Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

bugbear

hi hi...morning everyone! So good to read so many posts early in the morning.

Dazed, i sent u the PL package already.

Shern, how i envy you to have a slim figure. I don think i need anymore padding liao...me trying to shed some more weight...but at the right spot...else will look very weird. I think u can leh...can ask for bigger can can and more paddings
me got a private apt. which is currently developing...so TOP would be Dec 2005. I also wish to have the rom and dinner on the same day...it just feels so perfect hor...but don think i can...cos before TOP, lawyer will ask us for the cert so that CPF board can draw $$ out
but me trying to get deferment

Shern...i think roses are still the best...i personally feel that orchids may not be so suitable for weddings...not romantic enuf...white/champange roses are so romantic...or maybe u can try white lilies?

heheh...

Sorry gals...i haven signed up with rasa yet...but quite pro of it...meeting the coordinators this weekend to learn more about the packages...but for my BS, i 90% go for Flamingo...then see which photographer they tie up with then decide.

shern

Morning bugbear, no lah not those super slim kind just that my waist looks broad. Padding is for top half, then can have 'X' figure hahaha.

So you've got lots of time to prepare for new place...no need to rush like mad (that was how I was like

Trying to have more dinner decor so sticking to cheaper flowers. Prefer roses more than lillies actually. Had red roses for my ROM so tot of changing flower, maybe should just change colour.

sweatcorn

Bugbear, i dunno if this works for u... we bought an EC n we hv requested for delay to submit ROM cert wif the proof of the banquet booking receipt (the date of the banquet). I dunno if this works for u anot... but mabbe u can chk with either CPF or your lawyer???

bugbear

shern...also dunno to say lucky or unlucky...cos i tried balloting twice, but was not succcessful...if i were to be successfull, i would have been in ur case...rush like made...cos i as adviced by HDB that the flats TOP end 2005...but as of today, when i passed by the blk that i balloted for (but not successful), so many units had been filled and ppl staying in there already
so i end up having so much time to slowly prepare...then again hor...when the time comes, i will be SO broke leh...house reno need $$, wedding need $$

Shern, don worry abt the padding. confirm can do it...the last time i went to see see flamingo, i saw this bustier gown...with 3 layers of padding :D I also a little concern abt the padding...cos i also need some
to really have the hour glass figure...hahha

Sweatcorn...send the package to you already

shern

sweatcorn, wild flowers are ex, in fact most pretty and unique ones are. Think keep that for bouquet..then we can stand out even more
tot of peonies but will need to top up extra $10 per stalk for the bridal bouquet.

bugbear...either way....will still be broke lah...just earlier or later
anyway enjoying my place cos near to town. hmmm...maybe upgrade to 'C' cup with padding hehehe

bugbear

shern...u recently got the balloting izzit? sekali we ballot the same place...ur is a 30 storey block?

Ah yo...don worry...think D cup also can ar...imagine, from A, 3 layers of padding, isn't it D already?! Hahaha

shern

was it last june, ballot for bukit merah/queenstown? mine shortest blk, 20 floors only, chose 10th floor.

eh...think D cup too much..so spongy...imagine get burnt also dunno
mine B cup lah but..the small 'b'

smilez_bride

Hi gals, dazed AD is the same as mine.. same day..
hey gals, we can choose either one from rose or orchid for the deco but can have two different colours right? Can't really remember...

bugbear

Shern...yes yes...same period, but i opted for the Tiong Bahru point blk...first timer + near parents...already 3 chance and i still cannot get!! sigh!! destined not to be mine

Then hor...if ballot that really successful, i also got prob ar...everything so rush hor...but u good lah...after rom move in to stay with ur hubby liao...

