Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

khet13

hi charmer
not sure of other methods...probably the next step is call HDB n ask them?

for haulage wise i was told by the uncle if not doing flooring it will be cheaper (he quote me ard 150 as we opt in the flooring) otherwise it is at 750

hipposheep

hi Raynard,
DURO price is standard across Singapore, $128. art 338 is the larger, art 228 is for old gate. but both selling at same price. you may visit the DURO website, also state $128 nett. Heard from contractor to get your own gate lock and dont get from Mr. Low (supply Castle brand)(who paste advestiment at the lift) as he might have duplicate your gate lock key.

me check on the other shop, for Castle brand one, it's selling at $125, also 10 years warranty.

raynard

Thx HippoSheep for the info. I was thinking the same too of not getting from Mr Low for the fear of duplicates. I saw the Castle brand in chinatown selling for $105 though..

jascmy

HippoSheep, might need to get your hubby's help for the toilet flush. Hehee..... You going down this weekend?

Raynard, HDB ppl also told me about the water efficient. I don't think its water efficient cos I'm using equal amt of water in order to flush away (cos I press and hold for a few seconds). Instead, its wasting my time. hehehee..

charmer, I'm staying at high floor.

hipposheep

oh, pls take note. dont let your contractor use number lock to lock your gate during renovation cos some number lock very very easy to open one.

fyi, do not move in any electrical items into your under renovation house, as there is one case in Pungol, their elecrical items, eg. tv, player, ganna stolen one day after they move in these items. so ONLY Move your valuable items after your house is completed and is locked by your own lock set.

Dont trust the contractor except yourself

jascmy

Hipposheep, I heard of that before. Cos those contractors usually use the same number password for all his project. Cos its hard for them to remember so many different numbers for different project. So many ppl know the numbers. Not safe!.

For me I use my own old lock then I throw it away after I have completed my renovation.

winnie_gal

Hi Hipposheep: i'm staying at 5 floor...

Vernon's mummy for me i use a spare lock which i use for my old hse de, i pass one key to the contractor...then after renovation finish, i change the whole lock to duro brand de.. that time during renovation, i never even lock my main door, as i dun the contractor to have main door keys... hahaha.. after i fix up the air con , kitchen hood then bo bian, got to lock liao so FIL go and open door for contractor every morning... then after work, hubby will go lock the main door lolz....

hipposheep

hi Sharon, wow you have move in to your love nest. hmmm may be can go your house to have a look on this sat. you in then? I have just email you.

Hi Vernon'smummy,
with a bit of knowledge, and your no. lock can just be open within a mintue or two. so advice is change your lock soon. unless your contractor is using those supper x one. just imaging what bicycle owner use? Mostly no. lock right. and how fast the bicycle thief can do it. our house is not a bicycle which cost $100plus but much more then that. so pls. be careful careful.

kwoni

I bought a Duro lock for my metal gate..but having difficulty getting it clamped in...cant seems to fit in...

Have anyone tried? is it supposed to be like this?

yukifire

Charmer & Raynard >> Thanks for the info. Have finally booked my aircon from All Best (at IMM) cos we find that the salesman is honest compared to those whom we went to at Gain City and Best Tech.

Bigfish >> Great to hear that. I have yet to decide who I should choose. Hopefully can make a decision by end of this week and start mid of Aug..before 7th month.

azuma

Hi yukifire

How is the price of All Best compared to Gain City & Best Tech? I visited both Gain City & Best Tech and do not really like their attitude.

patgav

Hi Azuma,

I am also using All Best, find tht their service + price is better than Gain City, Courts etc... and their staff are nice and r honest with their recommendation, as my unit is the with bedrooms not next to each other, they even told me honestly very difficult to do & did the exchange frm system 3 to system 1 for me w/in the same day and settle the aircon installation for my the very day....

feel that they are good, you can consider them... quite a few of sembawang green pple engage them, coz i saw them again doin my neighbour aircon system...

khet13

for air con i heard hong t*r is not bad. but i personally have not dealt with them before.
only went gain city but the sales person keep introducing us sam sung brand...

yukifire

Hi Azuma

We got a Mitsubishi Inverter System 3 for $2,750. Cheaper than Gain City. But slightly more ex than Best Tech. Gain City will ask you to upgrade to Armaflex insulator (top up $120 and if wan thicker copper pipe another $60) while Best Tech will give you free upgrade to Kflex insulator which they claim it's from Italy.

We got a shock when we see the Totalline insulator from All Best, it is of much better quality then the ones showed to us by Gain City & Best Tech. Both GC and BT condemned Totalline. So it's really depends on who you wanna believe bah. Am recommended by my friends who bought their aircon from All Best. You can look for this salesman - Cash from the outlet at IMM.

winnie_gal

Hi Hippo Sheep , Jonas and Jascmy, should not be a problem...

my hse got not much reno....

Hippo Sheep: ur renovate liao mah? i kmow Jonas hse is on the way liao...

How bout Jascmy? u staying in which blk?

