Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi erica,

oh dear...think you muz be really mad..hmm... think he trying to earn a few more bucks... dun angry dun angry...

hi pastilles,
my wedding coord is shirlene. yours leh?

pastillies > gosh, if I were you I'll be angry too! but cool down ya... try to negotiate together with your 2 other friends lor.. I think it should be more powerful that way!! good luck!!

macadamia > you know what...after seeing your pic above, i suddenly realise I did not check out every lawn area cos i dun think i saw the sand area.... think i need to visit them again!!

hi erica,
hmmm....hv u met up with him?? i enquired abt his charges in late april and signed with him on the 1st of May leh..i dun understand his reason on 'It is when you enquire and not when you book. The quote is applicable for her only.' .. so weird one... how much he charging u??

ya man, I was very angry lor....i normally dun complain in forum one, i tok a lot of things but will never openly complain unless it really pissed me off, and I want everyone to be careful.

He saw my post and called me last night to explain. He mentioned you enquired with him long time ago....hmm, but seems you only enquire 2 weeks ago leh. I tot you enquire like 2 months ago.

But anyway, I accepted his explanation. Me very kind la hehehe....

I believe he is increasing his prices and happens that you are the last few under the old pricing. He indicated the date as a hint that he will be increasing his pricing soon. So your enquiry came before he increase the price. And my enquiry came after he increase his price even though its still within May. In short, he charges by enquiry date, and not booking date.

But I did mention that he shd increase after the date specified for consistency lor.

But guess he has his own reasons though. Imagine if everyone knows he is going to increase price after a specified date, everyone will chiong to him and he simply dun have the time to meet up with every enquiry and find it difficult to reject them too, coz maybe some will think he is refusing to meet to allow them to wait until the new prices commence.

He is so popular that one of his clients even went all the way to his house and sign on the spot with his wife before flying off.(he was not ard then).

Sigh, his works are good lor, and he has a passion for his work and hence can do wonders, which so many professional VG are unable to do.

In terms of his passion for work and quality, I do admire him. Its like you can safely leave it to him, no worries at all, and you can be sure you'll get astounding work at the end of the day.

I enquired with him early May, so guess you are very lucky lor.....buy 4D also not so heng manz....no wonder I never strike 4D before.

hi erica, you v nice... if it's me i'll think there're a lot of gd photographers out there.. dun have to be restricted to one.. personally i'll think that he not be honest..black and white already say the date, and din state the deadline that you have to sign up the package by... but guess it's ok lah.. he sincere and explain then prob really is genuine.. you'll be happy to have him shoot for you too, right? then you signed up alrdy? ha rem to share with us next time yah!

hi trixter, yah they got quite a few plaes! did you see the lawn area at the white fence there too? the one in front of the hotel quite nice too.. that time i went for their "open house" they laid out the chairs to show ppl the setup.

i got a pic of the white fence area.. dun mine the messy parts.. took it "any-o-how"while we were touring the place.

369376.jpg

I'm new here... & am unsure if Rasa is still a good choice due to the so called "inconvenience". I absolutely agree with trixter tat the coaches bring us to the door steps but Im still concerned abt parking.. wat if there are not enuf carpark slots.. what r the guests gg to do? Very bothered abt this ... any advice ... or alternatives? oso, i felt tat d coordinator is unflexible .. emily, refuse to compromise and give nt a single thing. anybody more flexible to recommend? Many thanks!

hi erica,
i guess i really lucky lor...hehehe...but not enough to strike 4D leh...hehehe...cos i kiasu..so quickly sign with him lor..or else i also wont get tis deal..hehee...

Macademia - Hee, thanks for your moral support. True that there are many gd VGs in the market, so no hurry to settle for anyone yet. Will be visiting a few VGs next wk. One of them is injackstudio. I have good impression of the 'uncle' thru the phone. Dun know he how old la, but he sound uncle, so in my mind, got the image of a uncle heee. Find him very polite and flexible, but haven seen his work yet. Ultimately, quality is still most important to me. he's got pretty good comments and my fren took his PG and VG package for his wedding this Sat, so I'll get a chance to view his works and talk to him hee.

