Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Girls, thanks for your photos...all very nice! me looking fwd to my PS and AD :-D

hi Sther, i hv tried asked my coord to reduce the $1500 abit but he said it is a fixed nett price set by rasa. cannot reduce :-(
you can book with a tentative date but if there are other couples who later on book the date which u want, rasa may give priority to them if you can't confirm yet.

Hi Onie, rasa dun charge extra on room for PS. they will arrange for yr PS but subj to availability. for my PS, i will be taking PS mainly outdoor and @ sentosa. so other than rasa room, will oso make use of rasa surroundings, like the white fence, the lawn and the jade areas for PS (",)

Hi kiki..

oh really? thanks.. *phew*..

but indeed is a bit expensive to hold the solemnization at the lawn..

heard from the ex-brides that it used to charge $800nett only last time.. haiz..

they really know to how make money.. for a mere 20min affair..

but $1500 is for how many chairs?

Hi kiki, thx for yr reply.

Ya, CN, agree with u. they really know how to make $$.If they cant reduce, then maybe will not have it at the lawn. One of the reason of combining my solemnisation and AD is to save cost. But $1500 is a but pricey! =(

Hi Onie & Sther,

ya lor abit exp for a 20min affair hor.
the reason why i wanted to wed at sentosa is to hv my solemnisation by the sea...so romantic! sigh! but my frens all said not worth the $$$ lor. so i finally "persuaded" myself to drop this dream :-(

thinking abt it...if my AD rains (dec rainy weather), then really not worth the $$$. althou rasa will provide a backup function room if that day rains, but it is like paying $1500 for the set-up only leh. then i might as well hold my solmnisation in the pavilion during the dinner.

i heard that there'll be 100 chairs.

everyday counting down to the wedding show...2 more weeks to go. i hv already booked my date so that day going rasa to kay poh abit & oso make my payment. so both of you will be more busy discussing with your coordinators right?

Hello kiki and sther,

yah.. giving deep thoughts.. it sounds really pricey now..

if still based on last time rate @$800nett.. i won't mind.. imagine.. $1500 can do alot of things... *heartpain*... hopefully this yr.. they might give some discount if we sign up at the fair..

and yours falls on the rainy season.. think u better re-consider.. backup function room won't be able to replace the natural ambience and the aura of the sunset..

and i totally agree with u.. counting down to the fair.. cos if this doesn't settle and confirm availability of date.. other plans cannot move on also..

yeap.. i guess so.. will be busy discussing with my co-ordinators bah..

but don't think each co-ordinator can handle so many pple.. not sure how they function & attend the couple enquiries during the fair..

462903.jpg
462904.jpg
462905.jpg

HI CN, we had our wedding in Mid Jan 07. 2 days be4 my wedding was still raining non-stop day n night if u still can remember, spore was having one of its worst rainy days in 138 years. But thank God, the morning before my solemnization, the skies started to clear up at Rasa. Infact, many parts of spore and during our tea ceremony, it is still drizzling. It is a risk to take to have Solemnization outdoors but we nv regret to have it there. Overall rasa has given us v fond and precious memories of our wedding by the sea.

wow nice pix samgirl, breekz... =)
hope my wedding in june will turn out really nice and as good...

went to collect the cards yesterday from my co-odinator, at the same time saw the full layout of the ballrooms... mine is at the Siloso ballroom… saw that the march in for the siloso ballroom is actually quite short.. will need to discuss with the co-ordinator to see of there are other options..

462966.jpg

HI Clueless... this is my march in layout for Siloso Ballroom. It is quite a good arrangement n we had actually quite a long walkway...

Hi breekz..

your pics are really nice =).. good to hear that the weather turn out fine during your AD. as mine will be during the first week of Jan - 08..
sort of raining season too...

do you have any links to your photos? if yes, can you please share out?

thanks in advance..

Hi CN

They gave me the hillside suite because the seaview suites are all fully booked. And no, my coordinator didnt charged us.

As far as I know, the Rasa's coordinators (actually, almost all the hotel staff I've encountered at Rasa) have very good service and they'll go the extra mile (if they can) to try to satisfy their clients' demands.

So if they say they don't have spare suite for your use for photoshoot on the day, then I'll be inclined to believe that that's genuinely the case. So we weren't really bothered about not having the seaview suite on our PS.

Hi Samgirl & Breekz,

Thanks for posting your photos! so nice!
Did you gals take any photos of the bridal suite?
I haven't got a chance to see the bridal suite yet and is very curious on how they look like inside. hope u can share with us? Thanks alot!

