Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Sther,
I think you can start sourcing for bridal package now... timing will be just right.... cos need to work backwards... 3-4 mths before AD you need to have your PS... then 3-4 mths ahead you try the gowns and leave some time allowance for alteration and stuff... so now you can start sourcing liao... give yourself some time to find the perfect gown and best package deal... My AD in Jan 08 and I have already signed up a bridal package in mid March...

Hi Purplebride,
thanks for the information... its helpful and I am glad that overall the food is nice cos parents and relatives usually place more emphasis on the food than the ambience...

Hi Sther, IceCherry,

Thanks for your feedback.

Sigh... my FH's mum doesn't like the place. We went down to Recee last Sunday and tried parking at the beach car park. We realised that it can be quite inconvenient for the guests to get from the car park to the hotel. We took a while to figure out where the bus stop is, and which bus to take. We're thinking of getting an additional bus with shorter interval to fetch ppl from the Beach Car park to the hotel itself. Not sure if it's feasible.

Hi Purple bride,

thanks for the feedback.. think those comment is impt for me too.. cos i am having headache over the dish too..

and your's should be better than mine.. as i have no choice but to adhere to weekday menu.. cos mine is on weekday..

however, does anyone consider not having sharkfin in ur menu? i thought of opting it out..

scare those old pple dun like it..

hi charlie cat and icecherry..
I am an ex rasa bride and i also sign up with bridal concept. They have fantastic service. Recently my hb's frd got married only to find out that they also sign up wif BC. Their AD PG is Kit! The popular PG in BC.
Maybe u can ask for him to be your AG PG

purplebride, thanks for ur feedback!

I was thinking of choosing the below:-

1. Rasa's Deluxe Wedding Appetizer Platter (Prawn with Avocado & Fruit Salad, Golden Seafood Rolls, Shark's Fin with Scrambled Egg & Crabmeat, Jelly Fish with Coriander and Chinese BBQ Pork
Most likely getting this one too.. But will you be changing to the other one?

2. Braised Shark’s Fin with Shredded Dried Scallops & Crabmeat
Thinking of getting this instead cos i dun like sea cucumber.. but dun think we will get to eat most of it... ahahah

3. Golden Roast China Town Duck with Vegetable Crackers
Actually prefer the steam chicken at first, but was hubby prefers roast duck..

4. Steamed Fillet of Snow Cod Fish with Black Beans, Garlic and Soya Sauce
Same! =)

5. Wok-fried Prawns with Butter and Scallions
Same! =) Actually, my parents prefer the Steamed Live Prawns with “Hua Teow†Wine cos looks more presentable... still undecided...

6. Dried Scallops with Braised Chinese Mushrooms and Broccoli Roses
Will get this as well...

7.Wok-fried Ee Fu Noodles with Crabmeat & Chives
Was intending to get the rice, but worried that will be too full to eat but after ur comments... hhmm on the fence again... hee hee

8. Scented Yam Paste with Gingko Nut ?
my choice was between White Snow Fungus with Lotus Seeds & Lily Bulbs and Sweetened Red Bean Cream & Lotus Seeds....

but think will seek parents in law help to decide since they have been there for dinner a few times..

Hi CN,

Mine is also the weekday menu...in fact going for food tasting soon..

We opted for 3 treasures soup as we dun wan shark fin's soup also. As for the elders, as long as your PIL & parents are oki,dun worry too much abt the rest oki?

Hi IceCherry,
You're welcome, I've happy to share my experience, agree that relatives sometimes can be quite picky about food. That's why during food tasting, it's a good time for us to give the coordinator our most honest opinion, and hope that they can come up with something to please everyone that's impt to us.

Hi CN,
If you really like the weekend dishes, can 'top up', but how much will depend on your co ordinator. Actually i find not much difference betw both weekday and weekend other than the fish dish. I think the weekday fish is also quite nice...

I'm used to be quite anti-shark fins, but i don't think there's other choice (or maybe others here have some ideas?), and yup, some guests esp. the older ones will expect it, so I didn't bother to change it.

Hi Clueless,
I just realised that we can actually select various items we want from the appetizer platter. But of coz the value can exchange only for a similar one, eg, octopus or jelly fish, bbq pork or soya chicken. So I think most likely, my hubby and I will just mix and match some items from both menu.

Btw, you can get to eat your food too
coz they told me that the dishes that you won't get to eat will be brought up to your room after the wedding.

