Shangri-la Hotel

Hi pleasance,
sorry to hear abt the incident. it's really very bad of Shangri-la to do that to u...
luckily they gave u discounts off per table, juz make sure they dun compromise service for that.

Hi cin,
my coordinator Nellie told me that they will call me up to confirm the flower deco abt 3 months prior to AD.

hi snoop,

so u mean we need not call the florists n our coordinator appointments for our flowers decor n cards? i thot we have to be the one to make the arrangement. wah! looks like the last 3 mths is gonna be busy.

sorry, i lazy to read the achive, when is your actual day?i am stress now for doing nothing.

Hi cin,
yap, that's what my coordinator told me. She said a new batch of invitation cards and seat covers are coming in, so she will arrange for us to select the stuffs. did ur coordinator tell u to call them up? maybe u can check with them to see when u can start the selection.
hehe, yah last 3 months will be busy. I've done up a schedule for myself in case i forget anything.
my AD is on 27 Feb. it's ok, take it easy. u betta enjoy and relax while u can now. Go for facial, spa or anything to pamper urself. Get ready to be a pretty bride!

thanks snoop!

now that i have gone for my fittings for my gowns, a big load of worries is off me now. yah! talking abt pampering, i am going facial next week.: )

Hi cin,
how's ur gowns? ur first or 2nd fitting? me going for my first next week... dun know how it will turn out... i have a bustier EG and my arms are darker than my neck.. so now trying means and ways to lighten the skin tone for arms.. but still no result yet

hi snoop,

i just had my first fitting on sat. very satisfied with the gowns. the evening gown turn out to be better than i have expected.

i am on the thin side. keep emphasing to my designer that i want volume. dun want to turn out like a white lalang or bamboo tree. so far no complaint abt my gown. hmm..your arms darker than your neck? u play tennis n golf is it? why dun u try to tan your neck instead? infact white gown look nice on a tanned body. : )

Hi cin,
that's gd... so u have a lot of organza on the front? me quite avg size but cos i dun like the look of having a line (straight or v) across the waist so my designer suggested having satin all the way on the front. not sure if it will look very heavy and like u say, no volume leh. u got any pics to share?
my FH prefer me to look 'bai bai' leh...

Hi cin & snoop,

Me also on the thin side....shall l say tall and thin like chopsticks. Not sure wat kind of gown l shd be looking at. Me also tot l shd wear satin cuz it will make me look 'bigger'...maybe l'm wrong cuz like wat snoop say it may look heavy. Well, guess now is best to find the BS 1st then can see what kind of gowns suit me.

hi snoop n germ,

it all depends on the designs. dun worry so much abt the material.

hi germ,
i thk now that u have decided on the hotel, u better start looking around for bs. try to go to those more well known bs. though they r more expensive, but the service, workmanship n designs r there. no harm going around n try their gowns. u will love the experience. : )

Hi cin,

Will start once the 7th mth is over. Alrdy hve a few in mind...how much did u spend on the entire package.

This thread has been quiet for a while.....so how's everyone preparations for the wedding? Im shortlisting shangri-la as one of my choices for my banquet. Anyone just attended or held their wedding there?...care to share some feedbacks.

hi Pleasance,

Don't worry! I am not the person taking up some portion for your space. I am already a customer of Shang before your posting here. Mine is after mid Dec

Hi Zanne

of cos i know u r not the one taking up my space.whahhah. My space was taken by coporate function not wedding.whahah :P

just happy to know that ur wedding date is close to mine....>.<

we can exchange ideas on the ballroom decorations etc mah...

Zanne...

i just visit the hotel florist last sunday, only disscuss the prelimary idea of deco for the ballroom. will confirm and select the design in mid nov as she says new stocks of deco r coming in...

have u selected the wedding cards??

when is ur actual date??
mine is on the 2nd dec.

Pleasance,

oic. just had our food tasting last wk. i checked with Shang when next meeting and was i told we could go down to the florist to choose decor. yes, we have already selected and collected the cards...what abt u?
mine on 19th..

Hi zann,

So sorry to hear abt ur encounter with the videographer.....l would like to ask, are the cards from Shang and which florist are they using now?

Hi zann

mine design for the card was the centre with the long strip of lace or somehting...wahah u sooo fast...mine card wasn't even out yet...whahah.

which florist u using?
i'm with Dolly....she is is super nice nice lady.
try her, she is good really! ..heheh

err..is zann ur real name? :P

hi germ,

thank you for your concern!
Err ...u doing yr own cards? i getting mine from Shang...Floral design i havent choose leh but i understand they have a few florists:- GreenAcres, Sing See Soon &amp; JM Wedding Concept.

Pleasance,

oic...how come leh? u special design? we went down and choose design and then finalise template over and once done we went down to collect liao.

i havent gone down to any florist..where is Dolly from?
err...my netfrens call me zann...why u ask leh :P

Hi zann,

I ask this qn is becuz 1 of my friends who is gettin married tis dec ( from another hotel ), she actually go down to a card provider to choose her invitation cards and the hotel pay for it. Is it the same for Shang?

germ,

Usually the cards are provided by the hotel. Shang provides the cards too. Just that the couple may have to pay for the printing. When is your AD? Have you selected your cards?

