Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi bride, thanks for the map

I think the tables can distribute more evenly...then some can see the view

welcomed
think you have more to plan and busy with since you will be having church wedding... Hmmm... I can't figure out whether those black coloured circle are the pillars... with the floorplan, you all will be able to plan your guests sitting arrangement earlier.. especially for bugbear..

Hi Gals!

Shern...yah lor...prawns quite ma fan leh...and i personally don eat prawns. allegic to it...so i decide to remove prawns from the menu list...even for other hotels, i also taking them out ;p

bride, u can send me mails at [email protected]

hhmm...for wine, i feel that unless u can get wine at very cheap prices, else on top of the wine + corkage...it might come up to quite a bit
Think Rasa has quite a good deal for wine.

Yah lor...i find the pavilion stage deco VERY bare leh. I asked Elaine abt it and she say that they are trying to do the garden theme...i feel like asking her if i don want garden theme, and want fairy theme...can or not...heheh...but since i haven confirm sign wif her, better not to nego so much first...hahah..

FOr the alternate sash on chairs, i think it's additional of $2 or $2.50 per chair...quite a standard rate for most hotels. usually only the VIP tables will have that...to make it different.

Sweatcorn...did u notice any deco for the pillars in pavilion?

Heheh...think next to go will be me...i will be going to rasa next weekend. I will bring a camera, but dunno if Elaine will allow me to take pics or not...cos i haven signed with them yet

bugbear, i dun even mind graden theme...can't stand it when the whole place is so 'functional' hehehe...

so wat else can u switch the prawns to? or keep it for your guest lor...

if i keep to less than 2 cartons then i'll get from outside...looking for below $15

hmm...works out to nearly $300 (145 pax) for the chair decor

keep your fingers crossed, hopefully can take pics

Shern, i totally agree with u...their 'garden' theme looks just like a seminar deco

Was so disappointed. I even went to ask Elaine if they are going to add more deco on the wall, etc...but ans is "no"

You should be able to wine at $15, should be pretty ok already. so if u manage to negotiate down the corkage to $10nett...then each bottle only $25....cheaper than Rasa in house wine?

Yah lor...i thinking of doing alternate chairs as well, but it's an additional costs. I would rather use that $300 to top up for deco of the stage. Me thinking of doing my own chair deco...dunno if rasa will allow...just get some friends/cousins to go there earlier to help deco up the chairs :D

Shern, I will talk to Elaine again...if really wan me to top up that much...then i will have to think twice. topping up that much like not so worth it lor.

Which menu u talking? A or B?

Can choose from either A or B only fish cannot change.

Was thinking of DIY chair decor too but dunno if got time or not...any simple ones you know?

Time to protest....will try...ugh...maybe should tell them they have one of the worse decor among the hotels! Even Siloso looks so much better!

ahaha...i really feel like telling Elaine when she kept stressing that they are emphasizing on garden theme...but reckon i shouldn't...else later get into her bad books and difficutl to nego for other perks :D

Hhmm...about the menu, do u have any idea if we can only change across...eg: prawns between the 2 menus...or i can change prawns to another veg dish like sea cucumber with mushroom?

Shern...since u have signed with them already, maybe u should really feedback to Elaine that it's time for them to change deco...and maybe give them some ideas on what should be done :p

i will the next time i meet cathy
if mine din turn out well, i'll 'feedback' as appropriate

need to check my menu, should be able to change lah, sea cucumber cheaper leh...
unless their's from dunno where hehehe

Thanks SHern...cos i always tot that we can only change of the same category, like prawn change prawn,dessert change dessert

morning bugbear, i'm sure there's room for negotiation with them. tell them quite a few of your guest are allergy to prawns as well

mine is opposite...quite a few prawn fanatics hehehe

bugbear, no there was no deco for the pillars... yes i agree the entire room looks pretty plain n seminar like... think we may need extra deco liao...

Hi Gals!!

Yeah, i think the next time i go there, have to really sit down and negotiate with them liao :D

Me will also 'feedback' to them that their deco needs some polishing :D

Hi bugbear & sweatcorn.. check ur email

Oh no.. no deco for pillars and plain stage. In that case, think the last time I saw the pavilion deco is done up by outside florist... sob sob..

I wonder how will the garden theme for the stage look like??? Now getting more and more worried on the deco..

