Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Just wondering if any of you will be having a outdoor dinner buffet at the lawn cos I'm thinking of doing that. Would like any experiences or thoughts on it. Thanks

wow, nice to be back after a year plus. this thread is still very much alive! i was a rasa bride too - had my wedding in june 05 at the pavilion. it was a great nite to remember!

hi JODIE, welcome to the forum. my wedding was 16th dec 06 & my solemnisation at the lawn too.. exactly 1 yr b4 u ... hehehe... last yr 16th dec was surprisingly blessed with nice weather...coz we prayed really hard for the weather.... the nxt day from 17th onwards it was raining cats & dogs everyday... all my frens were really amazed & say i m really blessed & prayer was answered ... so i guess u really need to pray hard if u want to take this risk as no one can predict the weather... last yr wedding fair is in mar so not sure is it the same this yr... all my frens & relative love rasa wine, say VERY nice so i can tell u that they drink it like they never drink b4... so better allow more wine & beer if ur guests r drinkers... good luck!!

Hi lumidice!

Have u book the venue? Me also Rasa bride.... end Dec... hee... can share with me the perks given cos I yet to sign... dunno much hope can get gd buy.

Hi Superbee!

Can I check with u... did u ever consider the Pavilion? I'm confuse nw as to hold it at ballroom or pavilion... both I like leh... hw hw?? Hee....

hahaha.. krex, no wonder it wasn't raining..

hi moon moon, yes i wanted pavillion initially but took up siloso in the end coz i got 41 tables .... too big for pavilion... if u have 30+, i think u can go for pavilion... but thinking back, siloso is very convenient if u r holding solemnisation at waterfront lawn... ur guest can just walk over... so no need to take lift up & down again...

Mmm.. me have my ROM liao... now planning for AD.

I am very worry the GRAND feel for Pavilion is not there... u kn lah ballroom sure grand feel. Hee.. me very undecsive hor?

Any things me need to take note before sign up?

u can email to me at [email protected] okie...

O, got pictures to share?

moon, i dun find siloso less grand than pavilion leh. i liked pavilion coz' of the full panel windows. sunset is really beautiful there. siloso is just like any other ballroom in town...

Thanks a lot kiki!

So far, I only know they have very good deals for dinner banquets during Wedding Show. My friend is interested in the Solemnisation Package for Hi-tea. Do you think Rasa Sentosa will give perks or good deals during the wedding show for solemnisation package?

HI Krex!

But mine is dinner so most of the guest dun get to see the sunset... u get wat I mean... but like u say ballroom is another ballroom in town... I dun like the concept of ballroom cos like very enclosed... yet I like the grand part... hee.... ma fa hor? Hee...

Can u share with me the actual day pic? I need to have a rough idea on the set-up plssss....

Oh, is the food nice? some say gd some say bad... I'm very worry!

moon,

i've sent u the link to my pics. not a lot of rasa shots as the album also has my rom and tea ceremony pics. my guests caught the beautiful sunset coz' i had my cocktails at 6pm. wedding supposed to start at 7pm but started about half an hour later. it wasn't pitch dark yet at that time. also, my wedding was in june so sunset was a little later than usual.

We just told our relatives and friends to be punctual lor. Thankfully many of them were cooperative. We started our cocktail at 6pm coz' our wedding was on a Sunday. Anyway, our intention was to start even if not all the tables were filled as we couldn't tolerate late comers. Starting after 8pm would be very unfair for those who made the effort to come early. The wedding ended at a decent time as well...before 10pm
And we still had time to chit chat with our friends after photo taking, so nothing was very rush on that day.

hi all.. read through this thread and realised that a lot of Rasa BTB chose Rasa because of the beautiful venue for solemnization. however, as i had done my solemnization..was only looking at the pavilion ballroom.. my hubby love the place.. but myself.. i thought the stage and floral deco was minimal..anyone can share their ideas on how to spruce up the place? i m also still considering if i shld take up rasa (weighing against the usual transport problem + pavilion does not have the grand ballroom feel :P)...
argh..headache

Hi Stacy!

me also facing the same issue.... also cant decide the ballroom or Pavillon... some more the given dates by parents, I only have FRI....

When is ur big day?

moon..looking at a Fri in Nov also. =(
honestly my first choice was intercon..but cos of budget.. may have to drop it. but i am still tryin very hard to convince myself abt the transport and pavilion ballroom decor issur

Finally our wedding is over.. had a beautiful wedding by the beach. There is no rain in Sentosa despite downpour continuously for 2 days before my wedding. While we had our Solemnization in rasa, many parts of Spore is still raining. Realy thankful to God for this great blessing. Any one wants pic can PM me

I had my solemnisation and sitdown reception at Pavilion in Nov last year. It was great! I wanted airconditioning AND a room with lots of natural light and nice view; Pavilion met all my needs.
It's true that the floral deco provided by Rasa is rather minimal. Infact the flower arrangements tend to be rather "leafy" with more green leaves than flowers. So I was very specific on how the flower arrangement should be. Anna the inhouse florist did a good job for me. I top-up a little as I needed extra flowers to do up the solemnisation area.

