Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

ram0111

hi ellie...

so fast, ur AD coming...so hv u gone 4 the food tasting? if yes, hw was it?
Ya lor, i fell in love w Pavilion, & its stg special oso as i work in town area, certainly do not wan 2 settle 4 any town area hotels..kekeke

Hmm..so perry is gg reservist soon, I've alrdy smsed him, hope he will reply.

ram0111

hi ellie...

so fast, ur AD coming...so hv u gone 4 the food tasting? if yes, hw was it?
Ya lor, i fell in love w Pavilion, & its stg special oso as i work in town area, certainly do not wan 2 settle 4 any town area hotels..kekeke

Hmm..so perry is gg reservist soon, I've alrdy smsed him, hope he will reply.

ellie

hi ram... ya very fast, it's this coming sun!!! food tasting done back in jun. food was good, presentation was nice, serving was huge.

ellie

hi charmaine, congrats to u too! of cos excited la, but feeling the jitters at the same time... hope everything goes well!

eliz_21

Congrats to ellie and charmaine.
Must share ur wedding pics with us after ur AD okie? heehee....

ellie,
R u very sure I can inter-swop the weekend and weekday menu? Cos i did ask Shirlene abt it, and she say cannot leh...

Yap gals, btw I've already sign the contract and fax it over to Shirlene on mon.

eliz_21

Hi gals, since I've just sign up with Rasa for my wedding on 10 Sep 2006, can anyone share with me how I should go abt setting my timeline?

Like when shld I meet up my co-ordinator again? and what will we start to discuss 1st? What shld I settle 1st in order to have ample time to prepare for my wedding... etc.... Thanks in advance!

vvbbb

Could i ask what else need to be put into the contract? my family and relatives and friends will be coming over to Rasa to stay for the weekends and Shirlene gave me $180 for normal room and $230 (i think) for sea-view. Shd I get that in the contract?

And... frankly, I hv not been able to negotiate anything cheaper, I kept getting 'this is the best price already' phrase. Did anybody managed to negotiate cheaper hotel rate from Rasa?

abt food tasting, what shd I look out for? the taste? what if it's not good? we can't back out anyway since already paid deposit?

ellie

thanks eliz & scrumpee!

eliz... congrats to u too on your 2006 wedding! u definitely can swop between wkday & wkend menu, except dish# 2, 4 & 6. cos tt's exactly what i did. perhaps u tell shirlene tt some brides from this forum did that and c what she says. u still hv almost a year to go so can relax abit now that u've confirmed rasa. basically, u won't be seeing/hearing from your co-ord till food tasting, which is usually done 2 to 3 mths b4 AD, then finalise the details like ballroom set-up, flowers, etc about 2 to 3 weeks b4 AD. if u're going sentosa for your outdoor PS, u can also inform your co-ord to 'lend' u a suite for photo-taking for a few hours. happy preparation and hv fun! it's never too early, believe me. now u can move on to BS selection liao. haha...

viv... the room rates under 'friends of the couple' promo have gone up according to perry, so perhaps the rates shirlene quoted are the updated prices. and yes the rates are stated in the contract. when's your AD? we signed our contract back in jun 2004 and we got 160 nett for sun to fri check-in and 180 nett for sat check-in for sea view rooms. as for food-tasting, i don't think u've anything to worry about cos the food was good, serving was huge and the presentation was nice. after u finish all the dishes, the chef will come in to see you for a feedback session so u can comment on anything u are dissatisfied with.

dazed

ellie and charmaine, all the best. tip for the day... all worrying should be left to your hb and helpers on your big day... just concentrate on being a mei mei bride!

lux

Hi Adeline,

she's my new co-ordinater.. My account used to be under Cathy but she have since left....

I have not yet to deal with Rosalind personally but she left me a mail to confirm her taking over my account.. Hopefully she's as good as Cathy.

sotongbride

I'm seriously considering RASA esp after hearing all the positive feeback. However, I might not be able to have it on weekends cos all the dates I wanted seens to be taken.

I'm very concern about the ballroom deco. Not sure whether it's nice. I really hope to catch the sunset for my solemnization but wonder whether we can really see beautiful sunset from the few soleminzation area (btw are there a few places that we can do our solemnization at RASA) Can any ex-brides share their photos with me at [email protected]?

vvbbb

ellie,

just asked Shirlene to negotiate the room rates again. she said 'cannot, it's the best price, better than corporate rate'. Sigh... can't get any bargaining here. I replied to her quoting your room rates, hopefully she'll give it to me.

adeletes

hi ling,

i met with her in july. she is nice. but very strict on the perks and offers. another hard nut to crack. only after some neg. then she agrees. tough.

vvbbb

ellie,

no luck... she gave me $180 .. for HILL VIEW.
So could i confirm.. your $180 is sea view or hillview?

