Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

fang

hi totoro,

I personally find the flowers in the ballroom pretty much. choose bright colours so that it is not that dull. Red or maybe blue? (i used blue and cream colour)

As for the fence, are you referring to the cocktail reception? I am not sure as on my night, it actually rain, so didn;t really notice. anyway, dun spend too much money on deco as i think it Rasa did it quite well anyway. E,g if you spend on decorating the fence, if touch wood! it rains that night, all the money will go down to drain. so wasteful.

so focus on yourself as i believe you ARE the star that night. so need not worried abt the deco that much. Just be beautiful and SMILE as i always say! :D deco is secondary. YOU are primary!!!!

oct pooh

Hi Bubbletea,

How come ur Muslim pax is $55 per pax? for mine...i'm paying $65 nett per person neh....Sigh...seems like i lugi agn...do ur tink i can bargain for a better price??

Fang,

Looks like u r enjoying life after marriage.....me hope dat my hubby will help me out wif the housework....he's quite lazy n muz be push to cho gang ;p

So Fang, where do you suggest for reception? Poolside or lawn area?

totoro

need some advice.

for the wedding dinner, do the brides parents sit together in the same table as the groom parents, or they sit on another table huh?

amerline

hi totoro,

bride's and groom's parents sit separate "red" tables. the wedding couple will sit with the groom's parents.

totoro

i only went to select, no pic lah...

thanks Amerline,

so i have to sit with the groom aprents and my parents sits in another table???
why can't we all sit together. so sad!

Bubbletea,

MY PS is with Andrew Choi....
Very happyy, u can go to his thread and read
very happy lor!!!

fang

hi totoro,

it depends on individual..coz for me, my parents and parents-in-law all sat together on one table. and we apparently had only 1 VIP table..the other one is STILL a VIP table but not visible in the sense that the cloth is not gold in colour but service is VIP.

This is to avoid any argument on WHO should sit on the last available VIP table.

Wow so you took Andrew Choi. Must have cost you a bomb!

as for reception, i would suggest NOT the lawn coz too far and difficult to control the crowd. You won't want ppl to jam up at the lift lobby waiting the lift to arrive. But i must say that the lawn has a better view.

totoro

fang, how many VIP tables are there?

yap..andrew choi cost me a BIG BOMB!!! but happy with the results. cos i like his style.

becos i having my solemniation quite early ..at 600 so by 630pm should finish..if they all cramp at the pavilion area, will be boring, so my idea is to allow them to enjoy the sea breeze then slowly procced to pavilion..this is what i hope lah!!!

bubbletea

Actually I personally would love to have both our side's parents sit at the VIP table together, so my side don feel left out. My good friend asked me to try Andrew Choi but I m scared he is too expensive. Is his night photography good? Thanks for answering my questions. =) Fang, Amerline, who're your photographers?

wedsoon

Hi totoro,
My photographer is also Andrew Choi and I am so happy to hear that you are happy with the results. I will be more confident with him then. Did you top up for S$2K for extra photos? I also like his style as the photos turn out to be very natural which my FH and I prefer. Your wedding is coming soon, guess that you must be busy sending out invitation cards. How many month in advance do you have your PS? Mine is about 1.5 months before my actual wedding day.

fang

hi totoro,

there are 2 VIP tables.
i see...in that case, having at the lawn shld quite idea as well. just check out if it is during school holidays, it may be crowded over the pool area.

hi bubbletea,

my photographer is Andrew Tay with The Edge.
No "Choi" so "Tay" also can. hahaa...

Also as a reminder, NOT to spend too much money on your album. I am happy that I chose not to top up any. Be contented with only 21 pics coz it seems now it is collecting dust already. No one really look at it after the wedding.

