Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hello gals..

WOW.. seems like everyone is going the DIY ways..

*stressed*.. can share with me where to get those materials for DIY as well as where to source for wedding favor? is anyone out there considering to buy from over seas? if can hor..

i was thinking.. we all can buy together in bulk.. hahaha.. cheaper.. but.. the disadvantages is .. we all might have different taste and likings..

cos most of our dates are very close by.. we almost can do the preparation together.. as well as shopping.. hehehe... do the "donation box" and many others...

hi charlie chat..

that time i ask stefanie for the animation montage.. u know how much?? $850 bucks and above... i can get another free table wor..

haha

hello kiki..

i will be going for the BOW too!!=) hopefully can get some ideas there!

yup i agree, the feeling of DIY is so different and satisfying

I had wanted to print my church program booklets, and was quoted by 2 shops of at least $500 bucks, for very plain paper.

So I went to popular bookshop and got some nice glossy coloured papers for covers and coloured papers for inside. And guess what, I only spent less than $60. Moreover, I need not have the hassle of checking and proof-reading with the shop.

... if only I can do that for the wedding invitation cards, I might save a lot of trouble. But can't as the cards are not the normal A4 size.

I'm glad you all enjoyed the wedding show. I think you still can get the candel gel for your wedding favour if any of you still prefer it. Do check with your wedding co-ordinator. As most of yours only a few months after mine. I heard that they're only slowly phasing out the candle gel and chocs.

...and we may hv different wedding theme...quite hard to buy in bulk...nevertheless we can still share ideas on where to get what...

agreed...photo montage, animation, and other wedding services are really exp...haha may be i can consider changing line to offer wedding services.

anyway...does anyone know where to buy nice nice fabric...the type of fabric to make ring pillow etc??

Wow, u all quite creative ah...But true, can save a lot of $$..

Kiki, tink can go spotlight to look for fabric. They shd have a wide range of variety there. I also signed up for the goodie bag but duno eligible or not cos they say while stock last or smth right? Which day will you be going down?

thanks Sther, i will go spotlight tis weekend.

huh if it is while stock last then muz go early. i tot once registered as early bird means confirm got goodie bag...hehe me very cheapo hor.

intended to go on sat but looks like i may drop by on fri during lunch (my company nearby)...hehe be super early bird!!!

Hay KIKI!

I got the so call tkt to go to the bow leh but been sooooo the busy. So u went hw issit? Anything gd to share?

Wow, ur wedding is just a week aft me... think can share with u more by then... =)

Hi Moon Moon...

u r the one who won the kowloon package!
so good! me n my FH were aiming on that prize leh!

anyway the BOWS is this weekend leh...haha maybe u busy so thought it was over.

hehe...most of us here are Dec brides...so whoever go food tasting or floral deco discussion with rasa's in-hse florist...must share with us what's good/what's bad/and ideas hor!!! (",)

wah moon moon..

lucky u.. i was crossing my fingers for 2nd prize leh... hehe

if ur gog before ur wedding.. u can actu recce for your kua there.. very very nice.. or even extend ur stay n take wedding shoots too!!

anyway have u gals booked ur bridal package yet??
i booked mine right after rasa wedding show.. lazy to search ard for one.. everything chop chop!! so now can concentrate on losing weight lolz

hello Moon moon

congrats.. u are so lucky.. i din won any thing.. i am aiming for 3rd prize instead.. haha...=)

hi charlie chat..
which bridal did u sign up with? is it x-zen who is holding their show there?

hello gals..

u can also go to arab street to source for many fabrics... and there is a huge textile wholesale nearby.. and there are lots of craft shops.. and usually muslims will go there to buy stuff for DIY.. and we know that they usually produce very detailed and nice stuff for their weddings..=)

CN

nope din sign up x-zen.. i went bridal concept at liang seah st.. but with studio sago photography, so more exp.

but i fell in luv with 1 of x-zen gown tat come out in e begining.. lacy one, n so envy the model sooo thin haha

hey if we all DIY, we can actu arrange to go down arab st together mah!! ^^ hehe no idea whr it is!!
cos bring FH along no use.. he color blind haha

hi purplebride...thanks in adv! so fast...u already going for yr food tasting...so excited.

hi gals...i hv already booked my BS and PG early tis year...most "big" stuff settled...so now concentrate on searching for JP and "small" details.

