Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

My personal reason for choosign Rasa is:
- Want to avoid Chinese food
- Prefer daytime party
- Bored with Hotel in the city area.

We wanted outdoor party during the day, but too hot if done in Singapore (sigh.. wish the weather is cooler here).
So the alternative was to have a buffet LUNCH wedding party, near the BEACH.. so it'll have different atmosphere compared to normal wedding dinner.

We liked the Pavillion coz the guests could enjoy the beach view from the full-length glass-window. And after the lunch, they could roam around the island to relax.

The food was good, beyond my expectation. The service was better than expected too. Only my co-ordinator forgot to return me the CD and the Precious Moments figurine (from my wedding cake) but they were delivered to my flat soon after the wedding.

Also, my friends booked a few rooms to stay overnight. Well, my friends complained abt the room (2 single beds, instead of double beds), no bathgels, no shampoo... weird eh?

hi Ling,
actually the only 2 setbacks of Rasa i feel is
1. the reception area is far from the ballroom
2. it is quite inaccesible
otherwise, rasa would be a good choice for me

hi viv,
i like the pavillion too! nice view! pity i can't do it there coz i got 50 tables.

Thank you for all your valuable advises.

The reasons that i would like my AD @ Rasa
1) When i first saw the ballroom(Siloso), wow impressive.
2) Instead of having two dates for ROM and AD, i can have it by the sea(think it almost everyone's dream) and save cost and time.
3) Heard and read all the forums that the service and food are thumbs up from the ex Rasa brides.
4) Having a different feel instead have it in busy city.
5) The service from the sales dept aka James is simply wonderful.

However the setback is the location, no free flow of beer and carpark. Which HIPV have it(location,free flow beer and carpark)

Does anyone can help me to decide? haha I need to sign the contract in two weeks time.

Hi people..

.. I reckon so about the reception area far from the ballroom.. However if you want you can have the reception by the lawn or outside of the ballroom . The beachfront give a different feel and Rasa had plenty of ppl to direct guests to the correct place for the reception. That was actually the least of my worries. My concern was the carpark which was frankly bothering me throughout the wedding UNTIL the actual day. no one grumble to me abt the carpark but I burn the most brain cells on it. Which seems to me that I had worried relentlessly for nothing.

It dawn upon me that accessiblity not only happen at RASA but at places like Raffles CC, OCC etc.. the upside is some ppl like the idea of the shuttle service provided. Taxi are available so frankly the impression of accessibilty was a people choice. How many people still take public transport to weddings anyway? I guess it will be the minority. My aunt who had a stroke whom had not been attending event for the longest time turn up at my wedding which shocked me. I mean ppl who have problems with their limbs also turned up what is wrong with friends and distance relatives who grumble abt the distance?

Guess it's ultimately up to you guys on how to make the decision.

Hi Nic

As you oredi know, I might not be having my wedding at Rasa as I could not meet their min. number of tables. Another concern is still the location. There are coaches provided which reduce the inconvenience etc, however older folks may still grumble. I wun be able to pick each and everyone of them at their location, and if they want to drive in, I am also worried on the carpark lots availability. However, if there is only 1 wedding that day, it should still be ok. There is also the nagging concern that I must reiterate to them to arrive early, so that dinner can commence on time. I do not wish to start my dinner late and hold everyone back, esp for those taking coaches. So, worried that my reiteration may make some angry as they might feel its such a trouble coming to my wedding. But close relatives and really good friends will not mind (I hope). For those driving, its not a concern, they can leave anytime. So timing, logistics coordination is very important.