My given choice for dessert was also the same as yours, coz i think we signed up last year. But I requested for the Yam paste, and it's yummy - check with your coordinator if you want to change.

Hi ex Rasa Brides,
I did the same as Music today. I went down to sentosa to recce the bus roads, tram stops and LRT (sentosa express). I have the same problem as Music. When we got down at the Beach station, we couldn't find the bus to Rasa sentosa. And when we ask about 3 staff, they all gave us different info. Not even the staff at Information Counter there knows about the hotel shuttle bus.

Finally one of them directed us to the bus station/coaches area, where there is a blue sign that says "Hotel Guests". There is no info on which hotels the sign is for, nor any bus schedules were given. We waited for about 20 mins, and being the only ones there, we decided to take the beach tram and walk up the slope instead.

However, my co ordinator mentioned that on our wedding day, there wlil be obvious signs that lead guests to the right waiting area. So I'm wondering if any recent ex-Rasa brides can share with us about their experiences on what will happen during the AD when the guests need to travel from Beach station/carpark to the Hotel? Will our names be on the buses, obvious signs, or any help from staff of Rasa to direct guests?

It could be that today's a weekday, and I don't think any weddings are being held there, so perhaps the interval for the shuttle buses was longer today?

Hi Breekz,

Actually i have almost decided not to take up the AD photo package cos I was there today to take a look at the album but that is not what i want leh... dunno who's the photographer... I wanted something photojournalistic and not those traditional kind of photos... not sure if they can do that leh... and the AD package only got 300 shots/photos... other PG includes unlimited shots but we only choose 300...
still considering...

Hi CN,
i definitely will not leave out shark's fin cos i like it and both our parents too... if you dun like it, y not replace it with something else. Think they will give you those similar kind of soup... or like wat purplebride said, you can top up to get the weekend menu...

icecherry

ya i noe wat u mean.. those journalistic style AD album like wedding album.. my prewedding PG offers to do that for $2500!! includes whole day PG, standard album n collage album (like wedding album) very nice but sooo exp!! anyway the collage album can only put limited pics.. cos album will be too thick n heavy..

anyway 300 pics shd be quite enuff unless u got 50 tables!! imo i rather take AD PG than AD VG.. cos i saw a sample of a MTV style video.. i thout im in a ktv cos it looked like those cheap china mtv hahaha

i actu wanted http://www.forestprovideo.com/ to do my AD PG.. but they not avail on my date.. u might wan to go in take a look?? looks not bad to me..

hi,hi any ex RASA BTBs, pls advise,
what time did ur dinner started? I'm trying to target at 730pm for a wkend (sat)....is it okie?? or i'm expecting too much....

by the way, based on the time ur dinner started, so wat time did u finish ur Makeup by?
my MUA says to start at 5pm & she'll finish by 630pm. I dun mind some extra time to mingle with the guests at receptions before the start of dinner, however on 2nd tots...felt that is 630pm too early for me to be ready?
pls advise..thanks!

oh & roughly hw many mths in advance shd we be going for the food tasting?

hi sther,
agree with IceCherry, it's abt time to start sourcing for a Bridalshop. u need to also book ur MUA in early in advance esp if ur is a super hot date. MUA for AD is normally part of the package. moreover like what Icecherry says, u'll need time to choose ur gowns for PS, then alter...then choose ur gowns for AD...then alter...then collect ur PS photos, decide on the layout, wait for the albumn...all needs time. the earlier u settle it, at least 1 thing done, then u can concentrate on ur AD. If u only start sourcing in Sept, it's a bit too rush.
mine AD will be this oct, but i signed up my package with my BS last feb, hee yah maybe a bit too early...but also bcos i had my BS throw in my ROM pacakge for last yr end.

hi,hi any ex RASA BTBs, pls advise,
what time did ur dinner started? I'm trying to target at 730pm for a wkend (sat)....is it okie?? or i'm expecting too much....

by the way, based on the time ur dinner started, so wat time did u finish ur Makeup by?
my MUA says to start at 5pm & she'll finish by 630pm. I dun mind some extra time to mingle with the guests at receptions before the start of dinner, however on 2nd tots...felt that is 630pm too early for me to be ready?
pls advise..thanks!

oh & roughly hw many mths in advance shd we be going for the food tasting?