Save the money you intend to spend on your honeymoon instead. It is more worth it! my 2 cents worth of comments.

bubbletea

Digital pictures is a good choice. I like it when they give us the digital photos on CD ten you can print yr own. Fang and everyone, do you have digital pictures in a Cd? all the pictures given to u?

fang

hi bubbletea,

no i don;t have the digital pictures in the cd as I took the minimal costs. I took whatever my bridal package has. No additional costs.

oct pooh

Seems like andrew choi is hot! so many of ur using him.....recently i juz saw my colleague's album...it's bery natural indeed =)but it's a bit ex to me though ;p

Lucky got u gals around....so far i haven't tink of the sitting arrangement @ the VIP tables yet....

Fang, any idea whether RASA will decorate the pool area for the reception?? i personally quite like the lawn area....but like wat u said...it's kinda far from the lobby...mayb i'll stick to reception @ poolside =)

bubbletea

Fang, Totoro, Wedsoon and Oct Pooh, Care to share how much your package cost?
My email add is [email protected]

the lawn area is the white fence right? very Romantic. The pool is not bad, just cannot see the sea. Can request for the poolside area that faces the sea. can see a bit of it.

totoro

HI wedsoon, join the thread @ andrew choi,
heehee..we discussing the package and stuff lor..

thanks fang for sharing with us.

I top up 2k ya..i know its real exp, but i really really like the pic lor. what to do?
heehee..sheepish grin.

my cards done up liao..have no send out yet, too busy leh, soon lah.

do rasa provide a guest book or sthg?

yet to do food tasting, send out wedding cards, guo dali stuff..., guest book, hmm....think thats it.

anyone here getting married in June??

fang

hi totoro,

yes guest book will be provided by Rasa. But pens you have to bring yourself. The book is not big about A4 size...red in colour with the word "XI" in front. Don;t really like it but never mind, need not buy..anyway sign already also chucked one side thereafter. hehee..

All the best in your preparation and dun forget to come back to this thread and tell us your experience. Are you excited yet?

Hi Oct Pooh,

I don;t think you can reserve the pool area coz the hotel guest has the rights to used the pool facilities. We asked for a post pool reception after the dinner (where the pool is already closed) and they declined our request. Anyway you can check that out with your coordinator.

Hi Bubbletea,

I will send you my package details...i try to remember what I can. hehee..

fang

I read thru the forum and came across on couples worrying about guests not turning up for their wedding.

Just want to let you know that there is a WAY to help ease the tension.

There is this sanitizer and antiseptic NEW in the market that works great on your hands and skin. It kills 99.9% of common germs that cause diseases and continues killing germs for up to 4 hours. (enough to last the entire banquet!)

Medipure:

Anti-microbial
EFFECTIVE AGAINST E. COLI, SALMONELLA, HIV & OTHERS
Non toxic
ALCOHOL FREE
Anti-inflammatory
Contains moisturizers
Contains Aloe Vera Extracts
Contains Chamomile Extracts
Soothes Chapping and Irritation
Reduces Roughness
Price Listing:
Small Bottle (2 ounce / 59ml) S$6.90
Big Bottle (8 ounce / 236ml) S$15.50

All you need is to spray on each of your guest's palm before they enter the ballroom. Make them feel at ease and comfortable throughout the dinner.

You can also shake their hands without feeling paraniod.

Let me know any of you are interested. It's worth the little cost. Better to be safe than sorry!

fang

Hi Bubbletea,

I believe prices will rise and rise in the future.
I was blessed to get that package. Even my coordinator said so.

So dun fret..look forward to the happiest moment of your life!

totoro

Hi fang and gals,

kust watched the news yesterday and realized that pple have been taking their temperature leh..

how? do u tink i should do that...oh man! what a time to have SARS. :eek:)

oct pooh

Fang,

Like ur practical thinkings.....guess not many brides can tink rationally like you.....dat's y ebiting kena 'chop' by bridal shop....but guess it's realli hard to resist...esp some bridal shops where they kept telling u dat marriage is a once-in-a-lifetime tingy....blah blah blah....i've a colleague who signed up wif Julia Wedding News....her initial package is abt $4088+++ (no MTM gowns) after selection of the photos...she topped up an xtra $3000 for her photos! though it's not cheap...my colleague is very pleased wif the quality of her photos =)

Fang, i remembered my reception area is called "Beachfront"....i recalled my sales co-ordinator pointed the reception area sumwhere near the poolside but also the beach where the cars r parked....do u tink it's a good area??

