Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi Moon Moon,

oh so u hv not decide siloso or pavilion yet??
but yr AD booked already?

anyway, i chose pavilion mainly becos i like a more natural ambience. my dream is to hold a day-time wedding cum solemnisation by the sea...u know the western buffet style...but due to parents' traditional thinking, holding a chinese sit-down dinner will be more "realistic"...dream is still dream...hahaha

fortunately rasa sentosa is by the sea and pavilion is more "open" & has a good view of the surrounding environment as compared to siloso so we chose pavilion (",)

"if u want a ballroom, u can find it in any hotel. but there is only one pavilion in rasa" ---- kiki's quote (hahaha)

hi gals, juz added Moon Moon to our list:

27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion or Siloso?
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion

hi Faith...ya luckily in the end my FH & I chosen 28/12...otherwise hor...will be very disappointed if we call up rasa and found out 08/12 not available liao...hehe juz joking.

yup lookin at the list above...most weekend slots in dec already taken up lo (",)

Hi Moon Moon,

If i have lesser tables then i will definitely choose pavillion cos of the ambience... but siloso not bad too lah... how many tables you have?

Hi Jingzjingz,

When Emily showed us the outdoor area, i was quite tempted to book the venue for solemnization but then its $1500... i think its quite ex... prefer to save the money for something else...

Im BTB of rasa too, but mind is 2008 sep
I just sign my contract today ^_^

Sharing my package with with you

Mind is Sunday package
$738 nett (min 30-34 tables)
$718 nett (min 35 & above)

Room rates
hillview $190nett
poolview $205nett
seaview $240nett

"Extra perks"
*100% invitation card - (optional to be trade of 6 bottle of wines)
*Special giveway - (optional to be trade of 6 bottle of wines)
*Corkage waive for inhouse wines & 1 ctn external wines
*Additional Nite for bridal suite at special discount rate at $500nett
* Extra nite seaview room (UOB Entitlement)

hello gals..

excited hor..

2 more days... think i will be reaching there ard 1045am plus.. cos the program doesn't start till 11am..

finally.. left two more days..but a pity that we all still cannot view the bridal suite..

all fully booked.. and RASA is getting more $$$ as yr goes by.. and lucky we all decided within these 2 yrs.. before it have the same rate as the city hotels..

and i agree with kiki's quote
if u want a ballroom, u can find it in any hotel. but there is only one pavilion in rasa

but provided u have a small group.. cos the best max table to fit in is 35 even though they can stretch to 38 tables..

as for wine.. think i will just exchange the wedding favors and invitation cards for extra 12 bottles on top of the free 12 bottles..

cos i think weekend dinner.. no one drinks alot and i already have free flow of beer..

btw.. what have u gals decided on the menu?

i am having headache over the desserts..
any recommendations?

I'm excited about this forum. You all are keeping it so active
i'm a rasa bride, but my AD seems to be way before everyone else. it's on 7 Jul. My food tasting will be in April, so I'll feedback when the time comes.

I would also like to ask about the free stoller band. Is it included in the new contract? Coz when I signed up last year, they didn't have. Could anyone elaborate about it? i was just wondering what it's all about, and whether we should ask for it(although I think we might have to pay, since our contract does not include it). I guess it's nice to have live music accompanying the good food and ambience at rasa

hi icecherry,
nope havent get my keys yet, getting in june...2 more mths..hee but want to start reno immediately since my wedding is in oct...must finish on time...
ermm ya...wat's a stoller band??

hello gals,

the stoller band is a 3 person or less musicians who is carrying mobile instruments and they will play for 45 mins and mingle ard with your guest..

of course playing light music..

actually not bad.. but if u have bad weather.. it might spoilt the music..

guess it will be "re-mix" + " techno" with thunder and lightning..

haha...

Hi CN,

i intended to reach rasa in the afternoon leh.
u mean there are programs?
care to show with us the itinerary of the wedding show?

Hi purplebride,

most of us here are year-end rasa brides...seldom see other rasa brides here...glad to see u in forum...do share with us yr food tasting experience in Apr :-D

hi gals, juz added Purplebride & Lovely Pooh to our list:

07/07/07 - Purplebride - ???
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion or Siloso?
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
xx/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - ???

Purplebride, your AD is the hottest day this yr...triple 7!

Hi CN,

You going to exchange the wedding flavours and invitation cards for wine? then sourcing your own?
Acutally I am also not very keen on the flavours but someone mentioned that they are going to add in new flavours on bridal show... hope that is something nice... if not maybe i will source for other items...