Bugbear, next weekends got any wedding banquets going on? I might be going on next sunday to see the deco...

Gals, any idea what can we exchange for or any amount rebate if we were to engage outside florist instead of rasa one???

Hi Bride,

Yah...the last time i went there, there wasn't any deco for pillars as well. The 'garden' theme for the stage is quite pathetic (to me)...it looks more like those potted plants that are used to deco a seminar! I was really quite disaapointed.

Yes, i think there are weddings going on at Rasa next weekend...not too sure sat or sun, siloso or pavilion...but i think there is. call up ur coordinator and check.

Hhmm...no idea how much rebate tho...but i tot usually they won give rebate..instead, they exchange for other perks.

Hi bugbear.. ya u r right... no rebate actually.. same for BS... can only exchange for something else.. was wondering what can we exchange for.... I have just email my coordinate to check on the weekends where there will be wedding banquets using rasa florist and I will be going down with my FH to take a look again...

morning everyone,

think they'd rather do an exchange too rather than rebate. was thinking if i can DIY all my invites, may switch their cards for something else. and if getting in an external florist is more effective...then maybe can trade in for wine?? doubt they'll exchange those at market rate value.

during the wedding fair, i dun recall pillars with decor either...

bugbear, i need to hunt for the menu..hidden somewhere

hi hi...

Morning!!
Yeah, usually when they exchange, it's not of equal value...

Shern, think it's good to exchange for wine corkages or even beer or additional night stay.

Hahah...change for 1 carton of corkage waived might still be possible...to change for 1 carton of wine...think quite impossible...but then hor...no harm trying...u never know. Maybe that day Elaine is super good mood...agree leh...then it's a bonus!

Hi Dazed! Long time no see. Thanks for the info. Any idea if it's at Pavilion or Siloso? or both?

hi bugbear,
it's one of the ladies here lah... she's having it on 3rd at siloso. dunno whether pavilion have a not.

hi shern, me also dream.... i think me will not serve wine to cut cost...hehee...

me also want to change dessert! i want or ni (yam paste) i asked elaine long time before whether can change, she said no prob and din mention need extra $$ a not.

dazed, or ni not western dessert, so be ok lah...it'll be quite unkind of them if they're gonna charge, if have i may change to it too

seriously not serving wine? find it ok actually...

Hi Dazed, Shern,

Confirmed change to orr ni, no extra charged. Ask Elaine already...but like i post previously, to change to other dish or even just to add abalone or scallop will cost like $35

Heheh...i also love orr ni a lot leh...do u ladies like it with coconut or just pure yam paste? Cos there is this teochew restaurant "Liang Ji" somewhere at Robertson Quay...serves pretty good oor ni, but it's those pure ones without coconut, but with pumpkin. I don really like the pumpkin tho

Ooh, i din know that Sat is one of the ladies's wedding
I think Sun have wedding at both Pavilion and Siloso :D

Hhmm...i also thought of not serving wine to save costs...but don think i will be able to do that...cos my dad and his kakis all drink wine...so think there's no way for me to skip that...will try to negotiate further waiver

morning gals!

great, gonna change to or ni then. i like either one...may try the one bugbear mention

congratulations to the ladies who're getting hitch this weekend! think you'll be too busy with prep to read this thread

counting down....me got 5 months left....cold feet...hehheh

think if have few guest who drinks can skip the wine, if not then need to negotiate with rasa further...

Morning Gals!!

Shern, i think u can negotiate with Elaine further...she seems to me as a person who is quite flexible and open to negotiation...no harm trying lor

Hahah...5 more months to go...i am sure you are all excited. Went for ur PS already? Which BS u took up and which photographer?

bugbear, mine is cathy leh...not elaine...but cathy quite nice too will try

took up Silver Cloak, photography seperate. PS in mid aug. now designing my invites....tot printing myself but dunno if feasible

Bugbear, Elaine is very helpful but in term of negotiation, she can be quite firm though... but if you negotiation skill is even more powerful than elaine... then maybe you are able get what you wish for..
shern, see from previous thread from ex-rasa bride that cathy is very helpful too
but not sure when it comes to negotiation.. but no harm trying. You will never know if you never try...

shern, 1 more month plus to PS... must be very excited!!! Remember to have good rest few days before the PS for good complexion
Try to have your invites ready early so that you have more time to plan and do for other things...

