meet Sun Sun one of these days. What should i ask when i see her? As in the perks and things to look out for? My HTB prefers Carlton and i prefer ST. Any comment? Carlton more of value worth and heard food a bit salty. I wanna have dinner at somewhere where it is not that common and having good food. Thus ST is my choice. However, many have the impression that ST is/looks very old. Another qn is, what is the market rate for angbao? I realised that in order to cover the married couple expenses is to give at least $100 as most of the hotel charge about $100pax including gst. But $80 still remains to be the trend. For those ex ST and ST brides to be what do you think?

xuanxuan

Hi Jonic, my AD is 28 Apr.....haha 3 weeks away, and so many things not settled yet

Actually, that time when I ask for the cards, I based it on the expected number of guests. But few weeks after, when the final list is out, there was an increase of tables, so we ask for the balance of the cards. But both cases, the delivery period is very very long....so try to confirm your guest list before asking for the cards, it will be more accurate for inserts printing too. I printed 250 inserts, and luckily, focal-ad gave me 50 more foc....so total had 300 ... and i used up every single one of them.

Hi Anlinna, welcome onboard !! Actually, ST's food is also rather salty leh...think most cantonese food tend to be salty lor...But ST's service is very good though...at least no complaints from me so far gee.. Oh yes, as for AP, its really hard to gauge, some of my colleagues actually gave $50 to another colleague's wedding at Orchard, I believe they knew the market rate but was not very willing to give...so it really depends on who you invite lor..

Sometimes relatives who are very generous or closer to you may actually give a lot more than friends or colleagues.

I still feel $80 is the trend, its lil hard for others to give AP of $100 unless they are closer to you or they are more generous type.

Think we cant stop others from giving how much, we can just buffer aside an amount of $$ for losses lor...

xuanxuan

Folks, for those getting married soon, have you chosen your suite ?? Any idea which suite is nice ah ?? San San recommends 2 suites from the lowest floor...but hmm, now come to think of it, think higher floors will have nicer views lor...and heard that higher floors are also more expensive :p

Also, she told me that the new decor will not be finalised till May..is that true ? Anyone managed to ask and confirm whether the new theme will be out earlier ? If its in May, think Nee have a chance to use it leh hee, so envy

littlepanda81

Hi Shann, her email is [email protected]

Little ant, oh, do you mean that they are renovating the suites? She never tell me leh... I thot suites are open to us, why do we need to pay extra in higher level floors?
Congrats ya, another 3 more weeks.
Are you taking the short or long walk in?

Anlinna, I find that Carlton is quite old also. Dunno, in terms of Branding, maybe Sheraton sounds better and Li Bai is famous for their food. Also, the lightings in Sheraton looks more grand. Now the only drawback is the deco and the L shape ballroom......Deoc wise, heard that they are changing.. Discuss with your HTB...
Know its hard lo. At first, I almost choosen Marriott, in the end, choose sheraton.... Marriott perks are not that good as compare, but deco wins all..Really depends at the end of day, what matters to both of u. Is it just food? Deco? Or pricing wise...
Attend more wedding shows ba.. and u learnt more.. hehe.
My 2 cents worth.

nee

little ant, my card is nt longish type... this is the one that i hv chosen...
471290.jpg
care to share urs

I've met up with sun sun ytd, but she told me not finalise yet, looks like i'm gg to use the ribbons on the staircase but we've already make our stand, me and HB rather go without decor on the stair case if new theme not out by then

jonic, i roughly hv the no of guests before i place order, try to get more if you are expecting to increase ur guest list... and also some for ur printer for testing if they required.

PP, dun think so they are renovating the suits, they just changed all the names thats all...

littlepanda81

Nee, thanks. Actually, did you see what are the 17 themes that they have? Yr card looks very unique.. something different from the rest of the wedding cards I saw.

Ya, just let her know to do without the ribbon. I think they will finalise June-July.. I guess...

share your feedback and photo with us after your AD hor.. :p very excited for you.. In may right?
Enjoy yr day ya.

xuanxuan

Hi PP

Nope, they are not renovating the suites. We can choose from any of the 17 suites, but I thought those at higher floors tend to be more expensive in terms of room rates, hence its more worthwhile getting the higher levels one :p

I am taking the short march-in, actually I feel that the short-in is not really very short, still ok for us lor. Furthermore, we have ard 40 tables, so it may be very squeezy if we take long march-in.

Hi Nee, wow ur card looks nice leh, very modern and sweet lor, did you pay extra for the ribbons ? Heard from Ginger that ribbons are optional items and we gotta pay for it if we want. Ok ok, let me go take the pics for my card and share with you ppl ya....Ya, we are doing without the ribbons at the stairways also, its super ugly

Nee, which suite you taking ?

jonic

Hi little ant,
Wah...so your AD is coming soon...don't worry...just take 1 thing at a time...I believe everything will be fine for you. Thanks for your advice on the cards! Remember to share your AD photos with us.

Nee,
It's a sweet card you got! Think I have to crack my head on my guest list now.

Just to check with you all, for example we have booked 25 tables, but on our AD we only occupied 24....so do we pay for 24 tables or 25? If we are to pay for 25 tables, can we keep the 1 table for later use or that 1 table is forfeited? Thanks!

anlinna

Hi thanks PP. We have gone through our list and we have like almost 300 guests. We estimated to have about 250 confirmed guests which is about 20-22 tables only..I love to have it at ST but i cant meet the mini table of 30 or 28...sobz. still waiting for Sun Sun reply...

nee

PP, little ant and jonic, thx ya my card is a bit diff cos me and HB think we shld make use of wat AWT provided cos some of their cards are realli unique so we selected something diff from the norm...that one is a sample given by AWT, i will get the ribbon on my own cos i didnt engage AWT for printing as their pricing is realli cut throat... the cards need to be printed first b4 tying on the ribbons, so unless i get AWT to do printing as well... anyway think they charge 50 cents for the ribbon on each card...i will tie myself lor cos i only gt 200 cards, still manageable and much cheaper =)

I only viewed a few but i didint take down the unit no but i dun like the 2 that were opened up for viewing during the wedding show...latest one i saw was Paris i think... shortlisted that cos its more spacious in this suite... b cos the dining and coffee tables are smaller than the other suites.

xuanxuan

Jonic , hee thanks thanks....think if the min table is 25 table, they will still charge you 25 leh, even though u only have 24.

Nee, they have changed the names of their suites now...heheh, think I'll just choose the highest floor one la kekeke

littlepanda81

Nee, u meant the co-ordinator actually brought u to a few suites? Thats really nice. I only saw one.. mm.. a bit dark. Not sure which room is that.

How many bottles of wines did u prepare?

Anlinna, see if you can talk to Sun Sun again to negoitate first. In the meantime, look around for other hotels for backup in case she said no..