For menu, i chose Passion II cos i like the dessert... haha

Hi Purplebride,
the stroller band is the live band that plays music outside the pavillion... i will exchange it for wines cos i think no one will pay attention to the music, for my case...

hi icecherry

u dun want the stroller band?? i have seen the band play at the lobby when i stayed at rasa last time, they're from philippines i tink.. they play really good music.. adds a resort-feeling mood to the wedding ;)

btw gals, during the reception only drinks will be served rite?? no tibits?? thout of bringing mini durian puff to serve early birds.. and scare away the angmohs.. hehe

hi purplebride,
the stroller band in our package is only for 45min during reception.
my coord said if we wanna extend thru out the dinner, can arrange with the band at extra cost.

hi charlie cat,
i had seen the band before too...very good music & voice and also adds more life to the whole celebration.

i am oso thinking of bringing some light snack during my reception...thinking of mash-mallow (maybe with chocolate fondue)...hehe

hi..

i sign up for the UOB.. then they sent me this package through snail mail

466334.jpg

hello ice cherry...

yes.. i am going to exchange the cards and wedding favor for wine...

cos the card too limited.. and the wedding favor KIV first.. till they present us the new gifts..

actually.. i am a musician myself.. encourage u all to get the stoller band if u guys interested..

cos usually, if u outsource for bands to play during this kind of function.. they charge 500+ per hr..

as for wine.. 6 bottles is only worth $167 plus.. so u will know which one is more worth it...

cos infact, i wanna get my band friends to play music also before the dinner at the reception to sort of welcome the guest...

now maybe i will choose the stoller band.. let my friends relaz first before playing before dinner

kiki

ya.. i thout of the chocolate fountain fondue too!!

but on 2nd thouts.. its really ex.. $200 upwards for 3-tier to $500 upwards for 4-tier including fruits.. and the possibility of children making a mess out of it

mini cup cakes or tartlets is easier.. cos the reception is outdoor.. have to consider all the dust n possibility of rain..

hi CN...thanks for sharing the itinerary.

hi Charlie Cat...ya u are right...very exp.
i saw mini one at carrefour but very small...and furthermore i dun think i will use it at hm...not worth investing.
i guess the children will be crowding around the fondue...then adults won't get a chance to dip into the choco...hahaha

Hi KiKi!

Me tentatively booked Pavilion liao... my hubby also has the same thinking leh... but u kn wat Pavilion is gd if ur guest come early can see sunset... my is a Fri so worry by the time all reach dark dark liao... Pavilion not grand leh... this is me loh.... hai...

Did u struggle like me also? Kekeke....

U kn me also have problem convince my in-law for Sentosa... they keep saying "ma fan"... I told them got coaches loh... hee... BTW hw many coaches they gave u? Can share?

Hi Ice Cherry!

I think alot of bride here fall for the pavilion... hee...

U sign up liao? Wat is ur package? Will u be going to the wedding show on Sunday?

hihi moon moon,

no no we din struggle...hahaha.
we already decided on pavilion even b4 site viewing so during our first meeting, we already booked pavilion without giving siloso any thought...hehe

my in-law oso said too far but they not very insisting so we carry on with our planning lor :-P

most of us are going for the wedding show...hey gals, another 1.5 days! excited hor...

Hi super bee..

thanks.. i am struggling between the yam paste and the tang yuan..

trust ur taste..

then my menu will be more or less finalise..

hello moon moon,

they will provide 3 coaches for u.. and u can also exchange the car pass for coaches.
40 carpass = one coach..

so u can dun worry..

HI Charlie cat,

i think I have seen the band playing... cos I attended my friend's wedding last year and i vaguely remembered a band playing music... but i am quite neutral lor... neither like them or hate them... see how first... maybe i might change my mind... haha

Yah i was thinking of bringing in the chocolate fondue but then again, quite costly and maybe only the kids will enjoy it...

Hi Moon Moon,
yah i just signed the agreement a few days ago... Mine is weekend package with additional perks from UOB... i will be going to the wedding show... its tomorrow man! wanna see what else they can offer and what is nice....

Thanks for the info on the stoller band
it sounds nice, and i'm quite tempted to have it.

Kiki> Mine will be at the pavilion, as I love that place.

IceCherry> was just wondering if you know you can interchange the menu items on the same package. Eg, can mix and match Passion I and II items.

Drey> i think shouldn't be a problem if you pay the deposit, and if your AD is still available.

Heard that their Herbal Chicken and Cod Fish is nice. From a friend who just attended a wedding there, he was recommending that the Cod Fish be served as early as possible so that it will be 'softer'. So I'm thinking of serving it as the second dish rather than the third. I'll be trying out the yam paste too, so i hope i can feedback later.