Bride...u are talking abt the rasa deco izzit? Do u happen to have any photos of the stage? I requested for photos from the coordinator and she gave me 3...none of it is the stage. i thinking of getting in external florists to add more deco

smilez_bride

Hi BugBear,I dun have any deco photos in hand. Last time saw the ballrooms deco when meet up with my coordinator for further discussion. Just nice that sat got 2 wedding dinner banquets on both siliso and pavilion ballrooms so went to see see look look. Deco quite nice, esp for silioso.. they have a lots of balloons at the cocktail area, outside the ballroom.. very nice

shern

bugbear, yup yup, they had 2 balloting for that leh, 1 was beginning of this year, additional discount...was so upset, but it was the leftovers tho. i got queenstown. las dec move in, this dec AD..still rush lah.

rasa decor only roses or orchids, will be calling their florist to check rates for additional pricing. rasa's florist is suppose to be able to give a better rate. (that's wat a florist i enquired told me)think should be able to have more than 1 type of flowers but cheap ones.

seen las year's photos for pavillion. stage was bare...very bare..except for some potted plants along the stage. think this year is better.

siloso ballroom will definitely look more grand than pavillion but 4 walls lah.

bugbear

Hi Bride...so happy to hear that the deco is very nice...cos the photos that the coordinator sent to me for siloso ballroom is terrible...look so plain and...i dunno...the liking for it is simply not there...

I even tot of getting in external florists...now i feel much better after reading ur posts :D thanks.

Hhmm...any ex-rasa brides here managed to negotiate free flow of beer? I dunno if that complimentary barrel will be enuf or not...cos i reckon i have more wine drinkers than beer. or can we opt to purchaseby jug by the time the complimentary barrel runs out?

is the cocktail area and outdoor thingy or it's just outside the ballroom? i read from the package that it's an outdoor pre-dinner cocktail (45 mins)

Is the siloso ballroom very long? like pan pac pacific ballroom? i compared the floor plans and seems like rasa is almost as long as pan pac...

bugbear

Shern...u took the siloso ballroom izzit? I thought of getting Stefii to do the flowers if it's really too bare...cos i heard that even for siloso ballroom, the stage is quite simple looking...but i personally have not seen it...so can't comment much.

I think pavilion would be great for buffet lunch...very nice view...but when it comes to the traditional chinese banquet...think siloso is still better...and i went to check the floor specs...the lenth of siloso almost same as pan pac...very long...but just that siloso has got a slight curve...

shern

bugbear, me having chinese banquet at pavillion, something different loh tho when dark, the view disappears. nice area for reception, that is if no rain. stefii decor is nice but think pricy. will check out next week. get quote from rasa, think pavillion and siloso florists different.

amerlinelee

hi ladies...

some comments : ) pardon me always budging in like this hehehhe...

1) personally feel that Pavillion is better than Siloso....if u want a ballroom why go all the way to sentosa....i dun agree that the view will be 100% blocked....still can see quite abit...

2) choice of flowers if i am not wrong shd be rose, orchids and gerberas...get them to scatter rose petals on all the tables....very romantic feel!!

3)dun over do on the "cup" thingy on the gowns...bery obvious one bcoz all the guests will be staring at you that day and they will know u are not a C or D...than that will be ur highlight...hahahhahaa....not a nice thing u want ur guests to bring away with them... : p

4) be critical at the food tasting and they will improve...if u scared to offend the chef and keep quiet...u will be the one to suffer on the AD....i condemned the chef on my food tasting and he really changed for the better on the AD...cooked more to my expectations and taste...of coz u must know ur stuff b4 u criticise...hahhahahaha

smilez_bride

Hi ladies, add on this what amerline has wrote..

for point 1, I agreed with her... I also feel that since having banquet at rasa, then no point booking siloso ballroom bcoz it make no diff to town area hotel ballrooms.. siloso no seaview and it is like very enclosed and the stairs to the ballroom might be inconvenient for the elderly.. this is the few points that my hubby and i feel... although i did find the balloons made the cocktail area very nice... and when i first saw pavilion ballroom, i felt in love with the ballroom straightaway.. really very nice... esp the march in path outside the ballroom, very romantic.. heehee... actually plan to have my AD end this yr but just bcoz pavilion has been fully taken up, therefore we decided to postpone it to jan next yr.. (my coordinator has actually booked siloso ballroom for us when I first called her for tentative booking for AD end this yr).. anyway no offence for those who has booked siloso ballroom hor.. individuals have own preference

But amerline, really can still see a bit of the seaview at night??

for point 4, i read from the thread that normally the food will be better on AD as compared to food tasting session bcoz of feedbacks to the chef.. heehee.. and read that the chef is nice so i'm not worry on the food

bugbear

Hi hi...

