Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

bride, my mistake, it was sweatcorn who's interested :P was worried about MTM too but my WG still quite close to my ideal so no regrets bout MTM so far...come to think of it, it's the OTR EG that I'm worrying bout now :p Yah, i would like a gown to melt my heart too
still thumbs up for my designer tho, for her patience and her suggestions (the bustier is fantastic)

how bout replacing with tea dress, or for bridesmaid, suit for fathers or how bout MUA for MIL and your mum?

is it quite common to do a rehearsal nowadays? with or without the bride?

hey , maybe the short run means within this few months....dec...jan...still quite a few months away...hope we're lucky...

wonder if rasa has a checklist or is it provided by us? I'm sure there's always some hiccups for every hotels, jus need to take note...thanks lyenn

hi shern,
i added to both the bottom of the bustier and around the edges of the gown.

bride,
yah exchange for something else is you dun want photos lor... maybe gown for mom?

hi gals... good evening... (but its a good morning for me... ahahahaha...)

shern, i think u r not fussy lah... every bride oso the same one... yes yes i still interested in silvercloak but i oni going back in sin late aug... so can oni wait until then make appointment wif them... come to think abt it... i gotta finalised my bs by end aug or sept else everything will be late liao...

hmmm i guess hving a point of focus or hving a all round design is up to individual... guess watever makes the bride look best is the best liao...

i'm having qualms abt MTM WG/EG cos some of my frens were saying they may not turn out as wat u expected... so kinda worry loh... i mean its quite disappointing right? somemore cannot change since its MTM right??

*sigh*

bugbear, even if u r not going to be rasa's bride, u can still join us in this thread... no worries... i'm sure the rest oso feels the same too right??

Morning everyone!

bugbear, you're definitely welcome here!!

dazed, thanks for infor, if i wait till next fitting before deciding if more details are needed, think it's too late?

sweatcorn, recalled you'll be back in aug/sept. guess if the BS has experience in doing the style you want should be ok, if not then it's safer to stick to OTR. so far, other than finding the bottom plain, the MTM WG is good.

hmm, shern, think it will still be in time, cos my BS only took about 2 weeks to add in the lace...

bugbear, you are welcome here anytime!

dazed, hope mine will be on time

opinion needed: kebaya (can keep WG for grand entry & more exposure) or WG (less troublesome, dun have to change so many times) during reception? tot of wearing kebaya for phototaking as well....

Shern...u thinking of wearing ur kebaya during the reception izzit?

Alternatively, maybe u wan to change b4 dessert is served? So u can walk in again...or just wait for ur guests to see as they are leaving? then photographers can capture u with ur guests as well?

I attended a wedding and the bride did just like that...she changed twice lor...

bugbear, have 2 plans:
1)kebaya (recept),WG (1st march in),EG (2nd march in), kebaya (table to table photo-taking till end of dinner)
or
2)WG (recept + 1st march in) ,EG (2nd march in),kebaya (table to table photo-taking till end of dinner)

wanted more exposure for those i MTM :P very vain lah hehehe

btw when does the photo taking starts?

Shern...how many tables u have? Don think u got so much time to change so many leh...cos usually when i attend weddings, brides with about 35-40 tbales usually only got time to change to EG and start photo taking liao...by the time finish all tables...almost time to go by the door already...cos don forget that in between tables...so friends may want to sabo u..that will take up some time too...

ur kerbaya is MTM? Hahah...of course must show off lah...once in a lifetime leh...show as much as u can.

For me...i most probably just do WG, EG, Kua (or another dress)...was thinking of wearing my ROM dress as the last change just before guests leave...provided i cann still fit in my ROM dress lah...hahahah

bugbear, mine about 30-35 tables. tot of wearing my ROM dress too but as teadress in the afternoon cos not suitable for evening. the kua is replaced with kebaya for mine. not really keen on taking the pics in EG....like what you say lor, wanna show off kebaya :P any tea dress for the afternoon or are you planning to wear kua? hmmm...if i change too many outfits FH sure turn green hehehe

Yup, i most probably will be wearing kua...atually thinking of MTM a cheong sum or kerbaya...me got a little peranakan feature...so if i wear kerbaya..later ppl really think my FH married a malay...hahah...