Hi Onie,

oh your AD is first week of Jan...hehe mine is one week before yours. anyway still falls within the rainy season...good luck to both of us!

Hi Samgirl,

What type of flowers are used and what is the colour scheme on your wedding day? The photos posted are a bit small, can't see very clearly.

Hi Kiki,

Just realised that my wedding date is just one day later than yours!

The factor that might affect attendance is that people tend to go for holidays. Perhaps we can inform our close friends and colleagues in advance so that they can make holiday plans and be available on your wedding.

breekz, thanks! yah its much better than straight to the stage... =)

samgirl, the pixs were great! =)

i took some pix of the siloso ballroom when i was there yesterday but as the waiter and waitress were at rehersal and i couldn't take more.. not very clear as it was taken using hp..
463020.jpg
463021.jpg
463022.jpg

I have recently attended a wedding at rasa sentosa resort and I am totally pissed off by the parking system! First of all, its hard to believe that I have to park the car at the beach car park and take a shuttle service to the ballroom for the wedding, seems like driving is more inconvenient than takin public transport. Fine if there are no more lots in the hotel carpark. However, my experience with the hotel carpark security was terrible! They insisted that car park was full when i told them my friend was within the carpark and witnessed many empty lots. I even saw cars coming out of the car park and the vacated lots are just right in front of me! Still, the security guard refused to hear my reasonings and put up an aloof attitude by saying that he is the security guard and he knows the carpark best. With that, he ignored me and walked off! What the...!!! Shame on Shangri-la! And because of this ridiculous delay, i actually missed the first part of my friend's wedding. Utterly disappointed......and don't get me started on the food...

mignonne
I chose white roses for overall (reception table and the arches and stands) & pink roses for the table centre pieces.

dewdrop
So sorry to hear about your experience.

I'll feedback what you described to my wedding coordinator and hope they'll improve on the carpark security's services. I started my dinner at 8pm (though I stated 7:30pm on my cards) and when my dinner started onli about 3 of my dad's friends hasn't arrived (i think due to parking as well)

I advised most of my friends to take to hotel buses so they experienced no problems with that. There were 2 wedding dinners (my own at Pavillion and another at the Siloso ballroom) and I've gotten good reviews of the food from my friends and family.

hi mig,

great! so yours is 29th sat, am i right?

ya u r right! i have informed some of my close frens and my jie-meis to "standby" for me already. but dun worry cos our dates are near to the end of sch holidays so those with kids will already be back in singapore.

me & FH will be extending our stay at rasa so may be able to see u on yr AD...hehe

u book the pavilion or siloso?

thanks for those pictures.. at least we can have a judgement call on our personal requirement...

sad to heard that dewdrop had an unhappy encounter with the parking in RASA.. at least it will be an area of focus to work on with the hotel......

guess i will request to take some photos during the fair... for reference..=)

Just to share...this is the reply I got from Shangri-la's Security Manager:

On behalf of the Management & Staff, I wish to take this opportunity to express our sincere apologies for the experience you encountered at the entrance to our Resort.
Having read your email in detail, I must admit that we could of handled the situation better.

We would like to assure you that it is not our hotel policy to stop any guest from parking at the carpark. Indeed our staff could have handled the situation better and please be assured that this was certainly not reflective of our standard of service. I have personally addressed the issue with the staff to prevent a recurrence.

We thank you for bringing this unfortunate incident to our attention, as it is through feedback of our customers that we consistantly improve our services and communication with guests, such as Your Goodself
Kind Regards

Winston Wong

Well I really hope Shangri-la takes this matter seriously as it really does affect its reputation. I think parking is really quite an issue over there...I am sure many drivers suffer from that...I think most importantly you guys got to let your guests be aware of the parking system up front. As for the food, its really not impressive. But again, it depends on individual. Ambience wise is nice...and luckily my friend and his wife made their wedding quite a pleasant one.

Well gals... so far ihave attended 2 weddings in Rasa and i personally find the food v nice n the portion v big too. Everyone had more than enuff to eat. So, do not be discouraged, after my wedding, there are so many good feedback on the food. My colleagues enjoyed dinner. Even if rasa's food is not excellent, it will definitely not deserve a fail. I have many good feedback on the first dish too! So dun worry.

dewdrop, sorry to hear abt your experience.

Indeed, parking is my major concern for my guests, food wise, my parents-in-law had dinner there before and commented that they are good so i wasn't that worried abt the food when making Rasa my choice...