Hi Zann

err tot the hotel will send the cards for printing for us???????think mine was sent for printing alreadi by them. i dunno leh...whahhahah i never do anything abt the cards yet. nah..the cards not design by me.. was one of the selections, so i choose... >.<

Dolly was from JM wedding concept. i strongly recommend her.. :P just met up with her last weekend.so happy with her that i ordered my bridal bouquet and car deco with her as well.

no special reasons.. tot u r zann, the gal who did animations.

Pleasance,

In usual case, hotel can send for printing for the couple if the couple want to use the hotel's printer otherwise couple have to send for printing themselves. For me, I am using Shang's printer. Wei yr wedding date is coming sooner than mine, u still say dunno what happen to yr printing....?

ok, thanks for the recommendation abt Dolly, i will check her out!

no leh, i dun do animation...if i know how to do that hor i do my own wedding slides liao heehee

Hi zann,

My wedding is next yr. Its juz tat now l have alot of friends who are preparing 4 their weddings.....when l notice sth that l didn't realise so l ask for comments. Hopfully by next yr, all my ? will be answered.

Hi germ,

is ok to ask leh, i also will ask if i not sure. Just that i thought this point usually when we discuss package with hotel b4 signing, the coordinator would mention to the couple...thats why i ask u when yr AD and whether u selected the cards lor...:P

hi germ,

Don't worry abt the cards

Shang provides the cards and will send it to the printers for u if u using their printers...

Hi moo,
i took the Waterfall terrace for my lunch affair.

Hi zann/pleasance
Did ur coordinator liaise with the florist or u choose ur preferred florist n talk to them directly?

snoop,

i was told to call the florist to arrange visiting to select the decor. Hope this answers yr question.

how many persons min to do a lunch at the waterfall terrace, snoop? i am also interested but just wondering about the price and table requirements. thanks!!

Hi zann,

So the card has Shangri-la hotel name printed behind rite? Ya, there are so many tings that l'm still blur with. Now, l'm thinking what do we do when the guests go into the ballroom after 7.30pm...do we show a montage, hve some music on or....? If we show montage, it will keep showing the same pics over and over again. Can u share with me what u intend to do on ur wedding nite.

hi germ,

Yes, the card has got Shang's name behind

My AD plan hasnt come out leh, so i also dunno how mine going to be. But if you are talking abt showing montage during dinner time,i dun think people usually repeat the slides. If you wanna repeat maybe can show during cocktail time? Check out this thread:-

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/7/157145.html?1097730422

This guy, Ray, actually show his morning footage during cocktail. Is a 20 min thing for him so he repeats throughout the whole cocktail session which i thought quite a nice idea too?

For my gf's wedding, she didnt repeat her montage. She only showed once together with stuff like childhood photo...video recording of friend's wishes etc...cos she played it during dinner time...Are you getting any videographer? If you do, i believe the videographer will be able to share with you on how to present it?
what abt yr other gfs? maybe can also get an idea from them...or even from those who already married and AD over...

Hi littlenickic,
min amt to pay is for 60 heads for the standard menu. It's ok if u do not have 60 guests, u can opt for a more expensive menu.

Thanks zann. So it's possible to visit the various florists and then decide on one?

hi snoop,

err, never ask leh. but i intend to do that hahaha..unless i already impress with the 1st one i saw or if hubby lazy to go...:P

Hi zann,

Ya, l will be having a videography. Tinking of showing the morning highlights b4 the 1st march in but dun know wat to do with guests who are waiting for the dinner to start.

Most dinner l went juz have some music on while waiting . Show montage b4 1st march in and morning highlights b4 2nd march in.

zann..

read from dec brides 2004 forum, understand that u r looking for wrist corsages...

hee..just to let u know...u might be able to get free ones from ur hotel florist instead if u dun really need alot of corsages, ur hotel florist should be be able to throw in free for u. try asking them.

Pleasance,

really? ok, i will try asking them :P
Did you get some corsages from them too?
thanks for letting me know! heehee!

Hi Zann

my florist promised to give me abt 5-6 corsages etc..she told me things she can throw in she will for free.. try asking >.<

u will have yours~

hmm.. actually i've got a more impt question.. can someone pls advise me when i shd start looking ard for a bs? a few of my friends who got married said at least a year before.. but that's a bit early rite?!

also, any recommendations for bs? thanks so much =)

ashie,

which month of 05 r u? if u still hv time, is nice to shop around...and get some ideas of what u want first...then sign only when u found one u really comfortable and whose gowns/photos u like.

Hi ashie,

welcome! most of us are '05 brides.
like wat zann say, u can shop ard early but dun commit yet.
the latest u have to sign up is abt 7 to 8 months b4 for MTM gowns if u wan ur album to be ready for customary.

hi zann and snoop! thanks for the welcome and advice! =)

my AD's 10th dec.. so still quite a long way.. hehe. just that i recently found this site and am quite shocked to realise it is act NOT too early to start looking ard!

just curious, when are ur AD's? and which ballroom u using? im going with the tower ballroom.. recently renovated, but think by the time reach my dinner wont be so new anymore.. hehe.

Hi ashie,
my AD is 27 Feb.
mine is a lunch affair, so i chose waterfall terrace.
so u have plenty of time to look ard for gowns.
Some dec 05 brides-to-be with my bridal salon have gone for their 1st appt already. think it depends how early u wan to have ur PS.

hi snoop,
wow.. i heard the waterfall terrace is a really nice place. have seen the pics too and it looks like the perfect place to hold a wedding lunch.

ur AD coming soon.. must be excited! i feel excited for you already.. hehe. how's prep coming along? =)