I think it's great that we can give comments and advices

Eventhough i have not been to see both the siloso and pavilion...but from the website, the pavilion really looks very nice. i am thinking of using pavilion...but i am worried about the max tables.

Anyone knows the max number of tables for pavilion?

I also like siloso...long ballroom and high ceiling...heheh...i looked into rasa siloso at first cos i really love the long march-in

Bride...at night if don put down the blinds...really still can see the sea view ar...then later guests who sit nearer the window all stare outside instead of looking at me liao...heheh ;p

Hahah...the cup thing really getting funny leh...amerline, don worry...me and shern just joking only. i am sure the BS will know wot to do...to bring out the best of each bride :D... really looking forward to meeting my BS designer

shern

amerline, pls do share your views cos only you have the experience leh, thanks so much!

max for pavillion is 38 but quite a squeeze, i've got the floor plan for 35, just find it sad for those who are not near the stage, but they have a nice window view leh..hehehe

think with nice decor, it'll look like a green house with beautiful flowers.

will not be able to see the trees and much of the sea at night for the pavillion but will be able to see the lights on ships docked there. Like twinkling stars out on the sea. My photographer was saying that no views will be captured at night, he took before. I guess the glass will reflect the restaurant so kinda expands the whole place as well.

Gotta agree that if it's siloso, it'll be like the ballrooms in town lor. Bugbear, just go with your instinct lah.

Yeah, just kidding about the cup thing lah, will be the butt of the joke the whole night man...hahahaha

tot of scattering some flowers on the table, rasa allows? cos some worries about the flowers staining the cloth.

bride, me just worried about the weather cos dec. rained during my ROm at the hotel, fortunately switched the solemnisation from gazebo to the marquee weeks before that. can't imagine walking the short distance when it rains esp with the gowns.

smilez_bride

Hi HugBear, pavilion can go up to 30 tables but max no. think u hv to check with your coordinator tomorrow when meet up

Actually i dun mind the guest looking at the seaview bcoz they can't be keep looking at me the whole night mah.. can enjoy seaview while eating isn't a bad idea afterall

Dun think we be having banquet at sentosa if not bcoz of the seaview of pavilion and also the match-in deco outside the ballroom.... but one thing not good about pavilion is that it has pillars!!! But nothing is perfect...

If you dun wan to have ballroom that has pillars.. think siloso will be a better choice... and ya, also siloso has high ceiling.. unlike pavilion

shern

hi bride, how many tables will you be having?
think the pillars will block some guests' views. planning to put some decor on the pillars... 4 blocks in the centre...quite unsightly...

bugbear

my view at first to go for siloso even though it's ballroom cos it's at sentosa lor...heheh...that makes it a little different from the ballrooms in city

Heheh...yes yes!! if only we all could gang up and mass negotiate with the coordinators...with that, maybe we wil have the upper hand.

Let me go see see look look at both ballroom and pavilion first...will come back with what my coordinators will say and also let me go see what the couples have as deco for their wedding today

smilez_bride

Hi shern, I should have more than 25 tables... ya lor.. the pillars will some guests' view.... think rasa will deco the pillars too.. saw that they will deco nicely last time.. what about you? how many tables you have?

Hahaha... maybe we can share what perks each of us have then we negotiate further with our coordinators... heehee...

amerlinelee

hi ladies...

me back with more 2 cents worth.... : )

1) if u wanna avoid the pillars...max no. of tables u shd have is 30 tables....

2) scattering of flower petals - yes they allow, they the ones who suggested it in the 1st place hee hee so no worries...

