Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Amerline!

Thanx! Am so glad to hear positive feedback on Rasa! Are you holding your wedding at Pavilion or in the ballroom?

hi rasa04,

Have you ever consider about transportation since Rasa has limited car parks? If you go up this thread , you can see that most of us has problems with transports. if personally your parents do not have any objection then go ahead.

i held my wedding there this mth and personally i find the food nice and ambience SUPERB! but of course when you always drop down to transportation, it can be a real headache and your naggy parents doesn;t help at all.

Personally i think that if your transportation is not a concern, then there is nothing to worry coz Rasa has very good service as well.

Hi fang,

how many coaches did u have ..and how many carpasses did u exchange.
me having headache now leh..

BTW, u know how many carpark space is avaliabe in the siloso beach huh..

what u think of 60 carpasses..izzit too many.

Have not dropped into this thread for a long long time..

Totoro - how's ur wedding preparations??

I am not sure if Rasa still have their valet services during the weekends... if they still do, this could solve ur headache abt car parking cos' the valets are responsible for finding available lots for ur guests' cars.

Sometimes, it helps to pay for the service as it will definitely save u from headaches...

HI Little Lion,

so far so good..

realy ah ..got valets ah??but so many cars???hmmmm....

need to know roughly how many car park space available at the siloso beach..

Hi rasa04,

My solemnization will be at the waterfront lawn than followed by dinner at Pavillion. I didn't dare to risk a full outdoor event due to our unpredictable weather here.

Hi Fang

I exchanged 2 coaches for 60 car passes, do you think i can change for more? Most of my friends are driving, and I find cars easier to co-ordinate than coaches. I agree that transport is a big problem but I really like the place, so TOO bad. : p

Hi totoro,

I have in all 5 coaches. I exchange for 60 passes as well as most of my guest drives.
And I had 5 multiple entry as surprising they are also at 2 bucks each.
I didn;t pass some of my frds car pass..i ask them to pay first and then I reimburse $2 at the reception. So be ready to change lotsa 2 bucks. hehe.

At the siloso beach, there is only abt 180 lots. However, you can ask your guest to park at Underwater world. (80 lots) or near NTUC chalets. SOme of my frds also park illegally.

Hi Amberline
Yes you can change for more. BUt teh concern is can teh car park holds so many cars if not they will divert the guests to parade sq. check out if there is another wedding on tat day as well.

I will be having my wedding dinner at the Pavilion this Nov. Same as Amerline, I love the hotel and scenery at the first sight and decided to hold my wedding there. Heard from the wedding co-ordinator that the siloso beach can hold up to 100 cars. Nice to know of you all (",)

hi wedsoon,
welcome aboard!

Hi Fang!

Yep, we did and still are thinking about the transportation thingy...think most of my relatives and friends will be driving, so it's definitely an issue for us to consider.

Do many of your guests use the shuttle buses? Cos I'm thinking that not many might...especially since some of those who don't drive are elderly folks... so dun think that they will take the trouble to go to designated pick-up areas eg City Hall. I'm thinking of whether it might be possible to arrange for bus plus to do a direct pick up from their homes. Have not checked out cost of this yet...

Btw, you mentioned about having the multiple car pass - how did you get it? Gotta buy or will Rasa provide?

Hi Amerline!

Wow, yours is my 'dream' wedding...cos I really had hoped to have my solemnisation by the sea. Too bad I already ROM...wish I had come and checked out Rasa earlier... Anyhow, we're thinking of whether to have the cocktail reception at the waterfront lawn - we're wondering if our guests might get confused if there's another wedding at the ballroom, and if the guests might get lost on the way either to or fro the reception to Pavilion.

Anyway, am really glad to hear that other than transport, all else like food, ambience, service etc are great! I've told my parents and my mom has concerns about location cos she thinks it's really far. Think I'll bring then down to take a look that it's really not as far as they think...like can drive across and not take a cable car there only. So far, my in-laws have not voiced any strong objections...so should be alright on their side.

Me too - really love the scenery, hotel surrounding and the fact that pavilion has glass walls.

I had actually placed a deposit during the bridal fair last Saturday...am glad we did it and think as long as we can get by the transport issue, it'll be a great venue!

Hi rasa04,

i had one bus at city hall, one in tampines and in fact 2 buses over in parade sq thinking that many ppl will park in the parade sq but they didnt.