I was thinking, if it's $180 for hillview, i don't need their SPECIAL rate cos if booked via internet also abt the price.

merchelle

Hehehe... i'm back.. hahaha.. so long no log in... hows things ladies? hehehe...guessed Rasa still ple's best choice hor.. hehehe

stacy2006

Hi viv and sotongbride,

Have you signed up with Rasa?

I signed up during their bridal show with some special perks. Unfortunately due to pressure from family members, i have to no choice but to give up Rasa.

Should anyone be interested to take up my package, please email me at [email protected]

vvbbb

stacy,

read your posting in another thread for the package. I think your package is before negotiation? I managed to get lower than that coz i'm quoting my friend's package.

hopefully their service won't be 'discounted' too.

stacy2006

Hi viv,

Yes. I have posted the details in the banquet exchange thread.

Wow... I thought the bridal show package is already very attractive. I didn't know you can further negotiate. If you don't mind sharing, may I ask what did you negotiate for?

vvbbb

Stacy,

I didn't negotiate actually, I just told Shirlene that my friend got hers at $xx so i asked her to make mine the same as her. At first she cited 'inflation' as excuse but in the end i get the same amount... BUT she asked me what i DON"T need from package, and i told her (so naive) what I don't need. So she took 2 of the items from the package. My friend got hers better, cos hers is dinner (mine's lunch) and she got to keep the WHOLE package (all that you listed).

sotongbride

Viv,

Can you pls share with me your package as well. I encounter many problems trying to negotiate with Shirlene. Not sure whetehr I'm asking for too much

vvbbb

sotongbride,
after reading Stacy's listing again, i think my package is abt the same.. cos Stacy has more perks, while mine's prob has 4-6 less items. I don't take the beer, anniversary stay, don't hv extra day stay and exclude wedding cake (cos i'm getting real cake)...and if request for anything after that, need to top up.

merchelle

Hi Phine,

No leh.. me didnt print out the table number on the card. coz, i don think my guests can really bothered to remember the table number anyway.. they will still check the table number during the AD.. ;)

oscarsem

Hi brides/groom who had banq Sentosa,
can I take a peek at yr wedding banquet ( esp those with 26 tables)?
I am helping my sister to seek up nice
wedding banq.
Would greatly appreciate if u could email me the photos and experience at [email protected]

tulipz

hihi, hmm can i check with u all is there any more bridal shows coming up? is perry easier to negotiate with?

my bf just talked to shirlene.. seems tough to negotiate perks sia...

vvbbb

tulipz, i dunno abt Perry but since he's more experienced, maybe he'll be able to give more perks.

Shirlene's new so maybe she still rigid. Wish i had taken Perry. I ever told my FH that guys usually easier to negotiate... well, generally.

My gf told me that when she had her wedding there, she get $180 nett for ocean view, but i can't leh.. she still stick to $230 for ocean view and for $180 can only get hill view. Tired already lah.. nego so much but no avail... so follow her terms lor.. During the process i couldn't sleep at night thinking abt it, so decided to b 'hands off' of the whole process and 'close both eyes n ears' and let my bf settles everything. I'll just turn up on the hotel on the wedding day.

tulipz

thanks viv!
hm i see... anyone here has perry's number?

do you all know where was the parking places offered to the guests?

tulipz

hihi i was there yest to check out the place.. i really want it man.. now just got to check with my parents...

any of u planning to use the lawn or used it before for reception? how was it?

bennysmurf

it has been a long time since i last entered this thread.
had my wedding at rasa's siloso ballroom on 26th june 2005. really enjoyed the process and wish i could live through it with my other half again.

tulipz,
i used the lawn for my reception. Scenery wise, there is nothing like it in other hotels. The sunset view is simply breathtaking. On the other hand, the view is subject to weather conditions which can be unpredictable. In addition, guests may find it troublesome to from the carpark and hotel reception area to the cocktail reception. This is especially so for the elderly. So it all depends on what you want...

tingz

Hi Smurf, I'll be having my dinner at the siloso ballroom too, was wondering if you can share with me your photo taken there? cos i dun have the chance to see the set-up of the ballroom yet. Thanks

wed_in_2006

May I check if anyone has booked the ballroom (Pavilion or Siloso) on 12th may 2006?

I am planning my wedding on that date but not sure if ballroom are taken.

My Husband and I are currently looking around for venue available on that date.

bennysmurf

Hi Tingz,
please let me have your email address please?
I do not know how to send PM with attachment to you.
Lux,
pictures sent.

Wed_in_2006,
why dun you call the resort wedding coordinators to check for you? I am sure they will be most happy to help. Pity my coordinator Cathy has left

lux

Hi Smurf,

Thanks for the picture.. I was previously under Cathy as well.. *sigh* now... no co-ordinater!!

I also planning to have the recep at the seaside and have ald.. block it. However Is it troublesome for the guest to go from the reception to the siloso ballroom considering the distance? Also do they decor the seaside for the reception.. or do we have to do our own decor?