hi, u're right that pavilion does not have the "grand" feeling, but my rationale is, if i drag so many of my friends and relatives to an ulu island in singapore, then the scenery and ambience must be worth it! so pavilion to me was perfect. even though it looked a bit "worn" (i heard they did some reno after my wedding), it did have the rustic feel. and sunset at sentosa is magnificent, esp if you get them to draw the blinds in the evening.

as for flowers, mine was acceptable lah. i didn't bother to top up as i wasn't too crazy about flowers. i remember having the arch and it was quite nice. i think other hotels might score better in floral arrangement coz' i remember going to a wedding where they had red rose theme, very romantic for enclosed wedding in small ballroom, but i didn't find it that suitable for pavilion, so i went with white - signifies purity

krex.. u meant u used white roses? =)that's nice..
the only prob i have is i m holding on a friday..so i think pple will only arrive abt 730.. by then sun has set.. and they will get to see the view for maybe half an hr (if lucky)
hehe...
do you mind sharing ur AD photo with me? [email protected]

hi breekz and krex,

thanks for inspiring us to go for a dream wedding at rasa.

have just signed with perry

now arranging for floral deco. may i kindly have a look at your AD pics to help me decide? am planning for an outdoor solemnization at the lawn followed by buffet dinner there or at the pavillion (in case it rains).

will appreciate very much your help & advise... kindly forward to my e-mail: [email protected]

Hi De Snowyz,
sorry for my late reply.
hmm...me not sure weder the wedding show hv perks for solemnisation package or not. will ask my coord. when he comes bk fr reservist.
anyway heard fr him tat the wedding show will be announced thru UOB, it is a joint program betw rasa & uob. and in order to enjoy the wedding show package, gotta use uob cards to pay. registration fee for the wedding show is $18 (not sure per pax or per couple).

I just went for my pre-wedding photoshot at Rasa. Shirlene was so good. She arranged for a sea-viewing bridal suit for our photo-taking, free entrance into sentosa, light refreshment at the cafe. THumbs up! Really have the wow effect for Rasa experience. Glad that I chose Rasa. ;)

Hi Faith,
i agreed with u. everytime i go rasa, they will give us the "wow" effect!
me oso going to take my PS there in sep and my coord. even said will provide us a room for washing up.
really thumbs up for rasa!

hi krex,

Can u share ur pixz wif mi at [email protected]?
Thanks in advacne

Was transport a problem for ur guests? as i oso love sentosa..seas n greenery...bt my HB said dat it wud b troublesm travelling to sentosa..any advices frm the ex-brides here?

Hi gal,
Been away for so long and can't catch up with the thread..... Congra to Superbee, Vincass and Breezy to the successful of their wedding. I'm still in the mid of preparation, can't wait till June.

Hi Faith,
I didn't know that Rasa will provide a room for ur PS? I didn't go to Rasa during my PS two wks ago and it was raining like one hr after we reached the venus, still manage to catch some good scene at some other places.

BTW can I ask Superbee, Vincass or Breezy or any brides who already had their wedding last yr, do u attached a map on ur invitation card to Rasa? How do u do it? Do u ask the Printing company to do it or u give to them for printing? I use Focal-ad but they don't have the template so i got to look for some picts and must be black and white....

Pls help

hi lunabride..

good to c u here!!
bet u r busy counting down to june ya...

rasa gave me a 2 fold small insert of the parking instruction to tell guest to park @ beach carpark & also a small map that guide them to the carpark... other info on the insert are price of rooms! i think u can get this insert from ur coordinator & slot it into ur wedding invitation card...
i also did an additional email reminder to my invitees who have email addresses & sent them download map of sentosa(indicating rasa location, carpark) + maps of bus locations & they all find it useful...

alternatively, u can either print out the map on a normal paper and fold it then insert into the envelope?? coz i did a chinese translation of bus pickup point for the old folks & we just print on normal A4 paper & insert it in loh... if u want my picture, i can email u but it is in color.

Hi carowl,

i was a rasa oct bride last yr. initially we was v worried about the transport too. even days before the wedding still very kan cheong, but in the end, everything turn out well. although there are 2 wedding on that day, my guest feedback is that they still manage to get a parking lot in the hotel at 7. those who take the bus also got no prob. jus tat when we give the invites to the older generation, we'll make it a pt to remind them bout the bus etc..

overall, good service, decor not as bad as i thought ( i even make fun of my co-ordinator and say dun make the flower stand look like fern stand, keke) only hi-cup is when we check in to hotel the suite was no ready, we was allocate to another room, but as luggage not with us, we can't wash up too. when the suite is ready at 4+, my make up artist also arrive le, so no time to rest at all

for the invite, i do up all the info myself overprint on the card provided.

hi tingz...

i have similar encounter as u on the part of bridal suite... i was checked in to a bridal room of hillview at 3pm...sianz... thus, the shifting here & there to the seaview room cause me to settle in @ 4pm & make up artist was furious becoz i havent wash up when she arrived..

another bad encounter i had was the part on parking. 2 weddings including mine that day but no parking lots even from 2 to 8pm coz there is a KIA carshow which took up almost ALL the lots... my helpers arrive at 2-3pm & have to park at beach car park & my brother couldnt witness my solemnisation at 6 to 7pm becoz he couldnt find a lot to park due to the stupid KIA show...
thus, all my frens & families r very unhappy esp on the parking lots!

