Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

bookan

hihi ST BTB,

Just a little note: I went for site visit 2 times and really like the grand ballroom. Deco wise, U can request for additional flowers no problem. I find the deco good enough too... As for service, Sansan is prompt and nice. Have no problem at all too. Generally, so far so good :D. Also, LiBai's food is a rave according to my peers and relatives

Felin, Im kinda lucky. Need not have 3o tabs to use the grand ballroom

preci0usm0ments

hi PP, mine is the short march in
you can request your guests to remain seated if you're worried that your guest cant have a good view.. i'm a bit KS, i requested them to be seated and also did a live feed to be sure that ALL my guests can have a good look and my nice nice gown hahaha

littlepanda81

Hi antistalker,

Thanks for sharing. How many tables did u have? If all the guests are seated, all of them are able to view your match in? How was the food and service so far? Did you top up a lot for flowers?

preci0usm0ments

mine is a small wedding, only 25tables. none of my guests complained they can't see us marching in. as for the live feed, u can talk to your videographer. some of them may have ready long cable. else, i think sheraton does charge for it.

i've topped up $500 for the flowers. u can show some floral arrangement you prefer to the florist and get her to quote you

tons of praises on the food! no worries at all! jus need to remind them to serve it HOT..

preci0usm0ments

my PG mentioned the following, jus to share..
long march in, photos focus on the couples, cause ceiling lower, can't take far shots.
short march in, photos allows to include the surrounding ambiance

littlepanda81

antistalker, really happy that u said tons of praises on the food. hee.
What did u select for food? Care to share more of your photographs? Did u take the waterfall shots?

I guess u did not have much deco on the stage as well right? How was the ambience? Is the banquet manager good?

Thanks for all your tips! Hee. BTW, how many bottles of wine did u use? I think I might have the same no. of tables as yours. Planning on Weekday. Yrs weekday or weekend? I hope not to lose a lot of money on banquet. My friend lose 10K on wedding dinner. Scary...

preci0usm0ments

PP, i'm not sure if there's a change of menu, but these are wat i had for my wedding:
1. Deluxe Traditional Hors d’ Oeuvre
2. Shark’s Fin Soup with Dried Scallop and Bamboo Piths
3. Sliced Abalone with Sea Cucumber and Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetables
4. Steamed or Pan-fried Canadian Cod with Garlic and Spring Onion Sauce
5. Sautéed Prawns with Walnut, Celery and Capsicum in X.O. Sauce
Deep-fried Crabmeat Balls coated with Almond Flakes
6. Marinated Chicken smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaves
7. Sautéed two varieties of Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetables, topped with Bamboo Piths
8. Stewed Ee-Fu Noodles with Baby Boston Lobster
9. Red Bean Paste with Glutinous Rice Balls with Black Sesame Filling

i din do any shots ard the hotel, cause we arrive quite late and i din even have time to Zzzz before the evening makeup starts again

i din do anything to the stage since the backdrop is already SO orbit and there's nothing they can do abt it, so no point spending to make it look beta :p our focus was more on music and flowers
overall ambience is good! thumbs up!

no worries, the banquet manager was of great help! he'll guide you, tell u when to do what, all you have to do is relax, enjoy the nite and leave things to him

mine is a weekday wedding too!!!! we only had bought 25bottles of wine and all were finished without additional. *lucky* i think that's the good thing for weekday, guests arrive & leave early and drink less :p

oh, ya.. some of our AP really CMI, there's a fren who only gave $20-40
lucky close frens and relo gave more to help cover up. erm.. most of our frens did ask how much it was per table, they'll gif accordingly, else, b like me, more thick skin, go tell everyone now wedding not cheap abt 1k+ per table, we SOOOO poor liaoz kakakka think they'll get it hahahaha

littlepanda81

Antistalker, yes, they have lower the price and instead of 9 dishes, they change it to 8 dishes on weekdays.

Ya, agreed with u that the stage is Orbit. Very plain.
That why i think i will top up the flowers. Great to hear that everything went well except for the stage deco.
BTW, anything for me to look out?

Did u break even? I hope I can. Just Pray hard.
Most likely going to choose Sheraton. I am still looking around to see if there are any wedding show.
U have been very helpful. Thanks a lot!

kellyj

I din top up on the flowers for my dinner. Mine was the gold-themed with red roses. It looked simple yet elegant. Pple sang praises abt the decor n flowers.

