Shangri-la Hotel

ashie,

my AD is dec this yr and i am using the same ballroom as u

glad to see this thread so active again. : )
just had a meeting with the florist at shang today. quite a nice guy and give me the confident that he can deliver. i saw the newly renovated tower ballroom. everything is very beautiful n grand except the carpet.

but i quite like the new reception area. it is very big n exclusive. i saw the done up for the bride today at island ballroom. wow!! its was beautiful!!the bride chose an oriental theme n they have got lots of red flowers n wooden backdrop n lanterns. i understand from the florist that the couple only topped up abt 2k for that effect. quite worth it.
so how is everybody's preparation? mine is in another 2 mths time n i am getting jittery..

Hi ashie,
actually quite idle now... not much to do at the moment except my gown fittings. Will settle most of the hotel stuffs only in dec/jan.

Hi cin,
which florist did u choose?
hehe, just relax n prepare to be a pretty bride!

hi snoop,

u mean we can choose the florist? i thot there is only 1 florist tied up with shang? anyway the guy that i met yesterday was sebastian. quite a nice guy.

hi zann,
wow.. u lucky gal.. u get to use an almost brand-new ballroom! htb n i commented that we could 'feel' the newness of the carpet at the recept area when we went to book the place aft e reno. then he said "next year wont be like that alr.." hehe.. you're blessed! =)

hi cin,
i agree with you! the ballroom is beautiful except the carpet..!! my htb n i both felt it didnt reali fit in well with the ballroom. its quite a pity huh.. but well, i found the ballroom cosy.. yet grand - that's how ive alwas wanted my wedding to be.. so shdnt complain! =)

as for florists.. i do rem seeing a list of names that we can choose from.. but if ure alr happy with the one you have, then dun even let it bother u.

hi snoop,
just curious.. which bs u with?

hi ashie,

yes, i thk i will stick to the present florist. after seeing his work yesterday, i m impressed. : )

paiseh, i have not been following this thread. when is your big day? have u decide on your bs yet?

hi cin,
mine's still a looong way.. 10th dec 05. just booked the ballroom. havent started looking ard for bs yet, but wld love to hear your experience if u cld share! =)

ashie,

aiyo, u really have lots of time to prepare. u can actually start looking around for one after chinese new year. try not to cramp everything last minute.

i am with kai. u can make an appointment with him to try his gowns if u r interested. no hard sell in his shop but try to have in mind what u like for your wg n then let him know.

cin,

i think their latest florist list got 3 ..previously 1

ashie,

a bit lucky!! hehehe..
ard mid oct i went to take a look at the new place...the stage looks nicer than previous...

hi zann..

is it? wow! more competitive n its better for us.

anyway, we cant go wrong with shang. the place is so exclusive, the lobby is spacious n the ballroom is so grand with the high ceiling. i really like the overall service. n i like to liase with wendy. she knows her work well n gives me the confident that she knows what she is doing. : )

btw is there any dec 04 or 1st qtr 05 brides out there?

cin,

yeah, i also like shang's ballroom. looks grand~

wei me dec 04 lor ..:P or do you mean any others? hehe...

Hi cin & zann,

Tat's exactly how l felt abt shang's ballroom. Does anyone knows is there a wedding this wkend? Tinking of goin down to see the new tower ballroom.

hi zann,

oh your ad is quite near to mine then.: ) how is your preparation? i am feeling very excited n panicky now. have u gone for your food tasting? how is it like? do we have to find ten people cos my combine family only consist of 8 people.

i m now in the process of finding songs n guestlist. gosh, quite a headache. have to find a total of 8 meaningful songs.

hi germ,

when i went, there happen to be a wedding there so i took a look at the decor. u can actually check with yr coordinator if there is any wedding going on for u to go down take a look leh

hi cin,

when yr AD? mine still preparing...yes i had my food tasting mid oct...that time happen got wedding so i went to take a peek hehe
for the food tasting u just go to the chinese restaurant then tell them u there for food tasting..then they will let u know yr table...then u guys get seated...for food to be served..they will served the way like u being served in banquet...course by course...show u the presentation then serve ..8 persons? hmm..not sure is it waste...for us 10 persons went...and the portion quite big leh...very full ah...keke..
when yr food tasting?