Hello breekz...

i have added u!=) thanks!

hello gals,

Don't think so much about RASA's parking.. i'm sure dewdrop's feedback is good enuff and we just only need to give some reminders to the coordinator.. so shld be no problem bah..

let's look on the bright side of life..

good food or no good food.. not to forget.. we are the central of "focus" for that day..

hehe.. all guest shld be busy looking at us "the beautiful brides" ... food is just to make up the missing puzzle to give the complete package...

don't let this dampen our mood..

counting 12 more days to the fair...!! *pray my auspicious date is available*

friend of mine is considerin this venue but do you guys think pple will turn up as venue maybe a little "far" - jsut tot wanna udnerstd in the end how was turnout. thanks

Out of the 360 pp i invited, onli 3 did not turn up. However their angpows of 3 digits did turn up as they have ask someone else to bring it to the wedding venue. Attendance was my main concern but it really turned up well.

hi CN,
have u spoken to any of the coordinators?
u can actually speak to them now & check if u auspicious date is avaliable. If so, can book it if u're interested & confirm in Rasa Sentosa already. As for the perks avaliable during the fair, talk to ur coordinator, i'm sure he/she can incl in for u.

I booked my last yr, during the fair promo too.
I didnt go down during the fair, but had liaise with my coordinator a few wks before the wedding fair. she included all the perks that will be given in the wedding fair.

In fact, very nice of her to suggest so. She said, no need to purposely make a trip down during the fair when it's going to be so croweded & she cant talk to us one on one..hence she suggested us to meet up before the fair where she could spend more time to talk & discuss with us.

Moreover, we were not pressurise to sign immediately, we were also given the contract & time to look thru before signin & returning the contract.

cheers! hope it helps

hi breeks,
thanks for sharing ur beautiful photos! so envy to be able to hold ur solenisation by the beach
lovely setup.
thanks for also sharing the sitting arrangement/plan for Siloso ballroom
I've also choosen the siloso ball room so glad to be able to take a peek at the layout

hi CN,

Pastillies is right that you can ask yr coord whether yr date still available. and if u r fine with everything, u can even confirm the booking now.

Like mine, cos me & FH like rasa very much and our date is available. we did not wait till the wedding show and had recently signed the agreement (based on wedding show package).

But due to the wedding show, rasa is not holding any tentative booking fr 2 Mar onwards. That's why me & FH signed the agreement b4 2 Mar to turn our booking fr tentative one to confirmed one.

If u hv decided on an auspicious date, will suggest u call up yr coord and chk with him/her whether still available. If not, also no point going to the wedding show if yr date already booked by other couple.

Hello Gals...

I don't know that i can infact .. give them a call first.. before i go down..

and sounds logical.. if they dun have it.. i dun have to make a waste trip and perhaps i still have time to source for another date before the fair..

how come i never think of that before huh? hahahaha.. *so goon du of me*

but mine falls on weekday.. hehe.. hopefully.. still available..

thanks..

later i give them a ring..

*big hug to you all*

hello ice cherry...

not to worry.. we can give them a call first!!

Halo ple.. if u gals don mind with my pics taken in 2004. provided not much changes with them too lah hor.. i can send u gals the link of my pics for the Pavillion. hehe...

hello SCB,

i am alright with the photos.... at least can provide some ideas for my planning...

please send to my email

hello pastillies and kiki,
thanks for the advice... i gave them a call this afternoon..
and seems my date is still available for "time being"

however, what's the diff with me signing up now to get the perks and going down and getting the same perks and i still have to pay $18? (other than ensuring that ur precious date is not taken)

if you gals dun mind, can u please share or email me your package? so that all of us will not be "short changed"

btw, which coordinator is better, perry or Shirlene as i will be working with either one of them

thanks a zillion....

Hi CN,
Called liao... made an appointment for this weekend... luckily the date i want is still available...

I also signed up for the wedding show. Was told that we need to sign up in order to get the additional perks... dunno y too...

How many tables you have? I intend to take up 50 tables but the only ballroom to accommodate so many tables is siloso... i prefer pavillion cos its more "open"... looks nicer...

