Shangri-la Hotel

ger

Hi Cin,

Have seen Wendy sometime back but have not discuss the full details with her yet...she is suppose to work out a package for me cuz me didn't meet the min tables. Dun think she will give me 2 barrel...is there any other things that l can ask for.

bamboobride

hi germ, try asking for extra nite stay, cards, parking coupons, helpers' room. i thk that is basically all. why dun u try fullerton? i thk u will like their comprehensiveness.

ger

Hi cin,

Fullerton alrdy taken up alrdy....so no choice. Ok, me will try to negotiate with Wendy. Is there any theme for their ballroom decor?

snoop

i just sign up with Shang two days ago at their bridal show. Took the Waterfall Terrace for a lunch buffet. Going to be a 2005 bride!

ger

Hi Snoop,

Congrats...waterfall terrace is nice, as it is all glass, will be bale to see the nice scenary outside. My cousin sign up for the pavilion cuz they will only hve 8 tables.

snoop

Hi Germ,

actually i have only ard 6 tables. was deciding b/w pavilion and waterfall terrace.. pavilion more private whereas a lot of pple will be walking ard waterfall terrace to the swimming pool. but as i will be having my solemnization together with the lunch buffet, i think pavilion will be too crowded... dun think there's any space for the march in between the tables.

bamboobride

hi germ,
have u signed up yet with shang?

hi snoop,
welcome to the club. : ) which mth is your wedding then? may i know how much they charge u for the lunch? have u found the jp yet? my solemnization will be at pavilion. i need help with jp. thanks.

ger

Hi snoop,

That's wat l told my cousin also...waterfall will be better cuz the area is bigger....but she prefers the privacy....she may hve less than 8 tables and dun tink she wans to hve a march in. If l'm not wrong...she may wan to use the open area outside.

Hi cin,

No, hve not sign yet...my co-ordinator wan me to see the show first. Will settle in these few weeks. Me went to see the suite alrdy...it kind of small cuz there is no seperation between the bedroom and living. The suite in the garden wing do hve seperation but its a long walk to the ballroom. Have u seen the room beside the Island ballroom which u can do ur 2nd change? Its pretty big.....

bamboobride

hi germ, u mean shang having a show soon? yah then u better sign during that time cos they will throw in more stuff. actually i did not ask abt the suit. u mean we can choose which suit we want?
so we can change in the room beside the ballroom? has it got a mirror and toilet facilities? are we allow to use during the changing from wedding to evening gown?

ger

Hi cin,

Shang wedding show juz over..its on last sat. That day promo is only for wedding till Mar'05. No, me juz comment to the sales person who brought me to see the bridal suite in the tower wing that the suite is small. She juz casually say that if l wan l can ask my co-ordinator to change to the suite in the garden wing. The cons is that l need to walk very far.....

The room beside the Island ballroom is for bride to do her 2nd change....we can use the room for the evening...our relatives can also rest inside b4 the dinner. Yup, there is a washroom inside the room. It can fiz abt 15 ppl comfortably.

snoop

Hi cin,
my wedding will be in feb. They charge $90 per head. how abt urs? I signed up during the bridal show so got an upgrade of the hotel room to the garden wing suite which is fine for me cos the waterfall terrace is just below it.

did ur package include beer? mine only have free flow soft drinks, mixers, chinese tea or coffee and tea. prob will ask if they can give beer... :p

I tried asking for flower petals but coordinator said will need to pay. Are u planning to get anything additional from them?

nope, have not found jp yet. but saw this posting from the Solemnisation folder. might be helpful to u...

1) Mr David Loh Choon Lim - Tel:6785 8292 / Hp: 9742 5005 / Pg: 9509 5005
[Most sought after JP, Nice, Friendly, Solemnized 300+ in a year]

2) Mrs Bertha Neo
[Friendly old lady, Difficulty climbing stairs]

3) Dr Anamah Tan - http://www.anamahtan.com.sg/ Tel: 62255822 (ask to speak to her secretary cos she's always busy)
[Will make a short speech before proceedings, Needs couple to book a cab for her to the venue]

4) Mr Chan Kai Yau
[Can do in Mandarin]

5) Mr Chris Chen
[Nice, Made sure everyone can see the proceedings]

6) Brother Emmanuel (Mr Gaudette Pierre Paul) - hp: 96351787 off: 67691618 [email protected]
[French Canadian - Cant speak mandarin, Humourous, Nice]

7) Mr Ch'ng Jit Koon - Tel: 68602001 Add: 162 Tamarind Road S(806116)
[Can do in Mandarin]

8) Mr Chew Peng Leng
[Only in Mandarin]

9) Dr Seet Ai Mee
[Nice & Friendly old lady]

For more details & other JPs or GLs, try the ROM link:

http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_interpreters.asp

bamboobride

hi snoop,

thank u so much! that is so nice of u to give me all the details. can u drop me your email add so that we can further chat abt the jp and the package?

alternatively, u can send me a mail at [email protected].

