Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi baguana

yup! we brought cables for guitar & keyboard too!
thanks... cannot dun be stressed leh coz chasing after rsvp & renovation & etc etc... can't wait to get it over... :p

Hi Clueless,
When is ur PS? Mine will in at the end of Jan in Singapore and March in Taiwan. But I have one EG fitting next wk, trying to loss some weight from now!!!!! My WG fitting only comes in mid Jan, don't know they will have enough time to alter is needed or not. Only bought one pair of evening shoe for the EG, WG shoe is still searching. Mine is at Pavillion. Do u have any theme?

Hi Vincass,
Congra to ur wedding. How many sets do u engage ur jazz band? Perry told me it will be $500 for 2 sets of 30 mins for a band. Can u send me some sample pls.

Hi Baguana
Initially I thought I might ask my colleagues to sign, they are from Phillipine and u know some of them have beautiful voice, but I will have a problem getting the equipments for them. So many just engage the band, but Jazz band is a good idea. I have no idea wat songs to play during the AD.

Hi Lunabride,

I'm also a Rasa to be bride... kinda looking ard for a jazz band..

Can I check with you on how much are you paying for your jazz band?

Can you pls share your contact?

Thanks a million!

bb

lunabride, my PS in Feb... i haven't buy shoes also, maybe go Tangs and see.. i'm looking for abot 3 inches one.. most likely i will get silver colour shoes, cos easy to match for both WG and EG.. cos both are quite long and i dun think anyone can see the shoes.. hhahahah
wow u are going TW for PS too, so nice, PS plus short holiday before AD... so nice..

i'm also thinking abt hiring a band, think it will make it be something different and hopefully the guest will remember it.. =)

Hi Lunabride,
yes there are bands out there who performs 3 sets for less than $600. But I feel standards should be the most important on our big day...
The jazz band I engaged played 2 sets of 45 min.
Pls PM me and I will forward the song sample to u.

Hi BB & Vincass
The bass is recommended by Perry so presume it should be nice as what he said. But I will insist to have a test run first. No deposit has been paid yet, think they will charge to Rasa and we pay them. Perry was saying $500 for 2 sets of 30 mins.

Hi Clueless, ya I got a friend's aunti working in Paradox, she got 30% discount as staff price. So thinking I will try out the shoe at some retail, write down the code and size and ask her to get for me. This aunti of her gave my friend a pair of paradox shoe for her ROM, so nice.

Tangs should have nice shoes, silver is easy to match for both gowns. Wat is the color of ur EG?

lunabride, my EG is dark blue in colour..
yah paradox shoes are nice but expensive good that u have discount... =)
haven't found the shoes yet but will keep my eyes open today when i go shopping.. hee hee

Nice to meet you all here! Wanted to book the Pavilion @ Rasa Sentosa too. Waiting for them to get back on the details.
Anyone hold their dinner there yet? Could we see the view at night? Worried at night dark could not see anything through the glass.
Not deciding on buffet or chinese dinner yet. Love the idea of having a dessert buffet with chocolate fountain and pasteries. Dunno if Rasa have those.

Anyone try that before?

Hi VIncass

Thanks for your help! Had also ask the same question with the co-ordinator. Told me still can see at night cos of the lights from the ship which I doubted.

Wonder should I do it during the day or not? Cos its the sea view I wanted to have. No point if cannot see at night. Haiz... so many things to consider for wedding ...heehee

Hi Lunabride,

Thanks for your advise.

Would you be able to share the contacts for jazz band that Perry gave you?

Thanks so much!

Bet

Hi BB,

I do not have the contact for the jazz band. Who is your coordinator? cos it's a recommandation from Perry, so other coordinators maybe will know. If they don't know, then I will help to ask perry.

Jus wonder if anyone had their wedding outdoor at the lawn area facing the sea? My friend who attended a wedding there mentioned that it was quite humid at nightime and the photoshoot turn out not nice cos of the darkness. Any mosquito problems?

I'm considering either the Pavilion or the lawn for my AD. Still waiting for the co-ordinator to get back leh.

Hey ladies, I went down to Rasa yesterday and I must say I really love that place alot! Can anyone tell me how much roughly is a table after adding the cost of wine & liquor, etc.?

Hi Vincass!

I am consider Rasa Sentosa also... can u pls advise me with details? I reli gong gong dunno hw to go abt it wow.... this is my 1 and only choice so hope u can help me.

Hi Macadamia!

Noted u have ur wedding already can share with me the view on food? My in law reli concern abt food so I hope to satify them while I can choose my fav hotel : )

Hi all, realli glad to see so many msg here. I'm thinking of holding my solemn and AD on the same day, but the cost of renting the beach lawn for the solemn quite steep hor, 1500bucks leh.. is there any other places in rasa where i can hold my solemn and is cheaper or free?

any1 has pics of actual day at ballroom? can share? my email is [email protected] . Thanks!!