Hiee gals,

I'm new, and been checking out this forum lately...glad to noe so many rasa BTB

Sther,
I've booked and placed deposit during the bridal show as well...if you don mind share info, lemi noe ur email eddy ya...

hello gals..

sure no problem to get material together... but think firstly we got to do homework first..

we can surf net.. go library or mazagines to source for wedding preparation ideas.. then we can share out..

burden not that heavy too.. who knows one of us may strike the perfect ideas?

Been reading the site for a while and finally decided to register to add on to the list which kiki compiled. My solemnisation's at the lawn area and AD at Pavilion on 5/1/08. =)

Hello all...

wow, so many congrat! Tks Tks! Hee...

Actually we hope for the 1st prize so can save alot... 2nd prize we still need to buy air tkt go. Hee...

Hi Charlie Cat! Me will go after wedding lah.. cos nw need to save $$$ loh.... hee... if go HK me sure shop like siao... hahaah...

Hay Kiki!

U mean we can get to choose the theme? But my co-ordinator say no theme 1 only can choose flower... isit true?

By the way when u plan for the food tasting?

CN, wat is the 3rd prize? Treatment? U kn me and my hubby never so lukcy 1 leh. Hee... We are happy lah cos dun think will ever spend so much to stay in a hotel. =)

Wow, ur wedding still very long... so start planning liao?

moonmoon> i very practical one.. the 3rd prize is the local shang-ri-la 2 night 3 days stay..

cos i thought i want to exchange for more free stuff.. hahahahaha.....

mine is on the 2nd week of Jan... cos i wanna get most thing settle.. then now is the most "xiong" part..

THE HOUSE!!

hopefully.. i can done everything by june.. cos after july.. stuff getting more expensive..

hihi moon moon...

hehe...wat i am referring to is my own wedding theme.
for e.g. if going for a traditional chinese theme, then all wedding stationery will be oriental style.
hehe...for me, still considering going towards seaside theme or fairy-tale theme...once decided then hv to buy matching materials for my DIY items (",)

hihi...welcome ms volcano!

07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther - Pavilion
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

hi moon moon...my food tasting in sep (3 mths b4 AD shld be juz nice).
how abt yours? your AD is 1 week b4 mine so food tasting ard same time?

Wow... this thread is getting hotter... :p
glad to see so many BTB choose rasa for AD...

what are your themes ah? can share? cos i m still thinking what theme to choose...

What are the necessary things to source for? sorry but i am really a bit lost liao... besides invitation cards are there some more things to source for?

hi ms volcano

i wanted AD on 5th Jan at first.. but full house so took 16th Dec!! when did u booked rasa?? muz be v early..

i got no theme.. only e stationery n flowers in purple only..
btw i'll be gog in JB city square to find whrs the printing shop.. though still v early hehe.. once started preparing.. like cant stop le..

Wow CN,

Where is ur bird nest? My will only be ready in 2010... hee... so not xiong... got time to save for reno... but also need to spend $ buying furniture for the bridal room lah!

hi charlie cat,

Oops, haha, I met up with the Rasa coorindator quite some time ago in 2006 but only confirmed in Jan. That's the only date for us 'coz we've family coming from overseas and it must be during their break. Sorriz!

Anyway, don't really fancy the current Rasa decor, guest book and wedding favours etc...wondering whether to hire/purchase from outside parties...but must spend extra $$...thinking of getting choc fondue too...

Think not too early to start preparing for wedding in Dec lah, I'm also slowly starting to look around. Haha, this is so exciting! =)

Hi Kiki!

Wow... ya hor must plan a theme leh. Me also no idea leh... =) Maybe we share share idea lah... I wanna have a relaxing theme...

Actually hor wanna have black tie which mean everything black then wear RED RED... hee.... but u kn lah... 1st = parents side may not like it, 2nd = Shangri la dun provide wat I need. Extra things = extra $$$ mah...