I still prefer Rasa's ballroom though HIPV's crystal ballroom with its signature chandeliers creates a very warm and cosy feel for the room.
As for the solemnization and cocktail, I might be holding it at HIPV rooftop, with views of skyline and the hustle bustle of Orchard Road. So at least something different ya
....Just missing the lovely sea

I guess I'm like trixter too..simply loves the beach, dun mind everything else. will rather believe what ling shared about the good food and service -- coz i signed and paid already!! haha.

i guess it all boils down to what you want.. no doubt sometimes we really have to consider relatives and all that.. i understand some couples really have no say and are v restricted in terms of what they really want to do coz of families... but thank God my parents let us do whatever they want.. when we describe how it's like, matrimony by the beach, something different, outdoor, then dinner, have coaches to fetch some relatives... they were like "wow... you young ppl really noe how to enjoy life".. so we're just happy about the place. can't wait to go down again..

i find the walk from reception (e.g. beach) to the ballroom absolutely beautiful... with the pool and all that.. hence never thought that it was far before.

just inviting close ones to have a cosy, fun and romantic best evening of our lives as of that day.. definitely bound to have ppl whom i dun really wanna invite but have to, but they're really just that few out of the rest.. dun like dun like lor.. my big day anyway.. if so critical can't even share a couple's joy that they have just gotten married, then really shdn't have come..

just thinking out loud some thoughts.. cheers..

Macademia

You are lucky you have supportive parents. Me too, but I dun know bout relatives yet.

My main concern is I cant meet their min num of tables, thats all. So I might have to start inviting those who are not so close afterall.

hi erica,

ya... the min is 25 if i'm not wrong? hmm... how about a buffet? oh thin that has a min number of guests too.. how many ppl are you roughly gonna invite? that time we almost went to equinox for ROM... in the end didn't coz decided to have ROM and wedding on the same day. the view is SPECTACULAR up there... but the lady serving us is very arrogant..

ello ... i am officially going to be a rasa bride too ... 15th dec 07 dinner at siloso ballroom and holy matrimony to be confirmed at waterfront lawn =)

Hi Macademia

Mine is 28 tables and I prefer the siloso, so Perry says need to have 30 at least. I saw from archives that there are some couples who got 28 tables plus 2 reserved to make up to 30, but not too sure whether theirs was at siloso or pavilion.

So sad that I cant hold my wedding at Rasa.

hi there.. anyone holding their wedding at Jade area.. i mean the sandy beach area for their solemnization. Was it good? Will it be too sandy?
How about the area near to the Hotel rooms... there is an empty area there facing the hotel. Which one is better in terms of scenery and photo outcome? Please advice! thanks

hey brides to be,

anybody topping up floral decorations??

I find their floral deco quite bare...would like to get florist to top up some flowers but am not sure if it is going to cost a bomb...

Topping flowers with Rasa is $300 but they are only giving some extra flowers along the aisle and maybe one on the main table during solm. - thats is for $300....gosh. thought I could get more from outside florist... but then I think of the transportation, gosh, outside florist may really charge me more....

anybody topping up flowers??

hi jingzjingz, welcome!! wow yours is year-end too!! still 1/1/2 years more for you... happy planning! 6 months from now i'd have been 2 weeks married!

erica, hmm...since you like the really like the place what if you consider putting the extra 2 tables as reserves...? maybe can discuss w the wedding coords.. i'm sure they'll try their best to see what they can do for you..

hi breekz, you mean the sand area next to the sea (photo above)? if so, i'll be holding mine there... hmmm beach def will be sandy. but it's not those v fine and soft sand if i dun rem wrongly.. shd be the harder and dryer type, hence the ground quite even?

trixter, i'm thinking having balloons for my ballroom... outdoor solemnization dun think gonna add much coz the scenery already quite nice. if i wan additional decor i'll go macritchie there and get flowers myself and ask friends to help me decor.. $100 can get lots and lots of flowers..

I ever tot of topping up the flowers.. but went several florists to ask for quote.. they din really give me an exact quote leh.... and they oni provide xtra decor on the table aisle.. anyone got gd lobang or suggestion....

hi macadamia > yea....i heard going to those bulk florist and i can get many many petals and nice flowers!! ok..i shall start my research then..hehe...

summerala > once i get any good deal i'll let you know k!!

yeah 1.5 years away ... we just wanna settle the venue early so that we can start planning slowly and making things work out nicely ... flowers wise is it really that little? think we dun wanna spend too much extra money too

I held my wedding in Rasa on 20th May. The experience was wonderful and one that I will remember for life.

Like Ling(Lux), i had the same worry on parking lots especially because there were 2 weddings held on the same day. I agree with her that one will not have the time to worry on the actual day.