All of the buses picked up only a few guests. Most either drove in or took cab in.

As for the multiple car passes, pls approach ur coordinator as you can only buy from her/him.

About whether having the reception at the lawn, it has the pros and cons. In fact, i also booked the lawn but in the end, i found the reception area outside pavilion a nice view as well and moreover it nearer to the ballroom and easier to control the crowd.

if you have many old folks, i suggest not to have at the lawn as they have to walk up and down and since the lawn is near the swimming pool, it will be rather crowded(when is ur wedding? during dec holidays?) with kids.

but of course, the lawn view is absolutely eye catching and something really different.

so for the package you sign up? what are the freebies that you are entitled to? just curious as I signed up last yr.

Hi fang,

Thanx for your advice! We were also thinking that not many people might use the shuttle bus...cos wear until nice nice already I think most people will either drive in or take a cab in. So we might exchange the shuttle bus for something else and arrange for direct pick up bus instead.

For the promo package which Rasa was having, in addition to the usual Chinese dinner package, they threw in 1 additional 30L of beer, 100 car park passes, 3 shuttle bus coaches and stroller band comprising 4 band members. They also included as promo that there will be free food tasting for 10 people - but after looking through the usual package, I think that's already included as a usual item. I signed up for package next year cos all the Saturdays this year were booked already. Only had Hari Raya (25/11), Deepavali (in Oct) and Christmas available then. So we decided to go for a date next year. Package was $718 per table nett.

How about yours? Did you get similar freebies for the show last year?

Btw, did you take their hotel wine for your guests? Any feedback on whether the red/white is good? How many night(s) did you have for the bridal suite stay?

Hi rasa04,

Gee your package has a free band! tat's cool coz i paid a whopping 1.5K for mine. hmm..has rasa increased the pricing? i remembered it was $688 for weekends. does that mean they have jack up the price?

i got a free flow of beer which they said was a mistake and will not have that in future package. A 2 night stay in the bridal suite, free night stay in our first yr anniversary. food tasting for 10 and 1 complimentary table.

no i didnt have wine for my guest since beer is free flow. so when is your big day?

Hi fang

did you get the wedding guest book? or you exchange it for someting else? if you get, which one did you take, there is a red and green one.

hi blur blur,

yes i took the wedding guest book.
is there a green one? i am not sure as i was given the red XI booklet.

Hi Fang,

Wow, does the band really cost that much? This band that is packaged in will play 2 sets of 45 minutes.

The prices for weekend weddings this year is still $688. Juz that there are no sat left for this year. So we'll have to settle for something next year, and the pricing increases by $30 for each year...that's why $718.

Wow! Your goodies sure sound much more attractive than what they're offering this year. The promo also has anniversary stay for us and includes $100 voucher for food then. I'm thinking of asking for 2nd night stay in the bridal suite...many of my friends tell me that they've gotten it in their package (with other hotels).

Anyhow, my big day not confirmed yet...we're still thinking of the dates. Juz had an argument with my parents this morning cos they still keep saying that Sentosa is really far away and guests might not go...and they feel that it's too pricey cos when my bro held his wedding dinner, he held it at a restaurant and even made money to cover his honeymoon. My parents say that I surely make loss one...sigh. Told them that I'm not looking to make money out of the wedding and if need be, we're prepared to cover any shortfall. Did any of you face similar parental opinions/objections?

hi rasa04,

i see..so the package is getting more and more expensive. oh abt the 2 nights stay, go ahead and ask for. Mostly you will get it. I got a frd who booked in Nov and he got the request too. A night stay is definitely NOT enuff. I spend the next day running errands..returning gowns..bringing stuffs to and fro my parents, in-law places and in the end we reached the hotel around midnight. and the next day can checked out already. It is better to have lotsa rest thereafter coz u will be totally drained out. Believe it, we didn't even have time to swim in the pool.

oh abt your parents' concern, we also kena it. so no choice, we paid the deposit, so we just go ahead. hmm..my parents were very supportive although they have their worries in the first place but my in-laws....they are very disappointed and was rather displeased. But thank GOD everything is over now.

My advice is if you really want to have it there, be firm but also make sure you get the transport all straighten out and have more time to plan it out so as long as your parents' relatives got a share in the carpark, i think they will be fine.

