Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi bride, agree with dazed, if you can find OTR which you like, no point wasting the extra you've paid on MTM something similar. Swop for more pics or AD photography (if not included).....squeeze them for more stuff
explain to your FH: it's to save money for home leh hehehe

take a pic together lah, bride & dazed...then let us see
imagine both of you walking around...confuse the guest hehehe

same same, i also wan to mingle with my guest, will be wearing my kebaya. btw went to collect my MIL's kebaya on sat and went to look for a sarong to match. Went 4 shops,range from $250-$1k over for nice ones. finally decided to MTM a purple kebaya with a matching sarong cos find the black one too.....black?! hehehe fortunatly MIL ok with it....

dazed...maybe ask who'll be drinking hehehe or get 1 carton standby lor....

dazed, check out if siloso's stage gonna be like pavilion's: bare stage with potted plants around, no background.

it'll be so sad if siloso look like seminar room and pavilion like function room.....but i recall siloso having a soft, romantic ambience (maybe cos it was during the fair)

dazed, shern.. I feel like those MTM WG gown are more or less similar to OTR ones.. that's why wanted to get those OTR ones instead since design wise not much difference... but only exchange it for 3 photos...

shern, my new home is already done up a year ago, all the furnitures and electrical appliances are in place already.. my FH just worry that I will regret not going for MTM and nag him for life.. hahaha.. that's why he prefer me to MTM the WG I like... but the problem is.. I dun have any particular design in mind yet

Haven't source for AD pjotography yet. Are you gals going for digital cam?

dazed, maybe you should neg with your coordinator on the price for rasa house wine and corkage charge for brought in wine just for in case...

shern.. how come you wearing kebaya and not your WG at the reception area? Is that your tea dress? So you not getting any tea dress from your BS?

Hi Ladies!!

Ok...my take on gowns. I feel that if you are able to find something OTR, then better still...at least u know at once if u look good in it. whereas for MTM, the end result might not be something that u imagined yourself to be in...so i think OTR is safer in this sense...unless u are very particular about length, etc...or u are looking at a specific design, etc.

For me, i opted for MTM cos i am very particular about the length of the gown...and cos i have a very short body...so most of the gowns i tried on at the shop doesn't really fit that nicely...

As for the deco of both pavilion and siloso...i personally feel that siloso stage is also quite bare...similar potted plants used in pavilion lor...that's probably why the coordinator dare not send me pics of the stage when i request for it? heheh :p

Bride, ur FH is so sweet.

bugbear, this is actually one of my concern too.. after reading from other thread... MTM gown might turned out to be different from what you expected.. and it will be a disaster!!! And maybe to me, I'm not really particular on WG design.. strange right? Bcoz gal should be very excited on their WG bcoz wear only once in a lifetime... funny me

My FH know my character.. will nag non-stop if I can't get what I hope/wish for.. hahaha.. so he would rather burn a hole in his pocket than to "face the music" in future.... hahaha...

But think compare siloso and pavilion, siloso do give a more romantic and cozy ambience.. my friend just attended a wedding at siloso and she said the ballroom ambience is very nice.. hopefully her comment on pavilion will be good after attending my wedding ;) But pavilion deco really look pretty plain.. need to do something on it....

bride, your FH smart guy hehehe. unable to switch for more stuff if you change to OTR? wat's the price difference?

OTR is a safer bet esp when it fits well. I'm fussy cos worried gown too short
jus hoping that my MTM WG will be like my dream gown... my OTR EG is my style & long enough, jus need a bit of alteration so at least one less headache

WG saving for grand entrance
...no tea dress cos decided on kebaya...will wear it for tea ceremony, recept and to see guests off. find my package like not worth it tho cos no tea dress. may wear my MIL's kebaya as well but need to get sarong..... but if too many outfits also headache hehehe jus feel bad that I took hers to alter and now not wearing it

my AD will be digi cos more value for money and will be having a small album so digi easier to manipulate.

pavilion needs a major major revamp if not we'll have to spend extra on decor...

anyone bought shoes yet or started shopping around?