my wedding is one mth b4 yours. hope u r done with most things.

see ya! : )

ger

Hi Shayne,

How is ur preparation so far? My wedding is next yr so hve not done any other things yet.

pleasance

hi germ
me still for time to approach...too early to prepared now i guesss.........u sign up with shangri-la singapore already? who did u sign the contract with?

ger

Hi Pleasance,

Yup, me sign up with Shang already. Wendy is my co-ordinator.....your wedding is dec'04 rite? How come u say it is 2 early to prepare?

pleasance

wendy? i signed up with melanie,....is ur ballroom tower or island?? are they giving u the whole ballroom?

mine gowns are not even ready...whahah dunno wat can be done now leh..so decided to wait for time to aproach ..:p

ger

Wendy is the one who replied my email so l guess it is naturally that she will be my co-ordinator rite? Mine will be in the Island & using the entire ballroom. What abt u?

Which BS u using? I'm considering Ted Wu so will be goin for the bridal show at Fullerton this sun. Other than that....not doin anything alrdy.

pleasance

Melanie the banquet manager handles my wedding....like urs mine is supposed to be the entire Tower ballroom but they took away 1/3 of my space by force to another function. haizzzz Shangri-la........a misplace of trust!!

i made my gowns from Ted colleaction...and the rest of photography etc were all mix and match ....... :p

me still waiting for my gowns to be ready...

ger

How come like that? How many tables are u having? For me, we only have 45 tables and the min requirement for wkend is 55 tables...wat we do is we pay more to secure the entire ballroom. Do u know what is being held next door? Dun tink so much....at least u have a brand new ballroom to use.

Ted collection...heard alot of gd comments. Their cheongsum is nice rite? Is it very tedious to mix and match cuz more co-ordiantion work to do.

pleasance

Hmmpfffffff!! still pissed over the matter...we also booked the entire ballroom and the contract was signed assuring that we have the entire ballroom also......but a few months later in order not to lose another deal...they segment 1/3 of our ballroom to someone else! by the time i were informed all hotels in singapore for my wedding date is already fully booked......left with no choice but to compromise!

ya lor.....just pray that nothing goes wrong that day.*fingers crossed*

ger

If u sign up for the entire ballroom, shang cannot go ahead and let others have 1/3 of the ballroom. Hmm....were this happen to me, island ballroom is big and they can actually let some1 else have half of the ballroom. I'm surprise this is happening even with contract.

pleasance

well in every contract, there is also a hiden clause that protect the intrest of the co......well if ever i could have another chance to choose the venue for my wedding dinner , shangri-la singapore will NEVER NEVER be my choice again!!!!!!

it is not a matter of whether ur ballroom can still accomdate the amount of table.it is a matter of bretraying of TRUST!!.. she is the 1st hotel i meet up with and confirm the location shortly after when she assured me that i would ahve the entire ballroom..no patitioning will be done.

zann

hmm i also think so leh, if your contract says you can have the entire ballroom then you should point it out to them. How can let people take up 1/3 of what you booked 3/3?

pleasance

in shangri-la's contract, there a small printed clause that says' hotel reserves the right to provide alternative venue for ur wedding' i asked them b4 abt this clause, they say if any emergency event is to occur , they will find u an alternative venue of EQUAL or MORE value!!

but for my case......though they inform me in may.but due to the popularity of my wedding date.all hotels in town were fully...not a single hotel is available.
The fuming part is the hotel argue that the ballroom after 1/3 reduction still be able to accomodate my 30 tables.......this is absurb! if they hadn't promise the ewntire ballroom, i won't even consider signing up.

if any of u brides here interested in signing up with shangri-la, pls neg that this clause be taken off the contract, just in case similar incident occurs to u all.

ger

Me didn't notice is there a clause inside the contract....must go back and check. Me better keep my fngers cross.

zann

but hor i feel unfair leh...i mean in this case they did not really give u something equal or more rite...in fact lesser...cos u sign for the whole room...so when that banquet manager told u abt it...how u guys react? just accept?

pleasance

my banquet manager melanie told me the news somewhere in May and it was already a confirm decision. It is really UNFAIR. like wat melanie said, shangri-la core business is not to do weddings...Arghhhh!!

pleasance

just my luck....anyway germ..just an opinion..its best that u book thru the banquet manger melanie....she is the banquet manager...she has the authority to give u more perks compared the other wedding planners.

she is a very nice gal, the incident i know its beyond her control, its not her wish that such things happen.

But of cos i'm still pissed over the matter, not with her but Shangri-la

zann

but what their core business is not our business rite...we pay for the service of cos we expect to get what we sign for...how can they do that

pleasance

well...u know u can never win them, like wat my banquet manger says.in every of their contract there is always a clause that protects themselves....just like any other co's.

Shangri-la singapore cannot survive alone form the earning of wedding dinners like other hotels...they have or rather they welocme more of seminar of big companies becos along with them they bring their staff from overseas and each seminar lasted like a week or so and also they booked like 10-20 rooms at the same time.

