Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

Hey pp,

I have been thinking... there is 4 blocks and each block have so many units.

If everyone go find the same ID/contractor, we bound to have some having similar interior home design. Also if one ID sub all the deals, he/she where to find all the good contractors for the job? Like that the quality also bo bao good leh. From business point of view if I am the ID/contractor I sure want to have many clients then $ will roll in.

Hmm... now i know why got 3 months to do renovation liao...

Hello to all my sem green neighbours... jus went to the site some days b4... took some photos....=p our site is ready for construction!!! let's us all pray real hard to to have wonderful good weather in teh days ahead..... haha... the 2 storey workers' quarter is on the way up... so that mean they gonna work late there and stay in the site....=p

491664.jpg

491665.jpg

491666.jpg

491667.jpg

Hi Edwin,

Mthanks for the update again.

Don't think they will work till very late, maybe max till 10pm cuz there its a HDB estate and pp will complaint if too noisy.

But still haha I'm looking forward to see some concrete up rising from there!

dun worry cheryl,

i think i should apologise to u for that "misunderstading" and shock i created. never found out properly before announcing to all...

haha...

i guess i was too kan cheong when i see the hoarding pulling down and suddenly the pile all gone. i never expect them to cut the pile so fast and cover the piling with soil. haha....

dun worry... all hoarding have been back into place... they are getting ready to start constructing our flats....=p

Hi Edwin,
Thank you for your update.
em......
how to say my feelling uh...
very happy, very nervous, a lot waiting, full of expectation... ha...ha.... like pregnant and waiting for the coming of baby....
i think i siau liau....

haha.... a-pinglim... i understand ur feeling. though its a long wait... but 2 yrs will be very fast...dun worry.... the wait will be worthwhile...

I was listening to class95 yesterday morning...
Was talking about the satay club was shifted to sembawang~ Is it? I tot its located at clark quay? or that was long time ago?

Hi guys, some updates on the construction site. haha... their worker quarter have been constructed and note that they have constructed the drainage system for the construction site.

Hope to see the first level soon.

=p

495937.jpg

495938.jpg

495939.jpg

495940.jpg

495941.jpg

495942.jpg

495943.jpg

Hi everyone, so long never post any msg here. Here some updates on the construction site, the below photos r taken by my bf a few days ago.

Wa~ thanks again for the update again.

Hehe, can't wait for it to complete.
My friend say once the base is done, building the level is fast liao. Any civil engineer here?

Hi,anyone will be staying in blk 487? Hope to know some new neighbours before i move in and probably we can exchange a few ideas on renovation too.
Thanx to those who had uploaded the photos, it's sure encouraging to see the site is progressing, but hopefully sooner for the date of completion, heh.

hi edwin, i'd chosen the one not facing the park as i only went down hdb hub to select the last month..what about you?

oic, mine's on level 7..initially was taken aback by the East facing unit as direct sunlight during the day and although i know during the day time most of us will be working, but weekends might still be at home.

HOwever, was comforted by as mentioned by one of the pal here that it the east facing will be blocked by other flats, so the sunlight will not be directly permitted...hopefully it's very true..

1 thing i like about this area is also because it's so near my camp,next time can just all during reservist, heh..
i also heard there's a bbq pit at the park, if there's one, next time we can organise a get together session cum bbq..

true enough as ur east facing had an estate which will block the east sun, so dun worry. so which camp u from to reservist??? sembawang??

Nice to see new neighbour posting here, me too from 487.

I checked the updated HDB listing, all the 4 blocks are almost fully booked, each left about 20+- units still available. So by 2010 all will be sold!

ya, its great to know that most units in our estate are booked.

nichiyobi, i seen ur proposed layout. u done it urself? so u found a contractor already?

I actually came out with a few layout design using Visio to see the effects of placing things here and there. At the same time I surveyed on nice furnitures available in the market and jot down their dimension. The layout and furniture you see is actually measured to actual scale.

I think its good to have something in mind what you want before approaching an ID or contractor rather than letting them manipulate you telling you ok like that is good etc. Like that than can compare, suggest and request. Also can estimate the costing by looking at other pp reno-blog see how much they spent to do e.g. a featured wall etc. Got 2 more years to save up at least 20k for basic reno since I opted for OCS.

Few things I'm still thinking..
1. MBR- can I have a mini walk in wardrobe?
2. LRm - Which wall to build the tv console wall?
3. GRm - Should I knock the wall to shift the door?

I got a friend so happen to book blk490 facing the school. I suggested him to knock down the kitchen wall to either replace it with a bottom semi-wall with glass like a mini bar or make it a open concept kitchen.

Okies, just my personal opinion.

may i know other than visio, what other software do you guys use for designing your dreamhome? i saw a couple of other options liek smartdraw, but duno which one is exactly better,suer-friendly and functional..

Yup~alot of software can draw but depend on how precise you want the scale to be. For those who know how to use AutoCad or 3DMax can even transform a drawing diagram into 3D model!

Oh ya~ FYI. The floor plan given by HDB please keep it properly so can use for reno cuz if you request from HDB again must pay hor~

i'm using this program call 3D Home Architect, which is not too bad as i only had time to complete the layout of the walls, hadn't done anything to the interiors yet..