Bizznow - Hee, congrats to you. Look forward to view your video soon......*if you allow* gee..

superbear - Hi, welcome to the Rasa family ! Share with you my personal opinions ya ? Having a wedding at Rasa means more coordination work to be done and details and timing must be carefully planned and carried out to ensure everything goes smoothly. For me, I may need more helpers as compared to the usual town weddings for transportation affairs etc. Hmm, maybe I shd organise a committee hahah.....my bf chided me for holding our wedding like a D&D affair muahaha.

But a Rasa wedding also means something unique and special, weddings are onli once in a lifetime event, so I'll luv to have something outdoors and my vows made under the beautiful sunset by the sea. Its a wedding you can onli have once, and your wedding, so must be something you really like. Me a bit selfish one lah hahaha.....

I haven liaise with Emily before, so sorry, hard to give my comments on her. But I personally feel the service at Rasa is good, even to the point of excellent....but guess sometimes it really depends on who you liaise with and how comfortable is the relationship between us and the coordinator.

hi erica, no prob! jia you..find one thatyou like..happy memories!

hi superbear (ha ur name so cute), rasa is a beautiful place! it was the 1st place that i like.. actually we just wanted something outdoor and fun. went to many hotel pools, found none that we really like.. singapore dun have many other beaches too..east coast cannot lah.. if u like marinas u can try those yatch clubs or something. just that we've never visited those places or are that kind of sea sports fans so those places dun really hold any meaning to us. outdoor got botanic gardens, fort canning, etc, but i still like the idyllic feel of a beach... prob coz i like to go on beach holidays too. sentosa has other beaches too, but we thought having one just next to the hotel is more convenient too.

as for transportation, yah parking may be a prob if there're too many cars.. but we're inviting mainly close friends.. so to us hopefully they'll share our joy enough not to mind! (which we believe they wun mind). another reason is also because we find that having one in town is too common and " everyday affair".. having one in sentosa away from the hustle and bustle really makes it much more memorable for us..

but depends on individuals i guess. some ppl just dun like the location, while we love it.. so see what you like lor. =)

good morning to all Rasa brides and Brides to be!

Macadamia > thanks for the pic! yes, now I know where is the "sandy area" liao...it is at the side nearer to siloso beach, nearby the outdoor bar!! If you're choosing there, then i think you better not wear any heels more than 1" high or else i think you'll have a hard time walking around arh.. dun you like the greeny lawn area?? me still considering between the waterfront lawn and garden lawn lei... scare it'll be too hot at the waterfront area..but at the garden, i think the pool is too near liao lei, jus in case there are kids playing there then it might "spoil the atomsphere"..also seems like all the hotel guests can have free show from their balcony lei..haha....aiyo, dilemma la!!

erica > good luck to your searching la!!

superbear > regarding parking, i did ask them abt this problem before...accroding to what my coord told me, they now have a new parking area for dunno 100 or 150 cars strictly for Rasa guests only. Well, unless there are 2 events on the same day, otherwise, 100 slots for your dinner should be ok. I'll suggest that you check with Rasa how many events they are having on that day, if there are two, then you'll need to work with Rasa staff to arrange another coach at the carpark further down, so that your guests can park there and take the coach up to Rasa.. thats was what my coord "planned for us" la..

regarding coordinators, I heard there are total 4 of them there, you may wish to try out each one of them to see which one you're more comfortable with lor...good luck and dun despair ya!!

Im also a Rasa Bride.. IM very kiasu and book last yr March and my wed is actually dec this yr.. haha ... Finally The day is reachin.wait till my neck long long... Before I sign up im already aware that Transportation will be bit of prob..But Hubby and I still insist becoz we really like that place..it will be really romantic and meaningful to have our weddin there.. And we nv have sec tots abt it...

By the way.. is RASA really goin to have a nearer carpark???

summerala > I thought I am very KS when I confirmed my "order" with Rasa in March 06 when my wedding is May 07........so looks like I've got a challenger!! Ha, but I bet you got a very good auspicious date!

Regarding the carpark, I jus called Rasa, Perry said the carpark capacity is actually 119 and it is within the hotel compound(walking distance) - only for hotel guests.