Hi Lunabride,

I'm intending to use the lawn by the sea, near to the white fences. was told that it will cost 1500bucks to rent the place leh.. having second thots now

hi moon moon, i just had my wedding last sat & my guests say the food is good!!
overall was quite ok except couple of hiccups in terms of parking(due to the stupid kia carens event) & room reservations... my family & frens couldn't check-in until 3+pm... for me, i only settle in my bridal suite at 3.30pm & i was very upset when i was put into the bridal suite that facing the hill...
the lawn was beautiful for solemnisation with sunset in the evening & my guests say it was romantic...

Hi superbee,

Glad to know that u had a great wedding. Can i ask which lawn did you use for the solemnisation? is it the one near to the pool or the one near to the beach?

can i take a look at the actual day pics?

hi happy groom, mine was held at the lawn near the beach, facing sea... i haven't gotton all my pics yet coz it was taken by my bridal shop PG so it will only b ready prob nxt wk or so.. tried to upload a sample pic for u but not able to do so..

Hi Superbee!

Wow, must be romantic...

can check out more details from u? Where u use? The Pavilon or the ballroom? Deco nice?

My wedding will be 23/11/07... hee.... settle on there liao but yet to sign the package so hope can get a gd bargain... pls help me.... : (

hi moon moon...

my solemnisation was held at waterfront lawn & dinner at siloso ballroom... rasa provided me the color of flowers that i have requested... so the lawn & ballroom matches my entire theme of pink & yellow color... my guests were impressed with the separate door march-in entrance @ siloso ballroom as we enter in at separate door with a duet song... overall, everyone give thumbs up for the fresh ideas & nice setting!

though i m upset with the room & parking issues but i will still say overall, my coordinator perry has been very helpful in most of our requests & done a good job.

as for bargain, the best deal is always during their wedding shows .... but the price of banquet will increase each yr so if ur date is those HOT dates then better book first b4 it is gone!

Superbee, Congrats on your wonderful wedding.. =)
Its sounds really romantic to have solemnisation at the waterfront lawn... Come to think of it, the weather that day was good too, after last sat it had been raining non stop.. so nice!

I'm also using the siloso ballroom and thinking of the seprate door march-in suggested by my co-ordinator, Shirlene.. i think its really different... =) after wat u said, i'm definitely doing that too.. hee hee

hi happy groom...
yes need to pay but mine is cheaper than the current price... $400+++ for 50 chairs & $800+++ for 100 chairs... i signed up last yr... ;) the price for lawn has increased to $1500 eversince the wedding show this yr...

hi clueless...
ya we prayed really hard for the weather & thank god that weather was good with beautiful sunset!! if it rain the days b4 my AD, i cant hold solemnisation there too coz the soil will b damp & wet which u cant walk on the grass there & it will soil ur shoe & gown.... ;)
yup try to do a separate march-in for siloso ballroom... siloso is very long so if u march in from the side separately, ur guest will at least get to see u a bit... & i can assure u that ur guest will be impressed & remembered that they attended a very special wedding though my hubby & i dun sing very well... hahahaha... but they all say we r courageous enough... :p

million thanx superbee..

my galfren and i went to rasa last sat and shirlene told us a couple is using separate entry, and they are singing too! think its u hor.. i am sure it was very special and impressive!

superbee, didn't catch that both of u sang ur way thru march in... its so impressive and interesting!!!!

how many tables did u have? the arrangement for seperate entry will it be limited by the number of tables?

Hello Superbee!

Mu AD will have to be 21/12 Fri as 23/11 booked liao. So sad u kn? Cos very worried Dec will rain. What u think?

Do u know when is their wedding show coming? Any?

For the wine did u manage to get any perks? What are the perks they offer? Can u email me at [email protected]

Hope to hear fm u soon.

happy groom... i can assure u that u wont regret choosing the lawn though it is much costly now as compared to my time... :p oh so u r there last sat?! yeah... it was me & hubby...hehehe... thank god that the glasses & ceiling din crack becoz of our voice.. :p

clueless... i had 42 tables & if u have >42 table, there wont be sufficient space & will be difficult to do a separate entry... we only have red carpet at the straight path to the stage... for our separate entry, we have sufficient space to move around without the red carpet... ;)

moon moon... dec is a bit scary (look at the past few days... raining cats & dogs non-stop)... esp if u r intending to hold it outdoor else indoor still ok... must pray really hard for good weather k..
when i booked mine last yr, i was also worried & thank god my prayers was answered!!
if i m not wrong, the wedding show shd b in march or sometime after cny.... coz that period a lot of hotels will b holding wedding shows.... i m not sure what perks they b giving this time round... but during this yr wedding shows, i think u can get free room if u using UOB card, $10-20 discount per table(can't rem is this yr or previous yr) & some complimentary bottles of wines, overall quite attractive... but sometimes if it is hot date, i dun think u can wait till the wedding show to book.... maybe u can discuss with ur coordinator to c wat he/she can help u in terms of perks...

