Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

naughtyrabbit

Hi all, saw this thread a couple of days ago. me is a BTB. Seriously considering Rasa for my dinner next in late nov(comtemplating fri nite). any complaints so far from your side about the hotel?

Act what is day room? the bridal suite not enough hah so do i nd one day room?

i m really sua gu about the details i shd bargain for. tink i too chin chye so scared sure genna jia by them. so like to check with you girls what i can ask for given the package i m offered. I didnt manage to go for any of their shows leh so will lugi or not hah if i jus sign up like that?

my package:
complimentary 30L beer
waiver of 3 carton of wine (36 bottles)
no cockage for duty paid hard liquor
pre-dinner provided in bridal room for us
outdoor pre-dinner cocktail for guest
100% invitation cards
free folw of soft drinks and mixers
champagne fountain and one bottle of champagne
3-tier wedding cake plus a real cake for us
floral deco on tables plus white seat covers
wedding guest book
wedding gifts for guests
muslim/vegetarian $65/person
food tasting (mon-thur)for 10 person 8course
one nite stay at bridal suite cum breakfast for 2
first anni dinner for 2 at deluxe seaview room
7 coaches (1coach = 20carpasses)
free parking at hotel carpark

any other BTB got better offers than me? ha ha... not gd at bargaining so nd help.. any opinions fm the exbrides?

ellie

hi impulse, sorry, can't help u there. their min req'd is 25 tables as per the price list. have u tot abt doing buffet? then u don't need to have 25 tables since the charges are per head basis.

hi naughtyrabbit, warm welcome! actually day room (3pm to 7pm) is for your bridesmaids/groomsmen/family to rest on AD if they're following you straight to Rasa, sure the suite is big but perhaps u'll want more privacy so the day room comes in handy. can try asking if u need.

looking at your package, looks very much ok to me. u can ask for extra 20l beer if u think 30l is not enough.

ellie

hi naughtyrabbit, how about floral arches and stands at the entrance and along your march-in aisle? are these incl cos u didn't mention... then u have 7 coaches?? alot lei... hehe. btw, who's your co-ord?

naughtyrabbit

oh my coordinator is shirlene.
anyone got her before? she nice?

ya the floral arches and stands at the entrance are included. i absolutely luf the place, b it the bridal suite or the nice solemnisation location on the sands (me a sucker for beaches, luf the sun, sand n sea babes), cost is reasonable too, comparing to those in town n dont offer gd terms somemore.

looked at merchant court, food great, ballroom fantastic but bridal suite yucks..
viewed amara suite nicer but ballroom ok only n package not fantastic ok only.
so far, still like rasa lah..
gg to check out le meridien perhaps and orchard hotel.

anyway, how u all find the deco hah? cos shirlene makes it sounds so dreamlike..

hmm.. ya shd ask for the beer, some of our frds r plain drunkards.. act got ask for the additional room for frds lah but shirlene says that we ll hv to forego our first anni stay, which i very relunctant too, i m sure u ppl wd understand y.. ha ha..

btw, hv u all selected your bridal studio or u all chose a la carte?

thanks for replying me ladies..:D :D :D :D

ellie

hi naughtyrabbit, ya, met shirlene b4. very adorable and pretty lookwise, attentive and responsible workwise...
she handled our wedding pretty well while perry was on reservist.

u holding banquet? siloso or pavilion? our pavilion decor met expectations, i heard from my friend that not all hotels provide floral arches. one thing to note though: if u're doing photo montage/express highlights during dinner, be sure to ask them to REMOVE whatever potted plants on stage in front of the screen. we were so busy on AD tt we didn't notice until we saw our video. the plants kinda blocked our faces/scenes when the montage/highlights was being played. awful!

actually u can try nego for day room telling them many mainland hotels providing so y can't they? i didn't forgo my anni stay for tt.

impulse41

hi naughtly rabbit, i went down last sat to take a look at their set-up. if u want, can email u the photos. so pai seh, the brides friends is already rehearsing and i just went in to take photos.

oh my god, lucky they never kick me out.
do leave me your email.

hi ellie, i love their buffet dinner by the beach but husband doesn't want outdoor. hmmm, me thinking of asking perry but did ask him before. he doesn't allow lowering of min tables.

impulse41

but i have't seen the bridal suite even though i have been there twice. disappointing...don't know whether it's small or big/spacious. any brides can help me out, so far, how can it compare to marina, regent, hyatt....(i have only seen these hotels)

naughtyrabbit

hi impulse41,
act i went down last sat also leh.. ha ha.. mayb right aft u.. :D ok lah not bad, the grand ballroom (siloso i tink) n the bridal suite really make me lao cui nua.. anyway, no choice gotta take the big ballroom cos we suddenly realised that we hv 45 tables N counting..

sianz siazzzz.. take photo till my mouth cramp big time..

anyway, thank you ellie for reminding me about the potted plants, will take note.
must geh geh bluff my coordinator to give me more beer..

act hah, you know my HB dont wan rasa sentosa initially. said too inconvenient but i told him to jus go take a look loh, may not know what you ll see rite. end up now he s trying very hard to rule out all other places so that we can decide on rasa.. MEN?!

ha ha.. will likely take lah since the meridien staff so not interested n my HB dont seem to like orchard hotel..

anyway, impulse 41 how u find the set-up?

impulse41

u send me something? got my email??

is it? haha? i went in and all the wedding couple's friends is staring at me. i stay till quite late cas one of my friend is dancing in the bellydancing just beside the hotel. went to support her and watch belly dancing at the same time....