Hi Trixter

Haha mine is not a auspicious date... haha... I did not check lar.. also not very superstitious... haha.. I book early becoz i tot will be cheaper to book that time.... So U have to be like me ..countdown slowly for next yr may to come le..

hi trixter! welcome! yup i like the lawn too! i'll need a stage setup as mine is holy matrimony.. got ppl singing and pastor officiating the wedding (ROM on the stage too), so the garden lawn too small for me. i'd have chosen the waterfront lawn too, just that our coord was advising us the grass really a bit botak already...coz so many functions there... and we agree lah... the grass really got big patches of sand. our coord was also telling us if it happens to rain in the afternoon, sand will dry up faster.. of course it wun rain on that day!! amen! one more thing is during the ceremony bout 6+, 7+, when the guests are seated down, they'll have to shelter their faces from the sun..with a fan or something... coz the sun will shine a bit.

initially i preferred the grass patch..coz green green more elegant.. but i thought the sand can be v fun too...can have a " fun" theme. she was saying red roses and sand go well together... the sand area with all the coconut trees nicely " ärchitectured" also v picturesue. so... the sand, we chose!

you mean there's a new carpark right IN the hotel?? really?? wow...how cool is that??! that's wonderful news!!

hi summerala! your wedding's one month after mine!! we almost wanted to put around Christmas time! but dec is a busy month in church.. so nov lor.

oh yah trixter. i may even consider walking in bare footed! ha but see how 1st..no lah maybe wun be barefooted.. coz think my HTB will wear proper suit..

hello Rasa brides!

summerala > FYI, I also settled my BS liao, so now only sitting back and "relax"...ha.. Are you doing your solemnisation at Rasa?

macadamia > Yes, Perry said " We have a carpark capacity of abt 119 in the hotel compound" My coord also told me the carpark was done up like 1.5yr ago. Last time Rasa guests have to use the public carpark some distance away, but not anymore.. gosh, I better call again to VERIFY..

hey, yours sounds like such a fun affair.. got pple singing somemore...hehe.. then you must dress more "hawaiian" ok..barefoot is nice too, can show off your nice pedicure and tie some nice flowers at your ankle? haha, then maybe you can get Rasa to provide your guest with those disopsable bedroom slippers so they can walk into the sand area???

You're are right abt the sun glaring at 6plus! Thats why I thought we should do our solem. at the garden lawn(near pool) so that it is not that glaring....aiyo, duno la, headache lei..

happy planning gals!

Ladies > Confirm the 119 carpark is in the hotel. Of course, unless not enough then your guests will need to go to the bigger carpark for public which is abt a 10min distance away. If really need to go to that carpark then they will arrange coach to pick your guests from the public carpark to the hotel lor....

is it the open air one? next to the beach? ya there's a car park there. u turn into the hotel then turn into the staff park area and there's a car park there. quite small though and when i was there the carpark was rather full... the other carpark is the beack car park or the getway carpark i think which are further away. Hth...

Trixter

thanks for lettin us know...
SO fast u got ur BS lah.. this one im a bit lag lah... still yet to go gown fitting... I have my ROM last yr le..... at first tot of havin my solemnisation there but scare too troublesome so change my mind eventually

Hi macadamia
wah ur name very funny....

Ur wedding very near "da zi ran" leh... I wish mine is like urs... .. even if it might not be warm that day... for someone who is very scare of warm like me.. sure cannot make it wan... i will get very irritated when i feel warm...so indoor is safer for me,, have u all book ur PG/VG... i book mine beginni of this yr.. hope im not the kiasu one...

I just had my wedding at rasa a couple of weeks ago... And the parking was okay... I had thought for the worst to be frank because of the number of parking lots available. However everything works out and at the end of the day you barely notice because everyone is ald there and they will have a place to park eventually. I had 41 tables and the way they only allow guests and banquet goers to park on the actual day is rather problem free. So no worries brides.. you be too caught up to notice parking.. =)

congrats ling! thanks for the confirmation..

jingz > yes, it is the open carpark facing siloso. Public car park can use the beach carpark for 600plus cars that one lor..

summerala > ya lor, i settled my BS in April liao...huh....now waiting for fitting in sept only....

hi trixter..