I must definitely compliment Perry for his excellent service. My husband and I might not be able to enjoy ourselves without his help and guidance. Thanks a lot, Perry.

The food was great. Everyone complimented on the cod fish, prawn and duck.

All couples should try to reach Rasa earlier if possible. The view and suite decor are marvelous. I regretted arriving too late and had to rush for my make-up.

On the whole, I must say I didn’t regret holding my wedding in Rasa. Like many bride-to-be, I worried a lot on location, parking lots and etc. Trust me. You will not regret choosing Rasa.

wed_in_2006 > thanks for your feedback! i'm sure you made the brides to be here feel so much at ease.....[phew, at least for now..}

ya i bet the view is FANTASTIC........i'm going to start my solm at 630pm and dinner at 730pm so that everyone come early and take nice nice pictures!! hehe..

Thanks trixter
will wait for ur good news

wed_in_2006
Thanks... Really glad to hear that... Im still waiting patiently for my wedding to come.... 6 more mths to go.... long long way

Hi JingzJingz

haha u r like me... I oso book 1.5yrs earlier... haha So u got to wait patiently like me le... wait till neck long long.but the good thing is can save slowly.plan slowly..Meanwhile u can conc more on ur hse now lor....

haha....not busy really....just that i don't know what other topics to start!!

BTW, I was at Rasa last weekend and happen to see a actual soleminsation at the waterfront lawn... it looks good, just a little plain. I'm sure gotta add some more flowers or sash!

anybody with anything to share???????

Hi trixter...

I think if you add balloons and stuff it makes the whole place more... ermm.. festive? I decor the place with balloons. Towards the end of the reception told the xiong di to gather all the balloons and let them out into the banquet hall when we are about to march in.

Otherwise my main grousal of the ballroom was the remarkably short march in and plain stage and outlook..

thanks ling....i like the ballon idea! FH says i'm trying to be funny.....da**.... he wants to put candles...i told him the little kids might catch fire! haha....so maybe flowers with some ballons would be the ideal choice!

The things with balloons.. dont use the regular green blue red those sorta colour. Instead take those in gold and silver.. give the place a rather classy feel.. I got the balloons at concourse.. They provide delivery as well.. so it's not too troublesome to transport the balloons afterall.

Kids will play with anything...after the march in with the balloons up on the banquet hall ceiling, the kids made the adults get the balloons for them.. ended up the captain was obliging and become peudo- balloon man for that 15 minutes.. you see the kids rallying ard the balloons it was quite a sight.. bring a sort of.. hmmmm lively atmosphere somehow.

candles I think in the open cannot see lah..

hi ling,

i thot of balloons too for my solemnization..
...can i check wif u, u mention dat u boug the balloons at concourse...do they provide the blowing up of the balloons too?if not, did u all blow by urself (but if i hv not mistaken, if blow by urself, the balloons wun fly up rite?) if not, did u all buy helium? from where?

can i hv the shop name too? n how much does it cost?

thanks thanks!

hi shan shan,

went to concourse recently to get deco stuff for my rom. found one shop that sells balloons and deco stuff for weddings. They got nice unique balloons. You can place an order with them and they will blow the balloons up with helium for you den you collect from them. You can check it out!

Hi RASA brides n bride to me, I'm new here and just confirm on AD on 17/6. I will be doing my soleminsation also on the same day in the evening time.

Hi Shan shan, u can go to this shop @ concourse called "heartlink". They got v.nice ballon.

Hi shan shan.. you go to concourse hard to miss those shops..

the balloons are inflated with helium and tie with a string sorta like ribbon actually. We paid $1 each for them and transport cost like $20.

Hope that helps...

icic...great gals, thanx for your wonderful info..
...wil go to concourse n recce...din even noe got such shops heehee...at first was stil tinking my poor FH muz blow all the balloons the day before AD...hahaha....

thanks for info bout the balloons! i already knew we gonna use the balloons... was wondering where to get the helium too. thinking of light blue and silver ribbons... prob will go down to concourse to get a look.

ling is there a min. number we have to buy?