I'm taking pavilion cas i already have problem with 25 tables.

i have been le meridien before with wedding set-up. quite nice also but i don't really like le meridien hotel, find that the back/front of the hotel looks quite messy with stall, shop + massage parlor. orchard hotel has a nice ballroom, but the hotel doesn't seems to warrant such a high price... (personal feeling)

set-up quite ok....if u want the truth. nothing fantastic. pretty standard like normal hotel set-up. dreamy??? i don't think so or maybe my dreamy vision is different.

but i think it's ok. i have more or less confirm rasa, unless mishap happen. went down to view set-up cas doesn't want holes in seat cover + sloppy jobs. seen that before and was disappointed at one of the hotel.

dazed

hi girls, long time din come in liao...

naughtyrabbit, wow, so many tables, try not to have more cos will be very cramp...

those who want to see set up for siloso ballroom, here's a photo...
330668.jpg

naughtyrabbit

hey dazed
thanks for posting the pic.
how many tables u hv and when is your AD?

decided to drop le meridien (ugly outside) n orchard hotel (not worth the high price they are charging judging on the appearance and the ballroom)

Looking at swissotel n marriot this wkend n ll decide, still rasa has the best value for $$$ esp i so broke.. ha ha...

anyone planning to hv/had their solemnisation on the sands? N how much did u pay? cos i considering.

he he.. like this thread.. everyone jia friendly siaz..

dazed

naughtyrabbit, i had 35 + 1 tables. wedding in jan this year. had solemnisation at the white fence area before dinner...

impulse41

Hi Tingz, send u the photos already. let me know if u didn't received.

Hi sotongbride, mine is for pavilion. i think
dazed already provide for silso ballroom.

can i ask do we have to pay for LCd projector?

tingz

Hi impulse41,

Thanks for the photo, got it

I think we need to pay for the projector, try to bargain with the co-or, but was told that ours is the wedding show package so cannot give free for projector :<.

dazed

hi ellie!

hi impulse, no free projector for me either... hb borrowed from company... n mine not bridal show package hor...

impulse41

Hi tingz,

me also. tried to bargain but coor doesn't want to give. no matter how i push, so no choice...i have to give in.

hi dazed,

yours not bridal show...what price did u pay? weekday or weekend? they increase their prices quite a few times this year

just to let u know, i know someone who got it free but don't feel so bad, it really depends on bargaing skills as well as co-or. i tried very hard but my co-or refuse to give me.

adeletes

i was told by my co-ord, that i have to pay a rental fee for the projector. which was about $400!!! so expensive. anyone in this thread got it free?

impulse41

Hi adeline,

i think most didn't get free so far only heard of one bride who got it free. u can try persuading your coodinator. But no matter how i push, my coordinator refuse.

By the way, read somewhere that u can rent one for $80. Try and borrow from your company or hubby company. Worse come worse, rent from outside. Rasa prices for LCD projector quite high.

hi dazed. don't think they exchange it with something but nvm. Sometime, some coordinator might have given the perks by mistake.

hi sotongbride, welcome. =)

shan_shan

havnt been coming into this forum for quite some time....i hv oso taken up rasa n wil b using the pavilion ballroom...

juz some feedback...i hv a fren who attended a wedding last nite at rasa n the feedback she has given me is dat the food sucks so much that they even end up requesting the waiter not to serve the las dish...n the parking is oso a big problem...she say dat she got no plc to park at the rasa carpark n was told to try her luck at nearby carparks n luckily she manage to find one at the coasta sands there...but if i din rmb wrongly, it is stil some distance from the hotel n she has to walk all the way there...sounds terrible...im reali quite worried now....does anybody who hv oredi held their wedding there face the same problem?

impulse41

hi shan shan,

is it true? read that the food was good. that's why decided to hold my wedding at RASA. think need brides who already held their wedding to help??

is it true the food sucks.

for parking, my coodinator told me that my guest need to park @ gateway carpark, there is a free shuttle from gateway to rasa provided by the hotel esp for the wedding couple. RASA only have about 100+ lots. definately not enough unless u come earlier to book the lot.