Shern 17 Dec 2004 (pavilion)
Bride 9 Jan 2005 (pavilion)
Dazed 9 Jan 2005 (siloso)
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (pavilion)
Bugbear (**)

jus posting it again for easy reference

shern, I also feel that my package not worth... didn't neg much then sign liao.. and actually plan to wear kwa.. and keep checking with the sales person if the kwa have my size.. she keep saying can lah sure can wear.. got XXS.. but ended when I went to kakit bukit to try.. the designer told me the I cannot waer the kwa.. will be too big for me even for XXS.. so disappointed and angry...

Ya, heard that digital one is better but more expensive.. I'm thinking using digital too... roughly how much for digital???

chances of rasa putting in more effort in the deco seem quite slim... but will take to elaine on sunday when i go down and see what she say...

dazed.. my area not affected... yday a lot of areas blackout...

morning!

my area affected, was doing my invites, fortunately on laptop, got batt....

bride, if they can't provide kwa, how bout something else (extra pics...), then u rent the kwa from outside..have u tried the xxs? house of etiquette rents from 250 onwards, need to book early for the slim fitting one. think there's places that rents it cheaper.... ever considered cheongsum tea dress? get WL to MTM with none or minimal charges after all it's their fault.

my AD is 888 for 300+ shots (i think)+ small montage album of 20 pg but will need to develop the rest into 4R pics myself. think there are cheaper ones around, esp when there's promo. will keep a look out for you.

Non-digi:
W Photography (63235336)
AD 8 rolls of negative x 4R $500
ROM 2 rolls of negative x 4R $250
promo ends today tho.

btw bugbear, if budget allows get professional photograper for ROM, i regretted not having 1

shern, I didn't voice out my unhappiness to the designer that day I went to meet her.. just kept quiet... stupid right??? I have tried the kwa.. and it is so big and thick!!! Even the designer say I look "cute" in it so better not wear on AD
I will check it out with her again when I meet her this week. yes yes.. I am thinking of wearing cheongsum initially but bcoz I'm too short and thin.. might not look nice in it..

$888 - good figure
but it is too ex for me liao
thanks for the info.. I will check around too..

bride, just a suggestion, why not a cheongsum with cap sleeves and a big cut out at the back? you not stupid lah, the last time i went down to confirm bout design couldn't even think straight...FH said for once i was quite compliant hehehe...think it's the nerves....gonna get ready to 'battle' for 1st fitting, if not sure regret...

shern, I am very thin, worry if I bare too much at the back, all my bone will be shown out.. then not nice.. ya lor.. actually the design the designer draft out for me, I am not really keen but didn't say much.. scare I will regret if confirmed the design so fast without having any idea in mind yet...

design of the EG or WG? wen is the latest you need to confirm? how about something long sleeve, add lace and beadings to bulk up. cheongsum can choose a heavier material and add beadings too. must tell your designer leh...you paid good money for it

yup yup, I am referring to the WG & EG...
Need to confirm by end this week... About the cheongsum, think I will discuss with my designer and see what she say... muz complain to her on the kwa when I meet up with her again this week...

bride, must be fierce k then after she gives in, smile sweetly at her and say 'now my drem wedding is coming tru' hehehe

haha... my designer is very gentle type and it is afterall the sales person fault.. so will feel bad if I am fierce to my designer.. but will definitely tell her my unhappiness and see what she going to do

oic, so can be nice to designer lah then jus complain bout the sales person lor. need to feedback, not ethical for them leh to push.

yup.. definitely will complain.. told my FH to help me ask for some "compensation" from WL for deceiving me that the kwa DEFINITELY can fit my size... heehee... thinking of maybe custom-made cheongsum from outside and ask WL for other stuffs in exchange for the tea dress.. bcoz think their tea dresses very limited

Hi Gals...now our topic changed to WG & EG already ar...