Most of the flowers were taken away by my guests. The roses were really pretty, big bloomed kind...

littlepanda81

Hi Kelly, really? I went there for a site visit one time and found that they have very few flowers stands and no theme (Simple). Was a bit disappointed as we compared them with other hotels like Oriental/Marriott (They have a couple of beautiful themes)

Any photos to share?

preci0usm0ments

no prob PP, we all faced the same prob - STAGE ( & maybe u orbit spongy ribbon along the stairways) :p hahahaha maybe sheraton should really do something abt it!

oh yes, i heard abt the package revision! heartpain ah.. mine was in Dec could have gotten the cheaper one kakaka.. i dun think there would be much prob to break even esp when urs is the lower package one.. most of the guests still gif ard 80 - 100. and i'm sure closer frens will gif more

to be honest, we only wori over the deco and minor stuff b4 the wedding, but on that day itself, u really WUN have any time for that! everything happens so fast, u wun have time to notice hahah jus sit back & relax! b a happy & pretty bride

littlepanda81

Antistalker, yes, totally agreed with u and the comments on the website. Yes, I saw their dirty ribbon and the miserable flowers deco. Coz their ballroom is quite big and it will look quite empty if there are not enough flora arrangements.I have already feedback to the Co-ordinator.

The coord said that they are coming up with new flowers arrangements soon. Hope they really come out with something nice. Should refer to what others hotels came up with. With the Grand lighting and spacious ballroom + romantic deco, I am sure a lot of brides will love it.

They have changed the carpet and the wallpapers. The rest still waiting for changes. Well, I think they are renovating section by section. Some parts of the hotel are really old.

Hows yr suite? Did u select the room yrself? They have different themes right?

preci0usm0ments

yup, with sufficient flowers the ballroom will look lovely
i was lucky my wedding was near xmas, hence i do without the ribbons since there were xmas deco along the stairs which are good enough hehehe

wow! seems like its lucky to wed this yr! cheaper package and nicer flowers! should have dragged mine to this yr :p

i din choose the suite cause i dun know what others they have. Mine was Havana, nothing special, cause i told them i dun wan scary looking ones, no figurines and no scary paintings hahahaha i think they have 17 themes altogether. but i saw from a pic, they have a real romantic one..still wondering which room that was.. erm...

littlepanda81

Yes, that means more money to top up the flowers.
Everything also need money. haha.

I shall wait patiently on what they offering for the flower arrangements. Really hope they did some research on the current trend now.

BTW, all your guests can see the projector clearly?

icic. I dun think can choose the suite but still can check out the suites. The romantic one? Is it the Edinburgh Suite Bedroom? European style? Sheraton website has it.

Did u do the solemization at the hotel waterfall too?

bizibee

Hi precious:

Is your food nice? Just went for food tasting recently... The food serve is very salty... How your??

For the sharkfin soup, did u see sharkfin served inside the soup....

kellyj

Hi PP,

My guests were able to view the projector clearly as it was strategically placed on the stage.

Our suite was the Athens. We dont quite like it. Hubby felt that it was a bit "cold" looking.

We did our solemnization on stage, right after the first march-in as firstly, we didn't have much time in the afternn and secondly, the auspicious time was right after the 1st march-in.

preci0usm0ments

hi PP,
i think this is the one
460469.jpg

so far, no one has complained they cant see the projector, guess should b fine

think Kelly is rite, esp if you're having the tea ceremony on the same day. it'll be very tiring & rush to have the solemnization on the same day. u have to plan carefully. doing it on stage if a good idea! the stage wun look that dull
and u'll have more time for the guest to WOW over ur gown

Joey, yup, the food quite salty during our tasting too. but we told the coord during our tied-up and she took note. food served on actual day was good! everyone loves it
my sis did comment that the shark fins was not visible as compared to our food tasting. maybe you wanna highlight this to the coord. tell them to keep up with their standard :p or write in the note during foodtasteing 'more fins pls" hehehehe

of yes!!! keep a copy of the note u wrote during food tasting! mine was lost!! and i had to recall all the comments i noted

nee

Hi antistalker, how was the Marinated Chicken smoked with Jasmine Tea Leaves, this sounds like a very special dish, i m gg for my food tasting next Fri and need to submit my dishes to coord on Monday

preci0usm0ments

hey nee! long time no see
foog tasting already! excited?
tis dish has a real special taste, the tea fragrance when u chew the meat *drool* all of us love it! i think u have to gif it a try too

littlepanda81

Antistalker, Yup, I saw that suite on the website. I like it as well. But funny, they cant let us choose the suite? Esp, they have 17 themes...

Heard that a lot of hotels food is salty during food tasting. Dunno why. I shall heed your advice and take note.
Thanks ya!

nee

hey antistalker, ya long time no see, was busy working lately, finally back on track for my preparation... ya feel excited but at the same time worried cos we dun get to eat much during our AD, so we wont know how the food is like during that day until the feedback from family and frens
plus i scared i've chosen the wrong dish haha...

the suite u stayed in exactly the same abience we c from the pix here? looks nice but oso dunno which 1 i preferred, cant realli tell how does the suits looks like from the description my coord gave me.

Janice, my AD is in May, need to have a meet up session earlier so that parents and in laws can discuss GDL over the food tasting

PP, ya coord told us we cant choose, we can only tell her which one we preferred and she put up the request for us, maybe diff dept thats why.

bizibee

Hi precious/nee:

Can we ask the coordinator to need us view all the suite and from there we choose...

Some suite look scary... hehe...

Precious, thank for your food tasting advice. will highlight to my coordinator.. hope they will some do action on this....