Hi CN & IceCherry,

yeah happy to hear that your dates are still available. at least one less worry off your mind...right?

anyway i tink tat if u & yr FHs have already decided to hold yr wedding at rasa, and not looking at other venues, then can start meeting yr coord, discuss the necessary, and confirm the booking liao. no need to wait till the wedding show cos even if u sign now, u will still enjoy the perks.

remember now rasa don't hold tentative booking (as in temporary blocking the date) due to the wedding show. that was what i did, block my date at my 1st meeting with my coord. then during 2nd meet up, my coord told me abt upcoming wedding show and he said he'll offer all perks to us even thou we book early. but he said rasa will release all tentative booking from 2 Mar onward, and i'm worried my auspicious date may be taken up by other couples during the show so me & FH signed the agreement b4 2 Mar in order to turn into confirmed booking.

so 25 Mar wedding show, me and FH will still attend just to make the deposit and look around.

CN, my coord has not post back the signed agreement to me yet. hence unable to share with u at the moment.

will let u know soon...

Hi IceCherry,

just saw yr other question.

rasa dun hold tentative booking (blocking date) at the moment but they will accept confirmed booking (signed and deposit) :-)

and deposit is $2000...

Hi IceCherry,

mine is 28 Dec.
what abt yours??

seems like many of us like the pavilion. but pavilion cannot hold 50 tables. guess max is 40.

so glad to know so many rasa BTBs with AD so close.

let me draw up a table:

28/12/07 Kiki (The Pavilion)
29/12/07 Mignonne
??/01/08 CN (The Pavilion)
??/01/08 IceCherry (Siloso?)

hi kiki,
yup like u i also was considering btw the pavilion & siloso ballrm. Took the Siloso ballrm in the end cos 1) dun wan pillars, 2) sheltered reception area, 3) can take more tables. Not tat I've confirm a lot of tables, but in case the no. of tables increase to >40, then at least no need to squeeze for siloso compared to pavilion...
anyway it's just my 2 cents worth.

BTW mine's 27th oct 2007, at Siloso. kiki, Mignonne good news that ur dates are still ava as ur AD is this yr

Hi Kiki,

i intend to book either 25 or 26 Jan...
will view the ballrooms this coming Sat then decide if i want to cut the no. of tables...

hi pastillies,
seems like 27 Oct is a hot date cos heard many holding their weddings on this day... Two of my colleagues holding on same day... dunno whose to attend... haha

Hi Pastillies,
hehe...i was referring to IceCherry who hasn't decide on siloso or pavilion. as for me, the 1st time i met my coord. and viewed the 2 ballrooms, me and FH first reaction was to book The Pavilion as we like its "open" concept :-D

Pastillies & IceCherry,

Ya this year is good year for marriage...many of my frens getting married tis yr...hv a fren who's getting married on 27 Oct 2007 too...so coincident...maybe we are talking abt the same person...hehe

think tis yr end hot dates are 27 oct, 29 nov, 28 dec (that's mine!)...according to tong shu.

hehe...juz updated our wedding schedule here:

27/10/07 Pastillies (Siloso Ballroom)
28/12/07 Kiki (The Pavilion)
29/12/07 Mignonne
??/01/08 CN (The Pavilion)
??/01/08 IceCherry (The Pavilion/Siloso Ballroom)

hello SCB,

Thanks for the link.. i haven got time to "secretly view" it all in the office, only managed to catch a few glimpse.... will enjoy the pics over the weekend.. =)

can i ask u something? how come u did not take the bridal suite? cos i saw u posting outside the executive suite.... so was wondering.. can u recall the time u start ur dinner and your AD? cos i wanna take the evening sunset as a gauge for mine.. so that my guest will be able to enjoy the beautiful view... if not wasted.. if i take on the pavilion..

cos mine will be early Jan.. cos yet to confirm as i haven "booked" the date...

hello ice cherry,
think i have two co-ordinator to choose.. either perry or Shirlene .. but still not sure who is better.. any ex rasa or BTB can give suggestions? =)

scully both of us falls on the same day? *muah ha ha ha*.... is like keeping each other in suspense.. hehe... mine falls on weekday.. what about yours?

hello kiki..
i will update my AD ASAP when i gotten my date...

Hi hi CN (onie),

Hehe. understand understand. me too.. have to secretly hide the window in office. wohaha..

Yup, i did take bridal suite pics + balcony pics as well. but not that much. hehe.. but don worry, their bridal suite is lovely and spacious.

My pre-cocktail starts @ 6.30pm, but most guests came @ 7pm. Then have allowance of time for guests to come up the bridal suite to take pics with me, like what u said.. evening sunset @ pavilion. Dinner actually can start @ 8.30pm, but then 1 table was not filled up as my colleagues called me that they have reached, but cant find parking lot. Hence starts @ 9pm sharp once they reached.

oic ic.. hows the perks they giving now since mine was 3yrs ago. hehe..