I haven plan the food tasting yet leh. Maybe like u early Sept loh.

ms volcano

hehe no worries.. i gave 7 dates to my cordinater.. only left 16th dec, somemore is a couple changed to another date.. if not cant be rasa bride liao! lolz

n i only confirm early march.. can get dec date very 'heng' leh..

be prepared to fork out $300-400 for choc fondue.. imo i rather save it for honeymoon

moon moon

give u some ideas...
1.make ur stationaries all red n tie black ribbon
2.buy red cover guest book n tie black ribbon
3.have all red roses n tie black ribbon

haha.. visually quite interesting ya.. can add some gold trimmings.. more glam mah

hello moon moon..

my birdnest in jurong.. just some advice .. better set aside more money for house.. hack this hack there.. must pay.. now things are $$.. plus indonesia dunw ant to sell granite to us.. now all price SOARing...

hello charlie-chat..

wat can we find in JB? me kinda of interested to get some stuf there.. but me dunnoe how to "shop" there..

very "mountain tortise" one..

Hi Charlie Cat!

Wow, great idea.. me love red roses and wanna have red and black theme... u leh? Any idea?

Have u got ur bridal package?

So ur wedding is earlier than mine... we can plan together liao.

Hi CN!

Mine is Geylang Serai which will only be ready by 2010 so long way to worry but also must save lah! Hee...

urs is resales?

hello Moon Moon..

nope.. both of us won't be getting new house.. i will be staying at my FH house.. anyway... he is staying there alone.. hahaha..

i haven thought of any theme to cather to my liking.. actually. i want to put sunflowers.. then realise that this flower is not suitable for night settings..

any recommendation of flowers for night events? and what color shld we use ?

CN

actu gog city square mainly for the printer shop for wedding cards inserts.. heard its cheaper than sg.. so gog recce ard there..

n maybe get the stationeries there.. cos i stay woodlands so go JB nearer.. prob gog good friday.. will update if got any lobang

so maybe u can cordinate ur flowers with your EG.. depending on wat colors u choose, eg green/yellow EG tink can match sunflowers bah?? though it'll cost more..

moon moon

im tinkg of purple with black lace theme.. visual anna sui.. but can only finalise when i choose my EG, so can match..

im took bridal concept.. gog choose gown early may.. wish me luck!!

Hi Charlie Cat,

any recommendations on where to shop for wedding accessories and stationery? I seldom go JB but I heard that the stuff there are much cheaper... planning to go and take a look one of these days...

me also took bridal concept... just happened to walked past only but end up sign up with them... think their designs not bad, quite like the designs...

icecherry

wah same same!! whos ur cordinator?? mine is may.. n i'll be gog choose my gown in a mth's time.. so excited. when's urs?? maybe can see each other there!!

my pre-wedding shoots will be early aug.. before the 7th mth. but i din take their in-house photographer.

so now concentrate on exercising.. i just went to courts n found the aibi thigh excerciser for $300!! haha contemplating to buy for my flabby thighs n butt ahaha!!

oh btw i oso dunoe where to shop in JB.. except for the printer shop in city square.. so also be gog in to recce ard..

Hi Charlie Cat,
u must be very excited huh.... did u try on any gowns when you went there the last time? Nice? hehe... actually i dunno who's my coordinator cos when i signed up i talked to jasmine and stella... then someone called me to fix a date for me to try the ROM gown and i think her name is Karen... dunno whether she's my coordinator...

my AD in jan so will be choosing my gown in Aug/Sept... hope they have nicer designs....

hmm... u choosing A-line gowns or slim kind?

u din take their in-house photographer for AD? May i know the reason? cos i was thinking of asking them to add on to the package as its more convenient.... but still considering cos haven seen their work yet...

icecherry

i din try any gowns cos she told me apr will have 'new gowns'.. i'd be choosing a-line cos more flattering mah..

i took outside PG cos i prefer his style rather than the in-house one.. wats ur package like?? can share?? package without PG def cost more cos tats the only thing they can earn $$$ from when u top up photos..

lets say the PG's worth $1000 in ur package.. if u dun want PG, they will deduct at most $500 from ur package..

ur AD in Jan, u only choose gown in Aug?? so ur PG prob in Nov lor..

HI Charlie Cat,

My package includes PG, i think that's the standard package (OTR gowns) but it doesn't include AD photography... today i just called and check and if we want AD photographer need to top up $750... din ask exactly what they include... maybe i will call again to find out more about the details...

I 'm not sure when i will choose the gowns but my PG is somewhere in sept/oct.... so i think maybe june/july will have to choose the gowns...