I heard that the new favours will be something like a letter in the bottle?? wow, so romantic. We only get to choose between the chocolates and the candle gel, which i don't mind as the candle gel corresponds with the seaside theme.

For the wedding invitation cards, I actually didn't like it as well. Was hoping that they'll change to another design this year, but seems like they're sticking to it. (Maybe if you all make a lot of noise, they might do something about it ;) ) My hubby and I didn't want to have the trouble sourcing out for our own designs, so we're sticking to the beige ones that they provide.

My date is not confirm yet.
Most probaly is on 07/09/08. - Siloso ballroom cos pavilion have been taken up on that day

I heard from my FIL, they told me that Cod fish and "yam paste" is NICE !

hi purple bride,

yes, heard the comment that the cod fish is nice.. but ur friend is right.. must serve ASAP as soon as it is cooked.. if not the meat will become tough..

and i read through the old archives that .. cod fish quality also dependent on the season.. whether that batch of fish is good or so so.. so u might want to consider that ..

actually, can't wait for tmr to come! hehe...

hope to spot some of you there tmr ya....

one rose on the chest... haha

Hi gals! signed up with shirlene last night. Fh & me love the nature Rasa provides. and agreed with wat kiki said, ballroom can get from any city hotel.. so didn't even bother to look at a 2nd hotel.. keke.. will be holding mine in Dec 2008 at the Pavilion.

jux a qns here, didn't e hotel pv 100% carpass? or did i understood it incorrectly... can someone enlighten me wat other perks you get besides those offered for the wedding show? ;)

hihi gals...this forum is getting more active...and there are so many of us now...ok if i leave out anyone/any error here...pls feel free to amend (",)

07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

hi karen...the carpasses are 100% of your min guaranteed attendance...there's alot...assuming every guests drive! for me...will be exchanging for more coaches...

hey gals...seems like my quote is getting "recognition" but this is juz my own viewpoint...hope i didn't offend other siloso brides n bridegrooms (",)
"if u want a ballroom, u can find it in any hotel. but there is only one pavilion in rasa" ---- kiki's quote

purplebride- I've called Rasa to verify. Told to sign up by tomorrow if i want to enjoy the additional perks. So, i will need to make a trip dwn tmr.

Gals, my inlaws immediate feedback is "im going to have lots of empty seats if we r doing it in sentosa" Does transport really pose a big issue here? I attended my gf wedding last year. Although dinner started late due to limited parkings but the guest attendances were good.

Hey CN! yah yah! she told she she got apptmt at 7. haha. prob saw u there. free dinner rite? kekeke...

drey: i guess u jux have to convince them that it would not be inconvenient to go there.. even when i told some of my frenx i wanna hold my dinner at Rasa, they jux went huhh.... so far... i giess u jux have to assure them that transport would not be a problem. any anyway, i believe if they are insincere in coming, they'll come no matter how far. personally, i think its even more convenient than holding it in city hotels. no erp charge on weekdays... keke. =)

yup right! i personally think it is more convenient than holding in town...with our coaches, we can arrange a centralised location...or even fetch them from where they stay...more convenient rite.

few days ago i hv frens asking me where's my dinner venue...i oso had responses saying "huh...so far"...felt unhappy at tat time cos instead of congratulating me,they r giving me this type of response...

fortunately my parents are very supportive

Im trying hard to convince them but ultimately, we will have the final call even if there's grumbling.. I find sentosa much more convenient as compared to the past. Vivo is just next door anyway... Transport shouldnt be the main factor of my choice.. keke.. ;)

hello gals..

not to worry abt the transport... all the more we must convince those pple that sentosa is not "far".. with all those eZ accessible coach.. at the tip of our planning at majot train stations..

not to mention extra coach after we exchange the car pass...

and those who truly appreciate that we go all the way to include them in our special day.. will come.... we also got issue with our parents like too far..

but.. times changed.. and drey is correct,... vivo is just next door.. and if they want.. they still can catch the last ferry to batam.. also no problem.. hahaha...

hello karen..

yes lar.. i was there.. i also paiseh leh.. think got a few free dinner liao at the buffet..

were u there?? din saw any couple.. except those tourist dining at the buffet..

Hi kiki... i ever had this kind of response from one of my ex-classmate before... the moment i told her i will be having my banquet in sentosa, instead of congratulating, she gives all sorts of negative comments... anyway these pp lack EQ. So in the end, i decided not to invite her... My wedding still goes on very well with close to full attendance.

Hi CN... thanks for your friendster testimonial... I am afraid i cant sleep tonight with your compliments...keke
Anyway, enjoy planning yr wedding in sentosa. It is worth it... You will love the photos taken in sentosa... it will be nice and romantic. The scenery there will amaze your guest. The reason why i hold it in rasa is becos i was taken aback by its beauty when i attended my relative's wedding 3 years ago!!