Hi zann,

My wedding next yr so didn't want to call up Wendy to ask if there are any wedding recently..scare she say l 2 kiasu. Maybe will juz pop by 1 of the wkend and see if l'm lucky to see a wedding. Hmmmm....maybe l can pop by u gals wedding hor?

Which menu did u go for? How's the food? I'm glad that u emntion that the food portion is big cuz from previous posting, alot of the gals mention that the food portion is small. At least now l dun hve to worry abt the food portion.

hi cin,
haha.. yah i also say got a lot of time.. but i just joined the dec05 brides forum n got a scare when most of them haf alr booked a bs! but now am hearing from them their experiences.. they've been v helpful so that's reali good for me.
btw, is it true that kai does not provide for the groom? cos im more a one-stop person.. thinking of sil or bridal veil.. but haf to say that kai's reali good designer - love the gown diana ser was in! hehe.. im sure u'll look gorgeous in yours..

hi zann,
a bit?? VERY FORTUNATE YOU!!! oh, the stage is nicer? i din noe how it looked like before.. but that's good news!

Hi ashie,

My wedding is on oct'05.I know wat u mean...when l first went into the oct'05 thread...l was shocked when most of the gals there alrdy booked most of the stuffs. At that time,l didn't even confirm my venue yet. With their help/recommendation....now l'm more or less done with the impt stuffs.

germ,

hmm hubby more particular abt the food contents so he made some changes to the standard list.
The food one or two need to improve taste (either more salty or sweeter) but overall not bad. On the food tasting day, the quality of the sharksin was nice and good! Yes, that day when i went food tasting, the portion was big. So if there is improvement on that one or two dishes and the quality of the sharksfin and portion of food remain same on banquet day as on food tasting day, then should have no complain?

ashie,

the 1st time when i went there, i find the stage a bit like forest leh...too much plants sprouting out haha! and i was still wondering if the stage decor can change (that time i still dunno they gonna renovate the ballroom later). Anyway, I prefer the new stage decor compared to the previous one.

hehehe...ok lah! when the wedding over and everything went on smoothly then i will say i very fortunate! keke

germ,

talking abt that. Don't mean to offend anyone but i was quite shocked too when i see people already start preparing for wedding in 2006 or 2007?

hi germ,
yah! i feel e same way.. too bad im more nuar.. so only read n realise.. n it stops there.. hehe. but at least im at 'awareness' stage now. better than at 'dunno anything' stage.

hi zann,
oh e stage has decor? i thot its a plain white stage.. hehe.. oh dear, reali am bit blur. all i can rem is the high ceiling with the chandeliers.. THAT'S wat i reali like.. hehe!
anyway, agree wif u.. was shocked to realise gals getting married in 06/07 alr making preps. but i guess cos this' reali THE event of the lifetime for us (gals esp).. that's why! =)

anyway, i was chatting with ano bride considering shang, n realised.. i still cant make up my mind whether or not i want to change my tower room to garden valley. got to walk further, but def nicer.. any advice?

hi ashie,

u mean we can choose our suite? what is the difference between the 2?

hey, my big day is 2 more mths. can u all advise me what need to be done now? i m getting panicky for being so free. but i dun know where to start. u gals working? can cope preparation n working at the same time?

hi cin,
hmm.. act i dunno, esp now that we've signed already.. but im quite sure we could have upgrade ours if we'd wanted too. saw an advert in a bridal mag on a bridal show in shang last year which granted 2-nights stay at tower or 1-night stay at garden suite.. well, something like that.. but im guessing it cld haf been negotiated.. u can try if u want. not that impt to htb n i but saw pics of the garden suite n it's REALLY nice =)

oh oh oh.. forgot to say.. according to my dad, the garden wing is much newer n the view is beautiful.. the greeneries in shang, hence the name 'garden'. as for tower, it's supposedly the oldest wing in shang.

