Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

wed_in_2006

Thanks, smurf.

I will contact Rasa and ask for Perry. He seems to be more negotiable from all the previous threads.

bennysmurf

the troublesome part is not from the reception to the ballroom, but from the carpark area + hotel reception area to the lawn area, which is a longer distance.
there will be hotel staff to guide them from the level 1 lift landing to the lawn. you may want to station your helpers at the hotel reception cos in my case there was no hotel staff there for quite some time and luckily my brothers took the initiative to go there and redirect the guests so that they did not go to the wrong wedding (there was also one at Pavilion).
I do not recall seeing any decoration at the lawn area except some round tables and a mobile bar there. Not every sure cos I was very busy mingling with the guests.
Btw, has Rasa assigned a new coordinator for you?

Hi Tingz,
picture sent. Not very much i am afraid.

Hi Wed_In_2006,
Yes Perry seems to be more open to negotiation, but I think it will be difficult to contact him cos he is likely swamped by the couples from Cathy and Elaine. Good luck anyway!!

tulipz

hi smurf, can send me the pics too? [email protected]
oo thanks.. yah i would love to have it at the beach there.. now quite sian though cos parents side say rasa not v convenient esp for old folks to go and relatives..
sigh.. hope i can get it still...
hihi dun worry, shirleen's nice too =)

bennysmurf

Hi Looneytoons,
picture sent.

Hello Tulipz,
picture sent. Sorry to hear your parents saying rasa not v convenient. It is true to a certain extent. The free shuttle, charterted buses and hotel carpark can hopefully resolve some of their concerns.
great to hear Shirleen's nice too!

sotongbride

Hi smuf,

I went down the other day but also didn't manage to see the siloso ballroom. From the outside, seems like there isn't much deco.
Can you pls share your pics with me too? My email is [email protected]

Thank you in advance

pinkdolphin77

Hi Smurf,

Thanks! Have received the photo.

Which day was your wedding at Rasa? Weekday or weekend?

For those who held their banquets there before, how was the overall attendance? Did anyone tell you it's too far for them and so they did not turn up? I know there are shuttle bus service and all that but somehow it is still a bit far from the city area hotels.

bennysmurf

Hi Pinkdolphin,
my wedding day was on a Sunday.
about 10 people did not turn up. So attendance it was still quite good considering it was the last day of the school holidays.

tulipz

hi smurf!
thanks for the pic...
i got to delay my booking for some reason so just hope by the time i can book still have.

have been waiting for more than 1 mth for my contract from my coordinator but still no needs from him yet...any one facing the same problem as me?

tulipz

weekend rate can be found from their website..
it differs depending on the number of tables you want.=)think 35 tables for weekend is $728/738.. that's the cheapest.

tulipz

hihi... by the way let me clarify.. sunday is considered a wkday for rasa...

sigh i think i might not get rasa aft all, FIL dun like the idea, dan if like dat not enuff tables to have there at the cheapest price.. so sad.. now feel so stuck cos stopped searching already.... dunno now other place still have vacancy anot.. sigh..

sotongbride

Hi Tulipz

I have the same problem as you. Everyone love the idea except for my FIL. My BF says that it's once in a life time thing so he decided to go ahead despite of what my FIL says. I've already confirm 35 tables but now my FIL wanted to withdraw 5 tables and ask us to have a seperate dinner for these 5 tables of guests in Malaysia. Really headache

Luckily, my BF says he can extend the invitation to more friends...so hopefully we can still get the cheapest price.

Hope things will turn out well for you too.

ellie

hello all future rasa brides, about the attendance for the dinner, you have nothing much to worry about. we were initially worried about the turnout but in the end, only 2 to 3% of our guests didn't turn up, which is less than 10 people. all our guests arrived early in fact! plus alot of them commented that they've not attended a sentosa wedding b4 so they would love to come. so... cheer up and go with your heart!

tulipz

wah sotongbride! really sound the same leh... wah.. yah so i hope and pray hard liao...thanks for sharing with me.....
thanks ellie also for ur encouragement..

ellie

adeline... for us, we exchanged dishes between the weekday & weekend menu, except for dish#2, 4 and 6, which is the shark's fin, fish and forgot the last dish... hehe... perry allowed us to do tt so u can nego with your co-ord.

adeletes

hi elle,
so you kept the 2,4,6 dish. okie. thanks. i wanted to find out if anyone exchanged their shark fin soup to something else in rasa.

tazy

halo everyone,

i have also just booked my banquet with rasa sentosa. initally my parents objected, saying it's too far and inconvenience. but my FH managed to convince them and i am so excited that we are able to hold it in sentosa with our solemnization by the beach. likewise, i am still worried about the turnout.

bennysmurf

Hi seetho wee, daisy, summerala,
so sorry for not replying earlier. I have been extremely busy last few weeks and cannot access this site from my workplace cos it is now banned
I will collate your emails and send my photo to all of you next week.

bennysmurf

Hi Adeline,
we also exchanged quite a few of the dishes in our Weekday menu (ours was a sunday) with the weekend ones and Cathy our ex-coordinator was perfectly okay with it.
we also changed the fish to cod-fish but have to pay extra $30 per table. But practically all our guests loved the fish!

bennysmurf

Hi Jy,
congratulations on your choice!! Tell us which date you chose. We are sure you will have a wonderful wedding there just like we did. Well done to your FH for convincing your parents..
do not worry too much about the turnout. You need to work on this though, by placing the buses where you think many of the guests will come from.
good luck to your planning!!

tazy

hi smurf,

thanks!! my AD on 02 Dec 06...still 1 yr+ to go. i think most of my relatives got own transport...only my FH side need the buses. i am so worried about the weather coz it's usually wet during year end. like so many worries...

imarilyn

hi everyone..
mi new to tis forum.. currently planning rom wif BF.. is interested in Rasa's solemnisation by the sea package.. wan a simple reception followed honeymoon.. any idea how we shud go abt doing it? thanx..

tazy

<font color="119911">hi marilyn,

yupz, BTB means bride-to-be..no worries...you'll get used to it. when i 1st joined, i was confused too with the terms. so are you also looking for an outdoor solemnization? any particular venue..i mean beach/sea/poolside/garden etc?</font>

imarilyn

hi jy..

yuppies.. lookin for outdoor solemnization.. looked thru a few.. cant make up mind actually.. coz we kip havin a change of planz.. finally decide on tea reception followed by honeymoon.. hmm.. im open to all venues in fact.. but guests mostly relatives so scare they wun like the beach setting which im pretty keen.. hav to c how tings goes.. who is ur co-ordinator? shirlene was the person replyin to us thru the mail.. seems quite ok.. hehe..

tazy

<font color="119911">hi marilyn,

shirlene is my co-ordinator. she's very nice, no worries. if beach is out, how about the gazebo lawn @ The Raffles Hotel, poolside @ GWP/carlton/amara. if you like animals, you can try zoo/birdpark. if you like garden, you can try mandai orchid garden, very nice.

but first you and hb need to sort out what you guys really want lor. my 2 cents worth: if you only want solemnization then HM, maybe can hv a grander one. but if you going to have banquet, then either you have a simple solemnization or hv both on the same day.</font>