Shangri-la Hotel

mille0702

Lingz:Did you manage to meet up with Melanie?Actually we didnt ask for much perks,coz ours is a small & cozy wedding.One of the reason we choose Shang,also coz we like Melanie,she is super nice.Normally couples will ask for extra one night stay,a few more free wines,parking lot coupons.Quite standard.U can try to ask & see what she can do.

dinitegrity

Jennifer is my coordinator. I used to be under Nellie and was so fed up with her, never even met her once, so I wrote some decent feedback to the catering director and asked to be transfer to Jennifer as she is the one who tour me around Shang on behalf of Nellie during our 1st meeting.
The catering director called me back the next day and I got to say the catering director service recovery is good. But I still have to say that service still not on par with Fullerton's Rendall service.

lingz_27

Yup, met up with Melanie on Monday and I agree she is super nice. HAHAHAHA~ Now we are waiting for her to get back to us with our preferred date is available.

sinplyme

I'm still wondering... except for the usual car parks, one night stay and more wine... what is there to ask for?
cos these are quite standard, usually u ask they will give u...

maoushroom

Hey ladies, anyone of you is holding your dinner at Azelea Room (Private Collection)? What freebies have you all managed to get??

I'm still at negotiation stage. The coordinator threw in a room for my coordinators...Hmm....That was all. Is this normal????

giraffe~

any honest comments about the food and the service at shang? how does the food compare with other hotels like oriental and regent?
previously my parents attended many weddings at shang and said the serice a bit slow. food is okay only also. a bit hesitant to pay so much for only "average" food. anyone can give any assurance abt the food?
also, is the bridal room nice?
thanks in advance!

maoushroom

Giraffe> The food at Shang is okie. Quite decent. Not sure about oriental and regent though...have not been there before. I think the service is okie too. Not too bad.

mille0702

Maoushroom:I will holding a wedding lunch at Azelea room in Jan.U can ask for the 5 tier wedding cake,one bottle of free champagne for toast,more parking lot for ur guests.How many tables will be having?

sinplyme

hi kevely,

to find out more on Rasa sentosa's shang, perhaps u can post ur qn at the "Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa" thread just below this "Shangri-la Hotel" thread...

hope it helps!

maoushroom

Michelle> I"m having at least 12 tables. Coz the room must have at least 12 tables and maximum 20 tables.....

Hmm, is the 5 tier wedding cake the same wedding cake that is included in the package??? I have champagne in the suggested package lehz... Hmm......

I'm holding dinner at the room ideally on July.

Simplyme> The Azelea Room is above Tower and Island Ballroom. Think you were only introduced to the two ballrooms because you have requested for more tables? Azelea Room can only hold up to 20tables

mille0702

Maoushroom:Where will you be holding your banquet?Azelea room or pavilion?
The 5 tier wedding cake only use for cake cutting.After that,they will send a 500g cake to ur room.

maoushroom

Michelle> I like Pavilion. Very exclusive. But I was given Azelea. But now, dont' think I'm going to Shang liao coz I didn't really like the way the coordinator delivered herself..So should be going to Meritus instead. Like their ballroom structure, and other stuff.
But still pending though...

Wat about you Michelle???

mille0702

Maoushroom:My co-ordinator is Melanie.She is super nice & will try to help us by giving us more perks.I didnt get to see Pavilion.We like Shang ambience & the Azealea room,plus co-ordinator very nice.We confirm everything on the spot.

If you like Pavilion,why u never ask them is it available on your chosen date,if not you can take.Maybe u can ask for Melanie.She is very nice.
Who is your co-ordinator?

maoushroom

They showed us all the rooms except Island and Tower coz we dun have sooo many tables.

But Pavilion can only cater 10 tables so can't take the room

I heard about all the praises and that Melanie is very service-oriented. So that is very good.

Jennifer attended to us. Think the experience did not match up to what we had expected from Shang, unfortunately. So can't be helped.

mille0702

Maoushroom:Juz choose the hotel which both of u are comfortable with.If u still like Shang,maybe u can change ur co-ordinator to Melanie.

gg_tan:I never heard of Shang always have blackout.Shang is a prestigious hotel,I dun think they will allow this kind of things to happen.Especially "always".

maoushroom

GG> So far I attended a few wedding at Shang...never encounter blackout lehz.

Michelle> Yea. Think my partner and I will be going for Meritus. Their package is very comprehensive. Hope you will have a great wedding at Shang

My hubby and our friend (who's our main wedding coordinator) were given a free treat at The Line Buffet as they discussed wedding banquet matters with Veronica, our banquet coordinator! How great can that be!

We'll be given a free angpow box too! hehe...

Hi Michelle..ya..and best part is we didn't ask for perks...so these are definitely bonuses to us...