Hi gals, me considering RASA for my weddin next yr..can I check with you all, if I wan to have the solemnisation by the sea, how much do i need to top up? Thanks!

hi trixter...
i just came back from my gown fitting yesterday! My MTM gown took 9 wks to b ready... waited until neck long but i love my gown!! We r very happy with the work done by Geraldine!

But OD gown was limited choices for me coz this period is a hot season as most gowns r chosen or taken out by other BTB liao... So lesson learnt is select ur OD gown & do PS during low peak season will give u more choices to select... ;-)

hello superbee!! thanks alot for remembering to share with me! i am glad you love your gown! my friend is also satisfied with her gown done by geraldine! I WANT GERALDINE TOO!!!!

i heard that OD and EG all are very very limited... so i hope i'll be alright... hey, i am so happy for you....after hearing so many ups and downs abt our BS, I think the best news is to know that you love your WG!

so ur PS is this month? i intend to have mine in Nov...hopefully it is not consider a peak season!

hey macadamia and rinnie > As far as I know, the price is fixed at $1500 regardless of # of chairs..but well, we always hear different quotes from them so i wont be surprise if they quote u based on # of chairs and charge me a fixed price...

Ling > thanks for the ballon lobang! me will have the polariod and ballons......so fun!!

hi trixter... i highly recommend geraldine!! ;) i also heard many nitemares of MTM gown turn up to be disaster so really pray hard for past few wks & thank god everything turn up to b fine.. my PS is next wed... hopefully the weather is good.. i also met candy - MUA yesterday & she is friendly & recommend me to layer my hair... will share with u my PS experience after its over... :p i think nov is quite safe period coz many pple r holding wedding in Nov & Dec so lesser ppl taking pics i believe... so how's ur research on gown so far??

to those who are looking for balloon, here is a website to share http://www.yeogm.com.sg/balloon.html

hi there!

thanks...i shall request for geraldine! i'll ask my "friend" to bless you with good weather on next wednesday ya...hehe..yea, i read that candy is the most popular one.. she's my choice too!

my research arh??humm.... i did look through the webiste u gave me and printed some of the gowns i like....i did that like last month? i've not been doing anything related to my wedding lately lei...haha... also dunno what else to do now..

hey, looking forward to hear from you about your PS ok...i bet it'll be great! have fun gal.

thanks trixter & good choice!! :-) take ur time to do the research since u wont be doing the design so fast... but do give 2mths buffer for MTM gown to b made esp if u want to have lots of emboirdery.. btw, u can download gown pics & bring ur laptop there... thats what i did... download abt 40 pics.. :p

hi superbee and trixter, wow you ladies have the same bridal? sounds cool! which one is it? superbee ur photoshoot is TWO days away??? mine's 1 mth away... already so busy with everything!

superbee > hehe....thanks for the great tip again~~~~ did you also take Bryan for your PS??
hey, your AD is in Jan right??

Macadamia > Yea, me and superbee using Sophia Wedding Collection....what abt you?? she's been my pillar for support so far..haha....been providing me tips so i am "more confident" abt my BS now..hehe... hey, your AD in Dec this year right??

Sorry gals if i remember all your AD wrongly!!

Happy planning to all..

hi trixter & macadamia...

my PS is 8 days later(21st June).. hopeful no sudden pimple popping nor black eye bags on that day.. hehee.. :p oh my photographer is bryan & will c him this sat when i go for final fitting...

my AD is 16th Dec which 6mths from now... a bit kiasu take early pic rite? but bopian coz i m using my wedding pics to do customised wedding cards.. ;)

so macadamia ur AD in Dec too?

hi trixter and superbee, my AD's in November!! photoshoot will be 11 July.. wedding is 19th Nov 06. yar actually i also cannot rem all the dates.. maybe we shd do a table with all our dates inside.. then whoever joins this thread can update the table too. what do you girls think?

oh my bridal's Sattine. sophia is the one along tanjong pagar rd too right? is it the one at the corner? if so mine is a few more units down the road.

Hi, Has anybody held outdoor wedding at Rasa before? any comments on that and wld appreciate if someone cld share your photos with me..=) thanks!