I think it is a good idea to bring them there 1 evening and judge for themselves. Also you can ask the reception to let your parents have a peek at the bridal suite. The last time i went for my food tasting, i requested for that impromptu and they obliged. very flexible of them.

anyway, u have a long time before you wed. So you will have ample time persuading your parents. hee..

Hi fang,

lucky u..i only got 1 night stay..must request liao..huh ur table only $688 mine is $728+++

why their pricing not the same??

and i got ony 4 coaches..2 exchange for 60 capasses..

I think i am the most lugi one..

so what did u give for wedding favours??
i was told mine was only the chopsticks holder..what on earth is that..i wanted a pair of chopsticks...hmmm..

Hi totoro,

yeah hearing from rasa04, it seems the package is getting more and more ex. and rasa04 got it from the bridal show like me so it;s cheaper.

hmm..maybe u can try talking to your coordinator and see if you can bargain further to at least another night stay.

i chosen the chopstick holder. in fact the holder seems to be a better choice. i heard the pair of chopsticks look like purchase from Thailand.

any idea who is next to walk down the isle from this forum?

Hi totoro,

yep, the hotel packages are usually more ex each year by about $30. When's your wedding? I thought that Rasa usually quote based on nett price? Perhaps your menu is of more expensive food and hence, the higher price is it?

As for the wedding favour, one of my friends who attended a wedding at Rasa told me that she thought that the chopstick holder is something unique and special...and it's presented in a red embroidered box, which makes it looks 'ex' and not 'cheapo' as a gift.

Hi Fang,

Well, I'm in exactly same situation as you before! Paid deposit already - so boh pian, parents just have to accept it. But we'll still work towards bringing our parents down eventually to convince them and hopefully put their minds to ease. Am quite glad that we've got plenty of time to do that since our wedding is in 2004! Btw, heard that the Pavilion will be undergoing carpet change soon...think this month or next month. Will prob head down there again after that. Am now doing a rough guest list...and I have so many guests who drive!!! Chia lat... I really must think of a way out of this transport issue...

Hi rasa04 and Totoro,
I had spoken with Ethel during the bridal show and she had informed me that they had added a few new items for gifts. One is a cute blue candle in a small candle holder and inside it, it has small tiny seashells and the other is a scented candle. I really like the blue candle and find that it really fits the wedding theme "wedding by the sea". She told me that they are phasing out the chopsticks holders.

hi totoro,

wif regards to the carpet, at first i read from this thread tat the carpet was in bad condition. but when i wed that day, the carpet looks fine. no tear sign. although it is not fresh red ;) anyway, it will be good to have a feel in a new carpet. hopeflly by then they will change it. The last time i asked my coordinator in mar, she said no plans to change it.

hi wedsoon,

wah the blue candle really sounds nice and unique.
gee wish we had that too that time. hehe..

I am going to arrange for my food tasting. Can anyone advise me what food is nice? Thanks!

have not been in this thread for a long long time, hope everyone is fine.

Hi Fang,
welcome back, read some messages above and can feel that your honeymoon must be great. How's married life?

Hi Wedsoon, Kitty, Rasa04,
welcome to this thread. Wedsoon, did you say that your big day on Nov'03? which date, cos my is on Nov'03 too. Rasa04, wow... they have the stroller band + 1more 30L barrel give away during the promo... this is sooo good. I always wanted to ahve a stroller band, your package is good.

I guess everyone of us are worrying abt the transport, saw the news last night, taxi don't have to pay entrance fee when entering sentosa and there will be more taxi going in & out of sentosa more regularly, to promote sentosa... did anyone saw the news last night? if this is true, then it will be much more convenient in the future and ppl will have less objection to dinner at sentosa. moreover with the MRT up & coming by mid this year, hope this help to ease the transportation issues. I also hear from my co. that the carpark at Siloso beach will be close forever, don't know whether they started already or not.

Hi icy,

Which date is your in Nov03? I was hoping to have it in Nov but it's fully booked on Sat. So I have to settled for a date next year... when did you sign up for your package? Am glad to hear from you that you think I got a good deal... I thought so too...but my parents don't think so. They think that it's quite norm stuff which hotels package in. Btw, are you having 1 night or 2 nights stay at the bridal suite?