hi sther,
agree with IceCherry, it's abt time to start sourcing for a Bridalshop. u need to also book ur MUA in early in advance esp if ur is a super hot date. MUA for AD is normally part of the package. moreover like what Icecherry says, u'll need time to choose ur gowns for PS, then alter...then choose ur gowns for AD...then alter...then collect ur PS photos, decide on the layout, wait for the albumn...all needs time. the earlier u settle it, at least 1 thing done, then u can concentrate on ur AD. If u only start sourcing in Sept, it's a bit too rush.
mine AD will be this oct, but i signed up my package with my BS last feb, hee yah maybe a bit too early...but also bcos i had my BS throw in my ROM pacakge for last yr end.

hello slgerman (happielee),

When is ur food tasting? let me know ur VERDICT... okie?

think mine not that soon.. gotta wait till sept..

hello purple bride..

did u took any pictures when u went down to sentosa to recce the bus roads, tram stops and LRT (sentosa express)?

Hi Purplebride..
We also did the recee thing (great minds think alike!) yesterday..oh boy..it sure was tough to find the correct bus.These are the findings :

- Guests have 3 ways to get to the hotel from beach station :

1.Htl shuttle bus (air con, direct to htl)
The sign for hotel guests is not obvious, imagine i walked past it twice n did not even see it,watmore for older folks.

2.Tram (open air but fun)
They can take the tram which is very fun (feel like in nite safari)actually...takes abt 10 mins cos it stopped along the way to pick up other passengers.It stops at the bus stop outside Rasa so they can take a 3mins stroll up.

3.Blue Line bus (air con)
The blue line bus takes abt 7mins as the Rasa is the 2nd stop so quite fast.It stops at the bus stop outside Rasa so they can take a 3mins stroll up.

The direction map given by the htl is not very clear...hmm...

Alternatively,they can take a hotel direct shuttle from Harbourfront centre to Rasa.The directional map (to be included in ur invites)by the htl was not too clear,so yest we went round looking for the place. Then guess wat,i jus called the htl n realised it is actually at SPI bldg. It operates from 6am-12midnite and is in every 20mins interval.

Sigh...any past brides has all these information printed? So we can share share?

If not,looks like we have to do it ourselves....

Hello CN!

Wow... me few days no login.. busy busy...

Me also no idea wat theme or flowers to choose leh... u kn we dun have much choice with hotel florist.... hee.... sunflower like not romantic enough leh... I love big red roses... those deep red. Hee... hope can be arrange.

Any way my wedding will be 1st. Hee... will share with u okie.

Hi Purplebride!

I also heard alot of feedback the food potion is hugh... good...

The abalone reli not nice? Hw ah? Me th of having tat leh...

Any way think will only have my food tasting in Aug. Do share with us when u got more details.

Hi Slgerman,
Thanks for the info !

Yup, I was also wondering how the other ex-brides did the public transport thing with their guests. (so if there's ex-brides here, would really appreciate your feedback).

I'm also going to let my co-ordinator know about the lack of signs
for the hotel shuttle buses.

Hi Moon Moon,
Actually the abalone is nice in itself, just that it's too thinly sliced (ermm, so afraid that the guests might think too stingy) and in the midst of a huge portion of starchy spinach and 2 pieces of mushrooms. So felt like that dish was dominated by slimy green veggies (sorry, don't know how to describe better).

I think it would still be a good idea if you really like abalone, but would suggest changing the veggies to broccoli and carrots or something like that. If not, don't worry, there are still other dishes to choose from. Could ask for last year weekday/end menu as well and compare with yours to see what you like. One thing I like abt Rasa is their flexibility and won't insist in cooking their way.

Hi Yoko & Selina,
You may wanna go to their website n download it but do check to see whether it is updated cos sometimes it is not. The best way is to call the banquet staff at Rasa at 62750100 & asked them to email u..or else you may not get the accurate info.

I am 8 Jul 07 bride. Long time havent go into this website. Hear my coordinator, they will have a new design of invitation card this May. So, i will only be collecting my card this May =)

hi kiki

can add one more to ur list! mine's 11 nov, siloso.. we wanted siloso cos thought more convenient for guests to make their way from the waterfront lawn.. dun need to take lift up to pavilion.. hee..

Hi Pris,

That's nice. Have you had a look at how the new cards are like? Must be quite nice. Sigh...my AD is only a day before yours, but i have collected my cards already, as I need to send out overseas.