Hi drey, yap the transport is not as bad as some pp think. Anyway during my wedding in Jan 07, some of my guests are very eager to try out the new LRT to Sentosa. They are quite disappointed as it is not ready for service yet. So i guess your guests would be able to have another choice of transportation by then.

Hello Breekz..

no worries... i am just typing the truth!! hehe=)

hello gals,

how did everyone feel about yesterday's event? it was scorching hot ... and weather.. was nice but hot.......

i din really stay throughout the event.. went strolling around the island....

saw a lot of couples.. but don't really know who is who...

how? any one out there have any negatives or positive comments?

btw.. there seems to be 2 types of guest books and no new wedding favors... *disappointed*

Hi KIKI!

I was at the wedding show yesterday, did u went? Hee...

Any way we saw the Pavilion deco and my hubby reli love it.... we decided on Pavilion... hee....

Hooray, so many RASA brides... congrat to you all ladies! Including me!

hi gals...
the wedding show is over...glad tat we get a chance to view the bridal suite :-D

yup yesterday was so hot...abit headache after viewing the two outdoor set-up.

yup yup the guest bks only 2 types...but i personally feel the red traditinal one is still better compared to the green one. but i think i may be getting from other shop.

hi Moon Moon...
yes i went. so many couples there, like wat CN said...dunno who is who...maybe we walked past oso dunno...hahaha

me and FH went to sit at different tables of pavilion to see which tables blocked by pillar. roughly to know not to use which table on our AD.

CN..

got new favors.. in the paper bags when u leave after the lucky draw..

btw did any of us here win anything?? :D

new favors are glass coasters n rose petal soap leaves.. but i guess the sea shell candle is nicer..

kiki

i saw from PRINTS in OUB centre.. they sell guest books too, like the red traditional one which open out instead of pages..

PRINTS got alot of colors, saw one is bright pink cover with black paper, if use silver n gold pen to sign, its very striking... but price to pay $38

was tinking of selling the hotel guest book to recoup some $$$ lolx

think i have missed out the bridal suite..

haiz.. i was wandering ard the whole island.. haha..

did any took any pictures of the bridal suite? can share with me? thanks..

i got the free gifts.. so those were the 2 new favors...? hehe.. i was blur ..

hello charlie_cat..
what do they offer to exchange for the guest book..?
any ideas?

and i din strike any lucky draw.. =(

hi charlie cat...

thanks for the info. nvr know there is a wedding gift shop in uob ctr.

anyway i already hv a shop in mind...and so coincidently it is The Bliss Collection --- the shop that sells the 2 new wedding favours.
saw from magazine so i went to the shop to see see. got red & purple color guest bk (they call it scroll...like rasa's red color one) with cartoonised traditional chinese bride & bridegroom on the cover...very nice...oso cost $38.

oh i din win any prizes too =(

Went for the wedding show on sunday and to my surprise, my FH was won over by the place that he decided to place the deposit. Our Coord was Shirlene and we really felt comfy with her. Duno whether a bit chong dong or nt cos this is the 1st place we went to..ha

but, we duno what they have to offer, so im busy reading thru the past threads to see. Anybody gt additional to share? Oh, btw, my AD is tentatively on 28/03/08. Crossing my fingers to hope that when the tong shu comes out, it will be an auspicious day, orelse very troublesome.

will be having it at the pavilion..So exciting.! Congrats to all BTB! Oh, byw, anybody attending BOWS?

hi CN

i din ask about exchanging the guest book, so thout of selling off their guest book hehe..
cos guest book is complimentary.. so dunoe if its even worth a bottle of wine

hihi kiki

PRINTS at OUB centre is not a wedding gift shop, they just sell real exp paper/books w really nice prints..

anyway i thout of just getting a cheap plain guest book (maybe gog to bras brasah) and decorate with lace lor..

i'll oso DIY the angbao box and photo montage too.. save $$$ (cos i dunoe y a simple montage have to cost me $300-400??)

hi Charlie Cat...i see i see.

yup bras basah got two shops selling wedding stuff (i only know 2 shops, maybe there r more).
hv went there many times cos juz near my company.
me intending to DIY my photo montage, ring pillow, flower girls' accessories and deco on the stage & reception table too.

at first also wanna DIY my angbao box. but then i saw one at a pushcart at raffles city & i fell in luv with it...so i bought liao...hehe

me really enjoy doing all these by myself (rather than buying or getting someone to do) cos the feeling is different (",)

hihi gals...list is getting longer lo...

07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther - Pavilion
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso