Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

yshu

I have juz signed up with rasa sentosa...really glad not the rare few to hold the dinner at sentosa. i am really worried about the inconvenience of transportation there..really limited parking spaces...how do u go about solving that? Not to mention the $2 admission fee per car...most guests would thot that parking is free....do u guys bear such costs for guests?

amerlinelee

hi gerlynn

no bo hua lah...its a very special place....give pple a very relaxed and happy feeling to be outdoors.....

hi yshu

i changed the coaches for car passes.....if u really got alot of drivers, buy car passes loh....$2 shd be able to cover from ang pow....

gerlynn

Hi Amerline and yshu...

so nice to hear from you gals...thot the thread died liaoz..

Anyway, I m still considering between Hyatt and Rasa ...im more into rasa i guess..coz I fell in love with the Outdoor wedding when I visited last sat...more X thou...

But really scared of the rain..how how...if rain, then will be held in Pavilion..not that bad too rite???? give me some comments...

Amerline, I noe urs is at Pavilion..how abt yshu???pavilion or ballroom or outdoor???

Mine is oct...do u all think it will rain very often????

yshu

hi amerline,

was thinking about changing the coaches as well, still trying to find the right number of coaches required...anyway, was thinkg of not encouraging driving due to parking....thanks for your suggestion.

hi gerlynn,

i have quite a lot of tables, so going for the ballroom....but i will have my solemnisation ceremony just before dinner, which will be held outdoor, so quite worried abt rain as well. mine is sept next year, so watching the weather quite a lot these days ;p seems to rain quite a lot.
maybe u can ask abt wat is their contingency plan in case of rain? will help u in making your decision.

gerlynn

hi yshu...

ya in the event of rain, the wedding will be held at the Pavilion...the one with glass windows...but at nite oso cant see much scenery la...

hai..hope the weather will be good...

so u having your solemnization at the waterfront lawn isit?? think its really nice n romantic there...:p

yshu

hi gerlynn,

well, if the contingency plan is to have it at the Pavillion, then i dun think there shld be any problem. at least worth the shot to try it outdoor. but is there any case whereby the Pavillion may be booked by another couple? if you are signing, make sure the contingency of using the Pavillion is stated for sure. remember, sept/oct usually the peak season for weddings.

the waterfront lawn really look nice, dat's y having it there, hoping to catch the sunset view as well...like you, also praying hard for no rain... ;p

gerlynn

hi yshu

ya think they will keep the Pavilion free if i booked the outdoor...but mux mk sure its stated in the contract hor...

me oso choose rasa mainly due to the lawn...think it is PERFECT to have solemnization there..

so are u busy preparing the wedding? actually only need to book bridal...not much liaoz rite??

yshu

hi gerlynn,

yep! juz make sure it's stated in the contract...safer this way...for rasa, it's the lawn facing the sea that makes it unique, not really the ballroom...well, guess there are many other hotel ballrooms out there that are much nicer....juz lucky that my parents did not complain abt the inconvenience.. ;p

nothing really much to prepare though, only booked the venue and the bridal studio..guess the rest of the work can only come in later...have u booked your bridal?

gerlynn

hi yshu...

yup..me booked bridal liaoz...its Camelia Houte Couture...how abt u??

hmm...dun see amerline around..are you too busy already?? when the actual day of your wedding??maybe can go tk a look.?? hehee....

amerlinelee

still here, but not as active....hehehehe....busy...going on leave to do some wedding stuff and boss treat it is though i am resigning...so much work to finish.....scary...

my actual is 4/10...feel free to drop by to have a look...on that day got 3 weddings....mine will be at WF Lawn follwed by dinner at Pavillion...

can come by and say hi oso if you are there heheheheh....

gerlynn

hi amerline...

aiyo ur boss so "good" ah...hehee...

hmm...3 weddings? so 1 at pavilion n 2 at siloso ballroom?? wah...muz be really a good day huh...

bbtw will u be inviting all ur guests for ur solemnization or just close frens?? n how many coaches/ car passes did u get??

** we will pray for good weather for u ya..

sannie

hi.
anyone had the banquet dinner outdoor? i am looking at having a dinner (not buffet) at the lawn. any idea how much that will cost and how many ppl max (i know for buffet it's 80 minimum).
thanks in advance.

popples

Hi Sandra,

If I'm not wrong, if you are looking for outdoor, you'll have to take the buffet style, coz for rasa, chinese banquet is only applicable for indoors.

sannie

really? ah... any idea who i can contact in rasa? like a nice co-ordinator? anyone has a co-ordinator's name and email? i wanna find out more. and does anyone has pics of the setting outdoor? could email me please, my email is [email protected].

thanks a million.

yshu

Hi gerlynn,

me juz booked my bridal not too long ago...booked with Dang Bridal...liked their simple gowns...

Hi amerline,

congrats on your coming big day...must to getting really excited...dun worry, will pray for good weather for u
... u having the ceremony at the WF Lawn rite? coz my co-ordinator was saying that the place could even fit 300 persons...but personally, i find it too crowded and may lose the tranquility of the place...trying to cut down on number of guests attending the solemnisation. Really tough ;p

Hi Sandra,

My contact person in Rasa is Elaine, but i heard she is on a 2-week MC. Think u can call up to enquire coz rasa do have a number of events coordinator. Not too sure if the rest have anyone they can recommend.

amerlinelee

oh my God,

my wedding in 2 weeks time and she on 2 weeks MC??? will she be back on time?? think i better call Rasa tomolo to check things out.

yshu

Hi Amerline,

Let's not panic so soon...prob she has already handed down to her other colleagues. Your coordinator is Elaine as well? If I am not wrong, her MC may not have started yet. I knew it when my FH called her last week...but apparently, she still sent me an email yesterday. Guess she is trying to handover her stuff before going. Dun worry...juz give Rasa a call to check it out...I am sure there are many others around who will be able to handle.

sannie

hi yshu, the thing is i am not in sg now so not easy to call them.... was thinking if someone has the email of one of the co-ordinators, i can email them.

i wanna check whether the date i want is available in the first place.

yshu

Hi Sandra,

Elaine's email address is [email protected] however, thot it may not be useful email her ...alternatively u can email to [email protected] for enquiries, specifically for wedding preparation, while asking for some other co-ordinators. from my experience, their response is usually quite prompt.

tweety2

Hi Hi

I'm new to this thread but like to share some info which I noe. Elaine is away for a surgery that's y the mc is a bit long. I feel that she's been doing a great job, esp when handing over cos it was made very clear who
s going to take over her in her absence. Trust her to still being able to hang on to her duties till she went on mc, must be pretty stressful on her. BTW, tink 2 of her colleagues resigning, all the more she got to take on additional duties.

nnyl

Just giving some feedback. Recently been to Rasa Sentosa for a wedding dinner. I find that the service is not gd.
Our table was right at a corner, so we had a hard time getting the attention of the waiter. We waited 30 min to get our first drink and 1 dish was skipped from our table, only to be realised by the staff when he served us the next dish. The main problem is really shortage of staff. Perhaps, an advice to the brides here to insist on 1 to 2 table ratio.

Gd thing is the food serving portion is generous and not bad.

Hope this will help in planning your big day.

yshu

Hi Lynn,

Thanks for your advice...will really take note of this when we are tying matters up with them.

By the way, what was the wedding gift that you have? trying to decide what is good. thanks.

gerlynn

advice needed: Anyone has their wedding in rasa on a weekday?? coz my MIL choose a date that is thursday...actually sorta decided to have rasa but if thursday, it wouuld be really troublesome n inconvenient for the guests rite???? sobz!

yshu

Hi gerlynn,

i have not attended a weekday dinner at rasa before, but if that is the case, then one thing u have to accept is that not all your guests can be punctual...it may seem a little inconvenient though, but think we cant think for all the guests every time...if they are really happy for you, then this would be a small matter...juz my personal opinion

gerlynn

hi yshu...

hai..really had a great headache over whether to choose rasa..think i will wait to c if my MIL can get a weekend date...if not, then mayb really gota choose a "mainland" venue..:p

btw, u know if rasa is how "fully booked" for end of next year? coz i read from the forum and it seems like sept-dec'04, many hotels are already quite booked...hope i can still find my venue...

this sun is amerline's wedding ya...do share with us the experience...

nnyl

Hi it's me again.
Not a rasa bride but so concerned. :p cos i know u yshu! keke.. u shld know who i am lah.

Must note also that the bus service back to main land leave Sentosa at 10.45pm. Those who took the bus din hv time to eat the last dish as a result. So for wkday it's really not gd for guests.

yshu

Hi lynn,

haahaa...after some little research, know who u are liao....how's your planning so far? ok, better dun side-track.

gerlynn, this dun sound too good hor....hmm...seems quite risky....i dun have that impression coz the last time i was there for a wedding dinner, the food came up quite fast, so the guests could finish all the dishes....also, the leaving time was staggered at 3 timings, till 11:15pm....so better check these details carefully first before deciding.

yshu

Hi Gerlynn,

Yep!..having over the weekend is definitely better...shld try to decide soon, coz from what i understand, most of the hotels may be booked by now, esp for those good dates..keep me updated of your decision and wish u all the best

amerlinelee

Wedding finally over and just back from honeymoon.

It drizzled on my actual day (4th) and so my outdoor solemnization was cut short, after signing the register, we cut the ceremony and took cover. Got a little chaotic but everyone was nice about it.