3) dun go for mass negotiation....confirm you lose out....go one on one and u can go further... trust me! tried and tested....coz some co-ordinators are softer and easier to con...some are firmer...if u put all of them 2gether...the firmer ones will prevail and end up u all at the losing end...no point all die together right? hehehhehe

smilez_bride

Hi Shern, it's a good idea to have mass negotiation... heehee.... but dun know can or not... wait our coordinators *fainted*... hahahaha...

Btw ladies, do you have any idea whether parade square carpark and gateway carpark refer to the same carpark? Anyone out there has the map of the carparks to share?

bugbear

Hi Hi...i think we can all share wot kind of perks each of our cordinators give...then each of us will go negotiate with the respective coordinators for whatever perks we din get...and see if they allow

bride, i don't thin parade sq and gateway is the same...cos from what i know, parade sq carpark is quite small whereas gateway is a carpark which can hold 600 cars :D

I went to see both the siloso and pavilion this afternoon. so sad that both venues are not fully setup
anyway, me and my FH find that pavilion is more unique but siloso is more grand...then again, both venues cannot cater to our numbers...so unless i really cut down on my guest lists...else quite difficult for me to use that location...so sad

bugbear

Amerline...no lah...siloso cannot hold that many. I was told by Elaine that if i want the stage to be at the other end, meaning i have a long straight march-in, the max tables can only be 38...no more...unless i want to short march-in which means the stage will be right in the middle of the ballroom, then possible to hold 40 tables...

I was asking her if we can squeeze 40 tables into pavilion...but she say cannot...if i really have 40, then have to take siloso...else i will have to cut my guest list

sweatcorn

hi Bugbear, u went to c elaine on sat huh?? u went to c her at 12pm isit?? mine was originally at 12pm then she sms me to postponed to 1pm but but we din make it n after that she's busy...

shern, your request for waiver of corkage charge for 1 carton thingy isit included in the contract?? cos actually we thinking of juz signing the contract and then fax it back to her... isit safe to do that or shld everything b b&w juz like bridal packages??

Amerline, I agree wif u, personally i chose rasa cos of the seaview which u dun get from the rest of the hotels. Though there's pillars n some tables cannot c the stage, its still worth it loh....

shern

morning everone,

seems like mass negotiation will not work, sharing would be better. my coordinator is cathy, and she's quite firm with the perks

bride, think i'll try to keep to 30 tables. the pillars were not decorated the last time i saw it, will definitely have it nicely done up, at least wouldn't look so ugly

bugbear, guess it's siloso then? i do find the ballroom very nice when done up....romantic...

shern

Sweatcorn, i went down to re-negotiate again, and paid the remaining deposit. she did include it in the final contract the extra stuff and email back to us. we didn't sign and return the contract tho cos we signed another form when we were there.

Include all the perks in case your coordinator change

bugbear

Sweatcorn, yes, i went to to meet Elaine and Perry (assistant events mgr). I saw another couple, probably is Shern...since she say that she went down to re-nego...

Now i have even more headache. me and FH both like pavilion, but Elaine say can only accomodate 36 comfortably and 38 would be a little squeezy...but i have 40 tables!
For 40 tables, she suggest i take siloso and have the stage right in the middle..which means that my march-in will be very short...so now i either have to cut guest list in order totake pavilion lor

Shern, was that you on Sat? so happy for you that u signed with them already...1 BIG relief? I think it's definitely going to be 1 BIG relief for me when i finally settled on my banquet venue.

I have been to see so many ballrooms...and only after talking to the coordinator...then realise that some ballrooms cater for max 38 and some need at least 45 in order for me to get the entire ballroom...seems like my 40 tables isn't a good number

smilez_bride

Hi bugbear, is the parade square near to rasa? not sure if it is the one where the shuttle bus will pass by when leaving sentosa? I dun find pavilion is very big, so it'll really be squeezy with your no. of tables... as for siloso, is it possible to make the march-in longer but have the stage in the middle?