Hi superbee,

The room thing v fustrating rite? can't even have a short rest... btw did u receive ur voucher for the anniversary stay? my hb have to call them every week to chase for it,....

so sorry to hear about the carpark thing, but i thought they r suppose to close the carpark to public if there are wedding in the hotel? that wat my co-or told me. i understand ur fustration over it, the parking is already one big prob even without any KIA show, yet they over look that ...

hi lunabride & clueless, i have emailed to u. check it out to c if it is usable. if not, ask ur coordinator for the rasa inserts.

hi tingz, ya we din get to rest at all. oh i have received the anniversary stay voucher the nxt day after our wedding. however, i just realised that it printed my hubby name with my surname so not sure if can use or not... :-| yes, it was very upsetting esp the carpark thingy. rasa mgmt shd at least block out some lots for wedding than letting the stupid car show took up so much lots loh.... i got a tough time apologising to friends & families who are there early but din get to park loh.

Hi Superbee,

Sorry to hear about what had happened. Tink I better ask my coordinator about the blocking out of carpark lots at Rasa for wedding? Any of Rasa brides have your coordinator made such an arrangement for you?
Superbee, can you send me the softcopy for the inserts too? [email protected]
THANKS!

Hi Superbee, can u also send me the softcopy for the inserts? Thanks in advance. [email protected]

Hi Faith, I had asked my coordinator abt that already, but was informed that it is on first-come-first served basis.

Hi Superbee,

Thanks for the map.

Hi Clueless,

I have already start printing my card. I didn't get the Rasa card, instead I went to Focal-Ad to do the card. I will try to scan the photo and attach it later. One pcs cost around $3.50.
Where r u doing ur?

Hi lunabride,

we asked for a few samples of a few couples did their cards + instructions and all.. in the end came up with our own, and printed on tracing paper. turned out v nice and we liked v much.

superbee... oh dear... my banquet sitting was mixed up too and i had to apologise to guests who had to squeeze and sat wrong tables... but overall was ok. the carparking was ok for me... 3 weddings on that day including mine. that was this event going on the other side of the beach but it didn't disturb our matromony... hope your guests are ok!

Hi superbee,

read throught the archives and realise you have held your solem'n and dinner at rasa.

can share ur photos, package with me?

my email is [email protected].

and any tips on what to look out for when i go to the fair this march 25th?

hi cn, basically this yr all prices increased & different packages leh... cannot compared to my time where i booked in 2005 so it is really much cheaper. u can see from http://www.shangri-la.com/projects/uploadedFiles/Hotels/Singapore/Shangri-La's_Rasa_Sentosa_Resort/en/Weddings/WEDPKG_NEW.pdf

hi faith, newguy was rite. they dun block out the parking lots coz they also have to cater to the hotel guest as well..

hi macadamia,
good to hear from u again! oh i m surprise that 3 weddings & parking no issue... guess it's different experience for u ya.. . :p my guests r ok... its my families, helpers & those that came real early like 3-6pm to attend our solemnisation & yet cant find a parking lot..

i'm a rasa bride from june 05. no probs with parking even though there were 2 weddings and mine was the smaller scale one. u can get rasa to reserve 2-3 parking lots for u at the small area behind the hotel. it's barricaded so no one else can take that spot except u and your immediate family. those who came early found a slot at the rasa carpark, else i was expecting them to park at the common one just when u enter Sentosa as a shuttle was provided to ferry drivers in.

i didn't get a room immediately also but the timing was reasonable as i even had time to transfer to my wedding suite and go for a body scrub at the spa downstairs before returning to take a shower. my MUA did the make-up for my mom and bridesmaid first, so i was the last.

my only complaint was poor service by waiters as they were all part-timers. banquet manager wasn't very good as well; could not take instructions properly but luckily no major hitches.

and oh yes, i got my anniversary voucher when i checked out and even met the newly weds from the other wedding (whom i knew from this forum 2 yrs ago, haha). we've celebrated our anniversary ever since and have fond memories of rasa sentosa.

dunno if we'll go back again this year. maybe to try out spa botanica again - we went for the spa package a day after our wedding and it was heavenly!!!

All Rasa bride,

Do u know that there will be a wedding show on the coming 25 March? Can check out with your coordinator for registration. Special rate for UOB card holder

hi superbee.. ya.. think my colleague mentioned they had to park at the multistorey carpark.. but think ok overall. had special lots of solemniser and parents and justice of peace that sort.. so was alright. wedding coordinator was superb.

wow lunabride, though i'm already married, i'm still kinda exicted bout the wedding show... seems like all of a sudden.. it's been a year.

krex... i'm looking forward to spending my anniversary there too! hmmm maybe i shd try out the spa this year. thought it was v ex.. will definitely wanna try.