ashie,

the stage is not just a plain stage. there is decor. wei what is "def"? i can't remember how garden valley look liao i only remember island ballroom even grander! but need more capacity..keke

ashie,

certain things if u ask from t hem they will tell u if u have more tables etc than maybe possible...other more simple requests like more cards etc easier to ask for..so got to negotiate...

ops...type yr name twice..only realise after posting..cos i was reading and then accordingly reply to whoever's posting..forgot i was talking to u 1st paragraph too keke! :P

Hi cin,

checklist for u... gals, anything else to add?
2 months b4
- confirm on guest list
- printing of invitation cards
- any more accessories to get?
- any house n furniture stuff to settle?
- guo da li
- car rental if reqd

1 month b4
- any hair colour/highlight required
- AD flower bouquet

my package is for garden wing cos i took up during their bridal show n they upgraded it. The suite quite nice but i find it rather small compared to other 5/6 stars hotels. not too sure how the tower one look like though.

r all of u ROMed b4 ur actual day?

hi zann,
haha.. u blur blur ah.. no prob. stress-relief *wink* def = definitely.. hehe, sorry lazy to type. yes i agree wif u.. island is def much grander! but super big.. my wedding wont be so big. well, at least we're trying hard to keep it small. just curious, how many tables u gonna haf? cos when we told wendy we wanted to keep ours small she said that's wat most pple say.. then in the end add add add.. *fingers crossed*

hi snoop,
wah.. if u find ur garden wing suite small then the tower one dun need to see alr.. ive not seen it but heard its just like an extended deluxe room. i'll also be ROM-ing on my AD, in church before dinner. why u ask?

zann,
oh no.. so it's true *stress* so how many u be having? dont tell me it doubled.. hey but wait a moment.. min table is 35 wat.. isnt it?

ashie,

no lah..if double i faint liao...trying to control within 30..
nope my min is 25...
yrs wkday or wkend or does it matter? cant rem

hi zann,
oh i see.. *there is hope for me* hehe.. my min is 35, but mine's on sat.. so maybe that's why. like u, we're trying to keep it about there. ive alwas thot a small wedding will be a more personal affair.. and held in a grand ballroom like shang's? mmm.. *dreamy* but only thing is that my extended family's v big plus my bf n i grew up in 2 different churches.. n tho my parents have been very nice saying that they'll only take 1table each for their frens, i also feel bad.. cos after all it's a celebration.. so am bit torn..

haha.. well, mayb u can share ur experience in this wif me when ure done! =)

Hi zann,

Which sharks fins mmenu did u choose? Notice 1 of them have braised and the other is sharks fin soup.

But its gd for them if they wan to book those famous photographer or videograpehr.

Hi ashie,

Tink both suite are equally small. I'm also abit disappointed abt the suite size....ppl always hve the perception that bridal suite is huge...at least the size of 2-3 deluxe room. Well, if we realy likes shang's ballroom/hotel...guess we hve to compromise on the suite size.

ashie,

yeah of cos can share after wedding :P

germ,

is braised sharksfin with crabmeat and bamboo putiths.

hmm, what u mean by "its gd for them if they wan to took those famous photographer or videographer" leh?

hi zann,I wasn't sure if tower wing premier under the wedding package is considered suite. But i saw her world mag shang's promo giving 1 one day stay at gardenwing 1-bedrm suite thing,but dunno if it's bigger than tower wing premier.

I've stayed at TW preimer & liked the cosy embience.Tho it wasnt very large but is considered gd.

hope to get some advise from here..

pleasance,
congrats that ur AD will be on 2dec 04. How's ur package on shang? Ashie has told me the perks she got from wendy...how abt urs? I would like to know how the payment goes at shang. She requested for a 7k deposit but i heard other amt from other bride. a little confuse...not standardise?

snoop,
U've upgraded to garden wing suite? d they offer 2nites or one nite? I know it'll be inconvenient to travel to ballrm from there since we need to change EG but if it's larger than TW premier,y not?hahaha...

cin,zann,germ,
Can u gals tell me ur packages/offer from shang apart from their standard package? I'm reviewing their package currently.

Is Shang offering free printing(normal print w/o hotstamp...)for ALL guests i/o 70%?