Really about the taxi waiver? That'll be really good then...I think that the Siloso beach carpark is going to be taken over by Rasa...if that's what you mean by it being closed forever, cos that's what I was told during the wedding show... hoping that when the hotel takes over the carpark, that will help ease the parking issue...

Hi Icy,

Welcome back..yeah married already.
Great to get over with all those fuss with wedding and so now I see how I can help those who are yet to complete the final hurdle

It's true that cab need not pay the charges into Sentosa. It had been waived.
And with the upcoming MRT service, I really think that the upcoming couples can worry less about transport ;) good for them.

Hi LC,

ABout the food tasting. I personally find the steam prawns good. In fact I chose all the dishes from Menu A for weekday package.

u go try and do not hesitate to let the chef know your comments.

Hi rasa04,
my on 02-Nov, yup, think that your package is good. got one more 30L beer and band as well. that's cool. did you say you have one night stay, i have 2. Really! they are going to take over Siloso beach!! this will be great news!!

how do your family & relative feel abt having dinner at sentosa? my relative commented that it is far, not convenient, not accessible, difficult to drive in, etc when I told them. hai... guess this will be what I hear till I finished my ceremony.

hi fang,
thanks for sharing your experience and helping out. we need you to be around to advise us.

Hi icy,
Mine is on the 1st nov. One day before yours. Same as you, I will be staying at Rasa for 2 nites, so I got the chance to congratulate you on the actual day ;p
My parents actually complained on the venue that we had selected but in view that we love the place and there are buses provided by the hotel, they finally agreed. I had requested my parents to keep the no of the guest list small so that we can control the crowd.

Fang,
You are soooo... nice to us as to answer to our questions, thanks.

Rasa 04,
when is your big day?

Hi Icy,

Yah, so far the package i signed for is 1 night's stay. Seems like all of you have/had 2 nights' stay. I'll make the request and see what Rasa says...

I have not told my relatives yet...so not sure what they think. But my parents are big No-No so far... my in-laws are quite alright though. No major objections. Maybe cos my parents still think that Sentosa is only accessible via cable car and is inconvenient and inaccessible! I'll bring them down one weekend and try to convince them. When I tell my relatives, prob have to do some promoting by saying things like Sentosa is actually not far...it's only 5 minutes drive from city. And think about it - the drive to the hotel will be very smooth and easy cos there'll not be any traffic jams or congestion unlike the Orchard/city areas, especially on weekends! Haha, hope they will buy the marketing talk!

Hi wedsoon,

We're looking at sometime Feb - May next year. Have not decided on date yet... any one knows of any website/book that we can check the auspicious dates of 2004?

i would like to check with you all, if i have vegetarian friends, how much is per person? then how will rasa calculate? e.g. if one person is vegetarian ($40), a table can sit 10 person. so 9 not vege and one vege, i will have to pay a table price (e.g. $700) plus $40 is it?

hi blur blur,

if i am not wrong, if its not a full vege table, than its table price + $60. if its full vege or muslim than its $60 * 10 person.....

hope i am right....thats why they encourage you to group the vege eaters or muslims 2gether... cheaper!

Hi Blur Blur,

Amerline is right!
But what i did with my muslim frds is that ...i had 10 ppl who sat on the table and also 2 extra ppl who had muslim course.

Rasa is able to accomodate to place a bigger grp. They had a table bigger for 12 ppl. So i not only save in opening another table, i am able to squeeze my muslim frds with their own gang!

hope tis helps...

Dear gals,

guess i am going next, mine will be in June.

Just to check with u fang, did u get to use the projector for free, i was told that i need to pay $450 for rental..my gosh!!

I thought it was for free. and I DUN HAVE 2 nights stay..so sad.

<FONT COLOR="blue">blurblur</FONT> - They charge $55 nett (I think as at 2003) for per muslim &amp; per vegetarian.

<FONT COLOR="purple">fang</FONT> - We're still in japan...my hubby will see you guys again next monday

Hi Elaine

wow you are in japan still come in this forum. Thanks for the quote.

Hows your wedding that day? great? do share wif us like how fang had shared...

Hi totoro

btw, your wedding is at siloso ballroom or pavillion?

hmm....Anyone going to have their wedding at siloso ballroom? could you please share?

