Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi jy,

we not gg for banquet.. hehe.. will juz be doing a solemnization then HM.. so wana make the solemnization a nice one.. only relatives n close frenz.. =)

i got the package for amara poolside.. their charges seems hard to calculate thou..

when is ur AD? holding a banquet? =)

<font color="119911">hi marilyn,

initially my idea was to have a grander ROM then just HM. but my fh says it's difficult for him to choose who to invite and who not to esp. for his colleagues whom hv been working for many yrs.

our guests lists grew that we cannot afford a buffet coz i dun wanna my guests to wait in line so long for their food.

so yes, we are having our solemnization and banquet on the same day. dec 06.

you need my help for the calculation? you might wanna go down to amara to have a look. my BS around there and i saw some construction work over there. so you might factor tt in, when the work is going to be completed.

or you can also go to the amara thread to find out more.</font>

hi jy,

my guest list oso growin.. hehe.. coz hard not to invite certain frenz.. den end up dono wat to do.. but tea reception is best for us coz we juz got a flat under the wis scheme.. so need money for flat.. hehe.. can make nice nice..

sori but wat is BS? hehe.. u mean amara havin construction work? hmm.. mayb will contact the co-ordinator to take a look at venue b4 deciding.. hehe..

i was lookin at the legends at fort canning but read from the legend thread like its not so good..

<font color="119911">hi marilyn,

if your guests hit a certain number, maybe you pple wanna take banquet instead. coz nowadays tea recep oso not cheap lor...rmbr to compare the prices.

BS means bridal studio. when i was there, i saw some construction work going behind amara hotel. constructing a building, i think. you better check it you with the co-ordinator.

my frd had his ROM reception @ legends. he told me quite expensive. honestly, every place sure got good/bad comments. so it's quite subjective lor.</font>

hi marilyn, if u are looking for outdoor, perhaps u could try singapore yatch club. my aunt recommended me there but they only can do about 20 odd tables. not enough for me =)

hi girls...

just went down to Rasa Sentosa to take a look at the place and packages and i totally fell in love wif the place...

can anyone send my their package details cos i wan to see see wad sort of things i can negotiate [email protected]

Also can ex-Rasa Sentosa brides send me some pics of their wedding?

Realli very excited about it.. hee..

Halo ladies,

its been a long time ever since i drop by here. hehehe... wow.. Rasa still being loved by alot of ple hor.. hehehe.. for those getting married soon, congrats to all of u..

Just sign up with Rasa and new to this thread. My AD is on 17 June 2006. Will be having solemnisation at the lawn followed by banquet dinner at siloso ballrm. Can I check with you ladies whether you have any program sheet wic I can take reference to.

halo ellie,

hahaha.. missed rite.. wish to turn back the clock hor for that special moment....so nice the feeling.. hahahaha...

hey, do u have any feeling like after the whole wedding, like no 'Qi Tuo' liao? coz after mine hor, i was like... ermm.... nothing else for me to do liao.. so sians... hahahaha...and furthermore, blink blink.. its almost 1year already for me.. time really files...

hi merchelle... u're so right! i felt a sense of loss, no motivation... withdrawal symptoms of no more wedding to look 4ward to. so sad!

wa... so fast one year liao. hen u can go back to rasa for anni stay! have they sent you the voucher yet?

Hi Ellie,

Wohahaha.. yalor. so sad hor.. to know that our biggest event of life became history liao.

yalor, going back for the anniversary stay during coming Dec. haizzz....this time go back and envy ple liao. hahaha... yup, the voucher was sent to me one mth after my wedding. U haven got urs?

merchelle... ya lor... when i tell my friends and colleagues tt i feel sad when wedding is over, they tell me to have a kid to motivate myself again! jokers... any news of tt for you?

no lei! i haven't received the voucher yet. i tot they scared we lose it over the year so will only send the voucher to us near our 1st anni... hmmm... i better sms perry. hehehe... wait they cheat me of my anni stay. yahahaha.

merchelle... ya lor... when i tell my friends and colleagues tt i feel sad when wedding is over, they tell me to have a kid to motivate myself again! jokers... any news of tt for you though?

no lei! i haven't received the voucher yet. i tot they scared we lose it over the year so will only send the voucher to us near our 1st anni... hmmm... i better sms perry. hehehe... wait they cheat me of my anni stay. yahahaha.