No I didnt, but I used only 2 and 1/2 bottle of hard liqour. Not many drink that nowadays but prepare for a lot of wine!

thanks Ling!

wow only 2-3 bottles for 41 tables!!!! MY FH's colleagues are all "heavy duty" drinkers..so gotta prepare alot of bottles....however, I'm thinking they need to drive too, so may or may not drink....hai...also dunno how to gauge the amount of hard liqour to prepare...

hey, so how was the whole event?? everything ok? Food okok??

Hi trixter, wow thanks for the great idea!!! sounds good! where you get that idea from?? solid lah... everyone wearing the rasa bedroomo slippers... v fun! but if the guests wear nice nice come dunno will make them look very weird or not. dunno muz pay for the slippers too! but sounds fun. hmmm then maybe i'll need to state onthe wedding invitation that the dress code is "fun" or something.. hmmm if it's like this not sure if appearing in a EG will look out of place? wow so manu things to think about.

ok ok look around again see which venue you like.

hi summerala, so you'll be having just the dinner there? ok ok..

hi ling, comgrats!! wow then will you be going away for your honeymoon soon? it must have been a lovely night...41 tables!! that's a lot... you mean they actually reserve the carpark just for your guests? that's great..
i din know the carpark was up since 1.5 yrs ago.. always had the feeling the carpark is always not enough space.

hi Trixter,

My folks friends and relatives are also heavy drinker from what I remembered... but I dont know whether it is because it was a sunday so everyone sorta leech on the red wine. To be frank we dont even know how many bottle of red wine was opened. I am guessing 60 bottles+ *faint*

Frankly the march in was too short so we did a twirl, a kiss and a bow to lengthen it.. I had balloons released when we march in and had confettis popper which were amazing. I got the $5 from concourse.. give amazing effect..

the food acccording to most was good although the e-fu mian SUCKS and some of the cod fish were overcooked. While majority say the portion were big and food was rather good than normal hotels. Servive was GREAT! what sold me to rasa believe it or not was the service. while the hubby was sold to the place.. ha.. Everyone gave me excellent service which totally amaze me and my friends. Aside from a few table.. even my picky-est friend give the place thumbs up. They top up drinks constantly etc and asked if they should distribute the food or otherwise.

I had a nice beach cocktail thing which was beautifully set up by them and to capture the moment I got a polaroid taker to take shots of my guests to give them as momento. everyone was sporting that what make it special.

I had an amazing time and Shirleen my co-orindater was an absolute darling=) .. to the extend my frds thought she was my personal planner frd imagine the shock they got when told them she's the banquet sales personnel.

I went for a getaway 2 days after the wedding. Took a short break at some resort. We proabbly go on a real honeymoon later on when we are more settled in.

About the carpark.. I think they did.. I got a frd who came at 7 plus and manage to park at the hotel. However trust me.. you be too caught up to worry about parking on the actual day. Everything just sits in nicely =)

macadamia > my dream wedding is an outdoor buffet love affair, with a live band(singing my fav slow rock) and champagne flowing on a nice Sunday late afternoon(2pm to 7pm), when the sunset, the party then end..hehe.. But FH's side got alot of "elders" thus it is not an appropriate idea for us la...

i really envy you that you can do an outdoor event so i'm throwing all my ideas to you!! they may or may not work....so happy planning ya!! For an outdoor event there is really ALOT of things you can do to inject energy into!!

Humm...I dun think Rasa will provide the slippers FOC(not cheap yea..) but I reckon you can ask for a good discount la...

My theme to the guests will be "romantic resort wedding" so I think they should know they should dress light.. Guests may not know that you have an affair on the sandy area thus I think you gotta let them know 'it is going to be a fun" event so dress light. Or else they dress nice nice and find out they gotta "play" at the sand area, aunties may not like it.

also, you can also consider getting extra flowers, so ladies can put the flowers on their hair - I think tis looks nice for an outdoor event.

of course, for an outdoor beach event, u yourself gotta match the theme la, or else everybody dress light only you so glam and perspiring...haha... remember that you are baring your feet, so I suggest that you have a 2pc set that reveal your wasit/navel, then you'll look more fun arh...hehe.. hey, even 2pc EG can be very nice too!! I've seen such EG before!!