Purplebride, i also collected my card already... My AD is in June cannot wait till May to get the new cards.. hahahah I took the red one.. =)

my co-ordinator will be back only in May, now collating all my questions to ask her all in one email.. hahahaha

hihi...Tssr and Pris (",)
juz added yr name below:

07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
08/07/07 - Pris - ???
27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther - Pavilion
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

hey gals...
i hv MIA for juz some time...being super busy lately.

Hi Pris, Rasa going to hv new invitation card design is it? i juz outsourced from The Bliss Collection few weeks ago. hmmm...do take pic of the new design and share with us k?

Hi Charlie Cat, my AD PG is Forest Productions...fortunately he is avail on my AD. I like his photography skill too tats y signed up with him. So hv u found yr AD PG?

Hi Clueless,
Will your AD be in begin or end june? If there are any urgent questions you need answers, i can help u find out from my coordinator.
Hi Kiki,
Glad to c u, thanks for update !

Hi Purplebride/Clueless,
Still havent seem the new card design. My coordinator Shirlene will be only back on 2 May. So, will meet her the 1st wk of May for the card collection.
Hi Kiki,
I have engaged Don from Forest Production as my AD PG too =)

Oh ya, my banquet venue at The Pavilion, and will hold my Holy Matrimony at the Lawn =)

my AD is on the 2nd of June @ Siloso.. less than 2 mths to go, so excited yet still have lots of things not settled for the AD... and my co-ordinator is Shirlene also... =) i shld be meeting up with her once she's back for food tasting and to settle all the outstanding..

purplebride, thanks for offering... will need ur help if there's any urgent questions... hee hee

Hi Pris...glad to know tat u hv engaged Don too. I wanted to engage Forest Prod to be both my AD PG & VG but currently Don is working one man show. so can either be PG or VG.

your AD is Jul, mine will be Dec...do let me hv a peek at yr AD pix after yr wedding k?

new updates {",) ...

02/06/07 - Clueless - Siloso
07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
08/07/07 - Pris - Pavilion
27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther - Pavilion
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

Hiya Noreen, your AD is same as mine! so you will be having wedding luncheon huh...mine will be wedding dinner @the pavilion...most prob will see each other

how's ya preparation?

wow.. so co-incidence.. yap.. prob can get to see you that day.. =D
I will be going for my grown fitting next Tues. but very sure what to prepare though... How abt u??

yaloh...and we can share some info and experience along the way

I will be going for my gown fitting next month...signed up wif X-Zen...how abt u?

me oso haven really prepare anything...tin will start sourcing and look out for videography, caterer and wedding songs...

hmmm my coordinator is Shirlene, dun tin will discuss arrangement so soon...maybe around 4th quarter of the year...what do u tin?

I signed up with Sattine Bridal Conture. Cos my designer said that MTM needs 2-3 mths & my phototaking is in jul. so abt time I decided my design.. But I still quite fickle minded on the designs.. Have u source ard for wat kind of design for your WG & EG?
My coordinator is James.. will prob settle the arrangement in Sep.

wow...another co-incidence! my phototaking in july as well...still haven decide on the WG & EG design, but been flipping bridal mag for ideas...my fren recomended vintage style...u leh?

actually not very sure abt the themes, will find out more when i mit my coordinator for arrangement...wat theme do u hv in mind?

i signed my package during the bridal show, shld be quite standard...i like the venue and the view

hahahha.... ya... Have u thought of any outdoor venue yet? I will be going down to Sattine next wk to finalise my WG & EG. Prob going for a more fairy tale princess style.. =P
As for the theme.. heard there will be new ones coming up in Jul.. but at the moment I will prefer the roses one.
Me too.. I love the place.. Wanted to do a beach wedding but the elders didn't like.. so compromise at the Pavilion.

yup, my solemnization will be @church...everything on the same day

oh i will be going vietnam for my outdoor photoshooting...plus holiday

Have you chose the outdoor venue?

do u mind we email? mayb we could exchange emails and discuss further...on the wedding card printing, indication of hotel transport in wedding card, etc.

hey! havent seen anyone who has done buffet lunch @ rasa! any experience to share?? i'm kindof considering between buffet or chinese set lunch, cant make up my mind
lunch will follow solemnisation at the waterfront lawn.. any one can help~~~ ;p