Bride...i think if u have any unhappiness, should voice out lor...else end day lugi is yourself leh...

morning ladies, does anyone knows if the ampoule is really necessary? worried makeup will melt cos need to run about on PS/AD.

morning ladies...

shern, ampoule is to make your makeup last... but friend say actually not necessarily need to apply ampoule. She didn't apply during PS and she say her makeup still ok... think got to depend on individual... whether you tend to sweat a lot or not.. if you sweat a lot, think makeup will not last without applying ampoule.

bugbear, we will further discuss on rasa deco after this weekend... cover most of the things liao.. or anything you may wanna raise up in case we left out?

bugbear, can get rasa's menu on the website, my dear FH hidden the menu so well, still hunting for it and he kept forgetting to dig it out for me hehehe

bride, thanks. i've got oily/sensitive skin...headache...

btw my BS has ponnie hsu as one of their MUA....no extra charges but my designer not recommending cos may not be easy to work with. any comments?

ponnie hsu is a makeup artist, she places ads in magazine, has good reviews, quite popular, but according to her thread, she can unfriendly at times.

think will have to wait till trial makeup then can decide.

oic.. if she is not easy to work with, then it is better to consider carefully. Because you will have to tolerate her unfriendliness if she in bad mood?? Important is to get a thoughtful and easy-going makeup artist.. is there any other makeup artist from your BS with good review too? Did you check it out from your BS thread in forum?

hi bride, there's 5 other MUA, my BS thread is severely inactive that's why asking around
will consider carefully, thanks!

check it out from other wedding forum too if that's the case... I will help you ask around see I got friend same BS as you or not.. by the way, what is ur BS again?

Hi Ladies...been bz...so haven been coming in as often.

Bride...i might not be able to make it to view the deco this weekend...if u happen to go...can help see see look look...see if there's any rooms for improvement (which i think should have ;D)

hi gals, sorry i hv been bz too... now not in town... so din follow up wif elaine after we signed the contract...

shern, my fren recommend me to take a look at your BS... think i'll do that when i'm back... so far how's your experience wif them??

hi gals, busy period for all of us it seems....

sweatcorn, most prob will be going for fitting coming sat, will update you. designer will be on maternity leave from mid sept onwards, so maybe you can pop down once you're back.

Morning Gals...

Me hopped by Rasa over the weekends...saw both ballrooms...the stage deco is really still the same...just as bare

Saw the full setup for the siloso ballroom...it's actually quite nice...very grand looking (apart from the disappointing deco) cos of the high ceiling....the pavilion is just as sweet and cosy

Me still trying to get hold of more info about the chef...but seems like both Elaine and Perry all like not very keen to tell me more...sigh...

Hi ladies, I went rasa yday.. bugbear, did you went yday too... personally, I find the deco really not up to standard... feedback to elaine on the deco but she say there won't be any changes unless they changed the florist (but it is not possible at this point of time) very disappointing.. and it is confirmed that pillar no deco.. stage is still the same, few plants.. very plain.. yes, siloso look more grand with 8-course dinner setup.. pavilion is having buffet style yday... but when I went there, it is still very bright.. so maybe by night time.. the ambience will be more romantic bcoz candles will be lit.. have took photos of both pavilion and siloso.. will PM you ladies once I uploaded them in my PC

Wanted to negotiate for nett price on the wine corkage and in-house wine charge with elaine but she not willing to give it to me and she insisted she never give any rasa bride at nett price before..

bugbear, I suppose bcoz rasa might change the chef by the time you wedding day arrived... so they doesn't wish to comment or give much info on the chef at this point of time... bcoz if they really changed the chef before your wedding, you will be disappointed...

hi bugbear, bride, thanks for sharing the infor, seems disappointing.....

jus hope that mine will not be overcrowded and crampy bugbear, hehehe gotta keep my list down...i like the cosy mood

agree that siloso looks more grand even with lesser decor.

bride, tot pavillion will have nice view in the day? much too bright?

seems like elaine is quite firm....no infor about chef (think changing!!)...no further negotiation for corkages....

wonder if they read this thread...

shern.. pavilion do have nice seaview.. but it is pretty bright in pavilion as when I reached there... so no cozy or romantic ambience at that time.. look pretty plain... but for siloso, as it is enclosed, the lights are turned on and it create a cozy feeling
For pavilion, it might be better after sunset..

I am thinking of getting out-source florist for my banquet deco bcoz the in-house deco is really not that nice.. or maybe I will out-source florist to enhance the deco..