Oh ya, they also include ROM gown and i was told that we can use the trial makeup for ROM... but i m still considering leh...

who have u choose for PG? can share? maybe u like to PM me the details?

hi icecherry

bridal package usu wun include AD photography.. anyway i took their AD PG(steven) oso $750 cos saw the sample album not bad lar.. there're ofcos cheaper ones but haf to see their standard oso.. eg whether their wide angle shoots good anot..
it is quite standard, 300pc in 4R album + VCD

my pre-wedding shoots will be taken by studio sago abt $2k.. wat other details u need??

hmm... maybe i will need to go down and take a look again... cos that day just tried gowns no time to look at others...

still sourcing for AD photographer...

My FH and I are thinking of having our wedding banquet at Rasa Sentosa. However, we're anticipating some transportation problems due to the lack of car park lots in the Hotel Compound, and the nearest other carpark is quite a distance away. Will like to get all Rasa Sentosa's brides and brides-to-be's opinion on how they will be arranging/have arranged the transports for their guests. Thanks.

Hi Musie,
welcome! Not to worry, coaches will be included in the package... can choose the pickup and dropoff locations...transportation is not a problem...

Hi Musie, agree with IceCherry, Rasa provides many modes of transport. If yr guests are driving in, they must come early if they wana park in the hotel, cos there are only 119 lots if im not wrong. If they wana park at the beach carpark, fee is $1 ( not waivable) and there will be coaches there to pickup yr guests at 20 mins interval time. These are the same coaches that departs at SPI building at Harbourfront city. Alternatively, they can wait for the beach train, but they have to walk up the slope to the hotel themselves...

Btw, do u all know when shd one source for their bridal package? My AD is march next year and my fren says shd start sourcing now, but my FH seems to be in no hurry, saying sept then go source. Haiz...Any good recommendations u all have?

Hi gals, just did my food tasting today. Over all, it's good, especially the portion, it's more like for 11-12 people (they confirm that it will be this portion during AD and not for food tasting only). Here's the feedback on the dishes.

1. Rasa's Deluxe Wedding Appetizer Platter (Prawn with Avocado & Fruit Salad, Golden Seafood Rolls, Shark's Fin with Scrambled Egg & Crabmeat, Jelly Fish with Coriander and Chinese BBQ Pork
- We didn't quite like this dish, though it looked rather normal. there's no avocado & fruit salad, and also no BBQ Pork on most of our plates, except a few. We also didn't like the scrambled egg, as when it's kept for too long, it began to turn slightly green.

2. Braised Shark's Fin with Sea Cucumber & Crabmeat
- This dish is yummy, no complains, portion bigger than most wedding banquet l've attended. Sea-cucumber was also abundant here.

3. Steamed Chicken with Chinese Herbs in Lotus Leaf
- Was a little disappointed with this dish today as it's suppose to be very good. The chicken was tough. However, they say that on AD they'll cook much longer, as they won't be in a rush like today. So gals, if you're considering this dish, remember to ask them to steam for a longer time.

4. Steamed Fillet of Snow Cod Fish with Black Beans, Garlic and Soya Sauce
- Excellent. Huge portion too. Everyone gave an A++

5. Wok-fried Prawns with Butter and Scallions
- This dish was quite tricky, coz my in-laws and parents prefer the hua tiao prawns, rather than the butter, as the older generation thinks that butter don't go with prawns. But personally, I like it as I find it tasty, hua tiao will be plainer, but can bring out the flavor of the prawn better.

6. Sliced Abalone with Spinach and Mushroom
- This dish is probably the worst one we've tasted tonight. Everyone didn't like it. The abalone was sliced very thinly, each one had a piece, and lots of starchy spinach. In fact, they portioned one slice per person, but some had two, and others had none. We'll definitely opt out of this dish, and probably change it to scallops or sea cucumber with brocolli and carrots.

7.Fragrant Rice with Chicken & Chinese Sausage in Lotus Leaf
- Very nice. Not that kind you won't finish because you're too full.

8. Scented Yam Paste with Gingko Nut
- Out of this world!!! big portion and lots of Gingko Nuts as well

9. Chinese Tea
- We had oolong tonight, but on actual AD, Jasmine tea will be served.

Red Wine
- It's pretty normal, would probably give it a 7/10. It's that kind that people won't complain, but also won't sing praises of.

We felt that the food is good, and we're happy with most of the dishes. So gals, don't worry, I think we've made the right choice about choosing Rasa.