Ling > OMG! 60bottles PLUS?? wow... so you got the wine from Rasa or you brought your own??

hey, thanks for the "detailed report". So long the food and service are good, I think it is good enough liao.... I recently went to a 5-6 hotel and the food was a let-down.

Phew, so far I think we only hear 'successful' weddings, no sad stories yea, so I guess we can really rest assured Rasa will do a good job la!!

hey, you using the polariod?? how many films did you prepare?? I wanted to use that too, but hor, the film not cheap arh...so I'm still considering...hehe...

shirlene is my coordinator too!! Good luck to me(and the rest out there)!

thanks again Ling for sharing!!!

Trix..

Ya boy... and I still got complain about not enough wine... I wonder from who loh.. I bought my own and RASA gave me some because hubby signed with them when they had the wedding show last year.

Exactly, I just wanted to know if the food was decent and service is good. the rest if you asked me is auxilary on the actual day. Rest assure RASA is good with the service. They may not have the best decoration but they try to match what you want in all terms. So just add in some details on your side.. I think it just top the cake loh.

Yes I used polaroid.. the film are expensive but everyone had fun. towards the wedding despite being on a tight budget, I lost count on how much I spent exactly. I prepared 160 exposures used 20+ exp for morning tekan session and my jie mei put into a collage for display. the rest my polaroid girl used during the reception and start giving them away. Approx giveaway 120+.. If you need help with the polaroid let me know.. I am helping my girlfriend with her and in the midst of buying films =) I'll be happy to help. anyway dont have to give each and everyone lah.. just do like 100 and cut off also no problem... no one comes too early also.. I spent abt $1.50-2 on per piece of polaroid.

Shirleen gave darn personalize service loh! I had Cathy earlier on but she passed the baton to shirleen when she left RASA. anyway no need good luck.. she delivers with or without it!

hey there...

Its great to hear you that everything went on smoothly and you are a happy bride...

I expect 250-300 guests. Gosh, I only have 16 bottles of wine...humm... with the beer and some hard liqour...gosh, I hope I've got enough..

I think you're right, I think I am going to prepare 100pcs-150pcs of film, if finish then finish liao...hehe...

Did you say you are getting the film?? Can we do some printing on the film?? Are you buying now or can later so that I dun have to keep one year...haha...

I think 250-300 guest wouldnt be able to drown 60 bottles of wine lah... anyhow buy them from outside.. and my experience tells me.. get the not so smooth wine. When it is smooth.. everyone leech on it like my wedding *tsk tsk*

Yupe let me know if you need help with the polaroid since I am doing it for a friend.. my hubby say I got hook doing such stuff. Duh.. the films dont expire so fast so you can have them hanging ard I reckon? anyhow email me.. we work out something?

Ling, thanks for the great help. I'am leaving my office now....I'll email you on Monday ya!!

Have a great weekend everyone!!

Hi Macadamia
I wonder where ur guest have to leave their precious shoes when they changed into slippers... maybe RASA will have to find a big locker to stall all of them...haha

Ling
61 bottles is so much... Luckily me only 24-25 table... but i oni have 24 bttles.... hopefully is enough.. how's the hse wine there?? I heard there are some hotel which provide terrible hse wine...

FYI,
one of my colleague oso attend a wedding in Rasa Sentosa recently. She had been to numerous wedding in diff hotels before...SHe told me the food at RASA is quite yummy and portion is big... service oso good... and she has no difficulty parkin her car there....

Hi summerala,

The house wine was not bad and quite smooth.. that is why I guess ppl are leeching on the wine..

hi ling,

thanks for all you shared!! really feel so much more at ease... quite worried that the food not nice, or the service not good, or th dish intervals too long, too fast... reading what u wrote really makes me feel like having my wedding next week or something! the food was really ok? hope by the time mine comes it'll be the same...

gown still haven't done finish... EG haven't chosen.. muz make wedding cards.. wo!

so the e-foo noodles was not nice only on tt day, or was it the same during your food tasting?

did you use the gel candles the resort gave? quite nice.. but thinking of giving the guests something practical to use...