My dinner started at 7.30 sharp and we had to drag the dishes to let it end at 9.30 - 9.45 heehee coz my transport leaves at 10.15pm : ) All the guests sat through the 8 course dinner and lingered ard since the bus wasn't here yet. So quite good loh, so one in a hurry.....

Overall experience, 80 marks for rasa.

yshu

Hi Amerline,

Congrats!!...glad to know that everything went smoothly. Was Elaine around or did someone else took over in her absence?

so how was the overall service? coz i have juz heard of another dinner at rasa and the service was not up to std...had to wait very long for drinks, etc.

annie76

Congratulations Amerline!!

It must be showers of blessings when it rained that day

You must be one lucky bride to have the dinner started so promptly. How did you do it? It was also assuring to know that your guests had time to linger and appreciate the beautiful hotel compound.

So care to share where they fall short in the 20 marks?

ivy

I'm new to this thread. Had shortlisted Rasa as one of my banquet venues.. kinda ks..cos it's still 1.5 years away..hmm, but i think early planning will be good.

Will the decor of the outdoor solemnization be ruined by big wind. Cos i notice that it get quite windy over at the beachfront. oh yeah...and will it ruin my mei mei hairdo?

btw...congras to you ~Amerline !!

annie76

This thread has been very quiet nowadays!

Hi Ivy, will you be going down to the bridal fair this coming weekend?Have you received their promotional package?I have looked through it and it doesn't seems enticing to be taken up.

and you don't have to worry about your hairdo, i am sure you hairstylist will do a good job to put your hairdo in place......

orcabee

Anybody had a outdoor dinner? Would like to know how it will be like. Does friends and relatives (esp the Chinese traditional ones) like it?Thanks for sharing.

orcabee

Ivy, since your wedding still some time away, may be good to "shop" around first. Look out for promotions, and special deals. If not, after you signed, then can't changed liao.

Yup, agree with Annie, your hair will be in placed. From what I know, some brides have to "soak" the hair in conditional and wash a few times, then all the hair spray will go off. That's how firm the spray will hold your hair!!! =P

ivy

Hee... thanks Annie & Orca Bee! Can set my mind at ease now...
so..will both of u be attending the bridal show this Sunday ? i should be going down to find out more from the co-ordinators.
thanks for ur advice ~ Orca Bee! I will definitely do enuff research before signing on the dotted line... (",)

tsubame

I'm new to this thread too. Have just booked with Rasa for 6 Mar 04. Quite a last minute thing.

Am taking the promotional package they offering this Sun, but already blocked the date with them. Will be taking the Pavilion.

Know that someone is having their's on the same day in the ballrm, wonder if the bride-to-be is here?

Will like any feedback and advise. Thanx!

hoshi5

I'm also new here... but just a feedback abt rasa sentosa...
I just attended a wedding in Sep there... and it's on a Monday... hmm, i think it is really not a good idea to have it there on a weekday as it is really inconvenient. Also, I dun really have a good impression of the Pavilion as the food is served a bit cold, not very nice and during the wedding march, there's no dry ice to create that special effect... also, they din touch up on the place as well.
My suggestion if u want to do it at sentosa, choose the outdoor one!

orcabee

I would have thot that it is better to have it on weekday then a weekend... cos of the traffic / parking is real bad on weekends. Christine, could you explain a bit more why u think weekend is better? Thanks!

hoshi5

Hi Orca,

Personally, I feel that weekend is usually better coz of a few reasons...
1. People will take time to come, coz usually after work, people will be tired, and less likely to come. Thus, u end up with a lot of empty of half-filled tables... (which happened to my friend)
2. The dinner will be able to start punctually, coz u dun hv to wait till all the guests come after work
3. Guests can dress up for ur dinner, which really makes it 'better' rather than all come in their office attire...

hmm, tat's abt it... which is wat I personally feel....

orcabee

Hoshi, thanks for sharing your view. Good points for people to consider when they want to choose Rasa. Btw, how was transport / parking when you attended your friend's wedding? Where do most guest park their car? Thanks again.

popples

Hi Orca,

I had my wedding at rasa early this year

Guest park their car at rasa's open space carpark (siloso car park) + the extend the car park to the siloso beach + the all the way to the images of S'pore + the parade sq carkpark (but this one is quite far)

I've done a map of all the carpark. if you like to view it, let me know

popples

Hi Annie,

So sorrie, I can't give you the map as it's my copyrighted flash map, but you can view it.

Not to worry, rasa will provide a printed map for your guest when you collect your invitation cards.

hoshi5

Transport is ok, coz the hotel staff will guide those driving in... not sure abt those without car. But u hv to flash ur wedding card and pay $2 for ur car entrance into sentosa.
But one thing I notice that most guests will try to leave early coz it is really inconvenient.