Think after you signed the agreement, there is no room for further negotiation... so bad... elaine is really firm.. so bugbear, you gotta negotiate for everything you want before you sign the agreement (if you really taking rasa for your banquet).

Ooh...is it true that Elaine is very firm? Is it bcos u signed the contact already? Cos so far, i find Elaine quite ok...open for negotiation...for banquet she is...but for solemnization package, she is not...she say that there's nothing much that she can do for ROM packages...

Like that i better nego further before if i decide to sign up with them

THanks Bride for the feedback.

any idea what's the average pricing for decor?
got this off the web.

Secret Garden
Hotel Décor Package A $600/-
1) Candle Stand Medium (6x)
2) VIP Table Arrangement (2x) Using Round Wreath
3) Reception ~ Arrangement Of Leaves, Million Star & Color Theme Ribbon
4) Mini Vase Arrangement (22x)

Hotel Décor Package B $800/-
1) Large Candle Stand (6x)
2) VIP Table Arrangement (2x) Using Round Wreath
3) Reception ~ Arrangement Of Leaves, Million Star & Color Theme Ribbon
4 ) Floral Tie Back For 12 Chairs
5 ) Mini Vase Arrangement (22x)

Additional Items :
Large Candle Stand @ $120 Onwards
Side Arrangement @ $80 Onwards
Podium Arrangement @ $45 Onwards
Wedding Chair Wreath @ $60 Onwards
Reception Table @ $50 Onwards
Topiary Tree @ $120 Onwards
Floral Tie Back @ $10 Onwards
Presentation Bouquet To Parents @$45 Onwards VIP Table Arrangement @ $70 Onwards
Medium Candle Stand @ $80 Onwards
Mini Vase Arrangement @ $10 Onwards

hi gals... hmmm.... i guess the table deco for pavilion is ok (if i dun remember wrongly)... its juz the stage that requires more work... oso the ribbons for the chairs...

shern, thanks for the info... will make appointment when i'm back in end aug...

bride, thanks in adv for the photos...

bugbear, elaine seems to be pretty strict wif the wine prices... so i guess u juz gotta do your best... if cannot then mabbe bargain for other things e.g ribbons for other tables n etc...

hi all...some florists charges $3 onwards for the ribbons for chairs. the last time i asked cathy if can get more decor cos quite bare, she mentioned can exchange the items but not get more for FOC.

Yup, so far, i think the rest of the deco are ok...just the stage is too bare and no colour lor...just green green..everywhere green

Ooh i c...i haven't really talked to her abt the wine yet...just roughly told her that i might need quite a bit of wine...so see how she can help on the corkage...but i heard from Perry that we can actually purchase the wine from them at $24+++...and i saw the wine already...their house pour is not too bad...

I think we can...afterall, we are buying the wine from them...they should provide some trials right? I only say the red...din ask for the white tho...

U gals serving both red and white? Champange?

bugbear, i think i'll serve red cos its more popular...

shern, thanks for that, i'll remember when we doing food tasting... kekeke...

bugbear,
i agree wif bride, must nego before you sign contract.before she also very sweet, after sign change already.

anyone test the food already???

Ladies, I'm still waiting for my Fh to help me download the photos... can't do it with my own PC... ya bugbear, the stage llok very plain and green... and they will not have flowers on the stage bcoz they say outside rasa, everything is green.. full of trees.. so they won't be having any flower deco on the stage... deco for table is ok... very few flower stands and the flower stands pot are badly wrapped up with white cloth... (you will see it when I send the photos to you). Have feedback to elaine already... Overall, still nice but a bit of enhancement might be better

Once you signed the agreement, you will have no more negotiation power... so better to negotiate whatever you have thought of now...

shern, I will be checking up on quotation for banquet deco from the florists. You looking for church deco or banquet deco. If I manage to get any quotes, I will forward you a copy...

Hi everyone, mine will be either both red & white wine or might just stick to white wine.

Earliest food tasting seems to be mine so far, planning to do it in end oct.

I've met my coordinator only once but did speak to her over the phone...still quite ok lah....

bride, thanks, I'm looking for church & banquet decor....