hi trixter,

wow ok..thanks for your ideas then! i told my fiance bout the bedroom slippers too he was saying interesting too... will be v fun... summerala, like you, he also asked then the guests' shoes put where... haha... wo the flowers for the guests! that's nice!

oh on the use of polaroid, i wanted to use them for my guest book... so bout 1 or 2 mths back we went down to this photo shop at capitol tower.. they sell the camera for hundred plus.. the film quite ex too. actually we told the boss about our intent for the use of the polaroids.. and he told us actually the shelf life of the photos is about 1.5 yrs only. so ling if you keep them must store them carefully ok... i will think shd be sunlight or any form of light bah. the boss told us in 2 yrs will really fade until no more. i think it's v v v fun and special too!

think i'll most likely get a canon photo printer.. and print on the spot.. can use phone cameras... the more ex one ($399) can print wireless.. can print credit card size too... if 4R per pc $0.30 only... think i shd be using this instead of polaroid... but of course polaroid feeling different lah.

good morning!

Humm, my suggestion is that you can easily have your guests leave their shoe at the grass/lawn before they enter the sand area. I think any corner will be fine (i dun think anyone will steal the shoes ba..) or jus get your buddies to help keep an eye on that area..

it is a beach party so keep it spontaneous! wow, the canon printer seems to be so much cheaper... hey, but i hope the ink consumption will not be high!!

I like the polaroid idea but humm, gotta budget it abit...i can borrow 2 polaroid from my friends....so now i jus ned to get like 100-150pcs of film!! hehe...so happy i've got "some actvities" now...

Hey, ling, ya, i think all film has a shelf life...so better to get them "fresh" nearer my AD.....hehe...thanks ya!!

Hi Girls...

Well I guess the place has been booked so just have to take in stride and wish for all the best. =) anyway it turn out better than I anticipate so to it's ald the best. Especially the weather was so hmm.. rainy back then it was with god's grace that it didnt rain that day.

Hang chillies girls.. chase the rain away!!

About the polaroid.. the thing is we gave the polaroid away so we probably kept 7 of them out of the whole batch. I guess is up to the guest on how they upkeep. I have a couple of polaroid taken when I was a little girl and one when I was 14.. they are still good in my album though. Hopefully they stay that way for my own wedding shots. I was telling hubby to do the instant print out also!!! Anyway that is truly viable I reckon!!.. however the equipment and ink and paper simply adds up and logistically we didnt have so many helpers so scrap it off. You can borrow the printer from someone who have them I reckon. Save even more...

Trixter..

No problem.. if you need help getting the film let me know.. I can forward my vendors contact to you.

Summerala,

I asked for a bottle of wine for each table but was told that they actually keep the wine flowing if not enough. So I hope they'd do the same on your wedding too. My uncle told me that his table consumed 3 bottles. But I was only charged as agreed.

My wedding is buffet lunch and the food was good, esp the dessert. Plus I put my wedding cake in the dessert line too for the guests to have.

To Rasa Brides,

I need your adivses badly. I have went to see the carpark on last sat where they have two wedding dinner. When i leave at 630pm,the whole carpark is full... Does such thing happened to you? The most important thing is that when you ask your guests to park at the beach carpark, is there any guests complaining?

Please help.

HI viv

Good for u.. they din charge u extra...
Hopefully theu wll o the same for mine...

Nic
Which carpark are u refering to... I have no idea..but I will need to drop by one of these day to check too...

Hi nicholas,

I was lucky the hotel only had 1 wedding that day. If 1 wedding I think it was sufficent because as mentioned I had a collecgue coming at 7 plus and there was still parking lots. I had 41 tables and my folks encourage ppl to take the bus and so far so good. sure, there were grumbling but in the end everything was fine.

On the actual day we were so preocuppied that nobody bother us about having to park anywhere.