Ladies, confirmed that this sunday got 2 wedding dinner both at pavilion and siloso... I might go down and take a look this sunday and take some photos on both ballroom deco to share with you gals...

Dazed... it's been quite some time before you last join in our chat
busy with your bridal stuffs? Do you want the gateway carpark map for reference? Let me know your email address if you want it ok?

was thinking of no flee flow wine but just put 2 bottles on table for colleagues only coz they like wine. the rest dun put.

bride, no lah, have been reading but not much to contribute leh... hehee.

bugbear, make sure you nego with coordinator before you sign. after signing another pattern already....

me and my mum love or ni too, so she insist must have. like both ways of serving so doesn't matter.

dazed, thought you suddenly disappear liao
have you thought of your ballroom deco?? Using rasa florist? We will get to see each other on our AD

I also love or ni.. we are all or ni lovers.. heehee.. but most prob I will be having other dessert since I won't have time to take it on AD.. after the dinner, think tired till no appetite liao

hi dazed, idle chit chat, no need to contribute much lah
wat if other tables see the wine and request? seems like it'll be or ni all around
will ask them to serve the extras for supper hehehe

bride, not taking leave before PS, saving it for honeymoon
hopefully, no breakouts hehehe have fun being a PI this weekend. giving myself 2 months to complete all the invites and booklets...think more than enough time. will brush up my negotiation skills 1st hahaha

i think its so nice to know the other bride that's having wedding on the same say
arrange same florist? maybe can get cheaper ratesa. so who's taking pavilion, me can't recall liao.

shern, drink more water and get enough sleep before PS to prevent breakouts.. think I might meet up with elaine to discuss on the deco with her... pretty worried on the deco, esp the stage... dazed, any idea for siloso stage deco? Is it different from pavilion??

dazed is siloso and mine pavilion... dazed, maybe I will run down to siloso to congrat you (if have the chance).. dun be surprised.. heehee... by the way, do you plan to be at the reception to welcome your guests on AD or will only appear during march-in?

thanks bride...will drink more water...drown myself in it if needed, in hopes of looking radient on the pics hehehehe

i think u will need to run up (gracefully) to siloso hehehe... will u be at the reception? i'm planning to, dun wanna miss out the start of my own wedding hehehe

Shern 17 Dec 2004 (pavilion)
Bride 9 Jan 2005 (pavilion)
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (pavilion)
Dazed 9 Jan 2005 (siloso)
Bugbear (**)

bugbear, i recalled u have not confirm, but jus your name first lor. if dun put this up, i'll keep asking same questions hehehe

Shern, I do plan to be at the reception to welcome my guests.. like that can chat chit a bit with the guests and let them have a closer look of me in my wedding gown
Attended most banquets with only the groom at the entrance to welcome the guests.. quite disappointed cannot see the beautiful bride... what about you? Planning to get ready early and wait for the arrival of your guests? I might go siloso find dazed if she will be at the reception early... else wait her guests will wonder why is this little bride doing down here at siloso??? Went to the wrong place or ballroom for her banquet ah!!! Hahaha... Ya.. got to run gracefully or else when tripped will look like a snow ball rolling on the ground.. heehee...

Bugbear.. no problem lah.. confirm only when you are comfortable with the date, place and perks

By the way ladies.. need your advise on wedding gown... I just signed up with White Link. (The sales person very hard-selling.. actually not prepared to sign yet but in the end, still sign uncomfortably) Anyway, finally finalize my bridal shop... but I am thinking of taking OTR gowns instead of having MTM WG & EG (bcoz WL has small size WG & EG) Initially I thought very difficult to find OTR gowns for my size.. so signed up for the MTM ones.. Do you think I should remain with MTM gowns or go for OTR gowns and exchange them for more photos? Asked my FH but he say since signed liao, then just stick to MTM lor

hi bride,
try the OTR ones first coz then you will know which type, colour looks nice on you. maybe you can find one OTR that you like then exchange MTM for extra photos. if dun like those you try then MTM. better go soon coz MTM takes time. I also like that, in the end took OTR and exchange for 3 more pics.

i think i will be at reception (after solemnisation) for a while, before i go touch up before grand entrance.

i think ballroom decor will be pretty simple and standard too... haven't really thot about the decor.

hi shern,
tell the guest that the table bring their own lor, worse come to worse get rasa house wine lor.