Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

cherylkjh

finally cfm contractor liao. shd be starting wrk next week or the week after next...

today just bot mattress and bed frame and sofa.
tml will be buying fridge n washing mashine @ expo...

tml any1 from 15th floor 487 going to their flat in the morning??? haha

piggylover

yest didnt manage to get our flat key from hdb. they cant release the key to us due to we had applied for grant n this grant require us to produce our married certificate. haiz... happily go down n yet come back empty handed. actual plan to open door tml, now all plan ruin liao.

we had submitted all supporting document to prove tat we had planned for our wedding. we nd to appeal to hdb for their approval with all this document. hopefully can approve if not cannot plan or start our reno as planned. Sad.... ="(

desmer

Vernon'sMummy.. Juz went to my unit this afternoon. Saw our neighbour from the unit nearest to the lift facing carpark but didn't had a chance to say hi.

Found that a few tiles in the kitchen were uneven. 2 to 3 tiles were slightly higher than the surrounding tiles. It's not very obvious but worried that may tripped over the edges if walkin barefoot. Wonder if anyone had the same prob? Not sure if I'm overly fussy abt the workmanship of the tiles.. Should I report this as a defect?

raynard

Hi vernonmummy, the sale at expo is really cheap.. but if u saw/bargained the prices elsewhere like harvey norman, etc, which is selling cheaper, can just tell them and they wil match the price for you on the spot.. ;)

bought my tv,fridge,washer from there.. may be going there again today to get my home theatre system..

princesspig84

wa.. suntec also have.. expo also have..
Im going down to grab last min TV and sound system maybe.. DVD player also..

Where to go man.. But I see the advert and Expo seems more interested? Hubby will be home in the evening only.. can choose one place only..

Im waiting for painting and carpentry works.. Seems fast le.. But asking furniture to arrive at end Aug.. LOL..

Sept can shift in?? 489-ers! Here I come!

princesspig84

Thks Raynard! I think i more interested in the expo one too..
Hope to have some good buys!

yukifire

Hi Charmer
Thanks for the info!

Any idea if there is an aircon switch at the service yard? Cos I cannot recall if I see any. The salesperson from Gain City told us need to pay $300+ for the switch.

charmer

hi yuki
there is already an isolator at the air-con ledge.

for those who went to the show at expo and suntec, any idea what is the price for Samsung LCD TV - 40 inch, Model LA40B530P7MXXS? I am working today and may not be able to go down. Courts selling at $1,349. Am thinking if not much difference, will get at Courts....

raynard

hi yukifire,there's already a switch at the aircon ledge to on/off the compressor,somemore the service engineer from gaincity even showed me where's the switch after he'd done up my aircon..

bigfish

Hi yukifire,
I've finally confirmed on my ID... so now am just waiting for him to draw up the designs, then we can proceed from there. hopefully i wld be able to start in mid-end of aug...

winnie_gal

Pasty: u saw me so many times and yet i nver get to see u 1 times..wahahaha.. i busy packing like hell... hahaha....
when u moving in?

azuma

Hi cherylkjh,

Did they say the restriction on window grills is for service yard only? How about the bedroom windows?

charmer

Hi Vernon'sMummy

abt the grilles at the service yard, I heard if HDB finds out will ask owner to change. Think some pple taking the risk since our service yard is not very obvious from the outside unless u r taking corner units. My contractor also says nevermind until I asked "If we get caught by HDB, u will replace it for free?" Hee hee.

cherylkjh

sharon
ya after 7th month. hehe...

charmer
precisely.. contractor oso say nvm. hb oso say shd be ok. i say wat if cannot how?? i rather tell the contractor now.. lol...

patgav

Hi Sharon,
Actually my hse already move in condition but i taking my own sweet time ahah... shld be moving in aft 7th mth bah....

khet13

hi guys,
just wanna check with u if your house comes with the concealed electrical plans?
n does anybody have the HDB temporary office number?
they were suppose to give us a call when they fixed the defects by last week. but no calls from em yet... n when we went up to see, the defects looked fixed though..

charmer

do u find the water pressure at your house weak? Just installed the heater today and trying out the showers and tap. The water seems to be flowing very slowly even though I have turn on the main valve to the max already. Do you have this problem?

jascmy

Hi charmer,

My tap and showers are ok but the flushing for toilet bowl is very weak. Have to press and hold on for a few seconds in order for everything to be flush away. Even for small business. Hehee...

We asked the HDB ppl, they say its like that. There's nothing they can do to increase the pressure.

charmer

Hi JaxCMY

thanks for your response. If I am not wrong, the flushing is due to the flushing system since the water is already stored in the tank.

Regarding the water pressure, it may be more due to the main water piping. May I know which level r u at? I am at level 16. Wondering whether which level will cause a difference. Cause the water pressure is really very small compared to my current one. Currently I am at level 2.

does anyone else face the same problem of weak water pressure?

raynard

Hi JasCMY, the toilet bowls are supposed to be water efficient from what I noticed on the plastic cover that was wrapped around it, hence this may be the reason in experiencing the weak flushing...

hipposheep

hi jascmy,
my hubby said tat there are 3 setting inside the flushing tank. set to the max and u shall able to get the flushing stronger.

oh, my hubby manage to install the DURO gate lock (art 338 model), but need to hammer in as it's tight fitting.

khet13

hi charmer, im at lvl 6 n i tested the shower some time back, the pressure seems normal to me though... probably is because u r living at higher floors?
does our blocks have water tanks on the roof?

charmer

Hi khet13

I guess which floor does make a difference unless there is a pump or booster? Hope some technically knowledgeable guy can help clear some doubts... thanks.

FYI, do take note (especially those who have not engaged ID contractor) that unless your ID has a gas license, they have to arrange for City Gas to install the gas piping at the kitchen and City Gas will charge $100, to be reflected in your next utilities bill. If you request for an additional level/valve to be installed at the kitchen, City Gas will charge another $20.

khet13

not sure whether this will work or not,
did u turn the water valve open fully?
my current place had this weak water thingy some time back because my dad turn off the water valve to do some plumbing work and did not turn it back on fully until recently he turn it fully after some plumbing work again.

winnie_gal

Charmer: i tink mine is the 2nd one in the
drawing..

anyone staying in blk 488? have alreadi move in liao? ytd night heard one contractor talking to one of the hse owner.. but i just figure out the noise came from which level..wahahaha...

rainnerainne

Finn,

If you are ard, i rem u recommending Best Tech for aircon. Did you take up the 5 yrs warranty? If yes, what is the total price for your aircon?

charmer

Hi Khet13

I turned my valve to the max le. Still weak....
Is there anything that can be done?

Anyone can advice me whether the fee for the sand, haulauge & debris should be paid by the contractor or by owner? What would be the amount if reno is very simple without any hacking of walls? Thanks

hipposheep

hi Sharon,
me from highest floor but not yet move in and u from which floor?

Hi Charmer,
me paid $750 to my contractor and he said this money he will paid to the hdb haulauge guy ... the lift got some contact no. that you can call for the haulauge service. may be you can check on that or go to 488, level one to check on the haulauge fees. me too lazy to check, just paid to my contractor to settle the haulauge thing.

bigfish

my contractor told me that the haulage is mainly paid to the HDB appointed contractor... in the case of my contractor, he wld pay for me 1st and give me the receipt when i pay him back... so actually my own contractor doesnt earn any $$ from there one...