Fang, check wif u...the pages in the guestbook is wat colours?? black or cream? Totoro...muz plan wat colour pens to buy?? my fren bot the wrong colour pens...in the end...cannot figure who actually signed....

Totoro, dun worri much lar....i recently attended my secondary school's mate's wedding @ M Hotel.....the attendance is quite good....abt 95% of his guests turned up....think pple are getting used to SARS liao,....shopping malls start to flood wif flocks of pple liao....guess ur frens n relatives will gif u face one =)

Toking abt attendance....my MIL brot up the topic of pple not turning up for my wedding agn....seriously....besides telling her the MRT will be ready by then and there;s coaches to fetch my guests...she still not convinced....the "fly-aeroplace" guests dat she's referring r mostly her frens....some oredi complained y we chose dat out-of-place venue =(

bubbletea

Oct Pooh,
I agree. they think it's overseas man! I just hope those who wish well for me will be there and the rest if they see it as a hassle then nevermind loh... I get that too from my family, but I try to help by suggesting that they bring their kids in early for some fun and bathe at the hotel, etc. Room rates quite cheap for this year. Check out their website, got discounts and if you r islander club member u get 30% off(off which rate I am not sure though).

Totoro,
don scared, I think by then no more need to have temp taking. =)

I heard Julia WN not so good in that they r quite money faced. But I do hear good comments loh... esp their photography

fang

hi oct-pooh,

yes i had friends who also paid a hefy sum for photos. And it is base on their experience that they no longer view the pics, that make me come to my sense. So my advice is still not to spend too much. save for your honeymoon coz at least ur hubby get to enjoy too. photography is more for the bride. haha...but however, if you have a wider expenditure, then its fine. for me, i had a tight budget rather.

so ur reception is not the lawn area? i see...i know the beach front is not as nice as the lawn area..the view is different and the beach front is also where the cars are parked.Not a nice sight though. why dun you get the lawn area? is it booked ?

the pages for the guestbook is light colours..sorry forgot what colour. but i bought the black and gold marker and it turns out fine. so maybe you can stick to that colours.

oct pooh

Bubbletea,

Hee hee...Serious?? Yup...those who wish well for us will surely turn up for our wedding....no matter where's the venue is =) Dat's wat my colleagues told me when i still couldn't make up my mind whether to hold my wedding @ Rasa. Fang has a pleasant experience....i believe we will have one too!! =)

Fang,

Actually i was tinking of holding my reception @ the lawn area but scared it's too far from the ballroom....will it be?? i chose beachfront coz i thot it's nearer...though i din really like it....How?? d'ya tink i shld change the reception area??? Do gif me your opinions =)

fang

Hi Oct Pooh,

Since you are afraid of the distance, why dun you hold it outside your ballroom instead. Don;t you like it there? Personally the reception area outside the Pavilion ballroom is really nice.

Too bad it rained on my wedding day...and my guest have to go in by the other way that was sheltered but hehee... i managed to march in from there anyway coz the rain stopped.

Btw, if you really cannot decide, then speak to your parents and parents-in-law and i believe they will have a fair lot of suggestions to share
And you can decide from there.

However, if you have many senior citizens guests..i suggest you hold outside the ballroom. Easier for them to move around also.

lin

hi RS brides to be,
one of you said that there is a mrt coming up soon nearby. When will that be ready? (sorry, me not available in singapore.
For those guests who drive, they can drive through sentosa, am i right? But for those guests who don't drive, you girls arrange transport? Coz, i thought of holding a dinner on sunday, but felt it was quite inconvenient.

bubbletea

Oct-Pooh,
I personally would recommend that you hold it at the lawn. My friend had hers there and it was very romantic. ANother friend also told me she attended a wedding there and she says that the outdoor reception is very nice. I think the difference in holdng it at Sentosa is mainly for the seaside experience, so I d suggest that u go for the lawn, if cant change then go for the poolside loh... raining then do it indoors.