I think all coordinators at rasa are firm with the perks..

bugbear

Hi bride, yes. i think parade sq carpark is the one u mentioned...not a very big one. Think it's about 5mins drive.

Pavilion is realy quite small lor...that's why i have to consider if i want it...if yes, then i have to really cut my guest list...else have to look elsewhere.

Yup, can actually choose to do an "L" march-in...that will be longer.

shern

Hi bugbear, not me on sat lah, signed mine abt 1 month+ ago. Take siloso and have the stage in the centre, at least all your guest can see and it's something different. I wanted that actually. Try to arrange for outdoor reception if possible then contingency plan will be the long recept area at siloso. Anyway pavillion's march-in is also very short. Any idea how many 'seconds' before reaching stage?

I dun have any idea which carpark is which, only know that it's quite troublesome if it rains.

My FH not keen on me inviting too many colleagues, 3 1/2 tables a lot meh?? Told him my dept big and we work very closely....
told him in spite that i might as well not invite all.

smilez_bride

Hi bugbear, if you like siloso too, then maybe you can consider the stage in the middle and L march-in? Bcoz siloso is definitely bigger than pavilion... If holding banquet at siloso, can have the cocktail reception at the poolside (if I didn't rem wrongly what mu coordinator told me last time)

Hi shern, I dun know if the pillar deco included in the packet or not leh.. saw it that time but didn't check with my coordinator... it wasn't stated in my contract too... Amerline, you have any idea on this? (But shern, siloso got pillars meh? Dun have right?)

Maybe you can see how many tables he cater for his colleagues, then you request for the same no. of tables

shern

hi bride, siloso has no pillars but i'm taking pavillion as well. Think he'll be having 1 table only...he kept saying if not close no need to invite...so the thing is, if my department works very closly, and we do talk about non-work stuff, those i'm not close to is only 3-5. How?

bugbear

Eer...shern, i think i getting blur...u took up pavilion or siloso?

Heheh...i thought was u on sat...cos Elaine told me that the couple signed up already...just coming down to get more details, etc.

Hhmm...if your dept is big and work closely, i think u should just go ahead and invite...unless u really have a tight guest list...else later u invite 1, don invite the other...after ur wedding...also very difficult to face them lor...just my 2 cents worth...but i think end of the day, best is not to quarrel with ur FH

smilez_bride

Hi shern, oops, thought you taking siloso.. sotong me... heehee... Amerline oso have her banquet at pavilion right? maybe she can advise us?

Personally view.. since you do get along well with your colleagues,I believe they will wish to share your happiness on your big day... as for the 3-5 guests that you might leave out from ur guest list, I feel that since it is only a small no, might as well invite all.. bcoz u might feel awkward seeing them in office after your wedding (if you also work closely with them and didn't invite them). But no matter, it's your wedding, so it really depend on you whether you wanna to have them to share your joyful day
if you really hope to have them there, then have a good talk with your FH.. he'll understand one...

shern

no lah, think i write until infor blur blur

agree agree...to leave out a few will be so terrible...more like a petty bride!

will wait till 3mths before mailing out the invites and talk to him again...told him...it's either all or none at all

bugbear

Shern...don get so blur...so u took siloso right? I quite like siloso and it's recep area...very cosy, very nice...and i heard they have loads of ballroons as deco and it's just lovely.

Hahha...don worry...i am sure ur FH will understand, but just a suggestion, u might want to talk to him earlier, just in case he or parents or whoever happen to add more guests and in the end you really don have enuf tables to fit all ur guests...

smilez_bride

Hi bugbear, shern is taking pavilion lah
ya, siloso can be very nice with the balloon deco... heehee..

Shern, believe your FH will let you invite the guests you wan.. he wouldn't wan to make you upset over the guests one lah... so shouldn't be a problem

sweatcorn

hi pple, this is getting confusing... based on the list compiled last time by shern, here's :

Shern 17 Dec 2004 (pavilion)
Bride 9 Jan 2005 (pavilion)
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (pavilion)
Dazed AD? (??)
Bugbear (??)