Btw u email me ar? my office can't acces to hotmail so i can't see ur mail as my home i not yet apply the internet line..

hipposheep

we shall meet all (Sharon, Jascmy and Hipposheep) on this sat, 4pm, 488 letter box.
pls. be on time and we shall not wait for too long.ok?

Princesspig84, hope to see you then.

pls. email me so that can get each other contact so no need to wait til siao.

jascmy

Sharon Lin, i stay blk488.

Sian, I just receive news that me and all my colleagues (whole dept) will be changing workstation. I will be sitting surrounded by big & small bosses. Can't surf net so often from next mon liao. Maybe you all will be seeing me MIA. Sigh!

devilboy

Hi Rainie

I did not took up the 5 years plan (The 5 year plan is only for the casement)... As the sales man told me it's more of a feel safe. Most air-con is very durable, the only thing that will spoil is the invertor (But invertor itself got 5 years warranty), as the rest of the unit basically just 'blow' and control the temperature settings. Mine is $2600.00

I got the Mitsubitshi Heavy Industry 3+1 invertor, I have tested it on Monday and I have to say it performed very well. Love the all round rotating blades that divert the cool air around the room. So far... Best Tech have done up my piping pretty well. I turned on aircon for all 3 rooms for for 3 hours... so far no sweating occurs... not sure about the future.

winnie_gal

Ok Jonas... waiting to see ur flat too.... u update me. u call me lah..

I will email u my contact later....

Jascmy: u working at where? which level u staying? facing the garden or the other side?

jascmy

Sharon Lin, tell u more when we meet on Sat bah.

rainnerainne

Finn,

Thanks for the reply.

I took the Mitsubishi Heavy Industry too. Check with you, your house is not the type where the rooms are together? How do they run the piping?

devilboy

Hi Rainne

It's a great mess.... as mine is those that is beside the lifts hahahaha... the piping was done across the hall and masterbed room... it does create a few dead spaces... but overall they managed well...

I think you will not go wrong with Mitsubishi Heavy Industry... they really performed well. Silent performer and the efficiency is very good.

Here is a tip for you when you choose Best Tech. Remember to CONFIRM with your contractor when is the painting going to start. Because after the piping, painting work can start. Usually painter will paint 1 layer first and let the aircon to be installed. MAKE VERY SURE of the painting date. I did not pay attention to that and Best Tech can only come install the aircon based on their schedule, I have to wait 5 days after the first paint layer and the work just stopped, thus... your system installation date will be very late if you do not coordinate the timing properly, you will have unnecessary delays...

devilboy

Hi Jes

3+1 = 3 Blower and 1 Invertor/Non Invertor

$2600 inclusive of KFLEX piping isulators and installation.
Brand: Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries.

*Please take note, not to confused anyone, Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries is different from Mitsubitshi Electric.
1) Mitsubitshi Heavy Industries is originally for commercial business but the went into non-commercial business only in 2000 *based on website
2) Mitsubishi Electric StarMex is a non-commercial system for home.

If you compared side by side of the similar system (3+1 invertor), Mitsubishi Electrical StarMex will be $400 more expensive due to the fact they advertise heavily. And yes again, both have nothing in common. I have being to like 3~4 aircon installers... most of them will prefer to sell you Sanyo, Mitsubitshi Electric, Panasonic, Toshiba, Samsung for the higher profit.

PS: I might be wrong. My system might fail or burned our only after a year... hehehe

devilboy

Making sense with aircon

Hi all... Many might be confused with the word BTU, I think this will explains alot. Before I purchase my aircon, I did some home work and calculation... only to find out that all my room does not require anything more than 6500 BTU.

http://www.csgnetwork.com/acroomsizecalc.html

So take note, most of the rooms *Except hall in the sembawang green falls below 24 square meter... for 489 and 490 most room are under shade thus there is no point spending more for a high BTU system for your room. Only 487 and 488 need to consider for higher BTU for those room facing the garden.

Lastly, BTU is only a number, whether the high BTU will cool your room 'efficiently' is another question depending on your invertor + blower capablities. So.. if your aircon can provide full swivel, I think currently in the market only Mitsubishi HI have it *might be wrong again, then the efficiency is much higher...

young_jes

Hi Finn,

sorry ar.. but i'm quite new to this aircon thingy.

3+1 = 3 Blower and 1 Invertor/Non Invertor = aircon for 3rm + 1 hall or just 3 rms?

devilboy

Hi Jes

Just 3 room, the invertor/non-invertor is the big chunky machine that you place on the ledge.... Maybe I should use the term System 3, this will give you a better idea.

faz_inc

I always back from work in the evening.. so never really know what going on in the day.. but the corridor is very dusty. other than that, i f a peaceful night sleep. every morning when i wake up, the surrounding is so quiet n cold.

winnie_gal

i agree with Nor.. at night the whole building is so quiet...

Hi Nor: u staying in blk 489? i saw someone wiping the window i tink on Monday..

cherinet

I'm living at Blk 487, 8th floor. Anyone living this block? I'm still looking for a Interior Design firm for my house. Any recommendations? But i wanted to see FengShui for my hse first before i start my reno. Any recommendation on air-con also? I dun think i will on it that often, so need something that is money saving one.