That's a very good program to use but your computer must be very "hardcore" to render the 3D imaging. To be frank, I like it very much but the furniture and home settings provided is also quite limited so i still think 3DMax is ultimate one.

well, unless u have a library of furnitures for max, otherwise u hv to build it up from scratch

unless u hv frens working in archi or ID companies can 'borrow' the models from them :p

I've booked a flat at blk 488 and i'm glad to chance upon this thread. Really appreciate those who have taken the trouble to upld the photos of progress for the flats

Can I check if the programs some of you've been mentioning free to dwnld & is it user-friendly? Cos I'm nt too IT savvy tho...

Hi mech, some of the softwares like 3DMax can be purchased off the shelves, whereas for freeware like envisioneer express, etc can be downloaded from the web for free.

I wouldn't it's really user friendly to the extend with a few clicks and everything will turn out nicely, need some patience and creativity..heh..cheers~

Hey pp,

How much you think the reno budget should be?
Don't think I will spend 40-50k just to reno cuz never know how long will stay there wor...

Thanx 4 e info Nichiyobi!

Well, lately i've gt a couple of frenz who had juz renovated or gng to renovate their standard 4-rm flats. Their cost amounted ovr $20+K, which I thought it's a lot for 4-rm flat.One even had a quotation of almst $30K! I think they really did all the high-end stuff...

My parents' 4-rm flat juz undergone a complete reno in nov 05 but it only cost about $16+K. So I think I'll prob set a budget of abt $20K. I guess it's really what you want and what you're comfortable with that matters.

Actually it all depends whether or not u engage a ID to design the concept for you. If you gonna DIY on the ID... normally, you can get your house done up between 20-25k for a really nice one.

Engaging a ID will increase the cost because they are talking about precision. the dimension, the size the material area all taken into and they provide you with some project management and make sure the contractor adhere to wat the dimensions and design are from the drawing.

the perspective and layout design with some 3D graphic alone could cost you thousands... hence you can see why some people can get a nice "zen" or modern design with jus around 20k where a ID could cost you 30k-40k. ID fee is ommited if you approach those contractors directly without engaging a ID. of course... the risk is that they may on the spot change dimension or watsoever....because they have no "drawing" to follow on...

Well, they did the flooring but the wall tiles for kitchen & bathrooms are done up by HDB already.

From what I understand, even without engaging the expertise of an ID, there will still be a drawing of what have been discussed and confirmed to use as a guide for the reno works. That's what they did for my parents' hse...

oh ya...sorry... to correct myself, contractors do have a drawing to follow, but they are not obliged to comply to 100% to the dimension. An ID firm on other hand... ensure dimesion are well observed... this explain for the higher pricing. but in my context, If you can design urself... no point engage a ID. we do also can get nice and beautiful layout done... jus as wat nichiyobi have done...=p

thanx for the info khet13! I will try that

Oh yes, I agree that it'd be good to try design our own homes and I think what nichiyobi has done looks great too

just curious, the hdb website says the probable completion date is Q1 2010, does tat mean by Q4 2009 we will most probably be able to take possession of the flat? 'cause what i heard was usually it will be earlier than the completion date by half a year..

Well, no offense to anybody. designing yourself is 1 thing. itz not as easy as said. U must b able to visualize what you designed yourself. a nice n beautiful layout does not mean ur furnitures comliments each other. tts where the 3D part comes in to aid in your visualization.

IMO job of a contractor is mainly follow what you ask them to do. Dimensions they will still hv to follow 100% otherwise u will end up with lopsided stuffs hehe.
job of an ID is to provide u with alternatives and work around your theme or maybe they hv better ideas that u did not thought of b4. n the ability to show you what it would look like b4 u commit. (alot of things to consider in ID like concept, color, proportion, balance, ergonomics and function of design. Although all styles differentiate their usage of each of these, they are all an integral part of the overall look and feel of a room or space. Designers incorporate the seven elements of design to create and enhance style: form, mass, shape, line, color, texture and pattern.)ripped from wiki. hence the price, i think.

If you source for the contractor urself, u need to be prepared with information of materials, how it compliments with another material. and height of custom furniture...eg sitting height ard 45cm - 50 cm. so u wun get 'smoked' by the contractor. im not saying ID wun 'smoke' u as well :D

well i might be wrong. correct me if im wrong hehe

hi, would like to add my 2cents worth of tots.

wat khet13 says is quite rite. contractor hv to follow 100% of the design drawings, be it plan, layout or detail drawings. 3d drawings not accurate.

and possible, the drawings should be to-scale and not stated as 'not-to-scale'.

and anything that is out of the drawings, its consider a vo. and b4 confirming as vo, the contractor has to ask your permission if it can be a vo. eg. cabinet originally quoted is 13ft, and it need to be 14ft on site in order to reach to wall, if not it will left a hole before reaching the wall, he might tell you that and ask if you want to reach to the wall or not, and if you want, that is a vo to them.

id wise, they are more fancy but similarly, they knows when to charge you more for more work / things done.