Hi bonnie,

mine in pavilion..solemnize at white fence..

the muslim food, izzit halal huh??

fang, u there??check my previous posting

Hi totoro

ya i also want to know if the halal really halal. cos my muslim friend want to know if they are really certified.

Hi, their muslim food is halal. They have muslim kitchen I think. May I ask everyone here, how is yr experience with your co-ordinators?

hi blur blur,

it is $55 pax for halal and vegetarian.

hi totoro,

i brought my own projector as they are chargeable by rasa. nope not free..only the screen is free

Huh...fang, where u get ur projector huh..aiyo..everything also need $$$..siao liao..

BTW, what did u take for wedding favours?

Hi totoro,

i borrowed the projector from my office.
yeah...everythg is money. but take it easy.
dun stress out urself. u still have abt 2 more mths...so take it easy and plan well.

dun worry ..everythg will be in place on that day. And btw, did you get your own coorindator to help u out?

I took the chopstick holders for the wedding favour. REJOICE ya!

Hi fang and rasa brides..

ya, sort of, what is the role of our coordiator suppose to do huh??

Is the chopstick holder nice?

anyway, anyone thinking of having a theme, or going to employ some florist or something to do up the pavilion..

fang, how abt u??did u spend $$ on deco??

hi totoro,

i am thinking of using lots and lots of candles, give it a very romantic touch, however, scared that some guests hand itchy go touch touch and mess up things. (worse if the candles overturn and the place catches fire)

i shd be engaging a florist to do up the solemnization area at the WF lawn instead. no confirmation yet, have to check my budget!!

Hi Rasa brides,

It's been a super long time since i last entered the thread...dunno ur still rmb me ;p

All thanks to my younger brother....duno wat email he opened.....the whole PC crashed =( Poor me.....dun have the chance to log into the thread to see wat's the lastest 'development' ;p

Took me quite a while to finid most of the thread....Fang...many many congrats to you.....so pai seh for my late blessings....looks like you have a great wedding plus a wonderful honeymoon ya =)

Me now quite bz wif my house..suppose to collect key last monday but purposely postpone my appt coz my flat came abt 9 months in advance,..took me n my hubby by surprise....now we r bz looking for contractors and start furniture hunting...

While going thru the thread.....noted that my package is rather different wif the some of the rasa brides...

Sigh.....mayb my bargaining power is super lousy...tink i got the worst deal as compared to most of ur...for eg....I'm oni entitled to 20 litres of beer and 40 carpasses and 4 coaches...
Noted some of ur have got abt 60?? no matter how much i bug my co-ordinator (Agnes, who is a senior event manager but NONE of u seems to get her) Kinda lost n disappointed....

Any weddings coming next month?? thot of going down to rasa to see the set-up....still cannot make up my mind whether to have it near the pool or lawn area....any suggestion, gals??

Totoro, is your wedding date juz one day from mine? Mine's on 11th Oct...if i din rmb wrongly...yrs on the 12th?? pls forgif me if i'm wrong....old liao....memory may fail ;p

Hee hee....tink i bery long-winded...shall stop here liao.....will try to log in as frequent as possible...time to go bio furniture liao....see ya ard =)

Hi Totoro,

Personally i find the chopstick holder nice. My frds and relatives lurrve that. Some even thought we pay out of our expense.

As for the deco, I feel Rasa did a good job ..so no i didn't pay for any extra deco.

Your coordinator is suppose to help you from the day to the night activity. Making sure you brought your gowns, shoes, makeup, reception items (pens, ang pow boxes, empty ang pows, etc), making sure your guests sit at the right table, your projector is working, music is order, give you the cue to walk in and go up to change and so on. Oh and remember to give an ang pow to reward her

I had Syafie as the BM and he's friendly and experienced. Any of u has him? Fang, may I ask whether u got the executive suite or premiere suite?

Oct Pooh may I know how many tables do you have? there's usually more perks with nore tables... 2 nights free is pretty easy to get. Try asking for a day room for yr friends.

Oct Pooh,

My wedding in June lah..

Fang,

Huh..the chopstick holder nice ah?
I saw it leh, its in a box right, one male and female china doll type..i find it quite cheapo and cheena leh..check liao. cannot exchange for chopsticks so sad! now duuno what to do.

are there a lot of flowers???duuno whether wshould get more candles, make it more nicer leh??