Halo Ellie,

Hahaha.. cute lah ur friends and colleagues. hahaha.. no lah.. not so fast to have BB. later have BB, then another round of 'sense of loss' feeling. hahaha.. too fast lah.. hehehe.. what about u?

ermm.. strange.. u better check with perry. I've checked with Elaine after 1mth of my wedding..then she posted me the voucher few days later. just fyi, the voucher cannot be used during wkends, PH leh.. so only wkdays to be used lor. wohahhaa.. better than nothing lah hor.

hahaha... merchelle, u got a point there. hmmm, for me probably try to conceive by 2007 ba. u're still so young so can afford to wait longer. hahaha...

i sms-ed perry straight away after i saw your message. he said he'll go check but hasn't come back to me. i shall wait awhile before i chase him again. ha? voucher cannot use on wkends and PH??? tt means gotta take leave to go stay lor. wa piang. they very smart lei... but also good la, wkdays lesser crowd, will be quieter. hehe.

Halo Ellie,

Wohahahaha... yalor.. still young, so cannot imagine myself carrying a 'balloon' walking around. hahaha...

gd for you that u had plans already. hehehe... Jia You woh..

Yalor, have to take leave lor. what to do.. true enough that wkdays to be there to relax. If i'm not wrong, Sun also consider wkdays rite for Rasa? So i will be going for Sun.

There is a grace period of the voucher. Meaning the voucher can be user between from eg: Nov 05 ~ Jan 06. Something like that, in between of ur anni date..
no need to be the exact date, but of coz u can choose to go for the exact date lah, but remember to book inadvance to avoid disappointment. Oppss, i haven book mine yet. hehehe....

Hi impulse41,

U mean wine or beer? Their wine comes in cartons/bottle one leh. Not barrel i guessed.

Mine, opened 2 cartons of wine (abt 24 bottles of wine), then 50l of beers (left with 8 glasses). Hope it helps.

Hi impulse41,

Wohahaha.. not a problem. Just a highlight, mine wedding was last year dec. Signed the package on 2003, so there might be difference ba i guessed. Well, we had 50l (30l + extra 20l-given in package) of beer. then we asked for 1 carton of wine (12bottles-have to pay one hor). We expected beer to finish first, but end up wine is more of the grab by my guests. The first carton were finished after the 4th dish, so have to open 2nd carton lor. We have hard-liquor as well for those old relatives and friends of parents. But also nowadays, ple tend to go for wine.

hi merchelle,

50l of beer but u left with only 8 glasses? how many tables do u have? i have about 25 tables, thinking of whether i should or should not purchase anymore beer or should i get another 20l? i have 1 30l already. want to limit the drinks, if not, my pocket will be big holes....

is 30l beer too little for 25 tables?

wa merchelle, u better book your htl room wor. now school holidays, occupancy rate may be higher than usual.

hi impulse, try negotiating with perry for additional 20l barrel of beer. but it's true tt ppl tend to go for wine nowadays. we used 35 bottles for 34 tables, so it's at least 1 bottle per table. u have to gage your drinking crowd.

Hi impulse,

Yalor, i agreed with Ellie. You can try negotiate with Perry on that and you have to limit and control the drinks ah.. if not, u will be siong leh. normal trick is to control the serving on those heavy drinker tables (meaning serve slowly and pour to a certain amount), start serving the alcoholic drinks only after 1st or 2nd dish.

I have 29 tables. Beer, hardliquor and wine served. well, u were asking if 30l beer too little for 25 tables? ermm... it will depends on ur guests if they drinks more on what liao lor. Old ple tend to drink liquor, youngers one more on wine + beer ba. U only serving beer? or with others as well? Rememeber, u can't be possible fullfilling every1 needs. So don stress on this yah. I'm sure ur friends, colleagues and relatives will agar agar one also.

