Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Macademia,
yup. Mine's is in the afternoon. My coordinator is a bubbly girl, but work wise is.... I have to be super vigilant and pay lots of attention to the details and planning. Tearing my hair out...praying that everything will go well on the day.
Are you using the hotel's florist or an external florist? I'm using the hotel's but am giving very specific details to types, colours and arrangement for the flowers.

hi vincass,
my AD coming soon too.... wanna know can we choose the flower,colors & arrangement?? when can we do so?? and also any idea what's the ballroom color now??

dear all... any recommendations for the printing of inserts? Anyone had good and reasonable priced printers to share wif me? How much they charge?

Hi Vincass... how long be4 wedding day will the coordinator contact us for a final meet up to discuss on flowers, arrangement etc? Thanks alot

Hi pris, shirlene is very good.. there was once we requested for the rasa stickers.. so shocked to see the pack of stickers at our home in the afternoon!!! she is v fast and efficient, v easy to talk to.

hi vincass, do you know if there's gonna be another one in the night? thought there's using the ballroom downstairs in the night. so far i'm ok. i got a wedding coordinator helping us, so on actual won't be thinking about all the details too. quite happy.

hi loneytunes, so happy to hear about your experience! my holy matrimony's on the beach..dinner in Pavillion. did you use extra deco, or what the hotel provided? i'll not be using extras.. will just be using balloons for the ballroom. we decided to spend more on our "marriage" e.g. honeymoon then on the actual day wedding.. find the beach very beautiful by itself. =)

oh yah vincass, i'm using what the hotel is providing.

hi macadamia,

i didn't use extra deco, i'm very satisfied with wat e hotel had provided us, was surprised with e overall deco as well...at 1st we tot e deco we saw in e past were quite simple, bt on e actual day, we were so happy & surprised with e amt of flowers e hotel had provided us. i reckon James had really "fought" hard for us without us having to pay extra :P

Hi Pris,

Thanks so much. Got it!

Anyone can share how's their food?

so sori for the late reply....came back from my honeymoon las week n was v busy after dat...no time to post msg....

overall i had a wonderful wedding experience at rasa....vvv nice ambience at the beach for the solemnization....alot of my frenz said dat it is so romantic there...*luckily gd weather on dat day*...n foodwise, i muz say alot of gd comments on the food...prawns big n fresh, the seabass is great..the herbal chicken is delicious...
...as for parking, no prob at all, out of all my guests, tink oni bou 2 grp park at the beach carpark cuz they came reali late (as far as i noe lah..:p)...n i got almost 98% attendance...

but one ting to note is dat, my 30-litre barrel of beer was wipe out real fast, tink almost 3rd to 4th dish, it was already finish...but duno whether is it becuz my guests r drunkers...:p

den one comment on the pavilion ballroom, the lightings at the back row seems to be quite dim...i oredi feedback to my co-ord after my wedding, hopefully they wil do stg bou it...
...n the last table near to the door cant reali see the stage...abit sad cuz my best group of frenz r seated there...no choice...

ok, wat else u gals need to noe? i try my best to ans k...

HI Shan shan,

Appreciate it. Thanks. But is your wedding dinner outdoor or in a ballroom? It looks lovely from the pictures attached by Samgirl.

hi looneytunes, oh ok! i haven't thought about "how many" flowers there is going to be..think ok lar. thanks for the info!! so happy for you!

hi sparkle03, my AD is this SUNDAY!!!

hi shan shan..wow that is great...i've been praying for good weather... it shall be lovely this sunday...just went to see the suite the day before..nice...

hi macadamia...congrats! njoy ur day...
...hv a memorable wedding at Rasa!...even till now, i stil kept tinking of my wedding day at Rasa...hehe...u gals wun regret ur choice...its a lovely place..

shan_shan, glad that u had a great day!! thanks for providing us the feedback on Rasa... really relief to hear that we made a great choice at Rasa.. =)

i have a question, on ur AD, was there 1 or 2 wedding? cos on my AD there are 2 dinners, one at Pavilion and mine at Siloso, my concern will the usual carpark cos many pple complain to me before.
From your msg its seems really great! So glad that u had a great day... =)

macadamia... enjoy your day!! hope u'll have as much fun as shan shan and things will be great for you as well!!