Hmmm...still contemplating between Siloso ballroom or Pavilion. Personally, my bf and I love the Pavilion very much but others may find it not grand enough. Haiz. Headache. Wanted to talk to Perry this week but I haven't got my AD date yet.

I would love to view the Rasa brides lovely photographs taken at Siloso and Pavilion. Please email to [email protected]. Thanks!

De snowyz, actually i prefer the Pavilion too, cos its very different from the other ballrooms..

but as my tables will exceed the maximun tables allowed for Pavilion (max i think 38 tables) so i couldn't choose that...

Hi, wonder anyone out there using the lawn facing the sea for outdoor buffet dinner?
Really like to know hows the atmosphere will be like at night.

Love the idea of having outdoor dinner yet afraid of the weather. Perry mentioned that we could have Pavilion or Siloso ballroom as back up if rains.

I also like Pavilion (cos got aircon with seaview)so dunno want to choose outdoor lawn or Pavilion.

Any advice? Thanks

Hi Clueless, I just went to take a peek at Siloso ballroom again. I think if you have more than 40 tables, you might need 2 projectors instead of 1 'cause the ballroom is rather narrow.

BTW, I think I will choose Siloso ballroom also because my AD will be on Friday and I think it is quite difficult for guests to come early and view the beautiful sea view.

Sigh. But I will miss Pavilion very much. Haha. 'Cause I really adore the scenery there. If I'm taking wedding lunch or high tea, I will definitely choose Pavilion.

De Snowyz, thanks for the info and highlighting that part abt the projectors! I have not thought of the details yet... hhhmmm, I have yet to view the ballroom with the full setup... most prob will be going down next mth when there is a wedding... =)

yah i also felt sad that I couldn't choose the Pavillion, cos when I was there to view, I saw the setup for the Pavilion and its really nice and bright with sunlight flowing thru to the ballroom (i was there in the afternoon)... very nice... but i'm sure the Siloso ballroom will be very nice and grand after setup by the pple at Rasa... If I go down next mth, i muz remember to bring my camera and take some pix of the ballroom.. will upload and share too.. =)

HI I am new to the forum... Now in the midst of becoming a Rasa bride - 16th Dec 2007. Perry is my co-ordinator and we are still waiting for his new proposal... I've decided to take up the lawn for my solemnization and big worry is the rain... this year raining season is so scary.... I've had also decided on the Pavillion but not sure whether to wait till their wedding show to sign up the package or not? Am worrying about the amount of red wine/beer $$ to pay for the wedding night... Any advice from anyone?

Haha, after a sleepless night, I've decided to change to Pavilion instead. I really love Pavilion too much, hehe. I'll be having 35 tables so I think Pavilion should be just nice. Will wait for the coordinator to send me the contract.

Yes, Clueless. Do share with us the pictures ya! Looking forward to it. =)

Jodie, I was contemplating whether to wait for the wedding show but I just wanna settle everything as I will be very busy with my work. I think its up to individuals.

Hello De Snowyz and Clueless...

I am also a RASA bride... me also choosing pavilion... however yet to finalise my wedding date... however no matter wat me and hubby will be holding our wedding there... we love tat place...

realise no one here consider the lawn (facing sea) for dinner? how come leh? so far I saw only for solemnisation.
Too bad i had my ROM already. Otherwise will be perfect. No need to torn between PAvilion and the lawn.
Perry mentioned if raining we could take the Pavilion for backup.

hai,...both places are nice. how to choose?

hello BTBs.. congrats! i had my wedding at pavillion in Nov last year. by the time was dinner was night time already.. but didn't really got bothered by whether can see outside or not.. thought it was still v nice with all the glass surrounding the ballroom.. miss all the discussions bout the place..meeting up with the coord..! looking forward to 1st year anniversary, can go back there and stay again. =)

Hello ladies, I'm considering Rasa for my wedding party for friends only. Solemnisation and banquet not needed. We are looking for something casual and fun. Will be meeting Shirlene next weekend. Any photos of an outdoor party at Rasa? Please email them to me at [email protected]. Thank you very much.

Hello lumidice, mine was a solemnisation on the beach, but i'm sure shirlene can cater and make yours a great one. are you just thinking of food only? prob can have a band or something? she's really v gd and nice..!

Hi Macadamia, thank you so much for the assurance. I sincerely believe that a professional coordinator is crucial to the success of the event.

Great food & music are important. Yah, a band will provide the party atmosphere.

Hello Clueless,
Everything went quite ok, just a very minor hipcup on the shuttle bus.

Like what De Snowyz mentioned, you'll need two projectors for Siloso.