Hi Ellie,

Yalor, will have to book fast liao. if not, abit sian hor. hahahaha.. so has Perry get back to u already?

merchelle, no lei, perry hasn't replied. but never mind la, since my anni still far away, can afford to wait. hahaha. but i'll sure follow up with him until i get my voucher. i won't let them get away with it. hehehe... ya, u better book your room la, now oredi end Nov ok. wait the day u wan bo liao then how? if anni over liao then stay no feel liao lei don't u think?

Hi Ellie,

Think Perry must be bz lah... furthermore, now peak seasons of couples getting married i guessed. I'm sure he will revert to u once he's available. Cross fingers that he will get back to u soon. ;)

Wohahaha...hehehe.. hey, i had make reservation for my anni stay liao. Heng ah.. still got rm available on the exact day of my anni. Oh yah, just fyi, my voucher was stated that its valid frm 18 Dec 05 ~ 17 Jan 06. so its abt 1mth of grace period of ur wedding anni, strictly not valid for Sat, eve of PH, PH, 24~26Dec 05 &amp; 31 Dec 05 ~ 1 Jan 06. they really smart hor.. avoiding to have free stay during hot peak seasons...hehehe...

Hehehe.. just being curious, any1 having their AD on 18 Dec 05? hahaha.. go KPO KPO...wohahahaha..

hi merchelle, so lucky your anni falls on sunday. the block-out dates quite a lot wor... esp in dec i guess. but good la, u managed to secure a room. seaview room right?

eh, u wanna crash in on the 18 dec 05 wedding dinner is it? hahahha... oh btw, the room stay voucher also comes with free $100 F&amp;B voucher right?

Halo Ellie,

yalor, really heng. hahaha.. lucky lor. yup, its seaview delxue rm. But still donnoe which flr leh. Sacally, low ground one.. hahaha.. seaview also mah.. hahaha.. hopefully not.

Hahaha.. no lah, no crash in. just kpo, wanna peep mah.. hahaha.. siao liao me..
Yes, there's $100nett F&amp;B voucher as well for 2. donnoe can eat what.. hahaha.. yummy yummy, missed the food there.. hahaha...

hi merchelle, don't worry la, low level is poolview not seaview. hahaha... seaview at least level 7 and abv gua...

peep no need to ask la, just pretend as guest and go look c. hahaha... we've tasted the food at silver shell cafe and it's not fantastic lei. which food outlet you say the food is nice?

hi merchelle, don't worry la, low level is poolview not seaview. hahaha... seaview at least level 7 and abv gua...

peep no need to ask la, just pretend as guest and go look c. hahaha... we've tasted the food at silver shell cafe and it's not fantastic lei. which food outlet you say the food is nice?

Hahaha.. Ellie,

oh ya hor... its swimming pool instead of seaview for ground level. hahaha... forgotton liao.. wohahahaha..

That time we had our lunch @ Silver Shell Café.. not bad leh...hehehe... well maybe different cook ba..

merchelle, i find the spread quite limited plus the taste 'mian qiang' ok only. but since the $100 free one, never mind la hor. hahaha... dono if sharkey's still open, can try the food there as well.
talking of food makes me hungry liao... hehe

ohh....sharkey? the one near the beach one? ermmm.. the voucher cannot be use there woh. limited to be use @ The Terrace ah... think its the BBQ one.. hehehe.. iyah, nvm lah.. free one, so mai hiam lah i told my ah lau. hahaha...

hey, how come suddenly this thread left u and me talking ah... ermm..are we taking up spaces for those BTB taking Rasa. i hope not. hehehe..

yup, near the beach... oh then bo bian la. hahaha... true la, free one cannot complain. u call your hb ah lau... so funny. hahaha...

ya, i also realise left we 2 ex-brides talkin. where have all the BTBs gone???

hi, i'm still around. seems like i'm the only BTB....haha.

any problem with rasa being so far? any guest complain? i haven't sign the contract. on one hand, like the place. on the other hand, worried about the attendance. by the way, got 20l beer free. thinking whether should i change it to 8 bottles of wine. what do ex-brides think?