from now, just get lots of rest and be pretty for your big day!

hi clueless,

there were 2 weddings goin on at dat day...mine at pavilion n another one at siloso....in fact i tink the staff at rasa got v gd initiative...i heard from some of the guests dat they even allow them to park at the side road beside the rasa carpark....tink as long as it does not block the road, they wil noe wat to do, esp if there r many weddings goin on on dat day....so no worries k
...moreover, most of the guests wil come by the shuttle bus provided...try to encourage them to take dat bus...n oso tel them to arrive earlier cuz wil start dinner earlier so dat can end earlier...mine start as per scheduled...everythg went well...

... btw, some interesting happenings on my AD, it happen dat the wedding at siloso had catered their shuttle bus to jurong east n woodlands (two locations dat we din cater to)...n some of my guests who stayed nearer to dis two areas actuali hop onto their buses...so its somethg gd oso...heehee...:p

oh yah, one more ting...n my little tip..:p, i swopped my bridal suite in exchange for two days of stay at the Panoramic executive room...the bridal suite is v nice lah, but come to tink of it, there is not much time to njoy, n by the time u wake up the next morning, its oredi time to check out...so mig b abit rush....for my case, we stil take our own sweet time the next day to count our angpow, n njoy at the hotel stay after dat....juz my personal opinion....

hi clueless, thanks!! wanna rest more too...my reno v late though..these few days at new house whole day... sigh. then again, we only get married once, muz enjoy it..so many things to do still!

shan shan, was it the general hotel staff who are trained to handle the situation every time or was it your coord who did it for you? hope mine will go as smooth as yours did!!

Hi macadamia,

i reali duno lehz...i tink shld be the hotel staff ba...cuz dun tink my co-ord was there for the whole nite...the operations group r quite efficient...so dun wori k...rest well n be a beautiful bride..

shan shan, thanks for your re-assurance... =)

you make me so excited and hope that my June wedding will come soon! hee hee

abt the exchange for 2 nites stay, its really interesting and worth considering, cos i am looking at extending one more nite and will have to pay... =) thanks again!

Hello Shan Shan,
Thanks for all the tips for wedding at Rasa.

Hello Macadamia,
Enjoy your big day! Have fun!

Mine is on 3rd Dec. Looking forward to the day.

Hello Clueless,
When is your AD?
For me, i bring forward the the 1st year anniversary stay to the following day of my AD. So won't be so rush to check out.

sparkle03, my AD is on 2 June 2007...
urs is 2006 or 2007?? if its 2006, it will be really soon!! so exciting..
are u having the solemization at the beach?

Hi gals, i am thinking of booking the pavillion and by the sea solemnization on Sept 16. Heard from perry someone is using the Siloso on the same day too, wonder if its anyone here =p hope we are not competing for same venue for solemnization.... heh and nice to meet all of you!!!! =)

i just had my wedding last Sunday! it was beautiful... the suite was just beautiful... all the windows overlooking out to the sea.. so pretty!

dun worry about there being another wedding! there were FOUR weddings last sunday. i dunno how they did it, but my guests have parking space.. so far i know of one colleague who parked at the beach carpark, but he had no complaints. he said the shuttle was there to fetch them.

the hotel staff really v good. bestest was my wedding coord shirlene... she's amazing...

can't wait to see my wedding video!

Hi shan shan... its good that yr guests can hop on to the other couple's coach... so u can have more coaches for other areas... keke

BTW any 13 Jan 2007 couple taking up the Pavilion? Mine will be in Siloso... if u have any prob with coaches location and wanna maximise, we can make arrangement.

Can anyone tell me how much Rasa charges for Red wine? Thank u

hi sparkle... i found the printer... i went to T-dragon... its not the cheapest but it is recommended by my relative and frd who also wed in rasa last year.

Hi all Rasa Brides,

Am going to have my AD in Jan soon... Anyone has idea hows the sound system like at Rasa?

i am thinking of getting some of my frens to sing at my wedding...

I've always dreamt of having my AD at Rasa Sentosa. Our AD will be in 2008. If I book now, will they charge me according to 2007 wedding package?