ellie

hi shan shan, your worries are not undue. 3 days b4 my AD in Sep, one of our close frens sms my hb and commented that the svc and food sucked big time in a wedding he attended just the weekend b4. we panicked and immediately informed shirlene/perry abt the matter and also our worries. we also told them the names of the couple whose dinner our fren attended. perry checked it out with their banquet staff and told us tt the feedback to rasa was good on tt nite! we told him apparently not cos our fren said many bangladeshi wait staff (no racial prejudice here), who don't understand simple requests like a dish of chillies, were being used tt night. they also had to wait a long time for refill of their drinks. food was served luke warm. all these resulted in guests leavin half way thru the dinner. we told him we want nothing of tt for our wedding. he said he will check the matter out with their opn staff and chef to make sure our wedding go smoothly. luckily for us, it really did and our fren commented tt the svc and food was totally diff from the wedding he attended. we really have to say a big thank you to perry, shirlene and ricky (banquet mgr)!

it seems to us tt the svc level and food at rasa is very intermitten... my advice here is tt since we have already signed up with rasa, we can only stress and stress to our co-ord and make our stand really clear tt no such unfortunate events are to occur on our AD.

ellie

as for parking... our cocktail recept starts at 630pm, so many of our guests arrived on the dot or even earlier so at least 85% of our driving guests managed to secure parking space at the rasa carpark. only guests who turned up at about 7+ gotta park at gateway...

ellie

hi impulse, feedback on food was good! standard maintained as per our food tasting session.

hi samgirl, congratulations!

impulse41

Hi ellie, u gave me the confidence, ok, will talk to the wedding coordinator nearer to my wedding.

Hi sam, welcome, when and which ballroom? sign already. who is your coodinator?

shan_shan

hi ellie,

hapi to hear dat ur wedding went thru smoothly
....reali thanx for ur reassurance
....ok, wil definitely stress stress stress perry to make sure dat everything goes on smoothly....so for ur guests who hv to park at gateway, do they find it troublesome?

one more thing, wat time did u all arrange for the bus to leave at the pickup point n at the end of the wedding?? ( i mean the free shuttle bus provided in the package dat we can choose our own venue of pickup)

wacky

Has anyone arrange with their coordinator to have your PS at Rasa Sentosa? I was hoping to take photos from one of the rooms, simply love the seaview after my coordinator show me the bridal suite upon signing the contract. ;p

ellie

hi shan shan, no prob, i hope the same goes to all you BTBs' weddings!
i don't exactly know which guests parked at gateway but of cos they would have preferred to park at rasa. one of my colleague came at 7+ had to take the shuttle but i didn't check with him if it was troublesome. b4 i went on leave for my wedding, i wrote an e-mail to all my colleagues to remind them of how to get to rasa, particularly pointed out to them to park at gateway but they can try their luck at rasa if they wanted to. i provided sentosa maps to them too. so many of them car-pooled, reached rasa before 7 and managed to get into rasa carpark.

our coaches left all 3 locations to rasa at 615pm (we put 6pm in our invite). during the final arrangements, we told perry to arrange the coaches to leave at 1030pm but due to delayed photo-taking, our dinner ended at about 11pm. honestly, i hv no idea what time the coaches came at the end of the dinner cos we were so busy mingling. however, to avoid the lobby being too congested, what with the other wedding guests at siloso, i think rasa slightly delayed the serving of the dessert so tt our guests will stay on till later. it's rather difficult to gauge the timing but give your co-ord an estimate and they will know to handle based on the AD situation.

ellie

hi seetho wee, u can arrange PS at rasa with your co-ord. they'll be able to 'lend' you a room for a few hours.

shan_shan

hi ellie,

thanx for all the information provided...it sure comes in useful...
...btw, did u hv solemnization before ur banquet dinner? coz it seems like the cocktail reception is slightly earlier than wedding at other hotels rite? (normally it starts at 7 or 7.30pm rite)

ellie

hi shan shan, no prob, glad the info comes in handy.
nope, i didn't have my solemnisation b4 dinner. it's true tt cocktail recept starts earlier at rasa so tt guests may be able to catch the sunset! we'd also preferred the dinner to start &amp; end earlier, then guests won't leave the dinner half-way thru to get home, given tt we're at Sentosa. i was looking thru most invite smaples and found tt most couples had their recept at ard tt timing.

shan_shan

hi ellie,

oic...thanx thanx...i din know bou dat....its a gd idea for them to catch the beautiful scene of the sunset..hmmm...

ellie

hi xiao fan, take a look at rasa and see if u really like it. perry is nice.

hi shan shan, hehe... ya, tt's one of the plus points for rasa wedding. u won't be cooped up in some ballroom for the recept.

ellie

hi xiao fan, there are two ballrooms:
1. siloso ballroom is on the ground floor, recept will be held outdoors at the beach. this ballroom is pillarless, elongated, enclosed.
2. pavilion ballroom is on the 5th floor (lobby level), recept will be held at the lobby lounge (also can c the seaview). this ballroom got 3 pillars, glass window panes and seaview is visible during daylight.

have fun, what time will u be at rasa tmrw?