8 bottle very little hor. but that the max he is willing to do.

Hi Ellie,

Hahaha. yalor, 'ah lau' sound funny ah? hahaha.. ok lah..... sounds like auntie hor. hehehe.. hey, jiat lat lah, weather now simply too gd to Zzzz sia. Yawn... no mood to work. hahaha..oppsss.. ;)

Hi Impulse,
Ur worry is understandable. all brides taking Rasa have the same worry, but what to do.. its just simply too unresistable mah. ermm.. not bad leh, 20l of beer exchange with 8btls of wine. Did u ask him roughly how much is the barrer of beer? Coz during mine, i asked my co-ordinator the $ of beer and wine. then compare which is more worth it.
obviously the wine ba. coz u see ah.. if we bring outside wine in, then Rasa will charge us cockage fee for the wine as well. if i did not remember wrongly, each cockage fee is abt $24++ (during my time lah, not sure still the same anot), its abt the price of a btle of wine if u take from Rasa. ermm.. am i confusing u?
But again, u have to agar agar know ur guests preference as well lah, most drink wine or beer?
for ur fyi, 1 normal barrel of beer, consider of 2 and 1/2 jugs of beer, 1 jug is 4 glass. then 1 btle of wine is abt 6-8 glass (depends the amt that pour and how big the glass lah).

Hopefully i didnt confuse u. hehehe..

hi merchelle, sounds very lao fu lao qi... hahaha... ya boyzzz, me sleepy too. this thread + coffee keeps me from dozing off. hahaha. TGIF.

hi impulse, glad to know someone else besides merchelle and me still ard. hahaha...

think carefully what u may have left out b4 u sign the contract hor. o/w after u sign, very diff to nego for further benefits. try to nego for free 16 btls wine, cos tt's one of the bridal show perks. if perry says he cannot extend tt to u, ask for free corkage for all the wines u bring in (at least 2 cartons). if he says no, he will then offer you one carton corkage free for every carton u bring in but try to talk to him nicely and he may just waive it. (be nice but at the same x aggressive enuf to get what u want). heheehe. for me, i won't change the 20l for 8 btls wine cos one btl costs only $18 outside (grade same as rasa's house wine). so tt's y asking for free corkage is better lor. but tt's up to u to decide.

then also ask for day use room (3pm - 7pm) for your family/jie meis/groomsmen to rest on AD. this must be incl in the contract.

hi all ex brides &amp; BTB of rasa...

me backie liao...:D finally met up with Perry for the agreement, there are some issues tat he mentioned he won't include in the contract, but via emails, maybe Impulse, u can try tat?

hi, he did offer me one carton for one carton. so ellie, possible to get waive off on everything? hmmm...

how about day use room? he mentioned he will try and arrange for me but no guarantee depend on occupancy. he doesn't want to put it in the contact. so can get him to put it in? what do the rest think?

hi ram, welcome back, long time to 'c'. heheehe.

hi impulse, initially he offered us one-for-one, then in the end, he waived it all. so basically we brought in all 3 cartons w/o corkage. this is becos we keep chasing him for free wines cos i told him those who signed up during the mar bridal show got 16 btl free and we confirmed in jun with 2k deposit. so y can't he extend the free wine to us? i was quite aggresive and i think he buey tahan me la. so finally we settled on free corkage for all wines in e-mail. in contract, it was one-for-one.

day use room was incl in my contract cos we discussed about it in the nego stage before he even prepared the agreement. u tell him your JMs/XDs need room to doll up and be ready for the dinner so die die must have day room, cannot say no guarantee.

since u haven't signed the agreement, can ask for the sky. at most he doesn't agree, and u can counter propose. once u sign, u basically don't have much nego power.

i have some problem with the min no of tables. think i might not have 25tables. anybody here tried to nego for lower no of tables and suceed. i tried to ask him but he refuse. tips!!! pls?