MTM cheong sum like very ex leh...long one will cost me $800+
so most probably will drop the idea lor...afterall, i should be getting MTM rom dress...so unless i put on so much weight from now till AD...else i most likely will wear ROM dress as last outfit.

at least can make full use of the ROM dress if wear twice. there's a tailor that makes CS for 250 including material, dunno how good tho. i can recommend my kebaya tailor to you too she charges 580 for full outfit (so far one of the cheapest and quite nice) i did look kinda melayu in it hehehehe maybe cos the lighting was dark....

hi shern, u may not hv enuff time to change from your kebaya to wg btw the reception to the march-in... but if u intend to leave like 15 mins before the stipulated march-in timing then mabbe got time to change lah...

wah... u gals intend to change so many clothes ah?? i prefer to spend more time wif my guests rather than changing clothes... so mabbe stick to the conventional wg n eg...

Heheh...i very much would like to wear my ROM dress again during AD lor...so can 'show-off' abit mah...hahah...anyway, think all will depend if got time to change or not...i am worried that i don have enuf time to even finish the photo taking...

Morning gals!

Had a fren who couldn't change into her kua on time to see off her guests cos ballroom quite far fron her suite, quite a waste.

Sweatcorn, I agree it's a rush too, most prob will wear my WG during recept. FH peranakan so wearing kebaya, anyway I'm not that keen on the EG anymore :P may not even wear it if there's no time. My ROM dress for the morning tea ceremony, cos dun wanna dirty the kebaya

Bugbear, hehehe like the way I wanna 'show-off' my kebaya....gotta plan well in advance on the sequence then

Shern...u can check with the coordinator if they can arrange a place nearer to pavilion for u to change...cos they told me that if i take siloso, they can try to arrange the small function room beside siloso for changing...if no one is using that room...so u will have more time...

Ooh...no wonder u so keen in the kerbaya...ur FH is peranakan...heheh..in this case, think u wear kerbaya more meaningful...

bugbear, that seems like a good idea, will check it out with them
some relatives also peranakan but doubt I would wear it if not for my FH and his family. Maybe a modern version not like the current one, quite traditional.

heheh...my aunty also went to make kerbaya which she wore to my cousin's wedding...think it's quite cheap...cost her like $400 or so only...

Hi All, I am a BTB in 2005. Thinking of holding my AD at Rasa as well. The coordinator who attended to us is Perry; looks a bit blur.......kekeke........but ok lah.......can u girls suggest what perks we shld negotiate for? Thanks in advance ya.

Hi snowflakes....welcome!!

I talked to Perry as well...he is quite new to Rasa...and yes..he looks like blur blur like that...but i find him ok...he is quite open to negotiation.

U guys planning to serve wine? maybe u can negotiate for more wine corkage waived or more free beer?

Basically, i don think most of the rasa BTBs here negotiated for much...right gals? They package seems quite comprehensive already huh...of course except for the deco...hahah

bugbear, that's cheap, tot mine was a good bargain liao hehehe

snowflakes, welcome, welcome, totally agree with what bugbear said, it always boils down to the decor which we love to complain about hehehe.... can try asking for additional nite stay.... not much i guess...

welcome, snowflakes....

just called up rasa to tell tell me going down for PS... elaine not around so talk to perry, sound quite nice lah, better and more helpful then elaine... he so shocked cos i never talked to him before yet know his name... obviously they still dun know the existence of this place hehehe...

he said will tentatively put in a note to allow me to take photos in the bridal suite but cannot confirm can have suite until actual day... if fully booked then will allow me take pics in seaview room lor.

Hi gals...

welcome snowflakes...

Snowflakes, u may wan to check when is their next bridal show cos they do offer quite good deals during the bridal show. I signed up during the bridal show with a extra night of stay, one extra small barrel of beer and free 16 bottles of wine.... Shern, did i miss out anything??

Wow, thanks for all ur prompt responses...... Sweatcorn, I think it's really a gd bargain for the 16 bottles of free wine. I personally find the deco a bit plain but dun know what else to ask for. We have planned to hold our AD on a Sunday & my FH wanted to upgrade the seabass to garoupa; dun know if they will do it FOC or not. Btw, when are u gals holding ur AD? Is it tentative or confirmed bkings?

Morning Gals...

snowflake...to upgrade the fish definitely have to top-up...but to top up how much, u will have to talk to Elaine or Perry...they will check with the chef then get back to you.. .but i would estimate at least ard $30?

Hahah...think most or all of the more active gals here are all Rasa brides except me...me still cannot make up my mind...but i enjoy chatting with them here...so i always come in to read posts lor

sweatcorn, got free 16 bottles of wine?? think i totally forgot about it, or was it either extra free small barrel or 16 bottles of wine?

dazed, totally forgot can do PS in their rooms! mind if i consider your idea too? :P

snowflakes, i've asked before, they will charge if you want to change the fish.