I understand perfectly their situations but wat i am pissed is that i have made very clearly on our first meeting that if my ballroom is to be partioned or shared with another......i will not even consider Shangri-la...and i was assured that it will not be....yet it is happening and its a confirm decision.! this is totally no respect for us wedding couples.!

zann

Pleasance,

precisely thats why i say is too much...since u already mentioned you wont take if you sharing the ballrom and you were given an assurance that you will not be sharing. So i think is only ethical they keep what they agree. Don't they have a reputation to keep? Gosh!

pleasance

whahah.....this is Shangri-la Singapore. i was shocked and angry. my reaction was exactly like urs, but the sad truth was 'shangri-la singapore' gave me the 'take it or leave it' attitude. I was so angry that i direct a complain letter all the way to the head office in Hongkong. But the outcome is still to my disappointment, i did not managed to get back my total ballroom space. The onli consolation was the General Manager of Shangri-la singapore was instructed by the head office to enetertain me.

ger

Pleasance,

This is really a sad case...think u would rather have your entir ballroom than having entertain by the General Manager. Didn't they give your some compensation? Like what zann said...dun they have a reputation to keep.....

bamboobride

its been a long time since i come to this thread.
wah lao!! pleasance!! i feel so angry for u! u mean there is really such a clause?? i do not want such thing to happen to me either. how abt making more noise? at least ask for some compensation.

actually its true to say that shang's core business is not into weddings. theirs is more into big seminars, etc.

i guess if really no choice got to bear with it. dun let this spoil your big day. u must make sure melanie give u a private reception area. but the way have u find out what is the function they having?

due to shang's exclusiveness, last year's fda's meeting, asean meeting n bush's visit was held at shang. and some of these r organised in the last min. even my coordinator told me if such events props up, they have no choice. but they can help us to source for another place. but imagine if all other hotels r booked?

bamboobride

germ,

u r making me confused. when is your wedding? its a weekend? u mentioned u be having 45 tables but shang weekend is 55 tables. u mean u pay more to secure the entire ballroom? is there such thing? how much more? i am having 45 tables too n wendy never mention anything abt this to me

pleasance

hi cin,

Its common for all hotel to do that as in order not to lose an important meeting, they will transfer u to another hotel. My friend's weddding at pan pacific...but due to some important meeting of some ministers, he was transfer to another hotel. half of tables all sponsored by Pan pacific. This unexpected circumstances is understandable but at least they were nice enuff to plan out things for u and the compensation was amicable. Unlike shangri-la singapore, they were not even apologetic yet argue the fact that the reduced area is still euff to accomodate my tables.... this is furiating!!! y would i wanna pay extra if the area space u r offering me now any other hotel can offer. the reason i took shangri-la is SIMPLY and ONLI due to the space area, the fact that they do not partitioned the ballroom irregardless of the no of tables i am having!! and of cos the BELIEF that they practice good customer service, haizzzzzzzz, a misplace of trust!

zann

Pleasance,

yup, I agree with you. Thats a different case. At least they provide a feasible solution and even give out compensation by paying for half of the tables. At least they try to do something.
Unlike what you get, take it or leave it kind of attitude when in the first place customer has been promised the whole ballroom...sigh!! I mean do they remember what kind of business they are running?? A service industry! and imagine as one of the good hotels in SG! I will be very angry too if i were u. Hey, but i think should try to make more noise to them instead of accepting the fate just like that. Then they may thought the arrangement is acceptable to u. Did you get angry enough infront of them or even ask for refund. I think in such case, you have the right to get full refund rite??

pleasance

i cannot ask for refund, no hotels r available remember? my future MIL insist on this particular date.

i wrote a strong complain letter to the head office which force the general maager of Shangri-la Singapore branch to entertain me..he then gave me a reduction on the price of my tables.

zann

i remember no hotels are available but i was more thinking of rescheduling...but since your future MIL insist on that date...then i guess no choice...

Oic...so they did a bit of thing ...so "xi nu" hor Pleasance...

bamboobride

hi pleasance, was the reduction given to u alot? if it is, at least not too bad. if not, u must insist they work out something for u. use the fact that u chose shang is becos of the space. and now since the space is reduced by 1/3, they shd compensate u abit. do do do remember to remind them abt the reception area n the partition.
after this, you have to accept the fact already. dun brood over it. dun let them spoil your big day. stay happy n be a happy bride ok?

pleasance

thxz >.< i was given 100 +bucks off per table. they did not give this to me willingly but becos i complained all the way to the head office, the GM was forced to neg the price with me. :p

hey cin and zann when r ur actual days?

bamboobride

mine is in jan 05. yours? where did u get your gown from?

also check with u if my ad is in jan, when can i start to liase with the florist (for the ballroom)?

ger

Hi cin,

U can check with Wendy....u are holding ur dinner in the Island ballroom rite?

Hi pleasance,

Ya, agree with cin...dun brood over it...be a happy bride ok.