Thank...

preci0usm0ments

PP / Joey,
according to them, the rooms are usually booked, so its tough to show us all 17. but u can ask them to email u the description of all the suite and tell ur coord which are the ones u prefer.

i heard from a fren working in another hotel saying, usually food tasting session not as nice as AD cause usually the chef cooks in BIG portion, hence not good in judging for 10pax hahaha not sure how true, but jus joint a comment to be safe

hey nee, dun wori, most of the food taste great
+ve feedback from guests
did the coord highlight which are the popular ones? i got her to do that for me, so i put those on priority.
by the way, even if u have time to eat tat day, u wun have time to taste it! hahaha i was jus swallowing watever i'm given then rush of to change & for pics taking..

littlepanda81

Antistalker/nee,
Your tips are very helpful to us. Seems like there are a lot of wedding shows now. Not sure if Sheraton is going to have one soon..mm..

Thanks for sharing so much.. Just pray that the new flora arrangements are nice.

Nee, are you using the new flora arrangements?

nee

Hi Joey, antistalker is rite... its kinda diff to arrange cos during peak season, the suites are full and i've viewed a few but not to my liking. To make things worse, they have changed the names for the theme, i dunno which were the one i have previously viewed. If u gals view any suite u like, pls take down the unit no.

antistalker, she didnt highlight to me leh... or maybe i didnt ask her oso... ya lor sure gt no time to taste... just pour watever into our mouth haha...

PP, the new arrangement is not finalise yet leh.. i m still waiting, hopefully its much nicer, hated the ribbon...

nee

Antistalker & Kelly, how did the servers present their first dish to your guests after your 1st March in?

Did the servers individually portion out the food to the guests?

preci0usm0ments

nee, call her and ask her to highlight to you. can save your worries

yea!! the ribbons sucks hahahaha i chose to do w/o them..

talk abt first march in.. hai.. i chose a lively music but the servers came in half dead hahahaha then my hubby commented "u wan them hop in meh" *faint* maybe u can highlight this to the banquet manager too

erm.. if i remember correctly, it was served individually. there were different comments going on, i'm quite confused too.. some say they serve too slowly, and my frens ended up "family style" & some says they serve too fast *blurz*

nee

antistalker, ya u r lucky cos that time gt X mas decor along the staircase and that was really grand but i din manage to capture much of the decor in my PS

hopefully the new theme and decor is finalised by then during my wedding... i will highlight to my coord this Fri on the decor issues... but guess little she can do abt it if the new theme is not confirm yet unless we top up

How many songs we need to prepare for our banquet? Do we need to have songs for cake cutting and champagn pouring besides the 2 march in?

preci0usm0ments

nee, yup yup, i'm lucky the xmas deco is nice

i used 20 songs for the whole nite, but tat's not enough. if u dun wan your songs to be repeated, i think u need abt 30-40 to be safe.

i dun have cake cutting, but i think u do need songs to both cake cutting & champagne pouring.

violetcrystal

Hi antistalker,

Can i just check with you, for the songs chosen during march-in & throughout the dinner, did you choose those with lyrics, or just melody kind?

Thanks, just trying to gather some opinions. =)

preci0usm0ments

violet, i only chose songs with lyrics for march-in & champagne pouring.. the remainings are instrumental
for the guests to relax

if u wanna choose songs with lyrics, i suggest u get abt 30-40 songs.. i attended my cousin's wedding and he's playing the same song whole nite
my sis & i joked tat we wun wanan hear tat song for the rest of the yr :p

nee, my song not tat nice, it's too long for the short march in hehehehe

sassy_girl

Hi ST BTBs,

I'm intending to hold my wedding banquet somewhere during the 2H of 2008 and ST is one of my preferred choice, after having read so much compliment about the food!

Does anyone know when will the next ST wedding show be? and if ST is already open for bookings on 2H of 2008?

nee

hi antistalker, thx so much for sharing all ur experience with us... i will start my disucssion with my coord this evening... hope to highlight to her all the bits and pieces so that the banquet will turn out good

as for the song... will take times to find them, dun want it to dampen the ambience for the night
not sure if the hotel will provide any CD if we dun provide :p

nee

hi gers, back from my food tasting on Fri, thumbs up for the food and not too salty except a few particular items...but thats ok i think.

But a very sad thing is that the new flower arrangement is not finalise yet, in fact they havent even start to discuss with the florist.. damn sad...worse case i may hv to go for the ribbons along the grand staircase
kao_frustrated.gif

jonic

Hi nee,

What were the dishes you tasted? Are they the same as what you are having on your AD?

Oh no...seems that they are quite slow in finalising their flower arrangement....dun be too sad...hope they can get it finalise soon. So this means you haven't confirm your decor right?

Btw, did they provide a room for you to wash up etc during your PS there?

littlepanda81

Bear, not sure. She told me it is not confirmed yet. Maybe May or July. Its a long wait...

Nee, did she say when she is confirming? Did u tell her your concern about the ribbon and flora arrangments? Let her know and see if she can do anything?