Snowflakes,

Shern 17 Dec 2004 (pavilion)
Bride 9 Jan 2005 (pavilion)
Dazed 9 Jan 2005 (siloso)
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (pavilion)
Bugbear (**)
Snowflakes (**)

sweatcorn, think that's all they gave for the fair.... oh yah, and better pricing (less $20 i think) sorry, i'm quite forgetful :P

yah, snowflakes, go down take a look and reserve date first, then got show then book...

shern, no prob, thot most people will do that??? anyway can get a 'preview' of what we gonna get mah...hehee..

dazed, din know that! even tot of renting a room at the hotel along keong saik st. no idea where to go for PS, so far it'll be the place we met and sentosa. is asian civilization museum still under reno? how about you? yeah, get preview to plan for a romantic night hor

Bugbear.....agreed with u......it's nice chatting here with the rest. So u have not decided on which hotel yet? Have u shortlisted a few already? I have actually been to see quite a no. of them, so if u have any in mind, maybe I can share my experience with u.

Bride & Dazed, wow......u girls getting married on the same day!!!!! Think 9 Jan05 quite a hot date ya. Dazed, wanted to make tentative bking with Perry but the tongshu not out yet......& there will only be a wedding at Pavilion on 7 Aug04, so can only see the real set-up then.

Shern, btw, what is PS? Is there a lot of preparations for u now?

Sweatcorn, so u signed up during the bridal show. Think is Mar or Apr this yr right? Had wanted to go initially but FH overseas. Will they hold more than 1 wedding show in a yr?

hi shern, if i dun remember wrongly it is a small barrel of beer N 16 bottles of wine (white/red)...

i cannot check now cos i dun hv my contract wif me...

Snowflakes, yes i met wif elaine even before the bridal show but oni signed up during the bridal show as we dun hv any dates then... I dunno if they hold 2 shows a yr leh, u gotta ask elaine/perry... btw, i would strongly recommend that u take shern's advice of reserving a date first if u really like rasa... esp the pavilion... kekeke...

snowflakes, dun think elaine will release the date of the next bridal show.. bcoz they do not want all couples to make tentative booking now but wait till the bridal show then confirmed in order to get the additional perks... But it is alway best to make tentative booking with them first.. normally they will only call you to confirm if other couples are looking at the same date and same ballroom as you... In the meanwhile, keep a look out for the bridal show...

If you wait till tong shu is out then make tentative booking will be too late. Most of the weekends for yr 05 have got tentative bookings already... so you gotta act fast, else you might not be able to get the date and ballroom you want...

Actually I find Perry quite thoughtful... and it might be easier to negotiate with him since he is new...

Yes, it is indeed a hot date on 9Jan05.. there is also a wedding lunch at Pavilion on 9Jan05.. will be pretty crowded at rasa on that day

Hi All, thanks for all ur advices. Finally decided to take 6 Mar'05 & will make a tentative bking with Perry 1st thing tomorrow morning. Hopefully it is still available......wish me luck ya.

Shern, regarding the PS, usually the BS will suggest certain places right? Did u take the one with the whole package or PS & WG separated? Think Rasa quite a nice place for PS. I have a friend wking in Beautfort & that place is also pretty nice for PS.

snowflakes, glad it's settled & GOOD LUCK!

took seperate package, you mean beaufort will allow PS even if i'm not having AD over there? that'll be nice, booked their room before...lovely place...

hi gals!!
hi bugbear!!

I went down to Rasa last saturday to view the ballrooms... i love the solemnization area at the white fence and also at the beach! so rommmantic..
hmmm i like The Pavillion.. as it overlooks the sea..
however, the only minus point is the 3 pillars... sigh... and also the coffeehouse..

gals ah.. are they have a wedding show soon?? hmmmm juz checked with them.. they have not open up prices for 2006 yet...

has anyone spoken to Cathy??? she's the one who showed me ard..

Morning Gals!!

Rachel!! Good to see u here as well. My coordinators are Eline and Perry. I just called them up yesterday and heard from Elaine that they are going to do some renovation and white fence area might be affected. Sigh...my plans to have my solemnization there is dashed liao

Morning morning!

Racherlle, my coordinator is Cathy, quite nice lah, helpful too.

Bugbear, means no more white fence? Heard from this gal, can't recall her name, Rasa even had plans to do a mini chapel!! Dunno how true.