Simplyme: We didn't ask for anniversary stay too.

Michelle: mine is tower ballroom

Read earlier posts about Veronica being stringent with perks but doesn't look like it in this case hehe...
Anyway I find that the package Shangrila offers is quite comprehensive, so we didn't ask for anything extra...

soapy29

Hihi.. any one had veronica as their co-ordinator? how is she? we're looking at the tower ballroom and wondering what sort of perks have you ladies had?

hi soapy29, my coordinator is Veronica. It was Nellie originally but she is now on maternity leave so Veronica took over. We didn't really ask for perks but she offered an ang pow box when she heard that we're going to make one and also, treated my hubby and friend to The Line buffet while discussing wedding matters...I'll say all in all her services are good!

soapy29

Brides of Shang and BTB of Shang. Is Tower room at Shang highly recommended? Im torn between Mandarin Oriental and Tower Ballroom at Shang now.

sinplyme

hi michelle,

mine is the i forgot tower/island ballroom.
the one with bigger capacity. wanted the smaller one but it was taken already so no choice have to settle for the bigger one.

you're a TA btb right? also a shang btb?
*waves to u... hehe :D*

sinplyme

michelle > yah lor, so coincidence! hm, think i not going cos htb doesn't like crowd so I'm sure he won't like it.

So are you excited? Slightly more than a month to ur Big Day!!!! How's things going?

yomeishu

hi Shangri la brides here,

I wondering why none of you ever consider Fullerton since it's comparable to Shangri la? I'm not promoting Fullerton here just that I'm curious to know more abt Shangri La coz I been hearing abt its non accessibly location.

dazzling2008

I think it very much depends on what you want and like. Both hotels look very different in terms of settings. Also, Shangri-La's Island Ballroom sits up to 100 tables, but Fullerton's Ballroom sits up to probably 48-50 tables?

If you have a large guestlist more than 50 tables, I dont think Fullerton will ever fit the agenda?

However, if your guest list is smaller than 50 Tables, I think this is where the comparison comes in. Otherwise, you wouldnt be seeking opinions here at the forum? =P Coz you probably be comparing Fullerton main ballroom VS Shang's Tower ballroom?

I think Shang is very nice and grand for its Island Ballroom. Same ballroom where Fann Wong had her wedding too. Min booking I think is 55 tables and above for weekends.
For Fullerton, the ballroom setting (ie. the ballroom chandelier lights, stage etc) looks rather different too. And that magical stairs is also rather subjective and varies across couples. Some love it at 1st sight, some feel otherwise?

Foodwise, I have attended weddings in both hotels before. In my honest opinions, my relatives and I think Shangri-La is much better for their chinese banquet and dishes.

Ultimately, choice is still yours and your partner. =)

Qwerty, I have thought of Fullerton but two drawbacks:
1. It cannot accommodate as many tables as Shang can
2. Shang indeed serves better food than Fullerton

Lastly, the spiral staircase is really not fun if you trip accidentally or if any of the traditional relatives think negatively of its downward spiral staircase for walk-in.

giraffe~

hi, do u all think it is possible to negotiate for a lower minimum no of tables at island ballroom? i think island ballroom is much much nicer than tower... but a minimum of 55 tables isn't easy to achieve.
i've been assigned to nellie, but she's on leave, so will be meeting up with one of the coordinators who is standing in for nellie. i feel a bit hesitant to sign up with shang under nellie when i haven't met her yet!
any comments about the bridal rooms provided? i heard it is not a suite, unlike what they provide in most other hotels.

jams

hi hi... any comments between tower ballroom at Shang or Fullerton's main ballroom? My girlfrens are also suggesting Four Seasons! This is totally distressing... Any idea whether when is their wedding shows??

yomeishu

hi denise,
thanks for your reply, why traditional relatives will think negatively of its downwards spiral staircase for walk-in?

Hi Qwerty,
as in marriage will go downhill or something like that...of course this is their beliefs...

I'm done with my wedding banquet btw! Everything had gone smoothly!
) Food was even better than food tasting day! All march-ins were well coordinated. I started a little late at 8.15am due to late arrival of some guests but ended nicely at 10.45p.m. Shang's services were great...the waitress even helped me to carry my train when I took table photo fr one table to another. Really can't believe it's all over haaa...and I'm just very very glad that it's over. I'm going for my honeymoon tonight! Yipppeee! All the best to the rest of Shangrila's brides...don't worry..just leave it to the hotel coordinators. Oh ya...I got a free angpow box fr the hotel too...plus we can bring in our own wine and liquor without additional charges...

My coordinator was Nellie at lst..then passed on to Veronica. Dun worry...they are both fine! (Though I personally feel more comfy with Nellie hehe...but seems like Veronica gave more perks)