Hope that helps!

hi Ladies...anybody has any idea how is the food served at Rasa Sentosa? some commented is very bad, issit true? And for outdoor solemnisation and wedding, any adv on that? Will it be too warm and uncomfortable for the guest and couple? ....I love the outdoor concept but keep worrying about all this! Hope to have some adv on this......thanks!

hi gers,

am considering Rasa as my wedding venue. went down last week to take a look. the only setback is that the reception is so far away. hiaz. heard from my fren that the waiter's service there is very bad and inexperienced. is it true?

how many tables can the outdoor dinner take?

hi trixter and ling,

oh for the photo printer, like the 4R size, each piece $0.30 right? actually this $0.30 includes the ink already! the paper and the ink come together! this's what my boss boss told me lar... and the pics even when taken with phone really quite gd. of course if daylight then nicer (coz hp camera quality definitely poorer than a proper camera).

ling muz keep ur polaroids safely ok!!! muz tally til generations and beyond...!

hi jaslyn, nick, aiyoyo... welcome!! maybe you'll like to read up some of the previous threads? even have a whole list of the pros of having ur wedding at sentosa.. and how to handle transport problems and carpark problems..

hi macadamia!
dats alot of threads to read! hee. r u having ur dinner at Rasa? Hows the service there? my fren recently attended a dinner there. she commented that the service level of the waiters and waitresses were quite bad, din know the procedures of a chinese dinner and worst still, made a lot of cling cling clang clang noise during the dinner.

Ling > Talking about the rain...lucky it wasnt raining on your AD... I hope it wont rain on my AD too!!!

macadamia > $.30 for paper and ink?? humm... i thought ink is bought separately jus like our home printer?? anyway, it is definitely good news! $0.30 sounds a good deal!!

hi all other brides to be > well, i had already placed my deposit and is hoping for the best food and service..... I'm not sure what the cons are, I am more excited about making it into an memorable event than to worry abt the parking/waitress service/etc...

There are definitely "flaws' with ths hotel but I knew why I wanted to hold my wedding here so badly - die hard fan la...haha.. So I am not going to let the flaws bother me. I knew abt the carpark, thus like Ling, I will try to squeeze all my relatives in the coach, then friends can drive in and park at the hotel carpark. If really sway sway there are 2 weddings on that night, then my friends will have to park at the public carpark and wait for the coach, or they walk over lor... bo bian la.... its my big day, i'm sure my guests wont mind (i hope so).

Talking abt services, I was at a 5-6 star hotel for a wedding dinner last month and trust me, even though per table is more than $1k, the service isnt fantastic either.

Hope you gals can get more feedback from Rasa brides (not brides to be)...heehe...

If you really like this venue then work towards making it the best one!! good luck gals!!

Hi Aiyoyo,

I really think it wasnt that bad because my friends were telling me their service were impressive. And she was all the way telling me RASA sucks in term of everything and up till 2 months before the AD was still asking me why I was having it there. My frds and colleagues mention the top up of drinks were automatic without them having to call for service. Although we do have 1 complain for the very corner table abt the drinks not refill in time, my frd said was inevitable because the hubby wanted to arrange his frds together and the captain had warn that they might be neglect at that corner. The hubby insist so I guess he have himself to blame for that table complaint.

Service was beyond expectation because of the way the captain and banquet manager offer of services. While waiting for march in they even offer us a seat and wanted to serve us drinks.

Foodwise it was good. The only complain was the e-fu mian which sucks to the core and lucky the portion were big so everyone was too stuffed to bother abt the noodles and rest a bit before tucking into the dessert. Oh and we went against convention and served Cod fish instead of whole fish. the folks exclaimed no way and stuff but they were bought over during food tasting.. that was the most impressive dish and the stewed chicken. My frds say the food were delicious and portion were big although I have to admit a couple of table got the cod fish which were slightly overcooked. however not a big issue since we are serving dinner for 400 ppl. there is bond to have such hiccups I reckon.

Macadamia,

Ya I know the 0.30 include the ink and special film paper. It depends on what you are looking for. For us the machine would equate to the Cost of the camera and films. I got the camera at a decent price so it wasnt too bad. Abt the polaroid lasting till generations? It be up to them to keep.. as long as it last me this life time I be satisfied =)

I think trixter is right.. if you are really keen to hold it at the place go with it if you think you can tahan the transport woes. We told shirlene what we wanted and they delivered that is what is most important. Personally I wasnt too convinced abt the place myself but after the wedding I was glad hubby insist on getting RASA. The place is no ritz carlton but it makes an effort to serve you and that is what I appreciate more than anything else.