Hi Shan shan,
tks for ur information. It's useful. Do u have additional decoration beside Rasa provide?

Hi Clueless,
Ur also in June, mine too. on 17 June. Which stage of planning r u now? I just went down to Rasa two Sun ago and they have a solemnisation at the lounge area n dinner at Pavillion (don't know is it Macademian's one?) Have u seen any of their decor?

Hi Baguana,
I'm not too sure abt the sound system, should be okie. I'm getting someone to play music on the AD too. How do u intent to get the equipments for ur friends to sing?

Hi De Snowyz,
For what i understand, they charge the wedding package according to your wedding date. If you are having wedding on 2008, they will charge u 2008 package price. However, there is an advantage to committ the package early as along the way, they will increase the price too.
Hope this would help u =)

hi lunabride & baguana,

i just went for my equipment testing last sat with guitar, keyboard & frens singing... overall the sound system was clear & quite good ... we r too engross in our music until nxt door folks came over to ask us to lower down the volume...
however my only problem is they cannot play vcd & mp3...

Hi Baguana and Lunabride,
I just had my wedding on 19/11 at the Pavilion room. The sound system there is great. We had a 3-piece jazz band performing live and Charlene, the jazz singer sounds fantastic. All our guests love it.
I used the flowers' provided by hotel but I asked them to arrange it in a different way for more contemporary look.

Lunabride, I'm now at the stage of getting ready for PS.. hee hee just had my fitting last week and now looking for shoes and trying to eat less to lose weight to look nicer.. hee hee

I have yet to see the decor leh, maybe i will arrange with my co-ordinator to look at the setup for the Siloso ballroom... yours at pavilion?

superbee, they cannot play VCD and mp3? then wat kind of format can they play? oh no isn't it abit troublesome if they cannot play mp3?

De Snowyz, think if they have not start the 2008 package and if you sign the contract now you will be committed at the 2007 rates instead.. but better check with the co-ordinators to confirm.. good luck!

Hi Vincass,

What is the rate for the 3-piece jazz band performing live? I am also thinking of having live performance or singing for my wedding.

Thks

Hi Faith,
For 3-piece band, it starts from $900, depending on how long u want them to perform. Pls PM me and I will forward to you the song samples that the jazz singer had emailed to me.
For my wedding, I wanted is casual, relax and fun. The jazz band certainly helped to set the ambience for that day. I'm glad that I convinced hubby to engage the band.

Hi Vincass, I will be having my wedding next year, keen on 3 piece jazz band as well, can u email PM me their details + song samples? Thank you! =)

Hi Vincass,

Thanks for the info!So u didn't top up for any sound system? Do the singers need to bring their own plug in?

Hi Superbee
Thanks! So u mean u arrange for a equipement testing before your wedding? Is there a wedding on that day? or they specially set up the system to let u test? Your wedding is in Pavillion or Siloso?

Thanks all for the info!! So stress now for my wedding!! Arrgh!

Hi Baguna,

I didn't have to pay for any extras. The band brought in their own instruments etc.
The testing of the sound system took place on the AD itself. The jazzband came early to test the sound system too. Rasa Sentosa's sound technician is good, so no worries.

For any brides considering Rasa Sentosa, I highly recommend taking the Pavilion room. The views of sea, pool, trees etc in the day time is simply awesome. It's like being outdoor but with air-conditioning. Good for brides like me who couldn't stand heat.

hi clueless, rasa have DVD player... so if u wanna play VCD, you can bring your portable VCD player or laptop...they can play sound from laptop..

hi baguana, yup i arrange for a equipement testing before my AD(which is nxt sat.. scary)... i was there from 1 to 3pm... cannot advance booking to do rehearsal or testing equipment.. have to see whether it is available loh(1 wk advance can check)... last sat when i was there, got a wedding in the evening so from 1 to 3pm, no one was using & the system can be setup within minutes... the system guy quite pro... just that he is not there most of the time so have to tell him wat i need & then once he set it up, he disappear liao... mine is Siloso ballroom....

Hi Lunabride,

Sorry! miss your msg. Ya my frens will be bringing their own insturments.

Thanks super bee and vincass for the advice. So super bee , did your frens bring their own cables to connect the guitar to the speakers? Have a good wedding.. dun stress!