My HB is comparing it wif Four Season Hotel but it looks like FS can only hold up to 32 tables incl. reserved tables.sigh...

hi zann,
that'll be really useful! thanks in advance.. *hug* nope, have not seen the room. you?

hi germ,
yah, i'd say it's a real compromise on our part.. keep hearing abt the beautiful suite at the fullerton, conrad.. sheesh. but trade-off la.. i still like shang's ballroom best =)

Hi zann,

I'm thinking of taking that but my auntie was commenting that fish maw is more ex. So, during food tasting can really see the fins 1 rite?

Oh wat l meant is that when they start early, they can book those famous photographer or videographer. When start 2 late, most of them alrdy taken up.

Ya, l have seen the suite b4. Very small...1 look u can see the entire room.

Hi biba,

I didn't have free printing...me didn't know that can negotiate for that. What l have is all in the package, didn't negotiate much. The only diff is that my deposit is 10k.

Hi ashie,

Ya, fullerton loft suite is really very nice. Have not seen conrad 1.

hi germ,
act i din go to any other hotels.. so dunno which has nice suites.. all hearsay one.. maybe that's a blessing, cos then i cant compare shang's with others! n hearing from wat u said, 'one look can see entire room'.. sounds more like a deluxe. haha.

maybe u can request for the printing. cos i have that too. is ur coord wendy?

Hi ashie,

Ya, its juz that it is slighly bigger than normal deluxe room. It has a big toilet...does that helps?

Ya, my coordiantor is wendy. I have alrdy signed the contract...is it abit 2 late to ask for it?

hi germ,

Yes, the quality for the sharksfin soup during food tasting very good leh. the sharksfin a lot. thats why i was saying hopefully on banquet the quality same.

i see...then they can book videographer first the rest can take time..keke

how come yr deposit 10k?

erm.. dun want to ans for germ.. but my cousin who had her wedding at island also paid 10k deposit. she had close to 100 tables but i think initially she only booked the min for island, which is 55 (instead of tower's 35). so maybe that's why

germ,
can always try la.. maybe cos u signed earlier.. i only just signed mine last month. anyway u sure increase tables one right? can ask for it when u increase lor.. hey, can u share what are the things u managed to nego for? dun want to miss out anythg too.. tks! *smile*

Pleasance,

r u around? u were saying u selecting yr ballroom decor only in mid nov?
i trying to fix apptmt but seem like they busy leh

zann,
yah i also say.. those of us doing reception *faint* but she enjoyed herself.. dats most impt
for me, prefer small, cosy one.. cos i very easy stress one.. haha.
hey! i just realised.. u have only ONE MONTH to go!! so excited for you! hehe.. when's ur AD exactly? n which BS u with?

snoop,
u around? or too busy alr..? hehe.. havent heard from u for some time!

I do not have so many tables...only book the min for the Island ballroom. Maybe the deposit for Island is 10k? I'm trying not to increase my tables...2 many very tedious esp the table arrangement.

zann,

Received ur email....thks. Must rem to give us feedback after ur wedding regarding the food & decor ok.

Hi biba,
Shang upgraded for me when i signed up during their bridal show. only for 1 nite stay. i'm having mine at waterfall terrace not the ballrooms so it's very convenient for me.

Hi ashie,
i'm wif divine. so have u decided which bs u prefer? me having solemnisation on the AD at Shang.

Hi cin,
which florist is sebastian wif?

hi snoop,
so u've viewed the suite & its small ya?ooh, i love waterfall terrace,it's a nice venue. Btw, when's ur AD? How much is ur divine package?

hi snoop!
wow.. i like divine's gowns too! im sure u'll look fabulous.. *big envious smile* have not checked them out myself. tho i heard their prices can get very high depending on how elaborate the gown i want.. do u mind sharing with me ur package? how much it costs n wat's included.. my email's [email protected]. thanks a lot!

hi germ,
wow.. good for u. island's really very nice =) anyway, just a lil advice i got myself, n esp so since ur wedding's gonna be q big.. do get a 'zhai' coord who can handle evthg for u.. so can leave u n htb to enjoy ur wedding

btw, which bs u with?