Lin,
MRT is supposed to be up in June. driving in is $2 per car, but parking not enough so gotta park quite far away. Transport by coaches is provided by Rasa at a few destinations of yr choice.

oct pooh

Fang,

Like u.....i really like the reception area @ the Pavilion....too bad there's a wedding there on the same day...if not i'll request my co-ordinator for dat place....Hee hee

I prefer having the reception outdoor =), unless the weather frown on me dat day ;p Guess i will change to lawn area since it's nicer...though got senior citizens...but there are not too many of them....most of my guests are our friends and colleagues...Thanks a lot for your advices Fang n Bubbletea!! =)

Actualli this MRT tingy has been dragging for quite sumtimes liao....but since LTA has announced the fare price for the new MRT line....hopefully it'll be ready BEFORE your wedding day, totoro =) Rasa has been using the soon-to-be-ready MRT as one of its selling point ;p coz when i confirmed my wedding date wif my co-ordinator...she was telling me dat the MRT will be ready by March '03 ;p

Hee hee....soon we will have one more expert besides our sweet Fang to provide us Rasa brides to be wif all kinda advices =) Hor totoro ;p

lin

i sent an email to shangri-la rasa sentosa, but they've yet to get back to me! who do you normally deal with?

vio

hello gals...

i've not be here for a while ;p

hi fang,
Glad u're still ard to help. qns for u... did u get ur fren as emcee? how much shld we give as token of appreciation?

hp

Does anyone of you know how the situation at Rasa Sentosa will be if I hold my wedding dinner there on a Saturday which is the start of the 1 week school holidays?

I'm wondering if anyone has held your wedding as such or whether anyone has attended any such weddings at Rasa Sentosa - is there a big crowd of family and children and will the carpark be full of hotel guests cars?

catz

Hi HP,

I had mine the first weekend of the Dec school hols and it was swimming with ppl. Gotta tell your guests to take the buses in 'cos carparks are really full and this is before they dropped admission prices!!! Most of my guests bussed it in.. those who didn't either had to park at parade sq and walk quite a distance or they got their chauffeurs or whatever to send them in and pick them up. Not sure if the more recent situation as my wedding was Dec '01.

totoro

Hi Catz and fang,

thanks for all advice.

heehee..u got the program for the night..i am looking for one..also what is ur first and secong march in songs...headache

fang

Hi totoro,

u can get the program from your co-ordinator.
just emailed her and she should response to you soon. that;s how I communicate with mine. And call her if she don't response. hey ur wedding is approaching ..better start asking from her.

the songs i had for dinner is AMORE! great song for dinner. i burnt my songs in a CD...as for walk-in it is by a spanish singer i guess? ahha ...coz got from my friend.

Hi Vio,

yes i got my friends as mcee...i gave them 38 bucks each plus a appreciation dinner

hp

Hi Catz,

Yah, we guessed that the hotel will be very crowded with families during the schools hols and especially so on Saturdays. Guess we'll probably work on getting a non-school holiday saturday. Thanks!

totoro

Hi fang and rasa brides,

what to do with the children, do u include them as 1 head on the table or additional.

for the table of 12 , is it a bigger table? will it be cramp?

BTW, anyone have any idea how many big tables of 12 are there? is there a limit?

elaine

Hi totoro,

You can squeeze the child into the table of 10. Yes, the consider as 1 head. If yours is the indoor banquet, then they just consider as per table but if yours is the outdoor buffet style, the children under 12 is cheaper.

I think there's bigger table. You can let your co-ordinator know how many big tables you need. Then they'll let you know if your banquet can hold tat many.